shopping_cart
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.7
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
17
check
100%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
hitzkrieg
1
Sep 15, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent value
It's not quite the same as a high end tube amp experience. The sound stage is a hybrid amp+solid state setup and you can definitely tell. If you're looking for an authentic warm tube amp experience, this is definitely not it. HOWEVER, if you're looking for a very solid transistor DAC/AMP with tube amp flavor sprinkled on top, this is absolutely the product for you. Highly recommend.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Asd2t
9
Aug 15, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Complete unit, great sound
Great all-in-one tube amp. This does come with the usb chord in case anyone was wondering
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Milkw
41
Jun 30, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Ill update this review once i actually tried it. its at a friends house in another country. He says it works fine and no hisses.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
kawmic
0
Jun 20, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A little better than good
A little better than good, just a smidge too soft for me. Actually really good for movies, jazz, classical and other not hard hitting music.
YangJianfeng
48
May 19, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great value DAC/Amp combo with good versatility, decent sound and tube-rolling options
My unit was delivered 3 mths ago but I've been holding off on a review to give myself some time to really live with it, let it and the tubes break-in (if you believe that's a thing), and try it out with different cans and devices to see how versatile it really is. Just to give more context on my usage scenario, the TA-10R has been inhabiting my living room since day 1, hooked up to my Nvidia Shield. That's mostly usage on videos via streaming services (movies, TV series, youtube, etc) and some gaming. I haven't really used it for dedicated music listening apart from some audio tests, as I have my desktop rig for that. I've always been a tube-nut and the selection of inputs/outputs on this DAC/AMP combo (USB from the Shield, optical from my LG OLED), power output, at this price point were the selling point for me. So far it's worked perfectly, though i find the unit to sometimes be unresponsive when it might be changing sampling frequency/bit-rate over USB. Like when i just start playing a video, sometimes the volume knob doesn't respond at all, or the first 1-2s of audio is cut off. However, it works fine after that initial "lag". Not sure if this has to do with the TA-10R or the way the Shield deals with USB audio devices though. Power-wise, there is more than enough headroom to drive anything from high impedance dynamic cans, like the 600-ohm Beyerdynamic T1 (1st gen), to power-hungry planars like the Audeze LCD-2 and Hifiman Arya, and everything in between. The most i go on the volume knob is around 38/100 on the T1s. However, without a gain switch (the spec sheet says it's +18 dB), it doesn't pair too well with IEMs. When i tried it with a pair of Westone 4R IEMs, there was audible hum/hiss in the background. Sound-wise, i thought the TA-10R sounds really decent out-of-the box, quite warm and smooth, though not overly-so as expected from a hybrid-tube amp. It's still clean with sufficient speed and detail, not the super syrupy signature you get from some full-on tube amps. Anyway, the TA-10R probably has the right type of sound signature you'd want for lazing on the couch watching some flicks. Rolling to a 12AU7 Raytheon-Baldwin Tube (Black Plates) helped with low and high-end extension, better bass impact and opened up the soundstage quite a bit. A worthwhile upgrade for about US$26 (incl shipping) if you ask me.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
BebeYoda
4
May 11, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Best I've had so far!
I had gotten the new Sen 560s and they were a little tinny and exact for me. A very neutral and accurate pair of phones that can be harsh with the musical experience. I found that the TA-10R added extra warmth and filled out the mids and bass better. Defeinly made the music smoother too. (Previously I was using a Fulla 3) Like... if you took your headphones and pour some honey on the mids and base is the best way I can describe it; its an overall fuller, richer, and smoother sound. Now I can't attest to other products at this price point because I don't own any others (which is why I only gave it a 4/5 stars), but for the 560s (which are a great competitive gaming headphone btw) it definitely filled out the sound floor better and provided a much needed and welcomed smoothness to my music. {Huge upgrade from the fulla 3.} [My specific unit came with a European AC Power cable, so add ~$15 if that's you and take a quick trip to best buy or what not.] Cheers!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
aphreshcarrot
39
Apr 26, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great desk piece. Clean hybrid tube sound.
Amazingly built. Extremely clean for a tube amp which can be good or bad depending on what you want. The real gem is the AKM4493 dac chip, which on its own is worth ~$150 for a good dac implementation (Topping E30, Sanskrit 10th mk2). However in this product you also get a fairly powerful and clean tube amp which is easily worth the price.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Greg.D
3
Apr 17, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great DAC/Amp.
I have the TA10-R connected to a raspberry pi with the allo digione hat providing the streaming transport via the moodeaudio operating system. The unit has a great range of inputs and outputs which allow it to compete well with a range of products at this pricepoint. The sound using the stock tube is lovely. Warm and rounded. It also looks gorgeous. Looking forward to trying other tubes and other input/outputs - it is an enjoyable listening experience. (I am sat writing this review listening to a preset radio station on moodeaudio using sennheiser 598c's through the 6.5mm output.) If I had one improvement to suggest, it would be a remote control as this is the only real omission. I haven't yet tried the balanced output. Definitely a good buy.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
TrevorJohnson
4
Apr 9, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very good warm sound
I’m not very good and distinguishing the difference in the sound of things but I can really tell with this amp that it is warmer. The music I listen to is overall better because of this. It was definitely a great purchase.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
New2thehobby
16
Apr 3, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Tube Rolled To Get It Working As Expected. Supplied Tube Didn't Work Well.
search
My initial experience was that of disappointment. When I first listened to the XDUOO TA-10R, the music was severely distorted. The sound clipped quite badly. I was able to resolve the problem by reducing my CPU's output in each application I'm using such as Tidal, Amazon Prime Music, and SiriusXM. Kind of a pain since I hadn't experienced this problem with any other DACs I own including, Topping D50S, Topping D90, Schiit Modius, Audioquest Dragonfly Cobalt, and Chord Mojo to name several. For me, experimenting with other hybrid tube and OTL tube amps, particularly when using high impedance cans like my Sennheiser HD 6XX, I prefer the sound from my Schiit Vali 2, LOXJIE P20, or Darkvoice 336SE paired with my Schiit Modius DAC. At this point in time, 3 stars is all I think the XDUOO TA-10R deserves. There are two pluses worth mentioning for the XDUOO TA-10R. One is that it has both XLR and single ended headphone jacks. The other is that it's an all in one DAC and amp. If space utilization is important or an XLR jack is a must, I can recommend it. Since I first posted this review, another user here on Drop suggested I try tube rolling my TA-10R. There are recommendations available online, so I'll try a couple of different 12AU7 tubes to see if things improve. Perhaps I got a unit with a poorly performing tube. I will update after I've experimented with the replacement tubes. For now, 3 stars for the XDUOO. 04/09 /2021 Update - Tonight I installed a Mullard 12AU7 / ECC82 tube and I was very pleased by the sonic improvement changing out the factory tube made. The scratchy treble vanished and was replaced by crisp and clean treble. The flaccid bass tightened up and gained good punch. The soundstage widened. No longer did I need to turn down the volume on my applications to avoid clipping. I experimented with numerous headphones and was pleased by the improved musicality and amount of power available. The toughest test was trying to power my notoriously power hungry HifiMan HE6se cans. The XDUOO TA-10R did a commendable job with them, but just can't compete with the authority, clarity and finesse that my Schiit Jotunheim 2 amp delivers. My HifiMan HE6se plays much louder using the Jotunheim. On my other headphones, I was pleased with the power provided by the XDUOO. After i tried the Mullard tube, I tried a Gold Lion ECC82 / B749 tube. I was even more impressed with the Genalex Gold Lion Tube. I can't say for certain that I got a unit with a poorly performing factory supplied tube, but switching to the Mullard or Gold Lion tube made a huge improvement. Since I've changed out the factory supplied tube, I like my XDUOO TA-10R a lot better. The TA-10R sounds similar to plus it has more power than either my LOXJIE P20 or my Schiit Vali 2+ paired with my Schiit Modius DAC. Note that I prefer the sound of my Darkvoice 336SE + Schiit Modius combo when playing either my Sennheiser HD 6XX or Beyerdynamic DT 1990 Pros.
search
Not to be unfairly challenged, I decided to tube swap my Schiit Vali 2+ with an Electro-Harmonix 6CG7 tube. And to my ears, the Schiit Vali 2+ tube swapped (with the Electro-Harmonix 6CG7 tube) and paired with my Schiit Modius DAC is the amp/DAC combo to beat for about $375. 5 stars for the tube swapped Schiit combo. 4 stars for the tube swapped XDUOO TA-10R. Happy listening!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Cferrer1983
67
May 11, 2021
How is the loxjie p20 treating you? You have posted before about it don't you ?
Mjolnir1
3
Jun 6, 2021
I understand the Schiit duo is excellent, but it input is limited to 24/192 while the XDUOO can read up to 32-bit, 384-kilohertz DXD decoding; and DSD decoding up to DSD256, for under $300. If you don't have files like that, great, but I have tons of those and that is why I steer away from Schiit unfortunately.
Showing 16 of 45
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
45 OF 45 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest