Suunto MC-2 Compass

Suunto MC-2 Compass

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.8K requests
2.6k Sold
Product Description
Made in Finland, the Suunto MC-2 NH USGS Mirror Compass features a high-grade steel needle with jewel bearing for super-precise navigation. It’s balanced for use in the northern hemisphere and is adjustable for declination correction Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
53
check
97%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Grueinthedark
35
Aug 24, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great Compass geat deal
Looking forward to using this at Philmont in 2020 (now slated for 2022)
(Edited)
pllll
7
Dec 1, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great build quality. Now I just need to learn how to use this thing.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
TopazFlame
16
Dec 30, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent if fragile
All the functions shown work well after a trial hike in a nearby park, and what is especially nice is its declination function and the accuracy+swiftness of the compass bearing. However, what is keeping me from giving a 5 star review is the shoddy material quality of the lid/hinge/baseplate. DO NOT EVER close this compass fully. Doing so will crack the baseplate plastic and it'll become an absolute pain trying to open it back up again. It appears to be built way too stiff, too close together and made too brittle. I may decrease this rating more if this crack turns out to be detrimental to its integrity later (a broken compass would be no good at all) EDIT: crack appears to have also appeared on the other side of the baseplate after closing.
search
search

(Edited)
TopazFlame
16
Jan 9, 2021
I would believe you... if it wasn't for the hook at the bottom of the base plate that will allow you to close the cover with a snap, and the multiple pictures on the internet of this compass model being fully closed. https://www.thecompassstore.com/51mc2gl.html
https://s.yimg.com/aah/thecompassstore/suunto-mc-2g-global-compass-76.png
https://www.reddit.com/r/WildernessBackpacking/comments/4pv8j0/how_to_use_these_markings_on_the_side_of_the/ I'm still fully believe this is a design flaw to make the hinge so stiff when every aspect of the design indicates it should be able to fold shut completely as in the above examples and with its design that allows for it to be locked close with the hooked protrusion on the baseplate. I also see no information online saying it shouldn't be locked close. Please provided references because it just sounds like misinformation.
cross
122
Jan 9, 2021
For references I’m going by what I was taught ears ago by US National Parks Service, Chief Ranger Malcolm Sears. My car has a spare tire, but it’s intended to be used only in exigent circumstances.
jmk451
125
Oct 19, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sturdy, global
I got the global version. The needle is a bit slow, but accurate, and does not require a tilt in the Northern Hemisphere, unlike a similar Brunton. The kids closes with a satisfying click, telling me it won't accidentally open. I tested this while globetrotting to New Zealand pre-COVID, and it works as well in the Southern Hemisphere as in the Northern. Looking forward to field use.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
loremaster
25
Apr 11, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
An exceptionally well-built instrument. Easy to use and the declination adjustment screw is a tiny detail that makes a big difference.
DarkR
1
Oct 10, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Solid but slow
I have the international version. The compass bearing is very slow, almost stiff. That makes it annoying to use in the field. It’s too bad, as aside from that disappointment, it is a very nice compass. I will keep using my old Silva.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
SuperScope96
30
Nov 24, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
King of Compasses
I purchased the global version and paired it in a Suunto Tandem pouch I picked up from the bay for $15 - in my unprofessional opinion it feels and works as it should, and makes manual map & sighting navigation exceptionally easy. I'll keep an eye as to see if a bubble develops after the upcoming Northeast USA winter.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
GCHdrop
2
Jun 22, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It was a gift to my son for his first Father's Day
He was so glad to see how complete it is. He said he would go though the instructions to take advantage of all its functions.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
cross
122
Jan 9, 2021
Many years ago, Los Angeles School District put together an experimental “Regional Occupational Program (ROP).” My best friend and I got into a Forestry class with an instructor who’d retired from the National Parks Service as a Chief Ranger. He devoted considerable time teaching us about how to use hand held compasses and “Orienteering.” It can well be a life saving skill, and sadly an almost lost skill today. A compass and introduction to Orienteering is a great gift for a young person! https://www.amazon.com/Staying-Found-Complete-Compass-Book/dp/0898867851

Captain73
3
Sep 7, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
top
Très bonne boussole, qualitative. A commander les yeux fermés.
MManalang
189
Oct 19, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Really helpful!
Everyone should know how to use a compass and this is a good one. I carry It around my neck when I hike even though I know where I’m going. It’s good to know if I get turned around I can always find my bearing. There are many resources in YouTube that can show you how.
Showing 15 of 59
Recent Activity
Placed an order
asuh
Placed an order
Placed an order