Topping D50s DAC, PA3, & P50
Topping D50s DAC, PA3, & P50
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
675 Sold
Product Description
The much-anticipated sequel to the popular Topping D50 DAC is here. The Topping D50s brings users improved sound quality with a wider array of connectivity options Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
85
check
84%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
MichaelBelluso
1
Jan 5, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Absolutely lovely.
The depth and soundstage are gorgeous. Like decadent chocolate cake for the ears. Being able to use bluetooth to my home stereo is also a big plus. I just wish my home connection had more bandwidth. Envious of Tidal type Hi Res streamers. Didn't feel the need for Balanced at this stage with my setup. Haven't even used the iFi power yet. I'd definitely buy it again.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
TheTrentMeister
1
Dec 16, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Lasted about 6 months
The A50 lasted about 6 months before failing from what i assume was static shock from me touch my headphones. Very dissapointed that something as small as static shock can kill something so expensive, waste of money.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Aphova
5
Dec 3, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great functionality but premium price for subpar quality
This DAC looks good and is mostly built quite well, aside from the slightly flimsy feeling front controls. The functionality is great and it's worked well for me but I quickly got very noticeable screen burn in which is very disappointing for a product at this price, with cheaper products not suffering this issue. It also gets quite warm but so far that doesn't seem to have caused an issue. The burn in is the main reason for the poor review. If it hadn't been for the screen burn in I would have given it five stars. Also, as others have noted, it's not the nice white image shown above but a rather washed out blue. So overall I feel like I paid a premium for a sub par item. As for the sound quality, I believe DAC technology long ago surpassed human hearing. This DAC doesn't have "better attack" or "smoother transients" or pair better with certain amps or not. It's clean and transparent in sound, same as any other decent modern DAC. That said, with my JDS Atom amp I get speaker crackle when adjusting the volume. JDS says if that happens the input source (i.e. this DAC) is to blame. I can't be sure which piece is to blame but it is worth mentioning.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
tsar07
3
Dec 2, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Outstanding DAC and functionality
Very clean DAC with good features. I have a raspberry pi server running volumio into this. The sound is clean with zero audible distortion. The remote control works well and volume control is accurate. The bluetooth is a nice feature for Spotify although I'm not sure if it uses LDAC.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
akdor1154
2
Nov 10, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very crisp sound.
Purchased the D50s DAC and P50 power amp from Drop, along with A50s headphone/pre- amp from elsewhere; using with my JBL LX22 8Ω bookshelf speakers, and Sennheiser HD598 headphones. Replacing an Onkyo receiver doing all of the above, both connected via spdif coax. The Topping chain is far, far crisper than my old Onkyo, which is quite bass heavy. The Onkyo is so warm sounding you could nearly call it muffled in comparison. Is the Topping stuff better, though? I wouldn't say it's better or worse, just different. While the Onkyo is incredibly warm, it doesn't lack detail; the Topping chain makes it incredibly obvious but is not really showing me anything new. While it gives a probably more accurate rendition of the input, I'd currently rate my old receiver as slightly more pleasant to listen to, especially for long periods. I never experience listening fatigue with the Onkyo, but the Topping stuff I need to take my headphones off after maybe an hour of music. I might revisit this review after a few months once I'm more used to the clear sound. The D50s turns on automatically when it detects an input on the coax spdif, which is nice, but you have to go and turn on the A50s and P50 manually anyway, so this convenience is rather neutered. With the A50s at 1/2 volume (which is nearly too loud to use with my headphones), the P50's volume needs to be around 3/4 to get a listening level to use to play an acoustic instrument in front of, which is on the verge of what I'd consider (entirely subjectively) to be too high to leave an amp set at. On the other hand, the Topping gear (I assume) uses far less power, certainly takes up about a tenth the volume of desk space that the old Onkyo does, and puts out way less heat as well. I will be keeping it, but will probably look out for a preamp with some warmth to replace the A50s (which was not from Drop)
Scielienta
88
Oct 31, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
fantastic dac
For the price, this is fantasic dac. I like the form factor and features.
nbcaznmaster
0
Oct 29, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good Sound Quality but Questionable Build
Plenty of power for a small foot print. The problem with mine is that the 1/4" plug began to be loose and lose sound within 3 months. This is one of the last places you want to skimp on quality.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
DACMAN
0
Oct 19, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excelente desempeño
El mejor desempeño a un precio sin competencia, totalmente recomendado.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
spronk
157
Oct 15, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It's decent, but not amazing.
I upgraded from my original Magni/Modi to a JDS Atom, and wanted a DAC that would fit better with the Atom and look better too (hey, this hobby isn't just about sound :P). I bought this instead of just sticking with an SDAC primarily because of the bluetooth input, which is quite helpful for me as I run a laptop+desktop setup with switchable monitors and Synergy sharing keyboard and mouse. I can't yet pipe low latency audio easily between the two computers into one DAC (suggestions welcome), so I use this to switch between the two machines. The USB interface isn't perfect - occasionally it'll freeze up and I'll need to disconnect it, power cycle it, and try again. It's not bad, but it definitely isn't perfect. Then again, I've had minor issues like this with many other DACs as well. I was disappointed that the OLED display on mine wasn't white, it was more a light blue colour, so doesn't match white lights for anything else. I was even more disappointed to get burn-in on the OLED display on mine (as I wanted to leave it on - I guess there's a reason why it defaults to auto-off). Maybe if they make a bluetooth-enabled D10s with that delicious amber display... Sound quality-wise, well, it's a high quality DAC. It's uncoloured and transparent, I can't tell much difference between it and most other modern DACs. Oh, and the remote is a nice touch.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
zachmal1
14
Sep 7, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My overall impression? Subtle upgrade and worth it
I purchased the D5 DAC and the P50. Both have a very small footprint, appear to be manufactured very well (the finish and look suits my WFH set-up with Audioengine A2’s nicely), improve the noise floor, and help fill out my hi-res files (96-24, 192-24, and DSD files). I’m curious if there was a slight skewing of the coax sizing on the P50, but it’s workable — I guess a tighter fit is better than a loose fit, ultimately... Thus far, with about 100hrs of playback, I would recommend this duo piece of kit.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 10 of 155
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
155 OF 155 POSTS
Jan 20, 2021
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest