Vortex Cypher Mechanical Keyboard
Vortex Cypher Mechanical Keyboard
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
82 Sold
Product Description
From Vortex, this 65% mechanical keyboard wastes no space. It offers a full set of numbers, arrows, and modifiers, all packed into a compact frame that won’t take up too much real estate on your desktop Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
5
search
Davesoo
0
May 31, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great board but with multiple complaint.
The plastic case is solid and the stabs are perfect after you add a little extra lube. The key-mapping is easy to use and didn't cause any issue for me. However the keycap for my backstab key is too big for the case, when you press it off-centre it will scratch the inside of case and create a horrible noise. End up I had to file off the edges slightly to make it fit. Also a handful of keycaps is too loose for the switches, you'll need to fix it with tiny bit scotch tape inserts. Luckily all of these issues are relatively easy to solve. After they're fixed it's actually a high quality keyboard.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
May 31, 2020
CaptainSaif
33
Apr 10, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
75% is probably the best size to utility layout in my opinion, but sadly this board doesn't come with a alu case.
Apr 10, 2020
kmatt
11
Jun 18, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Room for improvement
My first mechanical keyboard was a Vortex Tab 90M, which is my daily driver. Entered this drop because of that excellent unit, and wanted a lighter, smaller board for the home office. The Tab 90M is one solid, heavy beast. On the positive side: The Cypher is indeed lighter, and although a plastic case feels relatively solid. Were I ever in the need to travel with a keyboard, this would be a better companion. My Tab has Cherry Brown switches, and this Cypher has Silent Blacks. A bit more resistance, but quiet - another bonus for the home office. I like both, and am maybe more used to the feedback of browns now, but for silent switches these feel nice. A bit of cushion at the bottom. Choice of split space bar was an experiment with a nice outcome. My typing stype only uses the right side of the bar, so for now as a heavy Vim user I remapped it to ESC in a layer. Kind of a nice option. Supplied cable is quality, and the additional colored modifier keys are a welcome include. I have no plans to swap out the caps, and a bit of color option is nice. There are some cons: To program the split spacebar the firmware needed an update. The only problem here is the firmware updater is Windows only, so if you have a Mac or are running Linux, prepare to fire up a Windows VM. This is an unnecessary pain. As mentioned below, the USB-C port has some wiggle. No connection loss, but time will tell. (Edit: I just noticed my Tab 90M has a similar USB-C wobble, which I had not noticed reading another review here. Maybe not an issue.) There is some variation in alignment of the number row keys that does not affect typing, but as I'm comparing this the excellent 90M its worth a mention. The rubber feet are not of equal height, resulting in a small bit of rocking between the upper left and lower right corners. This can be addressed without the hassle of returning, but is a notable flaw for a board of the price. In the end the Tab will remain my daily driver, and the Cypher my off hours board when I need quiet typing.
search
search
search

(Edited)
Jun 18, 2019
ajengen
3
May 9, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I don't like the plastic base and the dsa keys rub the inside case corners. I'm still getting used to the DSA profile. I like linear switches, the cherry mx red silent is great, the feel of the keycaps are nice, and the muted sound is exactly what I was after. The USB connection is wobbly but it works. I haven't figured out what to do with the split key yet.
May 9, 2019
vyanvox
62
Apr 20, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The keyboard itself is really nice. I got it with Cherry MX Reds and this is my first experience with the reds. The keycaps are nice and thick and I don't see myself replacing these anytime soon. I got the split spacebar version and I find that the right spacebar wobbles a bit. It's not that big of a wobble, but it would be nice if it was fixed. Another issue I had was documentation. The box does not come with the instructions to program the keyboard and I was struggling to figure out how to do so. I ended up trying to use Vortex's MPC editor online, but I could not figure out how to flash the profile to my keyboard.
Apr 20, 2019