Topping DX7s Balanced DAC/Amp
Topping DX7s Balanced DAC/Amp
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
604 Sold
Product Description
It’s not often that a fully balanced DAC/amp comes along at a price like this. The Topping DX7s improves upon the well-regarded DX7 by taking both the DAC and headphone amp sections up a notch Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
40
check
88%
would recommend to a friend
search
leafhonor
4
Sep 13, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The best DAC in this price range
My headphones are sony z7m2, grado rs2e, and se846. This DAC perfectly met my expectations. I use sony zx300 as the data output. The biggest difference is z7m2: the sound is much clearer than before. The whole workmanship is also very good.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 13, 2019
davemcl
2
Sep 12, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent value for money
The Topping DX7S is excellent as both a DAC and a headphone AMP. I wont be looking at anymore DAC's for a while as a result.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 12, 2019
sealpin
3
Sep 3, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very good build quality. Good value for money.
Output impedance not optimal. Headsets with dynamic drivers and impedance below approx 100 ohms will face some sound coloration. No impact on headsets with linear impedance (planar magnetic drives) or headsets with high impedance. Remote control needs to be purchased separately.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 3, 2019
michael.ye
27
Aug 20, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Device's USB port software could hang up!
No cables plugged or unplugged, the third day after turning on the device and the computer, the device no longer shows up in the Device Manager. Software, hardware issue? Update: After googling around, found that some other people also saw the same problem. The problem is that the device's USB port software hangs up. To solve the issue, power off the device and the computer, disconnect power cable and usb cable, then power back on the computer and the device. The computer should be able see the device again.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Aug 20, 2019
ccl13
17
Jul 6, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It's great, but compatible issue comes with sub-par support experience.
I returned my unit due to compatible issue with some SPDIF TosLink output. Without the compatibility issue, this is really great and totally worth the price. Sound is clean and crispy. Good set of features and everything. Please refer to other more professional reviews for its sound quality - all I have in this aspect is compliments. One noticeable thing to mention is the volume knob on the front actually controls digital volume levels. Meaning the output ports on the back is also controlled by this knob. For me this is a big plus as I don't need any improvised apparatus to control volume when there's no control from source. Usually review stops here and a 5 star would be given. However in my experience I had to deduct one for compatibility issue and support experience. I have a HDMI to TosLink Audio Splitter that I use to feed audio from my entertainment center sources (HTPC, Game Consoles, BluRay player). It works fine with all my other DACs, ones I made, ones from other brands, even ones from Topping. But not with DX7s. When I hook DX7s up, TosLink will not work properly. The DAC's screen will blink between "--- Hz" and "48KHz" indefinitely like crazy, until one moment it figures out the correct format and audio will be there. However once I pause the audio from source, it will likely go into this loop again. I tried a lot of configuration changes from source, no change. Different frequency, bit depth, even format, nothing helped. Tried to convert it to Coaxial, it helped a bit as it will less likely to have difficulty, but still does so. This my only setup that fits DX7s so naturally I reached out to Topping support. There's some trouble with finding their info (their website URL is tpdz.net) but that's not the important part. When I described this to them, their reply is simply that yes there's a compatibility issue, and no there's nothing they can help. I don't dream about there's a firmware update already to fix things. However I do expect them to try to gather some diagnostic info from me and perhaps provide a vague promise that they will try to fix the problem. But no. So here I am. Returned DX7s because it does not work for my setup. I eventually got a D50 with similar core components as DX7s but without balance input/outputs. This model works well with my setup at generally little loss in sound quality. I really liked DX7s given its sound quality and ROI. I will still recommend it to friends and family, but will attach my story as buyer be aware at the same time.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Jul 6, 2019
06S2k07Si
12
Jul 4, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent DAC/AMP for the money.
Although I received my DX7s with the wrong power cord, it is an excellent unit for the money. I opened up my unit to check for any soldering issues (my DX3 Pro had some soldering issues but once I corrected it that unit is fine so far) and did not have any. So far this unit sounds great and works well. I do notice that it doesn't always turn on at the last volume it was turned off at. No issues other than that so far.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 4, 2019
Tacoboy
32
Jun 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
So far the DX7s has been working fine and my headphones do sound good plugged into it. I had separately ordered two remotes from China, on one of them the up volume does not work (not Massdrops fault).
Jun 8, 2019
John99
3
Jun 4, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Mine stops working at least once a day. In the middle of listening to a peice of audio the sound will just cut out completely and won't work for anything after that. It does this when using VLC Media Player, Youtube, Foobar2000 (with WASAPI), and with DVDs. I'm using Topping USB audio device driver version 4.14.0 .So far every type of content I have played has had the sound cut out completely while playing. You can get the DX7s to start working again by turning it off and unplugging the USB connection, waiting a few minutes, then plugging it back in and turning it on. Its a great sounding piece of equipment and looks great, plenty powerful for my Monoprice Retros and V Moda M-100s. Unfortunately having it stop working daily really ruins the user experience. I would give it 5 stars if it worked consistently. *** Update. I unintentionally fixed this problem by replacing the stock USB cable that came with it. I wanted a longer cable, so ordered a 6.6 ft JSAUX brand USB 2.0 Type A to B cable (sold as a printer cable FYI). Its a nice cable, but I'm assuming I could have replaced the stock one with any cable and it would have fixed the problem. As I said I would, I updated my review to give it 5 stars. It's a great dac/amp, try replacing the cable if you run into this same problem. It immediately solved the problem, and it hasn't stopped working a single time since. Also I got the remote control for it, which is worth getting. The remote is the same high quality aluminum build as the primary unit, and not having to lean forward repeatedly all day to adjust the volume knob is so worth it.
(Edited)
Jun 4, 2019
polyvalent
5
May 5, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Some parts were broken and arrived. It is an initial failure.
(Edited)
May 5, 2019
Mpitogo
16
May 2, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The DAC’s balanced section is a bit underwhelming in pre-amp mode. Other balanced DAC’s can output up to 13V on the XLR out. At max volume it was only enough to get sound from my balanced monoblock power amps. Needs more voltage gain. As a DAC iot headphone amp, I’m sure it’s OK.
May 2, 2019
michael.ye
27
Aug 17, 2019
bookmark_border
At DAC output (fixed volume output), the analog output is about same level as my UD-301. However, when changing to DAC+HP output mode, you have to turn the volume knob to about max volume to achieve the same level as the fixed output. This is very bad design. I like what Teac does, always analog output fixed max volume.
Aug 17, 2019
Showing 11 of 99
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
99 OF 99 POSTS
Oct 23, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity