Cult of Audio 'Science' Review - Amir's Faithful
more_vert
I've noticed a rather lot of blind enthusiasm on these forums where people just drop a single link to an ASR 'review' without commentary as though Amir offers any authority on the subject. Amir is an ex software engineer, 'retired' Microsoft money (EDIT, Amir has corrected me, he is not a software engineer, this is my bad, his background is linked in his sig on ASF); he larps as though he understands hardware but a quick trip off the DAC reservation shows his ignorance very quickly. For instance, here he is needing to be told by one of his forum members that he can simply add a balanced cord to his HD650 to test balanced lol: https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/index.php?threads/so-what-is-a-common-balanced-headphone-for-testing.4949/ Dude seriously thought he needed an entirely new pair of headphones! LMAO. More fundamentally, he makes all sorts of commentary on spectrum shape at sub -110 dB levels, but offers no precision gauge in the form of repeated measurements. Seriously, look how skeevy Amir gets when the community tries to get him to measure a second Jotunheim (not unreasonable given how 'exceptional' his results were here compared to such a commonly measured unit). https://www.superbestaudiofriends.org/index.php?threads/schiit-jotunheim-has-no-grounding-hum-issues.6664/ As usual, the good folks at SBAF utterly eviscerate this clown: https://www.superbestaudiofriends.org/index.php?threads/modi-2u-and-d30-dac-deconstructing-amirs-hack-job-part-ii.6449/ Amir's measurements are one of many, and they often differ without explanation or (most damning!) investigation. His measurements are sub Jude-tier, get yourself a second (and third) opinion ;)
(Edited)
thumb_uplupi900, DamienR, and 19 others
21
84
remove_red_eye
7.6K
bookmark_border

search
atmfrank
0
Nov 17, 2019
bookmark_border
Sadly, this entire debate is nothing but a waste of time on so many levels. Remaining open-minded and looking for information is not possible any longer. A reflection of today's society mirrored in the audiophile community, your're either pro-Amir or against-Amir, each camp doing it's best to intellectually out-duel each other. Bravo! What have we learned? Curious-minded, as I try to remain, I was interested in the broadening my information sources for possible future purchase decisions. What I find is a painfully conflicted community that tells me "the (review) game is rigged". I even regret having lurked here, common sense nowhere to be found.
(Edited)
Nov 17, 2019
lupi900
2
Oct 29, 2019
bookmark_border
Or just ignore him, because when i posted there. Apparently pointing out how THD mean nothing about how a headphone sounds, is apparently trolling by the userbase.
Oct 29, 2019
porntipsguzzardo
58
Sep 23, 2019
bookmark_border
ASR is fantastic. Anybody who says otherwise is selling some BS. You want some subjective BS with your audio? Go for it. Waste your money. Want some facts? Go to ASR.
Sep 23, 2019
kcintr
4
Aug 25, 2019
bookmark_border
Amir and his moderator (Thomas) laughing at their naive. gullible, easy to fool, sheepish followers and backers. Even making comparisons of Amir to Bernie Madoff. Thomas: “Umm, what do you call a bunch of less wealthy guys paying for a fairly well off guys retirement fantasy… Amir’s/ASR ‘sugar daddies’ ASR ‘facilitators’ I don’t know , did Bernie Madoff have a name for his investors?” (this post was ‘liked’ by Amir) Amir: “No and hence his downfall. That, and his lack of sense of humor which I have in abundance!!!” (this post ‘liked’ by Thomas savage) Thomas: “Yes Bernie should of behaved more like a charismatic but somewhat clownish ‘cult’ leader but I’d argue he was laughing just as loudly as you.” Thomas: “Soldiers of Amirs fortune.” This is one of the problems of having a moderator who likes to drink, sometimes the truth accidentally slips out. And in true cult fashion, this damning admission will likely not sway the followers one bit.
search

search

search

Aug 25, 2019
badboygolf16v
37
Sep 29, 2019
bookmark_border
Are you for real? Have you ever heard of humour? Clearly you cannot identify it. Maybe stop taking your opinions (baseless at that) on audio so seriously. Maybe one day you'll grow out of your puerile fanboy approach to life and develop some wit, maturity and critical reasoning skills.
Sep 29, 2019
kcintr
4
Jul 17, 2019
bookmark_border
Amir lacks honesty and integrity. One example, when he falls behind in a debate, he has no problem in resorting to dishonest debate tactics. When called on it, he cries personal attack and calls for the moderator. Ironically, he says nothing of the constant personal attacks on manufacturer reps on his site. Another of his many character flaws is that he’s got a fragile ego. He almost never concedes a point, nor admits to being wrong, no matter how wrong he is. He’ll just resort to more blatant dishonesty in order to give himself and his followers the impression of “winning” an argument. Of course his followers never call him on it. No doubt they recognize it, they just look the other way, intent on maintaining their standing within the group. The cultish behaviour has become more apparent in the past few weeks with these recent developments with his moderator (Thomas). The moderator seemed to be a man of integrity and his moderating style mostly fair and unbiased. He would even join in criticizing Amir on occasion. He was tolerant of opposing views, allowed constructive criticism and didn’t mind tough questions being asked. Of course, this is not good for Amir. Amir needs loyal, unquestioning followers. This type of moderating style will expose his many character flaws. Amir was not happy with the moderating and he and Thomas had a disagreement. Amir wants more censoring and swift banning. In response, Thomas left the position for a time, wanting to maintain his integrity. Unfortunately, Thomas recently decided to sell out and become Amir’s moderator puppet. He must’ve been lured with promises of large payouts once the sponsorships and advertiser dollars begin to roll in. The site is now quick to censor and ban at the slightest hint of any perceived deviant thought or question, as it is with any cult. One last point worth noting. The members there often talk about people fooling themselves. Ironic that they fool themselves into thinking that Amir does what he does just out of the goodness of his heart. Don’t be fooled, faithful Amir followers, it’s all about the money. He’s interested in building a site to make money. Always follow the money, it’s what motivates action. All review sites start off giving the impression of good intentions, but they all end up serving themselves in the end. He’s already proposed the idea of Amazon product links, manufacturer sponsorship, advertiser endorsement, etc. It’s only a matter of time. And when you current regulars complain that he’s sold out, or changed direction, he’ll just label you a troll and have you censored and banned. Then, a new group of loyal followers will replace you. It happens the same way, every time. For those interested in an objective perspective, there are plenty of others out there who have the character and integrity to go along with the data.
Jul 17, 2019
andrewdavis7
48
May 25, 2019
bookmark_border
Amir's faithful? Faith is belief that doesn't need proof or evidence. ASR's mission is the opposite.
May 25, 2019
DJAT
199
Mar 1, 2019
bookmark_border
Amir won an Emmy for his work in TV and audio... back in 2006/7 at the least. Most of us were still learning about headphone models and headphones companies back then. Did any of you win an Emmy? I don't think so. Did even... Jude? Or Tyll? Hmm... I don't think so. I think the guy is still humble enough.
search

(Edited)
Mar 1, 2019
JohnVF
31
Jul 10, 2019
bookmark_border
Ever hear of the logical fallacy of appeal to authority? Not very objective. Especially given that the sited authority has no basis in the expertise that is necessary for what is being discussed.
Jul 10, 2019
rubley00
2
Oct 24, 2019
bookmark_border
That's not appeal to authority. He's referencing Amir's experience, not referring to the endorsement of a third party.
Oct 24, 2019
nsfy
35
Feb 23, 2019
bookmark_border
Reminds me of thos guys claiming "atheism is religion too!". Nope. ASR is anything but a cult and Amir's calm, respectful factual and pertinent repsonses and measurements speak for themselves and no amount of LOLs going to change that. With their reactions, in this case and others, the staff at SBAF and HeadFi were exposed for what they are and anyone with half a brain can read the threads on ASR and decide for themselves. People like the OP are too invested in their audiofool fantasies they can no longer acknowledge reality.
Feb 23, 2019
JohnVF
31
Jul 10, 2019
bookmark_border
Logical fallacies of ...ad hominem attack, poisoning the well, false dichotomy, false analogy. Verdict: not logical, not reason based.
Jul 10, 2019
Mist_x
68
Feb 21, 2019
bookmark_border
The only reason I like his reviews is because his reviews are the closest "backed up" way to test amps and dacs. When I look at other reviewers testing amps/dacs most of them will say "Yeah its good lol xD" and basically ramble on how they like it and recommend it. That doesn't tell me anything at ALL. It's more so worrying when there are people out in the community that actually think the HD 600 series has soundstage. I once read a review from the headphone community stating "yes the HD 600 feels so open and has a vast soundstage, even with this schiit magni+modi I can feel it opening up even more". I even bought the headphone myself but concluded the fact that these headphones aren't open at all, they are the MOST narrow soundstage headphone out there I ever tried INCLUDING closed backs. I can't take people seriously when half of the community is saying something misleading. There are no objective ways to test headphones or amps/dacs in terms of performance but his reviews are the closest thing. Sometimes I see your everyday people trying to post their own FR graphs on headphones but the thing is how am I supposed to read this when the treble portion of it is like a \ slope. Even more so when you don't know if they have a proper seal or not. I don't take FR graphs very seriously since I can see they are in no way perfect. I don't know if amirs is anywhere near perfect but there is nothing else that can let me say "I want to compare the JDS element to the JDS atoms amp." What am I going to hear? Some guy saying "JDS elements provides a more larger dynamic range with a boosted treble response at 6k while the atoms provides a more laid back treble response at 5k and the resolution is just not up to par." This type of comment is just someone's opinion.
Feb 21, 2019
Tragique
624
Feb 19, 2019
bookmark_border
My eyes just glaze over when I see frequency graphs. I couldn't care less what a machine *hears*. I'd rather read some arrogant "audiophile's" impressions, then ignore them and buy what I think I'll like.
Feb 19, 2019
Showing 15 of 84
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
84 OF 84 POSTS
Nov 17, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest