Tin HiFi T2 & T2 Pro IEMs
$50

Tin HiFi T2 & T2 Pro IEMs

bookmark_border
$50
Model:
Complete Setup:
add
BLON BL-03 IEM
add
Koss KPH30i Headphones
15.7k Sold
·
Ready to Ship
Review Highlights:
expand_less
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great set of IEMS, extremely well balanced, as all things should be.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I spent the first 20 years of my career in the high-end consumer and professional audio industries. So I was constantly surrounded by mono-block amplifiers as heavy as a Volkswagen, speakers that can cure constipation, and speaker wire that could be at home in a bridge suspension. But now I'm in my 50's, my whole music collection is on my phone and it's all about convenience. Sitting in a room in front of a music system critically listening for sound stage and dynamics? Yeah, not so much these days. In the mean time, I had almost forgotten how good quality audio can sound. For the money, these T2s are a revelation. Of course nothing is perfect. But at this price, I could not ask for anything more. The sound is open yet controlled. High frequencies are a bit forward but not shrill even when pushed hard. Bass is extended, solid and tight. And the all-important mid-frequencies where the unforgiving human voice resides is a bit on the warm, lush side yet loses none of its detail. One note of caution: Try ALL of the included ear tips. They sound excellent in my ears with the factory installed foam units, but they are too tight in my ears. I was shocked when I tried a smaller set and all of the heft of the bass was gone and the midrange became hollow and nasal, the way a bad horn-loaded driver does. Upon inspection, I found that the tips not only vary in outside diameter, but also have varying openings. The difference in sound is HUGE. So try them out and see which ones sound best in your ears. In the recording studio, the best near-field monitors allow the engineer to "hear into" the mix. They are precise and unforgiving. But ironically, they don't really sound great for casual listening. These Tin Audio T2 IEMs are a good compromise. They offer the listener enough nuance to hear the intricacies in the layers of a recording. However, they are not overly analytical or annoying - like that one member of your family that's quick to point out every one of your flaws at holiday gatherings. In the end they deliver an articulate representation of the music and remain engaging with out fatiguing the listener.
See all 944 reviews
Q&A Highlights:
expand_less
Since it’s not free shipping why would we buy it from here instead of Amazon?
It's still more expensive on amazon for the "pro" variant anyway at the time of you making this post and me responding (4-24-21, 4-28-21)
See all 10 questions
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.2
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
944
check
86%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
zurk
243
Jun 26, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent
I hate you Zeos
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Getoffamylawn
5
Jul 13, 2019
LMAO
SpaceCadet65
140
Dec 7, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I spent the first 20 years of my career in the high-end consumer and professional audio industries. So I was constantly surrounded by mono-block amplifiers as heavy as a Volkswagen, speakers that can cure constipation, and speaker wire that could be at home in a bridge suspension. But now I'm in my 50's, my whole music collection is on my phone and it's all about convenience. Sitting in a room in front of a music system critically listening for sound stage and dynamics? Yeah, not so much these days. In the mean time, I had almost forgotten how good quality audio can sound. For the money, these T2s are a revelation. Of course nothing is perfect. But at this price, I could not ask for anything more. The sound is open yet controlled. High frequencies are a bit forward but not shrill even when pushed hard. Bass is extended, solid and tight. And the all-important mid-frequencies where the unforgiving human voice resides is a bit on the warm, lush side yet loses none of its detail. One note of caution: Try ALL of the included ear tips. They sound excellent in my ears with the factory installed foam units, but they are too tight in my ears. I was shocked when I tried a smaller set and all of the heft of the bass was gone and the midrange became hollow and nasal, the way a bad horn-loaded driver does. Upon inspection, I found that the tips not only vary in outside diameter, but also have varying openings. The difference in sound is HUGE. So try them out and see which ones sound best in your ears. In the recording studio, the best near-field monitors allow the engineer to "hear into" the mix. They are precise and unforgiving. But ironically, they don't really sound great for casual listening. These Tin Audio T2 IEMs are a good compromise. They offer the listener enough nuance to hear the intricacies in the layers of a recording. However, they are not overly analytical or annoying - like that one member of your family that's quick to point out every one of your flaws at holiday gatherings. In the end they deliver an articulate representation of the music and remain engaging with out fatiguing the listener.
antgriffiths
9
Jan 12, 2019
Ha! Nice one.
Marcel.Vincent
2
Mar 21, 2021
i think you've convinced me to buy them, I plan on holding you accountable if anything goes wrong haha
CaseyOD
190
Jan 18, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I received the T2 pros last night. They come in a very nice box with more tips than I'll ever need or try. I tried with the foam and some silicone tips and stayed with the silicone. I did not notice a huge difference in the sound but the silicone fit my ear better. Build quality is very impressive for the price. They are solidly built little metal housings. There's a little weight to them but not overly heavy. The cable is nice. It's very flexible. I was surprised how heavy the plug end was. It seems like it weighs more than the rest of the cable itself. The MMCX connectors snap in positively and very firmly and are not easily disconnected (you have to want to disconnect the driver unit from the cable. This is not going to happen accidentally.) Sound: I started with some instrumental music. Bela Fleck's Cosmic Hippo is a go to because I know how it should sound. First impression was immensely positive. The bass guitar sounded natural and textured. It represented the electric bass extremely accurately. Sub bass is present but not elevated. Overall these sound accurate, neutral and pretty amazing for the price point. I was not expecting huge soundstage but these surprised me. They are wider than I expected. Imaging is good too. Interesting. Highs are very clear and detailed. But... Then I started playing some tracks with vocals and the impression changed. Mids sound slightly recessed. It's odd because I didn't get the impression listening to instrumental tracks that these had a v-shaped sound signature but once I heard some vocals that impression changed. However, the vocals still sounded good for the most part. The difficult thing for me is that the s's were really sibillant. Cymbals didn't tend to be but for some reason s's and t's had a very strong and distracting sibilance. I'm wondering/hoping that perhaps when I put some hours on these that perhaps that goes away. If it doesn't I can totally use and enjoy these with instrumental music. It's odd that the harshness seems to be exactly where s's live and is not really present, or at least not objectionably so, at other points in the frequency response.   I wasn't sure about getting these or the T2. I've read some other T2 pro reviews that mention the sibilance. I may also switch back to the foam tips to see if that brings it down at all although, on first listen it was pretty pronounced with both sets of tips I tried. Hmmm. In retrospect perhaps the T2 was the better call. I was hoping the reports of the sibilance were exaggerated. Perhaps not. I'll burn them in and see if that helps. So much potential. Too bad. Are they worth the $50 bucks? Probably. They sound better than they should at that price point. But those S's are hard to get over. Update: I tried a few things with these and gave the foam tips another try. They do cool down the s's a bit. I've read that the comply tips really help so I guess I'll give them a try. With tracks like Morphine's Buena the hard s's are not as piercing with a combination of the foam tips and notching the 8 and 20k dials on my Schiit Loki. When you cool off the highs these sound pretty good. If it weren't for the piercing s's though these sound great. I'm going to upgrade to a 4 out of 5. I'll revisit after I try the Comply tips.
(Edited)
CaseyOD
190
Feb 13, 2019
Finally tried the Comply isolation plus tips. Definitely cool down the highs and sibilant s’s. They can still come out a little but make these a lot more listenable. May still try the stock T2s.
CaseyOD
190
Sep 22, 2019
I've had both for some time now and I will say it's a horses for courses scenario. The T2 Pros sound great with instrumental/orchestral music. Very detailed and revealing. Things with poorly recorded S's and lots of cymbals can be too hot for me personally. The original T2's are the ones I reach for most often for an IEM though. They're a pretty spectacular set of IEM's for the price.
jnavafb
75
Jul 27, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great set of IEMS, extremely well balanced, as all things should be.
McCrary
6
Jul 28, 2018
*snap*
HumanBeing
222
Sep 4, 2018
yep, this one's going in my cringe compilation
terry8471
28
May 18, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It's marked "delivered" but I didn't get anything. The CS is not helpful and asked me to deal with the courier myself. The courier China EMS has no email for support. I want a refund.
terry8471
28
Jul 3, 2019
They deliberately chose an unreliable courier. It's well-known that the only sensible option is SF Express. It's clear who's to be blamed.
petecamacho
67
Jun 12, 2020
It's okay.. this happens quite often they will be marked as delivered but they eventually will show up take it from someone that orders many chi fi products.
Wile_E_Coyote
14
Feb 26, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Buyer Beware
They worked for almost a year. When the right IEM failed I contacted DROP about how to make a warranty claim. This is Drops response: Thanks for getting back to me! 

After looking into this, I can see that these IEMs didn't come with a manufacturer's warranty; as that would be listed in the "included" section on the product run page directly: Thanks DROP.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
HIFI778
652
Mar 1, 2020
Wanted to purchase one but pass on it.
SRVVZR
24
Aug 13, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Tin T2 pro: brilliant, this is an absolute gem
We will start with the TL;DR, If a friend asked me to recommend an IEM, I would unreservedly say Tin audio T2 or (T2 pro (depending on their treble tastes)) and tell them, if they need more bass then the neutral bass these have, to try the bass mod. This is unless they specified they had bounds of money to spend and only want the best. Disclaimer! I find it much easier to talk about what is wrong with something, then what is right with it. So if I am brief with something and don't bother explaining, it probably means is good. A good example is this disclaimer where is am starting to get in-depth about my shortcomings as a reviewer. List of current and owned headphones/iems and more disclaimer at bottom of review. So, I have two Tin Audio T2 pros.... why did I not get a normal T2 too? I had already joined the drop for the T2 Pro, and one came up on the second hand market in as new cond., at the equivalent of $20usd incl shipping... For the drop price, these are brilliant, I cannot believe how good these are, mid range is really nice, but remember that the mid range includes VOCALS and speech includes frequencies up to the top of the mid treble range, and for this: I do wish I brought the non pro version, most fricatives (a type of consonant made by the friction of breath in a narrow opening, producing a turbulent air flow (s, th, f and etc.)) a little too much with the Pro. Looking at crinacles graph tool (https://crinacle.com/graphs/graphtool/) it is probably because of the 8k peak. please though, it is not unlistenable by any means. It is just bright and you do adjust with time. because of this peak and general rise and long extension in treble, the pro is very revealing; You can hear any and every nuance, which is great for clean recordings, but I have had to black list some songs because what on my other IEM (Massdrop Plus) is an excusable bit of sh*t mastering becomes very annoying, gritty and pronounced, to the point I find myself thinking is there something wrong with my equipment... but there is not, and it just is the song. Mids are generally great, not much to say here, remember the disclaimer? yep. but also with that remember the thing above about fricatives. Now, bass has a peculiar effect on people, and for the majority of people: bass quantity effects their perception of overall sound quality. I am not exempt from this, and if there is not enough bass, it doesn't really matter how good the rest of the system is, I am probably going to listen to something else. However bass quality is something i'm big on, and bloated, mid-bass centric is not what im after. Thankfully the T2 pro does not have bloated mid centric bass, I would nearly go as far to say it is light in this regard. But if go looking for quality "everyday person priced" product that isn't the embodiment of bass bloat and group delay muddying mid, you will be looking for a while (unless you first went to budgetaudio.com where you will find the . What the T2 pro does have is well controlled and extended bass. NOW TIME TO BOOOOST THE BAASSS!!!! This can be done permanently or as a temporary mod. all you need to do is block the port/vent/hole by the base of the tip. blutak, tape or if you are very skilled and want an excellent and clean finish and (semi...) PERMANENT mod, I used superglue... I was very careful to not let the glue get into the housing, so please be aware, if you are ham fisted and can't use precision tools (I say precision tool, but I used a tooth pick...) for glue application and/or you are not careful, you may get glue in the T2, which you probably don't want.... Right, so with the bass mod, bass is much (much) bigger, and seems (sounds) to be more or less centered around 80-120hz (looks like 50hz on budgetaudio.com) it does now ride on the back of the mids, making them over full and deep IMO others may disagree, but I like my mids clean leaning to fullish. so, I have one set of T2 Pros with bass mod, and one set with half bass mod, I recommend half bass mod (don't fully block the hole) as this still gives a big boost, its not as over bearing. with both mods, I find the bass to be less clean then the unmodded one, but I think it's a good trade off. but I am me, you are you. Build quallity: look at the picture, see how its made of machined(?) metal? yep. you know how metal durable metal is? yep. I bet you could stomp on these, and they would be fine. Cable is fine, I wouldn't bother upgrading. although the 3.5mm jack is quite a bit larger then I would like (It looks like something I would buy to make it easier for me to solder, it's like the size of an RCA jack_ it is weighty, so, if like me you run your cable under your top, this .50 caliber 3.5mm jack is redeemable. Packaging: it's nice, looks like a book, can be reused as a neat box to store things in, however, I do not buy things for their packaging, that would be weird, and if you do that, you should stop and buy things for the quality of the actual product. ;) More Disclaimer: I am also unaffiliated with any and every audio company and reviewer, I am not a "golden ear", I am an electrician (distribution) who loves music and quality playback equipment. I am a price/performance aficionado, I buy to the right and the left of the top of the bell curve, so I won't buy $2 IEMs from the shop down the road and I also won't buy anything in summit-fi. the quality just is not to the left and I am not rich and (as of writing this) do not get free stuff to review, although I would love to try the Audiosense T800 if anyone reading this has that power ;) What I have or have had. HiFiman: HE400 HE400I RE00 AKG: K702 K553 Beyerdynamic: DT770 (32) AudioTechnica: AD700x Sennheiser: HD650 Phillips: Fidelio X2 MEEaudio: this that and the other, oh and that one too.
Ismailarif
15
May 15, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
When Zeos recommends, we buy. Too bad the stock, foam buds were too big for my ear canal. Had to change to the smallest one :(
Cryboi
69
Apr 23, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
T2, non pro. These are stupid. I have never really put any money into IEMs... Because headphones. But I do have a few sets, most notably the 1More Quad Driver in-ears. Until recently those retailed for like 170$ and I got them for 100$. These are better. I have never heard such a clean sounding IEM. The bass is absolutely lacking, but I'm pairing them with a setup that has good EQ adjustment. With a little tweaking these do everything I could want them to do, and seriously, they sound closer to a headphone than any IEM I have ever had, as far as sound quality goes. Not some crappy low end headphone either. I'm beyond impressed. How are these this cheap? It makes no sense.
(Edited)
HaVoCTzu
270
Jan 19, 2020
what are you using for EQ?
(Edited)
Cryboi
69
Jan 19, 2020
A Fiio Q1 MkII with a bass boost switch for portable, a Monoprice THX 788 for my home setup.
Icmonkey123
8
Mar 10, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Didn't sound great and became unusable in the first day. [T2 pro] The first thing I noticed was the great soundstage. This situation by far the widest I've have personally heard in an earbud and that is exactly what I was looking for. Then I noticed the lack of bass. I also have ath-m40x so I'm fine with headphones that don't emphasize the low-end, but I did expect more. The lack of mids was a real head scratcher. I listen to a lot of vocal focused music and it's really the the only music I go out of my way to buy on Bandcamp. These headphones not only have a lack of mids, but they change the way vocals sound from anything else I've heard and it's not in a good way. Finally, these have a quite sharp high-end. They make certain songs hard to listen too if they have too much treble. This is all stuff that I was trying to convince myself that I liked, because these were the critically acclaimed t2s and they had to be good. I tried to force myself to like them until they stopped working properly. The last time I used these, they unpaused my music as soon as I plugged them in, which by the way is not a good sign. I tried to listen to a song, but as soon as I moved my phone ever so slightly it paused and brought up Google assistant. These earbuds don't have a mic or button on them so they shouldn't be able to bring up Google assistant/Siri/bixby on any phone. They had a short in the cable within 24hrs of me taking them out of the box. They are unusable now so I can't even keep listening to them or try to burn them in if that is even a thing for earbuds. The only good part of this whole experience was the unboxing and the fact that they didn't break my phone with the overly large audio jack that should be at a right angle. Yes this is my second v30 because the stress from the original cable on my m40x broke the port on my first v30. I am very dissappointed with this product and I hope I can get a refund. Maybe I had a bad pair, but I won't be buying again.
Fractalz
8
Apr 30, 2020
Its because the praise was mostly for the T2s not the Pro versions. They are two very different sound signatures and most prefer the T2s or the Pro version. Most complaints are also towars the Pro versions on this site.
hypnoticdcime
162
Jul 26, 2020
Did you review the Pros and Cons of a $40 pair of IEM's? They sound utterly amazing! Price to performance ratio my friend, check it out.
(Edited)
Showing 41 of 1128
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order