Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
shopping_cart
Thinksound ON2 Headphones

Thinksound ON2 Headphones

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.3K requests
·
1k Sold
Product Description
From Thinksound, a small company that’s built its name on neutral, detailed audio and a commitment to sustainability, the On2 Monitor Series headphones deliver admirably on both fronts. Everything from the PVC-free cables to the packaging, which uses recycled materials, is designed to reduce their environmental impact Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
78
check
80%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
GunsOfBrixton
908
Oct 4, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I picked up these headphones in the last round of this drop and have used them extensively over the past couple of weeks. The short version of this review is that at this price, they are probably the best on-ear headphone deal on the market right now.
Most importantly, the sound quality on these is excellent. Great clarity, solid performance across the spectrum, with just a touch of warmth to give them a slightly relaxed sound. If I was blind testing these, I would have guessed that they were Sennheisers based on the sound profile.
I was surprised how good the isolation was, comparable to good closed back over ears. They would work well in an office environment, if you want some isolation from your surroundings. They look great, and the design is good, but I would put the plastic folding joints on the watch list.
They have a good degree of flex to the fit, so I think they would work well for most people. Just enough padding for comfort, without adding bulk. Clamping force is light, so they’re comfortable, but they do tend to slip off when leaning forward.
On ear headphones are not my favorite style, but I do have several for comparison these are larger than the Porta Pros, which are the bargain champs. At under $100, the On2 has the same type of high sound quality to price ratio as the Porta pros, just from a higher starting point. And they actually out-Sennheiser my HD1 on-ear wireless, with a more balanced sound (those Senns are a guilty pleasure – tons of bass). Including some photos for those interested in relative comparisons

search

search
GunsOfBrixton
908
Feb 12, 2019
The On2 is one of the more responsive headphones to amplification that I've experienced (and I've experienced many). The increase in bass impact is easily noticeable at similar volumes when well amped (e.g., on a Magni). I won't necessarily say better, as it changes their character and makes them less relaxed. It's a preference, and I actually enjoy them a bit more straight from my phone, but I definitely feel the appeal of their more punchy amped flavor.
GunsOfBrixton
908
Feb 12, 2019
You might want to take a look at the Earstudio ES100. It's astonishingly good, especially considering that it's tiny and adds high quality wireless capabilities.
Kamper
10
Sep 7, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Pros: They look great, they are very well built, you can change wires easily ( but you dont have to because cabels are ok), sound is okay, bass is present but not overpowering so that is feature that i like about these, soundcard improves them for like 15%, very portable, noise isolation is 4/10, they are very confy, especially for on-ears, although pressure on top of the head is present, but when you find right position on ears they are enjoyable Cons: Soundstage is narrow ( as expected ), they dont sound as good as other headphones for 200 if you plan using them for home and gaming only. But price on these was 89 wich was okay, only sad thing is if you are buying from Europe, taxis will be high because they write full price on shipment Conclusion: Im happy with these for using outside and in transport :)
search

search

search

search
Criss72
0
Sep 19, 2018
KamperHow much was total price?
Kamper
10
Sep 19, 2018
Criss7290+10 (sh)+30=130
phoenixsong
1053
Aug 14, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Lightweight and comfortable with decent isolation. Quite portable when folded, nice cables (although there's no 1/4" TRS adapter and hard case, only a soft pouch). Presentation is intimate (I'm used to open backs), but soundstage is more or less natural (eye-shaped), with good height and less depth. Bass is humped and tastefully boosted with good impact, but doesn't overshadow the rest. Slightly rounded in nature, it won't be the most detailed, but it's adequately tight and textured. It kinda goes thump and has a weighty impact. The mids, which are easy to pick out, are in line with the bass and treble, and are not defined to the extent that it sounds as though the singer were there (slightly hazed over in lower mids, sometimes not enough body behind it/nasal, esp in upper male vocals), but manages well enough to sound like a good recording. Lowest mids have a hint of dark warmth carried over from the bass, and female vocals sound a bit breathy (sibilance possible depending on recording). Treble has grain, which is most obvious in the low treble. Upper treble is quite enjoyable with a little sparkle, though extension could be better; this makes it seem a little closed-in. Overall it sounds more natural than the Jays u-JAYS, I daresay it's a similar gentle W shaped frequency response.
PS: The mic on the provided cable has good sound quality :)
RCaron
8
Sep 8, 2018
phoenixsongThank you! Just burned out the coils on my AKG 220 by leaving them plugged into a mixer during a show. Those headphones where better in the studio with the open back but not able to isolate a track like my old Sony MDR V700‘s that where the best ever for live sound and drum tracking. Choosing headphones for mixing is tough. I need high power, no distortion at +20dbu, low Z, swivel, crushable with a long cord and flat. Your detailed description througout the frequency range helps me decide if there are worth getting without hearing them first. The fostex are another option but I worry they will be too harsh and painful while soloing a track.
phoenixsong
1053
Sep 9, 2018
RCaronHehe it's my pleasure! Hope they will service you well ^^
Btw when you mention Fostex, were you referring to the THX00?
timothom
85
Apr 19, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I just want to say I've had these cans for over a week now and I am really enjoying them. They are small and portable. They are very light. They seem to be built well with travel/air travel in mind, and can easily be stashed in a backpack or purse. I had them tucked into the outter pocket on my lunchbox today for work. They are easy to drive, I use my phone directly or my DAC on my desktop. They don't need much volume to thump. They are comfortable and light. I get the headband back as far as I can on my head and after a bit it's hard to tell they are there. It does take a bit to get used to the on-the-ear cups, but they are there by necessity. These headphones are SMALL, and very portable. I wouldn't want the cups any bigger. The sound is fun and entertaining. They can hang with ANY other 200 dollar can easily. If you listen to one or two sounds you like on a good dac/amp you won't be dissapointed about spending money on these. It's hard to describe how fun they sound. And they have hidden bonues of sounding great when being driven on a phone in a noisy environment, they take a regular 3.5mm cable, and they come with 2 cables. You can replace the cable for 2 bucks at Monoprice. Kudos to Massdrop for introducing me to Thinksound. This is a great product and I hope Thinksound continues to make good stuff. If somebody was looking for a good headphone that travels well, can be driven by phone, and has sound that will make you forget where you are, this is what I'd recommend.
DMawson314
0
Oct 4, 2018
timothomPlease provide a link with the Monoprice cables if you think it really makes a difference! Thanks!
Dave
mjh7644
6
Nov 30, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Perfect headphones for my niece; way better & far less trendy than Beats.
soundaholic
9
Aug 10, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Already very hard to beat at the original price. At Massdrop's discounted price you'd have to pay several more times to get better sounding on-ear headphones
Morri2
81
Aug 8, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I really love these headphones! They are built well, comfortable, easy to drive and the sound is on par with $300 headphones. The sound is warm and very detailed. The included cables are very nice and the wood cups are beautiful! Can't wait till Thinksound makes a over the ear headphone.
kostaszag
0
Nov 29, 2018
Morri2Brainwavz
minmsee
76
Apr 18, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The best choice for on-ear headphone fans. But I don't recommend this to other than on-ear headphone lovers. I think good IEMs must be better choice for other people for mobile use.
Quick Review: Build: Excellent! Solid and beautiful! Sound: Good at this price point. But I prefer well-designed IEMs to ON2 because of following factors: Bass: Very Good Middle: Very Good Treble: Not bad Sound stage: Narrow. I don't like this feeling. Comfort: Very Good in cold seasons. But in other seasons...
Thanks for reading!
-SHURE SE215 -SHURE SRH940 -AK T8iE mkII -Massdrop Noble Audio K10U -Massdrop HD6xx (DMaa mod) -Massdrop Focal Elex
Raubvogel
3
Mar 6, 2019
minmseeIEMs are significantly less comfortable for some people though, including me. It's a shame that it has to be like that though because I love my T2s, just cannot wear them for more than an hour without wanting to rip them out.
minmsee
76
Mar 8, 2019
RaubvogelI agree with you. Matching with IEMs highly depends on the shape of inner ears. Through my experience, Shure SE series have good performance for the ear matching. I suppose it's because their nozzles are relatively thin so the ear tips can have enough space to fit our ears. The other choice is beyerdynamic XELENTO (and its older version, A&K T8iE mkII). The design of there ear tips are very unique and well-thought! Once you find the matched size of ear tips, the overall performance (sound insulation plus comfort) is better than Shure SEs.
(Edited)
Corinth
22
Apr 18, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I'm not usually a fan of On-ear headphones, however these were very comfortable. I am 100% satisfied with the sound and have recommended these to my friends/family/ colleagues. They are also made with durable materials and are awesome for travelling. These have become my go-to pair for travel - for a non noise cancelling headphones, these are fantastic at blocking out noise with also very little (if at all) sound leakage.
Its hard for me to fault these headphones... I guess the only thing is that the sound signature may not suit everyone.
Sandifop
6
Nov 11, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I’m A Fan, Not A Fan Boy
I have now purchased three pair of ON2s and have to contain my enthusiasm or I'll come of as a shill: I do not have any objective here other than write my subjective review. I bought the first pair of ON2 on a whim because the cost was good. I was hoping to find a pair of headphones to cut down on cabin noise in airliners, while avoiding IEMs (which make my ears itch for days after using) and batteries. The ON2s checked all of these boxes. The sound was neutral enough I thought I could use them in my work during studio video shoots and so bought a second pair for work. I have since bought a third pair for my son. (And he loves them) Pros:  - Pretty - About 20db of passive noise attenuation  - Batteries not included (or required) - Comes with both a mic'd and un-mic'd cord - Both ends of the audio cables are 3.5mm phone (very handy) - The sound is not objectionable - The mic is pretty good (not noise cancelling) - Pretty small and folding - Nice ‘under $100’ gift - Good support from the company Cons: - Look too pretty; you might have to find baby sox to protect the wood - An ear-pad on one of my three pair has come loose on occasion, not a big concern for me - Both of the included audio cables are a good length for "personal audio" use but too short for my use on a camera (not a problem for me since both ends are 3.5mm phone, of which I have several longer spares) I'm not going to run on. I didn’t address the audio quality because, at $100, I find these to be a fair deal but not a “big deal.” The best I can say is they present nothing objectionable, the worst is they are not greatly detailed: The sound is good enough for my use with the video camera and personal audio on the train. ON2s are rugged enough for my camera bag and the company quickly corrected an issue I had when (likely) my camera bag was too rough on one of my earpieces. Good enough for government work. Good enough for the train.
(Edited)
Showing 33 of 114
Related Products