Topping D50s DAC, A50, PA3, & P50
Topping D50s DAC, A50, PA3, & P50
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
818 Sold
Product Description
The much-anticipated sequel to the popular Topping D50 DAC is here. The Topping D50s brings users improved sound quality with a wider array of connectivity options Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.7
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
34
check
100%
would recommend to a friend
search
cavillasenorl
35
Sep 11, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I have been listening to it for less than an hour but so far it feels I little more open sound than JDS EL DAC doing A-B comparisons, Bluetooth works flawlessly. Included is a remote with no batteries (AAA) , USB B to A cable for laptop connection and DC to USB A cable for power but not a power adapter, I guess every one has a spare or you can use the one that comes with your phone. Source: 320 Mbs mp3's on Galaxy S10 Amp: JDS Atom Headphones: Sens HD600 I'll try with the HE4XX tomorrow again and update...
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Sep 11, 2019
cavillasenorl
35
Oct 5, 2019
bookmark_border
Hi 3vilgenius, I'll try to explain the best I can since I am not an expert, in my personal experience I find D50s to have more resolution and more open sound in the high and mid frequencies, I find El DAC to be in the warm and personal side, I have found this differences with the HD600 because with the HE4XX is almost the same, feature wise yes I find it better, I'm not sure if it's a clear upgrade, I just find it a little bit better for my hearing, I will be receiving Focal clear headphones this week and I will compare again.
Oct 5, 2019
3vilgenius
2
Feb 8, 2020
bookmark_border
Thanks so much for the reply! Any updates?
Feb 8, 2020
holsen
112
Dec 13, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A Stunning DAC at Any Price
This is actually my second D50s. I bought the first one to run in my living room at put it at the centre of our AV System where I feed everything into the D50s and go up to a B&O System. The D50 replaced an aging Arcam DAC whose power supply finally gave out. I plugged in the DAC, made the connections and powered it up and the first thing I noticed was the increased clarity and the fatter, more controlled and detailed bottom end. My wife, who doesnt pay attention to these kinds of things walks into the room and says "Wow, what have you done to the stereo?" Why, I ask. "Because it sounds different; better. Yeah it just sounds better." So there you have it. The D50s took a good (High End) system and made it better. So, when it cam up again, I bought a second one. This time for my desktop. I've got it connected to my PC via USB feeding into a JDS Atom and all of my IEMS sound so much better too. Clarity, detail, resolution, depth, width and height. I love this thing.
search
search
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dec 13, 2019
Mr.Curmudgeon
11
Mar 28, 2020
bookmark_border
SACD players decode SACD disks and transfers that data stream via I2S circuitry internally for decoding internally only. Toslink (optical), coaxial (rca), and aes-ebu (xlr), are all SPDIF (Sony-Phillips Digital Inter Face) and only transmit PCM (pulse code modulation), and DSD over PCM. That said, cables matter! Very much! Conductor type, size and purity, insulation (dialectric), geometry, length and connector quality all contribute to the effect on your affect! (perceptions - mood) 😉 Shorter is better! Lower resistance, capacitance, inductance, dialectric effect, and skin effect, generally speaking. (Just not to short! 😀) Some have said USB cables should be at least 1.5 meters long to reduce internal reflections/jitter. I currently use “WireWorld Starlight“ USB cables in 0.5, 1.0 and 1.5 meters. I do not hear a significantly difference among them in my systems! As always, YMMV! Cheers!
Mar 28, 2020
Mr.Curmudgeon
11
Mar 28, 2020
bookmark_border
PS: I have two Topping D50s DACs, (and others), I enjoy them very much on a wide variety of program material via Bluetooth, Toslink and USB. Fairly detailed and balanced but smooth and unfatiguing. Highly recommended! Buy with confidence! Cheers!
Mar 28, 2020
von_h
22
Nov 16, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The Topping D50s is an excellent DAC. Performance can't be beat at the price point, and pushes the limits of human audibility. Look and feel is excellent, build quality did not disappoint. This is obviously a premium product. My previous DAC had a poor USB implementation and allowed noise from the USB power into the audio signal. No such issues here. The OLED screen is a nice touch, and I've had no issues with the product at all in over a month of use. I wont say anything about it putting "magic" in my audio - it just stays out of the way and performs the function it was designed to to. Minor quibble, I'm not crazy about the joystick when used as a volume control. Functionally it's fine, and it provides a lot of input for a small footprint, so I can see why they used it. There are lots of ways to get a volume knob between this and your transducers though, so not a big deal. EDIT: I've grown quite used to using the little remote control for volume and it works rather well. Not quite as satisfying a tactile experience as a good knob, but just as functional.
(Edited)
Nov 16, 2019
Loquah
43
Oct 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great little DAC for the price!
This DAC is fantastic thanks to its size, versatility and digital volume control. Very hard to beat for the price!! Full review here: https://youtu.be/yqcIiBgdNRA
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Oct 28, 2019
Mr.Curmudgeon
11
Feb 5, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Cheap and cheerful giant killer!
  • Small solid form factor, great chip sets, (Qualcomm CSR8675 BT, 2 ESS ES9038Q2M SABRE DACS, XMOS XU208 USB, LME49720 OP AMP “that can be rolled”).
  • Stream via Bluetooth 5.0 apt-x HD, ACC, SBC, LDAC, or use an OTG/Lightning Camera Adapter and USB cable for direct connection to Android/IOS phones and tablets, to better suit your audiophile sensibilities.
  • Pair it with your favorite headphone amp, (Geshelli Labs Archel 2 Pro, JDS labs atom, etc.), and plug a toslink cable from your TV for a killer bedroom nightstand private system.
  • Plug in your PC, HP amp and a pair of powered monitors for a killer desktop system.
  • In the family room, hook up your TV with toslink, add a nice little power amp and your favorite pair of speakers, (and subwoofers), for an audiophile approved 2.0/2.1/2.2 home theater system with the convenient remote control!
  • It measures great, (ASR’s little darling dac), looks great, feels great and it sounds really good!
  • But don’t take my word as a happy owner. Just google it and see for yourself!
Edit: 03/28/2020. All who read this, please contact drop.com customer support and insist that they return to their previous price of $185 for the Topping D50s DAC. I have purchased this DAC twice at that price! My strong recommendation for this product is only applicable at the lower price! Drop.com increasing their price $30 in the midst of the crisis of a worldwide pandemic can only be construed as predatory behavior! And, should be considered illegal price gouging against their own like minded community! A community of loyal members who have evangelized the benefits of the Drop community to their friends and family! I say “NO MORE!” I will not be ordering ANYTHING from drop.com until they return to their original price! If we are unsuccessful in this endeavor, I highly recommend purchasing this and other products of this type from Apos audio! They will price match Drop.com on any item! Their customer service is excellent! Highly recommended! Be well my friends and best wishes! Cheers!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Feb 5, 2020
AvishekPramanik
12
Dec 25, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Brilliant Value.
A Plebeian audiophile's review of the D50s: The Good
  • OLED display that actually looks pretty good. Paired with a great looking, sturdy shell as well. I'm seriously glad these companies are putting more effort into looks as much as sound.
  • Excellent, clean and pristine sound for the money. Very good measurements, as presented by AudioScienceReview.
  • The use of a DC cable that terminates to a USB, so that you can run it off a portable battery for example, is a pretty good idea in my opinion. Really enhances it's portability factor. Even if it is primarily meant for the desktop. The power source is separate from the audio signal, so you won't get any interference - something I ran into with my previous Schiit Modi 2.
  • Incredible Price to Performance ratio. Seriously, you'd be hard pressed to find an alternative with this much value and sound quality for the price.
The Bad
  • At this price and form factor? Nothing.
Current setup is paired to a Atom Amp from JDS Labs.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Dec 25, 2019
Mr.Curmudgeon
11
Feb 5, 2020
bookmark_border
I generally use, $49, “ifi iPower” ultra-low noise ac/dc switching power supplies on 5, 9, 12 and 15v DC, a/v electronics. They usually make a noticeable difference in picture and sound quality when used with players, streamers and dacs. I read where they improved streaming quality when used on wireless routers and switches. Make sure to match voltage and ampere requirements. I’ve had good results with lower priced units from Mean Well, Alitove and KFD switching ac/dc power supply adapters in the $12 to $25 price range. YMMV... Cheers!
Feb 5, 2020
AvishekPramanik
12
Feb 7, 2020
bookmark_border
Honestly wasn't aware of this product. That's awesome, may have to try it out in the future. Thanks!
Feb 7, 2020
YavorMoskov
47
Sep 20, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fantastic value and excellent sound
Topping D50s is working fantastic so far. The Bluetooth connection is great on phones and tablets but sometimes it cuts off a bit with my gaming laptop. My laptop runs a BT 5.0 card inside so I am not sure why is that but 85% of the time is fine. I have not noticed any difference in the sound quality when the BT is turned off in the setting versus when is turned on. This means that the BT module inside does not introduce any noise which is great. I wish there was a way to turn off the display light while listening to music, you can only dim it to 30%. The default settings are good enough for me, no need for any exotic roll-offs. I am already running my entire PC setup out of Furman PST-8 power conditioner which filters out any electrical noise and on top of that my Topping D50s runs connected to Topping P50 linear power supply. It is total overkill, probably you don't need it. My Khadas tone board DAC is connected to my PC only with one USB C cable for both power and audio and I swear to god, you have to have golden ears to hear any audible difference between the Khadas and D50s in USB mode. And the included remote works well and is very convenient. D50s works as intended, it sounds great with every genre of music and that's it.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Sep 20, 2019
YavorMoskov
47
Sep 29, 2019
bookmark_border
That was interesting. Two hours ago I unplugged the the D50s from everything and connected it straight to the wall outlet. I played 5 hi res songs and after that connected it to the Furman PS-8 and played them again. I really can not hear a difference. But keep in mind that I am 42 and my ears are not young any more and second, you might be correct. The USB cable that connects to the PC is junk and I suspect that a lot of fidelity is lost. Once I order better cable maybe I am going to be able to hear a difference between the DAC plugged in directly in the wall and plugged in the power conditioner. I found a video from the founder of PS audio on the subject. And to complicate the matters even more, apparently the manufacturers of power conditioners use different methods to achieve this current purifying. Who knows :)
(Edited)
Sep 29, 2019
Flyingvking
1
Sep 29, 2019
bookmark_border
Yes I think I have seen the same video, he says the only way is if you use a power plant, I wonder for low voltage stuff like DACs would it be better to use a battery power bank, this will obviously be disconnected to any mains interference completely, then just charge it back up after use!
(Edited)
Sep 29, 2019
ciber
67
Sep 25, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great DAC, for the first time, I find the importance of high quality cable!
I hook this with my CD player and find the coaxial port not working. I read from some other posts about the same issue from audioreviewscience and discovered the unit is very picky, actually it needs a high quality coaxial cable instead of RCA or low quality coaxial cable. After that, I purchased a really good coaxial cable from amazon. This fixed the coax issue. WOW, the sound from CD player is so good. This is the amazon link for the cable.
(Edited)
Sep 25, 2019
PatrickMeylemans
2
Dec 21, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very good DAC for the price point
For the asking price it is hard to beat. It can compete with DAC's in a higher price range such as the Chord Mojo. It outclasses my older Marantz HD-DAC1 and supports all possible sample rates and DSD, but no MQA. Hard to explain the sound since this wil vary other components in the chain and the source off course. I don't hear a difference in the filters although my system is very resolving (Auralic -> D50S -> Accuphase -> B&W 800 series). This DAC is sounding nice, can listen for hours without fatigue... For me it is a DAC to last for a time, in the meanwhile the DAC's are changing fast, so after a year or so I will perhaps look at a more expensive DAC like TT2/Vega/DcS/... Very happy with it!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dec 21, 2019
Raceart
2
Dec 31, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Unit failed after 40 days
Dec 31, 2019
Showing 45 of 87