Tin Hifi P1 IEM
Tin Hifi P1 IEM
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.6k Sold
Product Description
A newcomer in the audiophile market, Tin Hifi has built a reputation by offering high-quality audio products that don’t break the bank. Building on the success of its T series, the P1 IEM is a game changer when it comes to sound and construction Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.1
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
144
check
80%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
AudioObsession
36
Nov 10, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing!!! (with proper setup)
I have owned the P1 for 2+ months now, and I am shocked by how good it is. It sounds amazing with all the natural textures, and dynamics. I would put the P1 as an equal (but VERY different) to my Audiosense T800. However, I feel it's almost a bad idea to compare the two because they are both just so different. Truly an "apples/oranges" scenario here. Both are very worth having though... The T800 is like a high speed musical jack hammer (in a very good way), that seems to literally turn your eardrums into the actual speakers. I love it, but admit it can be fatiguing after 6-8 hr sessions (almost anything would be though) Where as the P1 is a super transparent device that seems to make your brain become the speakers.. (I can also handle 10+ hr listening sessions with the P1). So, the T800 seems to become a living part of your ears, where as the P1 seems to turn your head into medium sized well tuned concert hall.. Crazy I know, but that's the best I can describe the differences between them. The T800's bass is obviously more prominent than the P1's bass (quantity), but bass accuracy & clarity (all accuracy & clarity) goes to the P1. This feels wrong of me to admit somehow, because the T800 is insanely clear, but the P1 seems to bypass your ears and goes directly to the brain. It just seems to render music as it should be. Almost as if it bypasses your eardrums. The strange thing is, this was not instantly noticeable.. The first 1/2 hour or more, I just felt like: "Wow! These sound like nice over ear, open back, headphones" but then after a few hours, they installed their tentacles into my brain and assumed control. They are just weird like that, and possibly should be illegal... Bass: The P1 bass is just fine in a neutral sense. Reminds me of how the bass is on high end near-feild type studio monitors. The P1 is actually capable of playing really low 10hz sine waves. It plays extremely lows sinewaves with no distortion at all. However- these sub-bass ultra low frequencies are barely audible, so they need the full amp to even hear them. Runing IMD sweep tests were flawless...Again; no distortion at all... I did cause the lows to rattle with too much amp, so be careful with these types of tests. The P1 bass range seems to become usable (no EQ) after 40hz and even more so at around 50hz So if you feel the need for some deep P1 -BASS- it requires copious amounts of bass EQ. The good news is, it seems to handle massive amounts of sub-bass EQ -IF- you have the tools to apply it. So, to get that type of bass response, you need to remove at least -12db from your preamp, and then +12db of 20hz to 35hz and maybe +8db of 40hz +4db 50hz.. Then AMP the hell out of it (at least a 1 watt amp should be used). I have a simple EQ preset that I use on Foobar2000 that does all this for me, and I just CRANK my Atom amp to make up for the loss in volume.. The Atom Amp is more then loud enough to make up for the -12db compensation though. Seems like those that own the E1DA PowerDAC V2 with the accompanying EQ software could do this really well. Mids: Excellent mids. I don't know what else to say here.. I do like the mids more than the T800. They are very natural and highly detailed. Mids don't have that "warm musical glow" to them like a Toneking T4 does, but the T4's mids can occasionally become slightly congested and are not as clear as the P1's mids. Treble: From what I can tell, it appears that the treble is too honest for most reviewers. It seems to pull out weird flaws (even the smallest amounts of high end clipping) in recordings. At times I wondered if it was a flaw as others have mentioned, or is it just something that no one has really heard from an earphone, so they don't know what else to call it? I still need to run more tests, but the secret is to listen to some perfectly recorded solo instruments that have lots of high end. I have some 24bit-192Khz Drum/Percussion solos that I use to test for all sorts of flaws in various sound monitors. These recordings are of stellar quality, but nothing that the public would ever listen to because they're for OCD engineer/producer types. With the P1: the super high trebles on triangle pings, ride cymbal bell fades, and/or gentle crash cymbal fades, slowly roll off without any strange transients and/or distortion. The P1 reproduces a very accurate treble. maybe too accurate for some? However, treble flaws on full group (band, orchestera, etc) mixes can be detected with the P1. That's the way I would judge the treble on the P1... That's also why I believe there was some criticism on the Beyonce' mix with the P1. Also, since I'm comparing the Tin P1 with the Audiosense: The T800 has that sharp 2-4Khz ring to it, that the P1 does hot have. However, I've completely removed that issue from the T800 via brown Knowles dampers, so to me the T800 -was- pretty harsh in comparison, but with filters it is corrected. T800 treble is still not as clear as the P1 though.. I just don't believe my own words in saying this, but I have to admit that my P1 does accuracy and clarity better then my T800. I don't get the P1's FR graphs either, because it's treble doesn't seem to match them. One of the weird mysteries about the P1... SoundStage: In my 100+ hrs of use (my opinion might change in a month of course), the soundstage on the P1 is like a nice pair of openback over ears. It's better sounding (in stage, tonality, and detail) than my Beyerdynamic DT880 Pro, and that says a lot. I would describe the P1 as the clearest sounding earphone (or any other monitor type, including my $5k Q12 monitors) that I have heard to date. Okay, I don't mean to hype these because they are just $170 earphones after all, but I am so thrilled with this purchase, that I am willing to forgive the few things that I wish they had. Some slight cons: I LOVE their bass quality, but I do want MORE. If they did bass quantity as well as my T800 I might actually die from too perfect of a sound. I am also very happy with their very accurate soundstage, but I guess it would be cool if the stage was a bit more 3D Holographic (even though that wouldn't be as accurate)... I just like the way an exaggerated soundstage makes me feel. Like the ToneKing T4 can do. The T4's stage is just crazy. Where as the P1's Stage is very precise and realistic. I would trust the P1's stage for critical mixing/engineering though. Fit is slightly strange... They don't hurt anywhere no matter how long I ware them, but they are so small that I need to push them in every once in a while. Same with the Tin T2 I guess. No big deal really. I haven even removed the cable from the bag nor have I even opened any of the accessories. So I can't comment on that.. I will say that, because the P1's fit can be a bit loose, I'd recommend using a 6 core (or less) lighter weight cable.. I mostly use an inexpensive 6 core copper balanced cable. Nothing special about it really. I have not cable swapped enough to give any accurate reports, so I'll save that for later. Okay, sorry about the TLDR here.. lol! My advice is; BUY IT! It's well worth the $170. Such a unique experience in an earphone that it should be added to your collection, even if you have already found your "EndGame" IEM.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
mobinh
12
Nov 11, 2019
Thank you. Your review is very helpful.
Hi-Fi_Life
8
Nov 12, 2019
I like the comparisson with DT880 pro. I was thinking to buy planar earphones, I wouldn't for now
rioster
36
Aug 11, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent sound, excellent value
My honest opinion: STOP! If you intend to use these straight into your phone do not buy these. These IEMs required an amp! You will be severely disappointed if you listen from your phone or player. Now that that is out of the way.... Wow! $150 never sounded like this! Crystal clear highs, punchy bass and everything in between. Excellent value here, just get an amp.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Hewnrai_74
29
Aug 19, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Impressive but needs power
Well after listening to these for about a week, i am really impressed by its performance. I dont really have much experienced so i'll try my best to give a good initial impression of the P1s.  Unboxing, It comes in a really nice box .( unfortunately, shipping wasnt gentle with it) The P1s are nicely presented ,in place. The cable though, looks and feels abit like dried ramen noodles, behaves like it as well. First off, these NEED power, i initially plugged it straight into my v30 with a 80 ohm adapter to kick it into high impedence mode. It sounded OK but underwhelming compared to plugging it into my B4x.  Fit, When i stuck them into my ears initially,they sounded really muffled until i got them sitting right in which, sound improved dramaticly. These are really small and fit in my ears really well and are really comfortable and i dont really feel them in my ears which is quite nice Sound As i said earlier, they need POWER. They needed atleast 12'O clock on the B4x ( non balanced port since im using stock cables), which is almost as much as my HE4xx, my other everyday iems such as KZSZS10 pro only required 8'O clock before my ears scream at me to stop. The detail retrival works wonders. Listening to some smooth jazz, u can really feel the texture of sound, Listening to some Euphonium Solos, these sounded really warm and sweet, really brings out the sound of a euphonium. These have the perfect amount of bass for me and they sound very nicely balanced and smooth across the frequencies. Vocals sound natural and especially on female vocals, it brings out the sweetness. Imaging is really good and i could easily feel the directions in which the sound comes from. Soundstage has really good depth but dont sound wide, more on the intimate side. I used my LG V30 with and without a 80 ohm adapter to kick it into high impedence mode and they both sounded okay. When i plugged it into my portable amps, the bass gets more pronounced and i could hear more resolution within the bass and the treble, In the trebles section especially, when listening to vocals and especially violins, you could really feel the texture of the sound produced, my best analogy would be comparing feeling the surface of sand paper versus a rock or brick With an amp, you can tell so much more detail like the inconsistencies of sound of vocals or instruments (like a rock or brick) versus the general texture of sound (like sand paper) Even so plugging into a phone (LG V30) would have enough volume, though the P1s are not at their full potential. They really open up and shine with more current running through them. Either ways, with or without amp, the sound signature would stay almost the same and there wouldn't really be much change in how they sound except for the improvement in the resolution. Overall, i really like the P1s and imo they are really above their price point. These are just my opinions and sound is subjective so people may not feel the same, especially about the quantity of bass.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Hewnrai_74
29
Aug 23, 2019
I got it from TaoBao
Hewnrai_74
29
Aug 23, 2019
U cant really compare them though, their sound profile is quite different. The KZ has emphasis in the bass and the upper midrange,lower treble area. The ZS10pros are a little recessed in the lower mids. If you are comparing against detail retrival, then the P1s out right destroys the zs10pros in that regard. Price to performance ratio, both are really good, both hit above where they are priced at. For me, i was looking for something that is detailed and similar neutral in which, the P1s are very worth it for me but they did require amplification to sound their best so some people may think its not worth it because of that. I have a JDS Labs C5 which i bring around with me all the time so portability isnt an issue for me.
(Edited)
Nullandvoid
27
Jul 30, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
From zero to hero
After opening the plastic bag it was shipped in, the box looked badly crushed in one corner. Fearing the worst, the IEM's were securely held in place in the foam and totally protected. Running through a desktop amp, I was initially disappointed by the sound being very thin and tinny but this was due to poor fitting tips. After a couple of hours trying out the various IEM tips, settled on the large bore wide diameter silicone tips and with a little EQ to increase the base it's now glorious. The detail and clarity is simply god tier, going back to HD58X sound for a comparison is muddy and dark, don't get me wrong I love the HD58X it's the level of detail of the P1 is just blowing my mind atm.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Khangfu
1
Aug 7, 2019
I took the foam out of my HD58X and it sounds amazing now. The highs are really sharp compared with the foam in. I took both the foam inside the earcup along with the ones outside of it. Try it and see if you like it.
Nullandvoid
27
Aug 8, 2019
Already done that mod and like it, I still love the HD58X it's just the P1 is very different in character.
TonyLeung
36
Oct 13, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Yeah, I jumped into this hype train with Dekoni ear tips, without looking what my options were. This iem is planar and needs a lot of EQ tweaking, before you even want to listen to. Out of the box it's a mehhh. Then I found out, my LG phone with hifi DAC wasn't powerful enough to drive this hungry boy. So, this little baby is supposed to be used @ home??! or do I have to buy a separate player? But the KILLING thing is the cable or actually the iem as whole. It's NOT COMFORTABLE! Oh man, then I see people replacing the cable and ear tips with everything what fits. So, here is the list to check before you even should consider: 1 ) Heavy EQ needed: All-the-time, without EQ, it doesn't sound "right" 2 ) Requires a very powerful desktop amp, otherwise the music sounds coming from a can 3 ) Requires cable replacement, seriously 4 ) Ear tips replacement for better comfort 5 ) Some people get shocked! A design flaw to be corrected in MKII? 6 ) It's shinny on the pics. In real it looks ugly and cheap. Although the case is nice, it's too small. If, you don't mind all these requirements or you just own them already. Look further while your ~$169 (+ $10 ear tips & $20+ cable) is still in your wallet: 1 ) Tin T2,3or4, is much easier to drive for a fraction of the price (if you love the brand Tin Audio). Well, it's NOT planar! then look at these: 2 ) Audeze iSine10 B-stock, with lightning cipher cable (DAC) for $149. Sound stage is MUCH better, Comfort is not perfect, still way better than P1 without cable replacement. EQ not needed when using the lighting cable with DAC. (USB-C converter cost $29) 3 ) Keep your money in your wallet while searching... What about a Hifiman HE4xx planar for $130 or a Dekoni Blue Planar for $180 ,both planar, also for home usage and is out of the box ready to rock. Conclusion: Planar is NOT magic. Most of you can't enjoy of the Tin P1 when it arrives on your door mat. You need to buy many things around it to make it "Potential", then you will find out you will like it or not. People who invested the time & money to achieve this may say it's a good iem. My question is how many of the P1 owners really did these tuning to get into it's "potential" stage? Even if you have the money, willpower & time to do all the research, shopping and tweaking... People are using top desk tiers amp like the AAA789 to drive this. It's like you need to put rocket fuel into a Mini car. I thought an iem was made for the convenience , for on the road. Maybe , maybe this is not the iem everyone hoped it would be. Using: Bose QC35II, Soundwear | Aftershock | Shure SE215m+ | TIN P1 | Blon-03 | ThieAudio L3 CIEM | Airpod2 | Mpow M30 Sennheiser HD 580, 58x, 6xx | Audeze iSine10, Mobius | Grado sr80e | Stax L700 | Meze Empyrean JDS O2+dac | DarkVoice 336se+tubes | RME adi2dac | Massdrop THX AAA789, Airist Audio R-2R dac |Calyx M | 
(Edited)
rayliam80
24
Jul 29, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fast transients and more power!
My P1 arrived today - three days after estimated ship date. I'm happy with these, overall. Cable could've been better braided. These sound and feel like a planar open back minus the soundstage. Details are really nice, very fast transients on stuff like Aphex Twin's Syro album. It definitely has planar bass - quick, responsive, and lightweight. Timbre and tonality is good - electric guitars have good crunch. Vocals are not overly thick but aren't thin or small sounding either. It does sound slightly dry, reminds of me of the T2 in this way. And it definitely needs a lot of power like others have said... So my V30 doesn't drive them well plugging it straight in - it comes off as weak, anemic sounding. I tried a 220ohm adapter and aux cable to trick it into high impedance mode. It sounds better this way but I'm pushing the volume to 60 or 70 depending on the track - LG volume maxes out at 75. Useable but not really optimal. On my desk, the Liquid Spark really makes them shine - no complaints at all. Plugging into my iFi Nano BL (line output feeds into LS), I get good volume levels at around 12 noon to 2 o'clock (which is the most volume for any IEM I've plugged into it). It sounds better than my V30 but has less instrument separation/depth compared to the LS, which has more headroom to drive it extremely loudly. I recommend this if you have other gear, some kind of headphone amp at a minimum, and are not planning to use it straight into a smartphone, tablet or laptop/computer or you consider yourself even a borderline bass head.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
eatprotein
0
Aug 9, 2019
If I use my laptop in an environment where I like to listen to music but at lower volumes, would I still need an amp for this or could I just plug it in? Basically at lower power is it mainly the volume that is the issue
rayliam80
24
Aug 15, 2019
I'd probably choose a more sensitive IEM that leans neutral instead of the P1 for low volume listening without an amp.
K0r3Uptd
19
Aug 21, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
sub-optimal for portable use, to say the least
I knew these were going to be hard to drive, but I did not expect that Fiio's new M11 DAP wouldn't be able to do the job adequately. Through the M11 (balanced and un-balanced) the sound was lacking clarity, depth, presence and weight. Bass was so lacking I thought there was a bad connection. They sound incredibly dismal powered through the M11 to the point of being unlistenable. This is a deal-breaker for me because the reason I decided to get the P1 in the first place was for pairing with this DAP. However, when I ran these through my desktop amp/dac they completely transformed into a capable IEM. This likely rules out there being something defective with my P1 or cables. Unfortunately, I already own far superior headphones for desktop use, and the limited length cables for the P1 would have me sitting in an awkward position close to my amp. Therefore, the P1 is not useful to me and I probably will need to try selling these at a loss (or purchase a new portable amp for over $500 that can juice these things properly - not happening).
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
aliquis
2
Sep 7, 2019
How do that even work? Normally the body resistance is high and 2 volt for instance wouldn't do any harm. Then again if you put a 4.5(?) at-least 9 volt battery against your tongue you will feel it, the tongue being much wetter than what your skin normally is. But that part of the connection I would just see as anode and cathode with a potential between each other. So with grounding in the mix is it that the ground I touch when I stand on something and the ground in the electricity network have zero potential between each other? And hence like if one side is +2 volt relative to that even if it get a connection to the metal outside there will just be 2 volt between it and your body and nothing will happen whereas if the device is not grounded the potential relative your body can be anything? Is it not even an issue with wires touching the case but simply that having metal things in your ears increase the odds of getting some static discharge from whatever? What's the technical function and issue here if any?
Gramblor
57
Sep 7, 2019
Yeah, I think it's weird too. For what it's worth, I've been really enjoying these earphones. They haven't shocked me yet, and the distortion I sometimes get out of my Dragonfly isn't a huge issue. I think the glowing early reviews misled people into thinking they'd be better than they are, but they're still pretty great.
zeroselect
11
Aug 29, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
OverHyped
The Tin T2 $50 is better than Tin P1. Would not recommend.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Appealstoreason
35
Jul 30, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Hard to drive, amazing to listen to.
Running out of a Fiio M11 with a balanced cable and high gain 60/100 is comfortable and if I want to rock out I can hit 80 depending on the album. Super comfy to wear, built like brick shithouses. I’m an amateur at this review writing thing so I’ll just sum it up by saying once I started to listen I didn’t want to stop. They gave me that feeling of “I need to re-listen to EVERYTHING I OWN”. Truly enjoyable - imaging is crazy good - sub-bass is good without compromising upper bass/low mids. Speed and timbre are excellent. Another winner from Tin Audio.
search
Minor gripe - these were sent to me in nothing but a thin shipping bag so of course my box was damaged.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Flossman88
1
Jul 31, 2019
Is that the stock cable? It look more like the T3 cable
Appealstoreason
35
Jul 31, 2019
This is a $16 mmcx to 4.4 cable I picked up on Amazon. The P1 doesn't come with a balanced cable.
Radiocalm
9
Aug 14, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Best sounding iem I own
So I have a lot of iems, I’m a little crazy. Several I have were expensive, 2 that I have were very expensive. These sound better than all of them. No joke, the fit is just ok, not great. The cable is ok, not great. But the sound.... oh my goodness the sound. I don’t know how to put it into words. These are the most natural sounding headphones I’ve heard. They are to me at least, a pretty flat tuning... they simply sound like the music. It’s like they aren’t a headphone... it’s like the music is getting wired straight to your brain. There is no emphasis anywhere in the tuning. It’s just the music. And they are incredibly revealing and detailed and yet at the same time very forgiving of poorly recorded music. I don’t know how they did it for $160 bucks. I haven’t taken them out since I got them, and when I put in different iems, or put on different headphones they all sound off to me in comparison. Highly, highly recommended. I could sell the rest of my stuff and just keep these and be very happy. Of course I won’t do that, because I’m a crazy person... but they make me feel like I could.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Radiocalm
9
Aug 31, 2019
I have several different things but honestly because I’m often moving around a lot I mostly use the dragonfly red. I love the dragonfly red because it fits my lifestyle, it’s so portable... anyways it’s not super powerful and it sounds great with the p1. You have to turn it up significantly louder than you do with let’s say my se846... but it has plenty of juice. I think the FiiO player would work just fine. People say they need a little power, and they do... but any decent little dap or dac amp should do.
Hi-Fi_Life
8
Sep 11, 2019
Thanks! Se846? Cool! Can you compare sound of P1 with Shure? I have AKG K3003, they have plenty of bass but not very accurate treble if we compare them to Fiio FH5. For example FH5 very good for vocal, some kind of jazz and opera with articulate voices but I just cant listen on them old metal (Edge Of Sanity), AKG has much wider scene (not as accurate) and much brighter sound, it makes me more interested in music. I expect from P1 good vocals, highs and good separation of instruments and acceptable bass
Showing 58 of 269