Showing 1 of 32 reviews about:
hms.henet
10
Jul 22, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Absolutely great sounding DAC - pristine sound. The A 30 is a very capable amp and since I replaced the opamps with Burson V5i it became a significantly better and great amplifier.
Jul 22, 2018
Manbear
236
Aug 23, 2018
bookmark_border
Can you explain the difference in sound after upgrading opamps? I’m stuck the sh!tstorm of arguments that people like to have about the A30/D30 vs Modi/Magni. Makes it hard to choose. What I’m looking for is a warmer leaning sound signature. Just curious if the Burson made that difference. I love DIYing.
Aug 23, 2018
hms.henet
10
Aug 23, 2018
bookmark_border
Hi Manbear, I would say that the spaciality got wider with more space around instruments. Also there is a refinement in the definition of the sounds, they are a bit more precise and the bass is different now - not exactly about volume but about definition and density for better. Now I changed my system for a while because I'm listening to the CTH - the Cavalli hybrid from Massdrop. Hope I could have helped you. It is really hard to decide which system to go for. I think both of them are fine choices depending on your taste. Personaly I don't have any Schiit stuff but they are very well regarded. Also if you want a link to check try - http://www.soundperfectionreviews.com/2017/07/review-burson-v5i-dual-op-amps.html
Aug 23, 2018
Manbear
236
Aug 23, 2018
bookmark_border
Awesome. Thank you for the info. Coincidentally, I also bought the CTH which I receive tomorrow. I ended up getting the Schiit Modi multibit - admittedly because I'm a sucker for believing that I need more features than I actually need. I may try the A30 just to have an inexpensive stand-alone solid state amp which would be fun to modify as you have. I hope that you are enjoying your CTH. From what I hear, the 50-100 hour "burn-in" period actually makes a significant improvement in sound. I never believed much in needing to break/burn in audio equipment beyond a few minutes, but it seems that this time it is very true.
Aug 23, 2018
RyCan
131
Aug 25, 2018
bookmark_border
I did a bunch of research on different amps and DACs in the $100-$300 price range. I tried buying Topping equipment a couple of times here but threw in the towel when the (already long to begin with) delivery dates extended more than a month. From what I saw the Topping DACs seem to be cleaner than Schiit but the Magni 3 seems to be the better stock amp. The Burson upgrade to the A30 appears to level that playing field, however it doubles the price of the amp... I ended up with a JDS Labs El DAC and a Magni 3
Aug 25, 2018
Xsantana
1
Sep 9, 2018
bookmark_border
Is it hard to do it? Does it need soldering?
Sep 9, 2018
hms.henet
10
Sep 9, 2018
bookmark_border
No, absolutely not. It's a breeze to install. Just pull the old opamp from the socket and put the Bursons on it. In the Burson site there is an easy and comprehensive explanation about it. https://www.bursonaudio.com/products/supreme-sound-opamp-v5i/
Sep 9, 2018
Xsantana
1
Sep 10, 2018
bookmark_border
Did you notice any significant changes? I have the d30 and I believe it is the best dac I tried. And I have tried many and more expensive. The A30 is said to be not that good. With that upgrade do you think, in therms of value, there are better options?
Thx
Sep 10, 2018
hms.henet
10
Sep 10, 2018
bookmark_border
Personally I did like the sound of the A30 + Burson. But if you think in an under 200 dollars amp you would probably find another good deal. For pure power you may get the Schiit Magni 3 if you do not bother about its harsh metallic sound. The O2 is always a good starting point for half the price. One beautiful sounding amp and dac altogether is the XDuoo XD 05 and you can change the opamps too if you wish - here in MD you get this for about 170 dollars. One step up would be JDS Labs El Amp or The Element. Well then things may go crazy depending on which headphone you want to harmonize with an specific amp, Thats the beginning of the never-ending saga of our hobby. Then tubes, hybrids, etc... You count
Sep 10, 2018
See More Reviews