Spyderco Para Military 2

Spyderco Para Military 2

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
5K requests
891 Sold
Product Description
Spyderco’s Para Military 2 is a mainstay in the EDC community and even more advanced than its popular predecessor. Featuring a narrower handle for a tighter grip, a thinner profile to simplify cutting at difficult angles, a compression lock, and a four-way ambidextrous clip, the Paramilitary 2 improves on an already ergonomic design Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
36
check
100%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
mthayr
76
May 11, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This is possibly the best full-size folding knife there is. Period.
Surly33
3
Dec 11, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
One of my favorite knives, but no real reason to buy it here.
Ravenroy
36
May 12, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The Spyderco Para Military 2 is probably one of my favorite knives. I particularly like the compression lock. However, since I already owned the knife in dark blue, I ended up trading away the Dark Earth model.
Frencheph
38
May 9, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
If I had to keep one knife… brrr, the thought !
greyworlder
77
May 10, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I want to make it known that I agree with most of the reviews of this knife that, in certain respects, this knife is very good. It's reasonably comfortable in my hand, it cuts well, and does all the things a knife is supposed to do. However, that being said, I feel I must put forward a seemingly unpopular opinion. This knife is, for me, severely overrated. The quality is mostly acceptable. The performance is OK, and the fit and finish are decent. Not perfect. The lock is a bit finicky at times. Maybe my fingers are too big, I don't know, but if I don't basically jam my fingertip into the mechanism as far as I can and press it just so the thing doesn't always work. Additionally, my centering is WAY off, and I came to realize after working with it for awhile that it is off because the handle scales themselves are slightly warped. I've been able to sort of correct this, but it's still not great. My edge was also not perfect out of the box, though it was better than some other knives I have purchased. Additionally, I'm always having to tighten the clip screws, as I seem to wiggle them loose when I'm using the knife a lot. I know putting all this together makes it sound like I think the knife is awful, but that isn't the case. The issues (except the warped handle) are pretty minor, but together they make it very lackluster for me. Really, when you've spent the better part of a decade reading glowing reviews about a knife, I guess it is hard for it to live up to the hype no matter what, but this goes even beyond that. Regardless, this knife is just alright. It certainly wasn't life-changing for me.
To make a long story shorter, the Para Military 2 does do what a pocket knife is supposed to do. But for me, it doesn't do what a *Spyderco* knife is supposed to do. The minor issues, the lock, clip, and sharpening job, all combined caused me to knock off a star, and the problem with the warped handle causing the centering to be so bad made me go ahead and knock off another star. Maybe my standards are just higher than they were a few years ago, causing me to nit-pick, but my 15+ year-old Endura lockback that doesn't even have an adjustable pivot doesn't have any lock or centering issues to this day. I'd recommend to anybody buying any compression lock knife that you do so in person after being able to inspect it. This is not a knock on Massdrop - I've purchased two different models from two sources now, and both have had different issues causing off blade centering. And I don't just mean "I can tell it isn't in the middle," I mean that the blade was physically resting against the handle when I unboxed them. Still though, in spite all of that, I'll be keeping the knife. It'll be very usable if I can adequately fix the warped handle and figure out what causes the lock to stick sometimes, but in the meantime, I think I'll probably look into other knives.
DamCam
9
Jun 30, 2019
Sounds like you got one that slipped past final inspections, quality control tolerances. Good thing you’ve e got an amazing warranty with that lackluster PM2 and can have all of your issues reviewed in the same place it was created. You practically said it yourself, if it doesn’t feel like the quality of a spyderco pocket knife. Then let soyderco make it right.
Lenormax
5
Apr 1, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
search
Un couteau parfait, sa réputation le précède. Très agréable à utiliser, même pour un gaucher !!!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
mcabriel
175
Nov 27, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My only camo EDC knife
Stiff out-of-the-box maybe because of the Black DLC blade. Might need to loosen a little bit on the join screw but still good. The photo was only deceiving since it has a spyderco case but upon receiving it, there was none. Nada.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
LennyK
4
Jul 16, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Favorite knife in my collection!
Very well made, fit & finish are exceptional. Feels extremely good in hand. Blade holds sharpness better then any other knife I've got.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Claude123
2
May 5, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not my first spyderco
I liked the steel/scale combo and price justified jumoing on it
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Mandarintoenail
6
May 2, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My favorite EDC knife
This is by far my favorite EDC. Ended up getting the K390 steel as well, which is my favorite all around because that steel is bonkers. Love the PM2 and recommend it to friends and knife lovers. Fidget factor and a great tool. I have many other knives, but the PM2 is in my pocket the most.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 11 of 38