shopping_cart
Mechanical Keyboards
How much of your day is spent typing on a keyboard? Discover the endless ways you can make this desk centerpiece a true expression of yourself.
4M
Followers
martinjba211
3
Jan 20, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Koshitsu (White/Gold) arrived visibly defective
The deskmat arrived with dark stains on the white areas that could not be removed after hand washing and machine washing. I had sent a request to customer service and will try to update this review if something happens.
local_offer
Phangkey Amaterasu Deskmat
rubisco
0
Jan 19, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Easy to put together for beginners like me
I'd like to preface this review with the kinda hit or miss Rev6 in particular. Great product but MANY rev3 preonic, rev6 planck batches seem to have some manufacturing issue where the pcb dies after a while. Watch out! That said, Drop customer support has been professional and replaced my first defective pcb thankfully. Be prepared for delays in shipping though depending on the time of year so plan accordingly. I was afraid to jump onto Planck since I've never put together keyboards before. I am new to mechanical keyboard in general (literally never heard there was such a community until 2 months ago) and I also do not have any background in programming or electronics. However, the community did a great job streamlining both the process of putting together the planck and reprogramming it with QMK. Respectable cost for how powerful customizable keyboard we are getting. I chose Kailh BOX pink switches (silent, linear, no lubing needed) for the most stress free, quiet and efficient solution. I also wish to learn Steno some day using this Planck!
local_offer
Drop + OLKB Planck Mechanical Keyboard Kit V6
Bluesclues
4
Jan 19, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Depends on price
These are literally almost identical to Glorious’s panda, the g-panda is slightly lower pitched and has a sharper bump that doesn’t disappear even after lubing the legs (can’t say the same for the drop pandas). Depending on the price I actually prefer the drop holy pandas, the glorious pandas suffer from really bad ticking/leaf ping which I couldn’t get completely rid of even after lubing legs. I got my drop pandas for $40 during the christmas sale for a 90 pack which is basically a steal. If you can get it for around $40-50 I would go for these, otherwise the glorious pandas are way cheaper and do just as well if not better. I’ve noticed these suffer from rampant QC problems, the biggest one being chattering after a bit of usage. I think drop would be willing to replace them but thats not a very good outlook for switches that retail at $1.15+ a switch. Hopefully I got a decent batch. I’ll take off 2 stars just for the ridiculously numerous amounts of QC complaints these switches get.
local_offer
Drop + Invyr Holy Panda Mechanical Switches
Kushaal
13
Jan 18, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great Kit!
This was my first dive into the custom keyboard world. My previous keyboard was a Ducky One 2 mini SF. I purchased this kit right around the first run and in the time between I decided I hated my wallet. I purchased a set of ice candy switches from since I prefer linear and wanted a clear switch to match the case/PC plate. I also purchased a set of the OSA Sleeves since they were on sale and I enjoyed the aesthetic. So I now have a set of holy pandas and some keycaps to build another keyboard. As far as the kit is concerned it was very well packaged and super easy to put together. I opted to not use all of the standoffs to hopefully get more flex from the gasket mount. As many know this gasket mount doesn't really provide much flex. Leaving off stand offs did little to improve this. However, I don't mind the lack of flex. Fully assembled the board looks great and I dig the rgb. Compatibility with VIA made key mapping and adjusting the rgb a breeze. Lastly, the included wrist rest is great and matches the board well. While this kit isn't the most budget oriented, if you like the aesthetic and are new to the space I can recommend the kit. You get everything you need to build your first custom.
local_offer
IDOBAO ID80 Crystal Gasket Keyboard Kit – Drop Exclusive
PuckSC
5
Jan 18, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The benchmark of OL boards
I have several OL keyboards and while the OLKBs aren't my favorite, the basic features it has are really great and it's an outstanding kit. Easy to put together and exactly what is advertised. The steps feel a bit out order if you're not used to them but the instructions are good and the procedure makes sense once you actually do it. I have the aluminum version of the Planck and the preonic in acrylic, the aluminum body feels very premium but is really heavy so if you want a board to carry around the lighter weight might be a consideration, but I would worry that the acrylic would get scratched up very easily. Both are good looking but the acrylic let's the under glow rgbs do their thing. If I had a complaint, I wish more plate options could be available at purchase. The steel plate is not my favorite. Very stiff and kinda tears up switches a bit considering it's a hot swap board. If you like the stiffer feel and don't intend to be wishy washy on switches then neither of those things are a big deal and really aren't deal breakers anyway.
local_offer
Drop + OLKB Preonic Keyboard MX Kit V3
aburd
0
Jan 16, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
First Ortholinear and I don't think I'll be able to go back to anything else
This product is bar none the best keyboard I've ever bought. I've made about 4 mechs, and I was just testing the waters buying this. I fully expected to go back to using an ordinary keyboard within a few months, but this is by far the best experience I've ever had with a mech. Ortholinear layout forced me to learn how to type properly (it's a personal problem, but it helped me and hopefully can help others with perhaps some bad habits :} ) The limited amount of keys forced me to think about what keys I used the most and make the keyboard layout work for me, not the other way around. There's a GUI for customizing your layout for when you're first starting out, and QMK firmware creator for when you grow out of it and need more control Fair warning, there is a bit of a learning curve. You're not going to be more productive right away. But personally, now that I'm well acquainted with the layout, surrounding software, etc. I feel much more productive with less effort from my hands.
local_offer
Drop + OLKB Planck Mechanical Keyboard Kit V6
GCE1701D
33
Jan 16, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This thing is pretty dang awesome. The attention to detail is pretty crazy. if you owned an OG GameBoy as a kid, or adult, or ever, you'll find so many true to life details it'll just make you keep smiling. There's a shaped indent for the gamelink cable port cover exactly where it should be. the etching where the headphone jack should be follows the contour to to the underside exactly like it sould. the contrast and volume wheels are right where they should be. And best of all. at the very top side of the keycap there's a grey cartridge shape that looks like an inserted game. Which made me laugh on sight. And when it lights up. It has the same soft green glow ('retro biege' version) if you set the lights white, or the keyboard only lights up white/no color (as mine does)
local_offer
ZMKC Pocket Game Console Artisan Keycap
fer.real
316
Jan 15, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Showing its Age
There are lots of things I love about the CTRL high profile keyboard. The quality of the CNC and annodization is really nice. It's honestly as good as the group buys I've been a part of. They've got a nice size and weight to them; solid enough to stay put on your desk, but are not to bulky or heavy to take with you. Hotswap isn't too important to me, but I know it's a crowd-pleaser. Unfortunately, it has not kept up-to-date with the trends. After a few years, it still has north-facing LEDs, where most enthusiasts want south-facing. It also still does not support PCB mount switches or stabs, which are by far and away the most popular type in the keyboard community. While plate and case foams were pretty new when this keyboard came out, they're now pretty standard for mid and high-end keyboards. Even GMMK and Keychron sell boards that come with foam standard. It would be nice to see Drop create a v2 to keep the product fresh.
local_offer
Drop CTRL High-Profile Barebones Keyboard
Rebelpr0
15
Jan 15, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Want to start off by saying I really like these, and plan on using them for quite a while on my GMMK Pro. I have already recommended that a few friends buy them. The two minor criticisms that I have are more personal preference, and may not bother anyone else. Wanted to include them in case they matter to anyone else considering buying the set: It comes with 2 spacebars, and both are identical, and I find them very boring. They don't feel like they're part of the same set. They have almost no shine through at all, except for like 6 tiny dots on the front of the spacebar. I opted to keep using the pudding spacebar I had from before as it just seemed to look better with the set. The glow through the top of the caps only really lights up about half of each key cap. The top half of each key cap is dark. It's hard to show in photos, and for all I know, this could be due to the board I'm using! For reference, I'm using Clear Zealios switches. So there should be no issue with the shine going all the way around.
local_offer
Artifact Bloom Series Keycap Set: Glow
Coke_Cane
4
Jan 15, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent, but unnecessary.
There isn't much to say about GMK sets. Anyone buying one has already fallen down this rabbit hole and knows exactly what they're looking for. This review is for the people who have taken steps into this hobby, but haven't quite reached that point yet. For $155, you're getting a top-quality set of genuine Cherry profile keycaps. GMK Pulse in particular is accessible because it's an in-stock set, meaning you don't need to enter a group-buy to purchase it, and it can be found at a significant discount (I purchased my set at a base price of $120). This makes it an attractive option for those looking to purchase their first GMK set. With that said, it's not an uncommon opinion that GMK sets are overpriced. Unless you have cash to throw around, my advice is to purchase one or a few colorways you like and focus on everything else this hobby has to offer. Trying out new keycap profiles and learning that you prefer something else like KAT or SA over Cherry can be a good way to avoid the GMK abyss.
local_offer
Drop + MiTo GMK Pulse Custom Keycap Set
blwb1gK1LL
39
Jan 14, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good for the money
Does what it says and good quality. Looks clean and works great.
local_offer
mStone Acrylic Keyboard Dust Cover
kadomatsu
2
Jan 14, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This kit was very nice. The good: very easy to use PCB, hotswap so no soldering required, the plate is solid and the case is solid with some foam. The bad: The stock stabilizers that came with this build are pretty bad, and leave some residue (is it glue or lube? we may never know) after you take them off. This is minor but could be slightly annoying to get off. No QMK/VIA support, and the software is really clunky, but there's an open-source project (github.com/pixeltris/GK6X) that's much much better. The case really needs you to put foam in it as it's really hollow (built for a battery which this does not have I assume), and I Tempest modded the PCB as well for that extra T H O C K. All in all a wonderful starter/budget board, great for beginners. Edit: I just saw that you can get this cheaper off AliExpress, TaoBao etc. so its whatever
local_offer
GK64X Hot-Swappable RGB Mechanical Keyboard Kit
razor1234
4
Jan 13, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Does the job, but a bit meh quality wise. No labels of any kind.
Excellent variety on switches. Really like the mix between Cherry, Gateron, Kalih and even Zeal switches. Good mix of clicky, tactile and linear switches as well. Do be aware, while the switches are installed in sequence (somewhat), there is absolutely zero indications on the product or even in the box as to what is what. You are going to need a screen around you with the product page open every time to identify what switches you are pressing, unless you can memorize what is where. The keycaps are horrendously bad quality, so not really accurate representation of how a keyboard with a particular switch would feel (to be fair you can always replace a keycap). Also, while the acrylic base is nice, its pretty loose on the switches which come out without any tools (essentially most switches came out along for the trip when attempting to remove the keycaps). But it a lot better than spending a ton of money buying and trying to find that perfect one that fits your needs, especially considering the mix of cheap and expensive switches. Like I found out that I quite like Aliaz switches, which wouldn't have happened without this (as most testers may not even present the option). Did miss the Drop Holy Panda's though, should have been a part of this.
local_offer
Super Switch Tester (63 Switches)
Mistah
65
Jan 13, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Pros: Nice Stack Overflow novelties South facing switches (though XDA profile doesn't care about that) Runs on QMK Nice finish on the aluminum case. Cutouts for the rubber feet on the case, unlike my planck (my biggest problem with that board). Factory lubed box blacks are pretty smooth compared to many of the other options. They sound decent, and have a cutout for LEDs if you want to desolder to lube the switches anyway. Cons: No 5 pin switch support? There are small holes in the board where they should be, but they're WAY too small. The holes for the switch leads are also too small. They can't fit mill-max sockets inside, so this board can never be hotswap, even with modding. RGB underglow, but no visibility. Waste of space for those LEDs on a crowded board. We could have had Kailh hotswap instead. Or at the very least, properly sized soldering pads Soldering pads are really tough to get solder to stick to. Most difficult pads I have ever worked with (I have a bachelor's degree in computer engineering and we had some pretty bad PCB mills there lol). Too many components leading to a very difficult to solder PCB. Switch soldering points are really close to important components. Keycaps came with uneven edges. Rubber feet have very weak adhesive. Overall it's great for what it is, but the PCB design and materials are just so awful. QMK support is amazing though, and it's what gives this thing its value, other than the novelty of stack overflow keycaps.
local_offer
Stack Overflow The Key Macropad
atreasurej
2
Jan 13, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Beautiful set, especially for the price
Had these for over a year, and they have held up great. I tried my best to recolor the photo to match the perceived color, which is slightly more pastel in person, but maybe it's cause my bright Varmilo board only has white LEDs. Not my first choice in font but the side print is extra cool kid. My only qualm at this point is it does not include the 4 optional (R4 or R5?) keys above my numpad, if you're going full size. It's hard to find alternate keycaps I like that would look good with this set. For those having trouble with the spacebar: I also had this issue of it not fitting great and making a lot of noise (quite annoying with my cherry mx silent reds). My fix was cutting small squares of blue painter's tape, placing them on top of the [+] for the two built-in switches, pressed the bar back on top, and then removed the excess later. Much more tolerable for me, hope that helps!
local_offer
NPKC Gradient PBT Doubleshot Side-Lit Keycap Set
King_of_Tire
0
Jan 13, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Stainless Steel Typing Fun
I love these. They feel great, they look great, and they really just set your keyboard apart. Many are mentioning that they make a deeper sound than your typical keycap, but I am just not getting that. I find the sound to be a little bit more like a "ting" than a "thock." I was a little worried after realizing that the keycaps don't feature homing bumps on the F and J keys; however, I have had zero issue typing with these when compared to any other keycap I've used. All that being said, these keycaps are still a 10/10, and I would buy them a dozen times over. Sidenote: Some people present concerns about the weight due the keycaps being stainless steel, but they are incredibly thin when compared with normal PBT keycaps, so there are no worries there. Your springs aren't going to buckle under the weight of these even a little bit.
local_offer
Teamwolf Stainless Steel Alpha Set Keycaps
RobDawg1991
7
Jan 11, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Quality wrist rest, but QA is dick (literally)
Do I love the quality of my wristrest, it’s amazing! But the resin seemed to settle and made quite an odd shape. It looks rather large and quite impressive. I’m returning it if you can understand why 😂 Update: Drop won’t let me return it, and I can’t complain to the company who made it because drop won’t tell me, privacy policies I guess. Just know, buy these completely are your own risk. There is no return or refund or anything at all, and you might get something that’s not up to par.
local_offer
IDOBAO Resin Wrist Rests
orionispax
7
Jan 12, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very nice budget TKL
This is the second budget high-profile TKL in my collection (after the Skyloong GK87). and this one has it's place as a daily driver for me. This TKL checks many "got to haves" for the modern budget keyboard (5-pin hotswap with south facing LEDs). I have mine fitted with the Everglide Crystal Violet Custom switches (stock) and AKKO Psittacus PBT keycaps. With any budget product, there are many tradeoffs. This includes: The stabilizers were very rough to work with at the beginning, particularly the space bar which got stuck. I haven't tried disassembling/cleaning/lubing it yet as after some repeated use it no longer sticks for me. The case uses both some very small screws and clips to hold the top shell in place. This doesn't seem be too hard to open up and get into. I was able to get into it without any issues but I am always worried about breaking the tabs whenever dismantling to access it. This keyboard uses USB-C but with some very odd choices for where the USB connections are (front and on both sides). The side ones are very deeply recessed and covered with a rubber cover. The front USB-C also has a very shallow but narrow recess meaning custom cables may have trouble connecting to it. I have been using it with the cheap rubber USB-C thus far. With any budget keyboard, only the manufacturer's software is supported. I have not been inclined to install/use it yet. Overall this is a fantastic starter TKL kit, and one that I would have no reservations recommending (particularly over the Skyloong GK87) for those going into the hobby.
local_offer
Flesports MK870 TKL Hot-Swappable Mechanical Keyboard
phretboard
0
Jan 11, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Unique typing experience
I bought these keycaps after ordering a Keychron Q1 for my foray into the world of mechanical keyboards. Happy to say that it fits perfectly with none of the 'scraping' issues that other people had (I should mention mine is the knob version). This is the first time I have used any other keycap than OEM, so the MT3 profile was very weird to type with initially. As soon as I got the keycaps I went straight to a typing test website, and I was making a horrendous amount of mistakes. However after a day or two I finally got used to them to type at a decent speed without any mistakes. I don't know why I like these keycaps because I can certainly type much faster on OEM, but I guess it must be the sound and feel? If I change my mind later I'll edit and update this review on my thoughts. Final things to mention: Keycap printing is good and the spacebar is not warped. There are some rough cuts on the bottom corner/edges of some keycaps but it's easily fixed. Accent packs are missing backspace why? Very expensive set since you have to buy the huge modifier set even if you have a 60% or 75% keyboard.
local_offer
Drop + biip MT3 Extended 2048 Custom Keycap Set
C1ares
2
Jan 11, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Happy this is an option
Can't say it's worth the full price, but on sale it's pretty tempting if you ruined yours already, or just regret getting the wrong profile, or both... So finally took an opportunity to replace my worn down low profile ALT's case, looks good as new, almost. Though I strongly recommend you to check if all of your keeb stabilizers can actually be removed and reinstalled back securely, and aren't just barely holding on by faith alone. All stock 3 of mine completely lost the plastic retainer tension, and trust me, neither hot glue nor toothpicks really work, even if used together. So consider getting some of better quality, even if they are just somewhat loose. And yeah, there's definitely some yellowing going on with the diffuser, but nothing too bad after 3 years of use. 5 stars for me, but only if on sale
local_offer
Drop ALT High-Profile Aluminum Case
Ask, Show & Tell
Ready to join the conversation? Click below to post a photo, ask a question, create a poll, and more.