Topping DX3 Pro LDAC Version 2 DAC/Amp
Topping DX3 Pro LDAC Version 2 DAC/Amp
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
408 Sold
Product Description
New from Topping, an industry leader in professional-grade audio equipment, the DX3 Pro LDAC Version 2 DAC/amp is a next-generation audio solution for your desk. Equipped with much of the same hardware that made the original DX3 Pro so popular—an XMOS XU208 USB chip with dual AK4493 DACs, an OPA1612 op amp, and an AK4118 receiver—this version adds LDAC connectivity for high-resolution listening over Bluetooth 5.0 Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
31
check
96%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
andres_mc
18
Jul 10, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Make sure to install the drivers
Before getting the DX3 I was using my 4XX with a KGUSS K3 —a budget DAC/Amp similar to the FX Audio DAC-X6— and I loved that setup. A couple of weeks ago I received the Topping unit, plugged it to my laptop via USB and immediately noticed the different sound signature. I could hear maybe a little more detail, but unfortunately the 4XX seemed to have lost their lush, powerful sound. I thought that the DX3 or my brain needed some burn-in, so I kept listening to my favourite albums over these past two weeks. I couldn't pinpoint what was wrong, but the 4XX didn't sound fun anymore, the magic was gone. I tried different filter and EQ settings to no avail. They even were fatiguing. Then I made a last-ditch attempt and installed the Topping drivers (http://www.tpdz.net/newsinfo/374859.html), even though I had read somewhere that they weren't really necessary except for specific use cases (also, the K3 didn't need any drivers to work fine). That was it. Upon rebooting I noticed right away that the sound I loved was back. On a side note, I have also just got the Koss Porta Pro X and I think they sound great with the DX3 Pro V2, despite the fact that its headphone output impedance is 10 ohms. TL;DR: make sure to install the drivers if you're using the USB input with Windows 10.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
samward116
8
May 6, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
True to source, strong output, very clean
Love the dsd support, love the high pcm rates, low intermodulation distortion, extremely accurate output, powerful headphone amp and good sounding bluetooth to boot!
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
VanNeumann
5
Mar 4, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The sound is good for a non balanced DAC/Amp
The Topping DX3 Pro is very convenient for use as a desktop headphone DAC/Amp, and also provides a line out for monitor speakers. I don't particularly like the volume/control knob given that it is stepped and therefore not smooth when adjusting volume. You will find that you will be using the remote for the vast majority of your controls. Therefore, take care of the remote! The sound of Topping DACs are excellent and have been reviewed by very credible websites with great sound engineering instruments. For the money, the DX3 Pro really can't be beat. The Topping DX7s Pro will be better (and with balanced outputs) as will other much more expensive DAC/Amps (RME, Okta, etc.), but they are 2.7X- 15X the price. Enjoy.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Visca
32
Nov 10, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing First Contact With a DAC/Amp
Been using the Topping DX3 Pro everyday for roughly a month and couldn't be more satisfied! I was a little afraid at first, because of the defective units on the older version, but it seems that issue was resolved on V2. It's worth noting that they've changed the output impedance from <1 ohm to <10 ohms, so maybe it can affect low-impedance IEMs. Personally, I couldn't tell any problems when driving my Sennheiser HD 558 or my newly acquired HD 6XX. Well, gotta say I'm positively impressed by it. When first pairing it with the HD 558, the difference in sound quality became clear — the amplification gave a new breath of life to these 5-year-old cans. No distortion noticed at all, even at higher volumes. The details were sharpened. Bass also got punchier. Vocals seemed more upfront, but not to the point of obscuring any other frequencies. The DX3 Pro also packs a punch. Its default volume setting is at -30 dB and I rarely go beyond -20 dB. At 0 db, you get yourself a new pair of speakers… No formed opinion yet when it comes to driving the HD 6XX, since I just got these headphones a couple of days ago. What I can say is that it looks like this DAC/Amp provides enough juice to extract most — if not all — of the HD 6XX. Regarding build quality, this thing is pretty solid. It also have a nice finish and looks great, pretty sober. The display is well lit (you can adjust from 3 steps) and functional. The volume knob is really responsive and quite pleasant to use. Usability is pretty straight and simple on this one. You take the equipment out of the box, plug the USB cable, plug the power supply and that's it. Ready to use. Inside the box, you get an atenna that makes the DX3 Pro work via bluetooth, which can come in handy. It also comes with a remote control, making it practical to change between outputs or just adjust the volume from afar. Overall, the Topping DX3 Pro is an amazing all-in-one solution, especially at this price point ($180). Highly recommended!
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Visca
32
Nov 14, 2019
Hey there! Well, it kinda depends on what you're listening to and the recording itself. But, in general — from my brief experience pairing the DX3 Pro with the HD 6XX —, I can say this: the default volume setting (-30 dB) is perfect for laid-back listening in a quiet room. I usually set it at -25 dB, since the HD 6XX demands a little more juice than my previous HD 558. At this volume, I can listen to all the details while not getting any ear fatigue. At -20 dB everything becomes really clear and immersion kicks in, but treble may start to get a little overwhelming. Anything from -15 dB forward sounds too loud to me, at least for everyday use, as the cans enter "speakers" territory. Just to be clear, the Topping DX3 Pro can go from -99 dB (quiet) to 0 dB (loudest). At around -65 dB is when I start to listen to any sounds. tl;dr: the DX3 Pro is a safe purchase for driving the HD6XX.
MRphotographycom
71
Nov 15, 2019
Thank you!
andblr
18
Dec 3, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Looks and sounds great bad QC ruins it still
Unfortunately while sounding great, the unit didn't respond to the commands from remote, so I'm returning it as I don't want to be stuck with paperweight once the return window lapses.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
donerick456
0
Apr 6, 2020
Oh and not a smsl su8
wicasawakan
0
May 23, 2020
You don't like the smsl su8 ? I don't have any dac so can't decide whats good for less than $200 maybe a little more or less.
NyCad
5
Oct 27, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent DAC For Sennheiser HD 58X Headphones
I am using the Topping DX3 Pro DAC to power my Sennheiser HD 58X's which absolutely sound amazing. I am running them from my PC via an optical cable to bypass the internal DAC on the motherboard. I strongly recommend this product and I use it everyday as a result.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
holsen
150
Nov 13, 2019
Should not be necessary. Once you install the drivers and select topping device, the topping becomes the sound card and all dac function is on the selcted device
Schonplayer
44
Nov 18, 2019
Any time you connect to a PC with a digital interface the on-board DAC is bypassed. This DAC has no analog inputs. All of your connection options are digital and will process the sound within the unit. I'm anxiously awaiting mine for my living room.
HarlowPWhitcomb
5
Apr 10, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Exceeds expectations
I don't think there's a better option out there for the money or even at double the price. It has plenty of power for difficult cans like the HD-650. And the sound quality is outstanding. Like any good amp it doesn't add or subtract anything from the input. But the abundance of headroom and incredibly low noise floor create a great sense of space/depth with crisp dynamic. You simply hear more detail than you would with your headphones plugged into your computer or a lower-quality unit. I upgraded from an MX-3 and the difference is quite audible. The MX-3 is fine for driving the speakers on your desk, etc, but the DX-3 is just another realm of quality. The unit also seems well made - the case fits well and the knob doesn't feel cheap. I'm using as an outboard headphone amp for my iMac and setup was quick - just plug in the usb cable and set my audio output to "DX3."
check
Would recommend to a friend.
rashomon
10
Aug 10, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The Perfect All-In-One!
For years I've been looking for a good Headphone Dac/Amp to pair with my PS4. The Dx3 Pro serves as a perfect audio centerpiece to my "entertainment center". The remote was a vital component. I was only remotely interested in bluetooth--it really was not essential to my needs. BUT after streaming a few hi-res Qobuz tracks by way of Samsung S8>DX3>HD 650 I'm pretty much a convert.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
MGbert
3
Apr 29, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Exactly what I expected and needed
The good:
  • Plenty of drive (on high gain) for my AKG K612s and various IEMs
  • Clear sound
  • Good form factor on a crowded desktop.
The bad:
  • No separate analog input to the headphone amp
check
Would recommend to a friend.
askeptic
4
Jun 26, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent
Immediately made my HD6XXs sound like they were meant to sound.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
massdrop22020
0
Aug 12, 2020
Would i be able to pair this with a modi 3?
Showing 31 of 58