Thieaudio Phantom Planar Magnetic Headphones

Thieaudio Phantom Planar Magnetic Headphones

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
65 Sold
Product Description
Crafted for comfort and cutting-edge sound articulation, the new Phantom planar magnetic headphones from Thieaudio deliver a powerful listening experience at an attractive price point. Sound quality is driven by advanced 101-millimeter planar magnetic drivers, which feature ultra-light German composite diaphragms with dual magnetic circuits Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
7
check
100%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
xir1111011
0
Jan 29, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Quite Enjoyable, After Mods
I don't think I'll say anything here that others haven't already covered, but in case you've missed everyone else's review: Out of the box, they're acceptable. And even then, I'm giving more credit than is probably due. Out of the box, there's this egregious suppressing of the upper midrange that makes everything sound... hollow and with absolutely no depth. Then you mod them, and realize that this driver is actually very impressive - it's just surrounded by design to make it worse, for some reason. The review you should be reading is the one posted here by Razor74, who goes through the changes you really need to make to listen to these gorgeous drivers the way I'm sure their designers intended. If you can't be bothered, here's the short version:
  • Take the big metal discs off, leave them off.
  • Remove any and all foam.
  • Take the pads on the insides off and remove the foam underneath them too.
  • Order some nice pads that elevate your ear off of the driver and into the sweet spot (Razor74 stated they purchased the ZMF 0val Suede pads, and I followed suit - I'm very glad I did!)
  • If you like, replace the metal discs with plastic ones you can make yourself. I just modeled some in CAD and 3D printed a pair with a nice design.
If you do all of that, my goodness... these really do have incredible sensitivity and frequency response. Every subtle detail comes through incredibly clear in almost every range. In the end, I did wind up using a software EQ (Equalizer APO, freeware, Windows) to push up the strangely muted upper midrange, but it really doesn't need that much help at all after the mods are performed. It's all decidedly easy to do and you're left with a pair of actually quite impressive earphones.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
JazzDad
3
Nov 28, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great sound. Upgraded the cable and modified the interior and exterior foam pads as suggested by others-- much clearer, open sounding. Sound on par with Mr. Speaker Ethers at much lower price. I would definitely recommend.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Razor74
38
Nov 26, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Absolutely amazing after mods
I really want to give these ear speakers a 5 star rating, but I can't only because they do need to be modified from the factory. All of the reviews on these basically come to the same conclusion, out of the box they are good but not as good as they could be. Enter the mods. Nothing really complicated just remove the well made, good looking, ridiculous metal grill that pulls on the really strong magnets and slows the drivers down. As well as the ridiculously thick foam padding under it that kills the sound stage. Now that this is done, remove the ear pads and also the foam pads from the inside as well. You are now ready to start to hear the true potential of these awsome ear speakers and they are ear speakers not headphones due there size and amazing bass, Crystal clear vocals and treble. These have become my favorites now, the bass hits hard, fast and deep like we all want our planner magnetic phones to sound. Imaging is really good, not spectacular, as is the sound stage. All this is very dependent on 3 key things. 1st being power, while your phone or tablet will drive these you will not come anywhere close to what these are capable of doing, they are power hungry ie ( THX AAA 789 ) and ( Little Dot MKIII ) both of which these sound amazing on. 2nd is the quality of your source music, the better the recording quality the better the sound output. Crap in crap out as they say, and it is absolutely true here. 3rd the pads, the stock pads are ok but they are thin and close the sound stage dramatically. Mine came with 2 of the same velour smaller pads and didn't include the thick shaggy pads that they used to come with. I opted to replace them with (ZMF 0val suede) pads and i'm really glad that I did. These thicker and deeper pads really help to bring these speakers to life, everything is better, sound stage, bass, vocals, treble all come to life and you start to realize the true potential of these ear speakers. The bass extensions is unlike anything that I've heard at this price, and vocals are simply amazing. I write this as I sit here listing to Adeles WHEN WE WERE YOUNG feeling like I'm sitting right in front of her at her concert. I have very eclectic listening habits, I listen to everything from classical to heavey metal and everything in between and it all sounds great, if these are lacking in any area for me personally it maybe a little in the mids not terrible, just not as good the rest. The only other mod I made was to replace the metal grill with very crudely made plastic ones made by taking a couple old CD cases and using the old metal grills as a template I cut out new ones ( careful if you try this they are brittle and will crack really easy, so go easy on a hard flat surface ), then I drilled multiple small holes to keep the open back aspect for the sound stage, this worked surprisingly well. This was the last step that gave me the total sound that I've been describing. To sum it all up, sorry to be so long winded, but I really like these now. If Theiaudio would do these simple mods that so many have talked about in their reviews, they would be able to compete with the big boys. If you don't mind being a little hands on and experiment with these, I highly recommend that you give them a try if you are in the market for some good planar magnetic headphones.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
tkyc
57
Nov 1, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Exceptional headphones for the money. I replaced the ear pads with Defean Upgrade Angle Genuine Leather Ear Pads Cushion earpad Replacement for Sony MDR-Z7 Z7M2 Headphones. I added some Dyson Audio replacement cables. Supplied cables look okay but the better one did not fit with my system, weird connection at the plug end. Dyson makes very good cables and I have bought many for other headphones, love them. With this upgrade sound on par with my more expensive headphones in my collection, Hifiman, Audeze. Highly recommended. Update- Still loving these headphones. A real pleasure, pure fun. Very dynamic, smooth and well balanced. More than worth the price folks. I have been an audiophile for many years and trust me on this one.
(Edited)
Robodeo
14
Nov 13, 2020
Could you compare these to your Sony's?
tkyc
57
Nov 14, 2020
I love these headphones but Sony MDR-Z7 are better in my mind. I like the M2 version too but the MDR-Z7 is still a favorite. With the upgraded ear pads and cable the Thielaudio Phantom are in their league at a highly reduced price. I have Audeze LCD-X and Denon AH-D9200 too. Love them all. I bought them all which is the best but on a budget the Thiels are very good followed by the Sony MDR-Z7.
CheesusMan
5
Sep 22, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My first dive into audiophile grade headphones
Paired with a dac/amp they produce really deep bass & treble , everything sounds clear and perfect to my ears.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
astral_flow
41
Aug 1, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good
It's a great product for $275 I paid for them. Not too detailed, a bit recessed highs, but overall good sound.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
kkamc72
137
Oct 30, 2020
Every headphone is gonna have some slight variation. As a audiophile, I'm assuming he's giving some light as to what to expect out of box. I own these and he's right. Nice amount of bass, def some recessed highs. But its spacious sounding and a fun planar. It has the bass in planars people look for. And the clarity is actually quite good. 5 stars in this price bracket imo for sure.
tkyc
57
Nov 1, 2020
New pads and a good cable make this headphone very, very good. I did not listen to stock long but with new ear pads and a Dyson cable sounded great. Competitive with $1200 Hifiman's. Very enjoyable listening.
LXFrank
59
Jul 19, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Bkey
89
Oct 30, 2020
We need more reviews like this one the platform. You see, its not that he has nothing to say about the headphones, he's simply too busy listening to music; mesmerized by its incredible sound to articulate his thoughts.
(Edited)
scruffy1
55
Nov 28, 2020
they knocked me out... all i could see was stars