Showing 1 of 2 reviews about:
UOIM
24
Sep 4, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
search
I finally received this thing. I use the same manufacturer's d20 DAC, but the problem with this product is that the power supply included has no ground terminal. By the way, the P50 has 3-pin to support grounding. Running the d20 with this product, you can't feel the residual current flowing in the aluminum chassis. The noise that flowed into the amplifier is also completely gone. I'm Satisfied.
(Edited)
Sep 4, 2019
Kris2014
64
Oct 17, 2019
bookmark_border
You might use a brick psu with 3 prong mains cable. However having DAC and amp both connected to the ground, you might also suffer from ground loop in your system. It is okay to not connect dac to ground. Virtual ground is just as good for your dac.
Oct 17, 2019
UOIM
24
Oct 18, 2019
bookmark_border
Hi Chris. Thank you for your explanation. I just tested the d20's base adapter with a separate electrical plug. (As you said, separate from the amplifier.) However, strong current flow can also be felt through the aluminum chassis. The d20's power adapter problem has been talked about by many users for a long time. The D20 DAC is not powered by a USB cable. I also want to say that this is an old product and I don't know if it's using virtual grounding. One thing I want to be sure of is that the P50 has completely solved this problem, without exaggeration. I might have been lucky ! why not? God know :) .
Oct 18, 2019
UOIM
24
Oct 18, 2019
bookmark_border
I want to make it clear for those who read my review here. There's only one reason why I bought this p50. I want to say that it's not to improve the sound quality observed in the measurements. Even before buying the p50, there was no noise detected in the ear. The only problem was tik noise when I touched the volume knob. I just wanted a 15v 1a groundable product for the d20. I would have bought this product even if it wasn't a linear type. $ 100 is definitely expensive. But I don't regret it because the problem is solved and I have peace. And there will be no more spending on audio products.
Oct 18, 2019
UOIM
24
Oct 18, 2019
bookmark_border
If you're in my shoes, recommend what to buy.
Oct 18, 2019
Kris2014
64
Oct 18, 2019
bookmark_border
If one want to try another brick, SL power (level vi for medical devices) is very good. Easily found on mouser/digikey. Med version (ME series) is regulated and has lower noise.
(Edited)
Oct 18, 2019
See More Reviews