shopping_cart
Topping DX7s Balanced DAC/Amp

Topping DX7s Balanced DAC/Amp

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
3.9K requests
813 Sold
Product Description
It’s not often that a fully balanced DAC/amp comes along at a price like this. The Topping DX7s improves upon the well-regarded DX7 by taking both the DAC and headphone amp sections up a notch Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
72
check
84%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
TechnoBloodbath
23
Jun 23, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Overkill but future proof very happy with paired with drop thx AAA 789 and hd 6xx used for gaming and sound and its like cheating in FPS games i can hear everything anywhere
check
Would recommend to a friend.
AJAX333
21
Jan 16, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great!
I've used this as an dac/amp and just a dac and it's pretty clean, well made but i wish it came with a remote control for the price.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
jaeun87
129
Dec 2, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Looks great, and has solid build quality. Not sure if it sounds any better than.
I had the O2 SDAC/AMP combo (which cost $150), and after comparing it to the Topping, I was disappointed to find that they both sound pretty much the same. I tested this amp and the O2 side by side and adjusted the volume to be around the same level, with high bitrate tracks on the same headphones, and I could not tell them apart (tested with Beyerdynamic Amiron Home headphones). I had been wondering for a while if a better DAC/AMP would really make the sound that much better so I decided to take the plunge to scratch that itch. The end result was pretty disappointing, and it just goes to prove I can't trust a bunch of stranger's opinions online. It could just be that the O2 was that good (has good ratings @ audiosciencereview, and so does this one), so there was no distortion (which is IMO the only objectively quantifiable attribute for these gadgets), but that's about it. There are a few reasons I'm keeping the Topping D7s:
  • It has multiple input options (other than just USB for the O2)
  • The volume control / knob is excellent and satisfying to use (not to mention there's a screen)
  • Built like a tank (albeit a bit large on my desk)
If you're looking for suddenly magically better sound quality, this is not it (and IMO I don't think any higher cost amps will be either), but if you want a nice piece of equipment to consolidate multiple audio inputs outputting to a single source, it's gonna fit your needs (for a steep - ish price)
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
wangsk1997
5
Nov 30, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
👏👏👏
check
Would recommend to a friend.
klucas27
1
Nov 30, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
No warranty? Device DOA and no remote?
Read the fine print. This is the response I got from support. “I just reviewed your order and it looks like this product didn't come with a manufacturer's warranty, which would be noted on the product run page. Since we do not have any inventory in stock, I am only able to offer a refund.”
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
TheRequiem
210
Aug 27, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awesome DAC/ AMP
These punch way above their price in sound signature and weight. Heavily Recommended.
ndgns
146
Aug 23, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
All In One
Excellent build quality and versatility.
search
On its own or with a XLR balanced amp it provides nice features and a clean, neutral sound. Straight forward functions and aesthetics make it my DAC of choice. It has replaced my Monolith THX as go to DAC because the problematic connections and lack of XLR output of the THX AAA -788, also lack of a remote.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
JoshuaAmon
0
Sep 22, 2020
Well the only reason i’m really considering the monolith over the 789. First its an aio solution. Second I guess its “future” proof. Lastly, I think its aesthetically pleasing to look at. But maybe thats just me. You think the beyer’s will shine on the monolith? Or am i better off upgrading my headphone first?
ndgns
146
Sep 22, 2020
The Dt1990s? Ive considered that, post an update.
Cyberthingy
278
Aug 5, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice DAC.Amp but finicky USB interface.
Although this is a great sounding DAC/Amp I found that swapping the USB cables was nearly impossible. The cable included with the DAC works fine on any computer I tried it with; however, I wanted to use a bit higher quality cable but none of the higher grade cables i tried worked. The computer failed to recognize the device with any other cables other than another really cheap cable provided with another DAC. It makes no sense. I got little help from the Manufacturer and I've been unable find any firmware updates that might help. Other than that issue I like it a lot.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
adi518
217
Oct 8, 2020
I didn't even use their cable, as the run to my PC is longer. I bought a 3M USB 2.0 cable with gold tips from Ugreen and it works fine: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32416310263.html
(Edited)
Cyberthingy
278
Oct 9, 2020
Yeah, I don't understand why I've had trouble with other cables. I tried an Audioquest, a Schiit, a Chroma Cables, a Pangea etc. and none would work. It has to be a defect in the unit but I've had it long enough that a don't think SMSL would do anything for me. I just decided to live with the stock cable as long as it works.
ma1980
11
Jul 19, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
nice at the beginning
I bought this one on Jan of 2019,after 10 months one of the, 3.5 mm headphone output channel is gone. Interesting,I can hear on both channels now,from 3.5mm output, but is a mono sound. The balance output,for headphones works fine,so far, Cannot trust this manufacturer any more,no more topping stuff for me!.
mjg31337
9
May 26, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Best value in a balanced dac/amp
This is my first desktop DAC/Amp combo in a long time. It exceeded expectations. Perfect for on a desk at home to enjoy some incredible audio while working.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
FuzzTone
12
Aug 4, 2020
Cheap ass parts. Pretty much have to glue an adapter to their crappy jack.
mjg31337
9
Aug 4, 2020
I didn't need any glue to use the DAC.
Showing 24 of 165
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
165 OF 165 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest