shopping_cart
YMDK Split 64 Hot-Swappable Mechanical Keyboard Kit
$180

YMDK Split 64 Hot-Swappable Mechanical Keyboard Kit

bookmark_border
$180
138 Sold
·
Ready to Ship
Product Description
While split keyboards may seem odd at first, they can make a world of difference for your fingers and wrists. From YMDK, this 64-key mechanical keyboard is split in half to promote a more comfortable position with both hands Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
14
check
62%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Mihtnick
0
Nov 27, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Loved it
Threw some lubed Torquise Telio switches in, and some Drop MT3 Black-on-white keycaps, and it is simply amazing. Can't tell you how the default stabilizers are because they were immediately replaced with screw-ins. I can highly recommend this combo. I love the form of the keyboard. It's my first split/ergo keyboard but I used it for work the day after I built it and have never looked back. Very comfortable and I like the style of the light. I wish it had USB type-C cables that are curled and white. But that is my only gripe.
search
search
search
search
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
user_name_again
4
Nov 4, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Overpiced Board
Purchased this board for $180, assuming it will come with keycaps and switches. It didn't. It is $130-140 on other websites bare-bones and $155 with switches. If you think Drop is giving you any kind of a value, they are not. They are stealing your money. Save yourself headache and purchase it elsewhere for $50 less.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
apparentLeah
2
Nov 3, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I waited forever to get this and when it finally arrived, only part of it worked. It had so many issues. I ended up returning it. Also it felt a lot cheaper than I expected. Definitely not worth the price even if it works properly.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Mliston
0
Sep 11, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Greatest Keyboard I Have Ever Owned
I purchased this keyboard with the included PBT keycaps and Cherry Mx Brown Switches. The keyboard is incredibly comfortable and ergonomic and has a nicely weighted metal base. The product came fully assembled and the included cables and keycaps are extremely high quality.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Steveologist
1
Aug 8, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Horrible
Sent me broken key caps, worst then Steph curry throwing a 3-1 lead. They can’t even send me 3 key caps to replace the broken one, Fersure never buying from drop again
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Futurebreath
21
Mar 25, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My first custom keeb!
I opted for the Kailh Box White switches, recommended "animal-themed keycap set" as well as a custom keycap, "ZOMO Aluminum & Silicone Kitty Paw Artisan Keycap." I also ordered custom cables through /r/mechmarket user nairad15. The cables were made by https://www.cablecraze.net/ to my specifications and they are perfect. What I love: The clickiness is so satisfying in sound and feel. The ergonomics, obviously! The RGB looks pretty cool. I received my order over a month and a half earlier than expected. Easy to put together. Feels heavy and well-built. Not so great: I was only sent the EXACT number of switches for the board. It's really easy to bend a pin when installing them. I ended up bending 4 of them in the process but was able to bend them back so every key works now. I thought it was a typical courtesy to include a few extra. Mini-USB connections. MINI, not MICRO. I wasn't a fan of the cables it came with so I had to order custom ones. Mini-USB to Mini-USB is not common so there aren't a lot of options readily available. I highly recommend CableCraze.net as he was able to take on this project despite never having made this type of cable before. He absolutely nailed it and it took less than 2 weeks for me to receive them. The Bootmapper software is a bit confusing for someone that hasn't used such software before. It's not entirely user-friendly but I was able to find the RGB settings. I really wish the actual keys were backlit. It's possible to achieve but you'd lose hot-swappability and need to solder all the LEDs yourself. I really wish the 3 indicator lights came either pre-soldered or as an add-on item. The keyboard lays absolutely flat. I bought some stands on Amazon to angle it. Overall I really love it.
search
search
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
teaegg
1
Aug 24, 2021
This is such a helpful and thorough review, thank you!
Futurebreath
21
Aug 24, 2021
Awwww! Thank you! I really appreciate it! I always wish others would leave reviews on things I’m interested in so I’m being the change I want to see I guess :)
SpacedCadet
32
Feb 22, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My board had a faulty PCB upon arrival. S key would not work no matter what. And no it wasn't the switch seeing as I had swapped out like 5 different ones.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Momonkey
3
Feb 10, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good keyboard
Can anyone explain which type of key cap set layout I need for this board none of my normal key caps fit the bottom layer at least
check
Would recommend to a friend.
camdude
201
Apr 29, 2021
It looks like mostly a normal set, all the alphas are the same, but your modifiers might require special attention. This is kindof a tradeoff with the more custom builds, they get hard to outfit with caps. Keycap sizes are measured in Units, with the default size being 1U, you can kindof tell by looking, by comparing keycaps to the smallest unit. So that left shift key looks like 2Us, but it might be 1.75Ua, but you can tell by holding them up next to eachother and counting how many normal keycaps fit on it. so youll have to figure out what sizes you have, and how many. Like for instance you have a 1u shift key, and a couple 1.25U alt keys? (just guessing) You'll obviously need some special/unique spacebars, that will probably be the hardest part to find for most cheaper keycap sets. When participating in keycap group buys, sometimes they sell smaller kits (like a spacebar pack) to help fill out unusual boards like this, unfortunately those are expensive and take a long time to get made and come in the mail. (Ive been happily waiting about a year for a GB I entered) Unfortunately theres no universal fix to get right sized caps, cause theres so much variety, but at least group buys can be slightly more flexible.
PrinzyUwU
3
Jul 18, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I LOVE THIS
Ever since I got it, I've been using it. I ordered it unassembled, and put in my own kailh box Jade's and I will never go back to a store keyboard ever again. (Already didn't want to, but it's absolutely definitive now) The split is super awesome for different angles and way more comfortable than regular keyboards. I 100% love this keyboard to death!!!!! I don't regret for one second having to wait longer due to covid, the wait was more than worth it!!!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
strizicus
32
May 27, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Im sure it will be great
The smaller split space keys look to be an interesting change up. Same with the left thumb function. cant wait to build this one
check
Would recommend to a friend.
soulipsistical
22
May 4, 2021
you know a review is supposed to be 'after' you buy the product...
Showing 16 of 27
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
27 OF 27 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest