Mod-SH switch review

more_vert
search
I've had my eye on this switch company for quite a while, and with the newly released SH version of the switch I had to get my hands on them.
  • tactile
  • 70 grams of actuation force
  • pcb mounted
the SH is the heaviest switch they have made so far with the other being the mod-L (45 grams), mod-M (55 grams), and mod-H (62 grams). the main appeal of these switches is the promise of a very strong bump and pre-lubed switches for smooth clicks.
I can say that the mod switches deliver on every one of those notes and are the most satisfying switches i've ever used, they have a very strong bump that is very smooth. I was planning to put these on my k-type when it arrives but with the black bottoms it would most liked ruin the RGB of the board, that is my one big problem with these switches, they are not fully clear, I dont understand why you would make a switch only semi-clear.
The Colors that they picked for these switches are awesome.
  • mod-L (magenta)
  • mod-M (cyan)
  • mod-H (orange)
  • mod-SH (neon green)
Overall I am extremely happy with these switches, I paid 70 dollars for 90 of them and can say every dollar was worth it and honestly I can say I prefer these to zealios switches.
You can buy them from https://originative.co/products/mod-switch
13
37
remove_red_eye
3.3K

search
close
Merlin64
238
Jul 14, 2017
"I don't understand why you would make a switch only semi-clear."
In addition to what @TelFiRE said, there have been issues with transparent bottoms in which too much heat could melt them. Could be troublesome for people who aren't as adept at soldering.
TheSkeleton
2958
Jul 15, 2017
tbh I feel thats more on the people then the switch, they really should practice soldering more before they attempt to solder zealios switches, they are kinda expensive. I do understand your point though
Merlin64
238
Jul 15, 2017
Knowing that certain plastics have a lower melting point is good to know in addition to good soldering practices.
TelFiRE
603
Jul 12, 2017
" I dont understand why you would make a switch only semi-clear. "
Because if you have a board with underglow and key lighting it doesn't look that great when the underglow leaks through the caps and the light mixes. That said, a fully clear option would be nice.
Question, would the 70g be pretty close to 67g Zealios or are they on different scales? I have Zealios and want to try these, I love tactility so it's possible I like them more, but hoping the scratchiness people say it has compared to Zealios won't bother me.
TelFiRE
603
Jul 12, 2017
I really want to like the green ones since I run lime green stuff heavily lol. Do you think they'd feel like 78G Zealios or even heavier than that?
TheSkeleton
2958
Jul 12, 2017
I think you will enjoy them none the less, ive never personally used 78G but they would probably be similar.
eizdeb
472
Jun 30, 2017
Hmm might pick up some of these, building a 68key soon, want to do 67g zeal alphas and might toss these on the mods. Thanks for the review!
Did you notice any scratchiness? I've heard MOD switches can be a bit scratchy but the tactility is worth it
TheSkeleton
2958
Jun 30, 2017
nothing noticeable, maybe a little bit here and there but nothing major
Kaan
297
May 30, 2017
Nice review, thanks, as a user of modded tactile gray switches, these ones excite me, would be nice if they were gray too
TheSkeleton
2958
May 30, 2017
Why do you want them Gray? I personally love the colors of these switches. Grey's are amazing switches too, if love to make a board with them.
Kaan
297
May 30, 2017
I find gray to be neutral, I currently have colourful keycaps for example, so green, purple etc. all of them would work, but, I intend to do a more serious Dolch build soon, I wouldn't prefer having green stems - It's not very important tho, obviously
Buying pre-modded switches would be much preferable to modding, it's nice to have these switches as an alternative, I was going to do my last build almost 2 years ago but stored everything as I can't bear myself to mod 60+ switches again :)
Manumit
15
May 26, 2017
Thanks for the update! Got a set just in time!
LevelSteam
May 24, 2017
So I just got my MOD sampler from Originative and I'm pretty impressed. I went with the tactile switches and recieved a MOD-L (magenta stem, 45g act force), MOD-M (cyan stem, 55g act force), and MOD-H (orange stem, 62g act force) switch. My current favorite switch type is the Cherry MX Clear which has an actuation force of 55g, but the MOD-M feels a bit lighter compared to the Clears despite having the same actuation force. All three MOD switches also have a much more noticable tactile bump than MX Browns (which I dislike due to the smaller bump). To me the slightly heavier H's feel much closer to what I'm comfortable with, and I do like them a LOT.
My other impressions of the switch are positive as well. Not only are they noticeably smoother than my Cherry switches, they also have WAAAAAY less wobble in the stem compared to the Cherry switches. I think I'm going to order some of these for my next build. :)
TheSkeleton
2958
May 29, 2017
well im not actually putting these switches on a board for a couple months, I just bought the SHs now because they are limited
Geo80
23
Jun 29, 2017
The newer Kaihua Kailh switches have noticeable less wobble.
Raithmir
658
May 22, 2017
I'd guess the "L" are similar in force required to Browns, the "H" to Clears, and these a bit heavier still?
Raithmir
658
May 22, 2017
Thanks, think I'd like to try the M's then. Personally I'd prefer something a little bit lighter than Clears. Been considering these or Zealios.
TheSkeleton
2958
May 22, 2017
they are both amazing options but I prefer mods, you wont be disappointed
LuckyBoi
56
May 22, 2017
70$ for 90 switches? I just got 87 or the newer speed switches from Kaihua for like 30$
TheSkeleton
2958
May 22, 2017
Well yeah kaihua are a very good deal, these are mod switches, which come pre modified and offer a very high quality good feel
LuckyBoi
56
May 22, 2017
oh true true, didn't realise premodded switches were a thing.
LevelSteam
May 20, 2017
Where did you get them from?
TheSkeleton
2958
May 20, 2017
https://originative.co/products/mod-switch Just updated the post, forgot to put the link ^^
LevelSteam
May 21, 2017
No worries, I found them a little while after I asked haha. Ordered the sampler though, maybe I'll use them in my next build. Thanks for reminding me that these still existed!