amirm
333
Dec 22, 2018
bookmark_border
"Amir is an ex software engineer, 'retired' Microsoft money; ..." Software engineer? My background is on every post in ASR Forum in my signature: https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/index.php?threads/a-bit-about-your-host.1906/ As I explain there, I grew up with hardware design and went on to get my electrical engineering degree. But along the way also fell in love with software and so have dual expertise. I worked for nearly 35 years in the industry working for many software and hardware companies including names you may know (Sony). At Microsoft I was a Vice President in charge of nearly 1000 people developing software, working with countless chip companies on embedded development, marketing, business development, etc. In other words, I feel comfortable with all facets of technology. Post Microsoft I co-created a start-up that was acquired by fortune-50 companies. I worked hard to get to a point where I can donate my time and money to the community through testing and writing. You make it sound like Microsoft handed me play money. I have been using Audio Analyzers since I worked at Sony (bought the first Audio Precision there back in 1990 or so). I have a strong background in signal processing, psychocacoustics, all aspects of audio processing (compression, etc.), am a trained listener, know about manufacturing, etc. Also during college, I repaired thousands of pieces of electronics and put myself through school that way. So let's have you tell us what the credentials of the other people are that you are putting forward. Do you know what they even do in their day job? You really rather be in the dark and not have the benefit of measurements I perform? You rather not know anything about a new DAC, headphone amp, etc.? Or are you happy with faulty subjective reviews that are dime a dozen?
(Edited)
Dec 22, 2018
GiantHeadphoneSquid
542
Dec 22, 2018
bookmark_border
I appreciate you taking some of your time to reply, and for keeping things somewhat civil (probably more so than the tone of my post deserved). I don't imagine coming across a post like this is pleasant for you. I apologize for the total brain fart and lack of due diligence on your credentials, I would be happy to either edit out the error from my original post, add a note, or leave my stupidity unblemished for all to see. . . I'll put a note alongside it for now, but let me know if you'd prefer to keep/strike the original record. I stand by the rest of the post. It's easy for me to ignore your content itself by not going to your forums (live and let live!), but the spillover behavior is getting notable enough that my OP felt therapeutic to share. I certainly don't want to censor you, but if you can salvage any useful feedback from this, please keep it in mind in the commentary that accompanies your measurements. Frankly, I expect you also deal with a degree of similar absolutism on your own community - there is a link in this ol' gossipy thread to a review of one of your community members quite nice looking Aussie DAC/amp(?) that had people demanding SINAD/$ metrics to go full commodity on this thing . . .
Dec 22, 2018
dcha12
376
Dec 23, 2018
bookmark_border
For the record, as you previously took time to reply to one of my posts, I never had a problem with your credentials; in fact, I acknowledged that you are extremely well-qualified. This, however, does not mean that some of the other people who we put forth have none. Please do not insult our intelligence. As a response to your last few questions, that is being unfair, accusatory, and like I said before, insulting our intelligence. You and I both know that's not what anyone wants. I believe people in this hobby would be smarter than that (although a few might not be). Also, for the record, I never said the data you presented is invalid. In fact, for those in-the-know, it's very useful. All I accused you for in the past is being misleading. This has been well-documented by people like Jude at Head-fi, and Marv and AtomicBob at SBAF (and for the record, I'm not a Jude fan either). That being said, I have found some of your later reviews quite useful. But if I may be frank, your continuing need to defend youself is both getting old and making you seem like you want to be the last word in audio because "you're so qualified that you're the only word that can be trusted and not to listen to anyone else." Just put out good, solid data and let your f***ing credentials and quality of work speak for themselves.
Dec 23, 2018
computerex
38
Jan 11, 2019
bookmark_border
Please ignore ignorant attention seekers like the OP and keep up the great work you do at ASR forums. Don't let it dissuade you in the slightest. The naysayers just don't get the importance of objective scientific measurements. They don't understand that what they *think* they are hearing is subject to dozens of biases and variables that they aren't even aware of and make absolutely zero effort to account for those factors. OP's post is a classical example of Dunning-Kruger effect. They get pissed after looking at your measurements and conclusions after having spent their savings on audio-gd/shit products. Then they reverse rationalize and get angry at *you*. There are so many people that appreciate the work you have done and thoroughly enjoy being a part of the community at ASR. Your reviews are like a glass of cold water in a hell of audiophile reviews. > SBAF utterly eviscerate this clown: https://www.superbestaudiofriends.org/index.php?threads/modi-2u-and-d30-dac-deconstructing-amirs-hack-job-part-ii.6449/  purr1n the guy who makes the counter claims in this linked thread didn't even bother posting his methodology or the hardware/software used to make the measurements. I doubt he is using Audio Precision.
Jan 11, 2019
kaliwraith
1
Apr 18, 2019
bookmark_border
"there is a link in this ol' gossipy thread to a review of one of your community members quite nice looking Aussie DAC/amp(?) that had people demanding SINAD/$ metrics to go full commodity on this thing . . " Couldn't they just send Amir their product to get some measurements? or they can spend some $$ and send it to Tom Christiansen for a more private review experience, and even get some advice (for some more $$) on improving the design if they're trying to make it into a commercial venture.
(Edited)
Apr 18, 2019
Evshrug
1962
Jul 10, 2019
bookmark_border
I realize I’m doing it too by saying this, but does anyone else feel SBAF spends as much time reviewing influential members of the personal audio community just as often as gear?
Jul 10, 2019
GeneBelcher
7
Jul 15, 2019
bookmark_border
You know that Audio Precision isn’t the only measurement suite, right? You also know that even when AP helped Jude at HF devise a linearity measurement of the Yggdrasil, Amir dismissed it and said he knew how to use the AP better than AP’s own engineers?
Jul 15, 2019
Motorrad
2754
Jul 27, 2019
bookmark_border
I love the measurements and perspective, but find the acceptance, by what has become your cult (congratulations), that the measurements are the be-all-end-all completely depressing...the death of objectivity. I find that 'cult' is an apt description because people are being told what they hear instead of hearing it themselves. The disciples instead of providing their own impression attach a link to ASR like it's a mic-drop.
Jul 27, 2019
lupi900
24
Oct 31, 2019
bookmark_border
Yup that what current audio objectivism has decayed to. That anything by schitt and high THD headphones and more must be bad regardless of how they sound. The ER4XR/PT can avg at 0.95% yet when i had them i never once noticed it being a issue even with EQ applied to the ER4PT. It's a joke where you can't express any opinion without some clown who never heard anything they bash or misread THD charts to say this audible when it isn't. Oddly they demand proof with mp3 but never when they bring up the THD levels of a DAC or headphone...
Oct 31, 2019
Motorrad
2754
Nov 4, 2019
bookmark_border
The recent ASR "review" of the Airist R2R DAC is a case in point. By Amir's test standards, the Airist comes out particularly poorly, even moreso than one might expect from an R2R. There's not even an acknowledgement that the concept of subjectivity exists... Amir won't even listen to the thing because it tests so poorly. He can't send it back fast enough. Then there's the comments... a series of gutless, sanctimonious acolytes, who have never heard the DAC and can't even form their own opinions anyway. Trolling the purchasers to dare to defend their embarrassing purchase that they and 1000 other 'sheep' made. It's truly one one of the most disingenuous displays of lack of intellectual curiosity as you're going to see. The gloating and contortions these people go through to justify their lack of intellectual curiosity is amazing. ...but how does it SOUND?

Nov 4, 2019
lupi900
24
Nov 5, 2019
bookmark_border
Yup it's why the site is junk science they won't test why poor measuring stuff can sound good or better. I made a Etymotic ER4 themed thread i came back with few basing their opinions by its THD and how they never tried as if there can't grasp at how dumb they sound. Read this thread on when there challenged and that they just spew stuff they don't understand.
(Edited)
Nov 5, 2019
Motorrad
2754
Nov 5, 2019
bookmark_border
oh yeah I got a kick out of that a few days ago. as much as anything it's just another example of how Divided We Are... the original poster in that thread poses a pretty moderate question that wasn't exactly critical of objectivism, but was questioning the blind -if you will- acceptance of it. the die-hard objectivists start off pretty gentle but then show their need to pigeonhole the original poster as a die-hard butt-hurt subjectivist...then it all goes downhill with Amir coming in to defend himself as if he was being attacked and didn't actually read the original posters Post in the first place. it's all quite silly. I do love the numbers, but the intellectual dishonesty of the whole thing is stunning.
Nov 5, 2019
lupi900
24
Nov 5, 2019
bookmark_border
That thread is gold, What i find telling is that they ignore that everything about audio subjective because of how our senses and brain work. They have to make up how 1000+ people who enjoy the R2R, Tube amps and Grado must be dumb to avoid admitting there just dishonest assholes who have no idea what they're talking about. Not surprised at Amir reaction when he still sore from using a broken amp to bash schitt. I find it very cute when die hard objectives get defensive about Flac being better than lossy with no irony or self awareness. Also the 2nd comment on that thread is them giving me a weak reply on the Grado SR225e one just insults me with no argument and the other just comes of as a bully if just silghtly subjective. They say you can test THD but ignore how a lot couldn't even hear 15% or ignore it could be there rigs giving false charts. lol
(Edited)
Nov 5, 2019
Amnesia1187
529
Dec 12, 2019
bookmark_border
Amir doesn’t post enough data to reproduce his results either so that’s hardly a useful response.
Dec 12, 2019
lupi900
24
Dec 21, 2019
bookmark_border
It's a die hard objectivst circlejerk why use hard data when they can cry "dumb audiophile". Instead of investagting why high THD gear can sound fantastic, because it pretty cringy when suddenly subjectivism is okay when its MP3, headphone/speaker FR's.
Dec 21, 2019
Motorrad
2754
May 29, 2020
bookmark_border
that's possibly the most laughably arrogant and ignorant comments I've read in a long time. I wish you were able to appreciate and laugh with me at your own inadvertent ironies caused by your astonishing lack of self-awareness. there's so much more to it than measurements. it's sad that you refuse to even attempt to conceive of this possibility.
May 29, 2020
CeeStyleDj
5
Jun 13, 2020
bookmark_border
And I thought I got upset at the Steve Hoffman Forums. That's nothing compared to how I feel when browsing Audio Science Review. Case in point: I've done tons of research on the Yamaha R-N803 Network 2-channel Hi-Fi receiver. Members on the form kept referring to it as an AVR. It's not an AVR.. it's a dedicated 2 Channel integrated amp with network capabilities. It is specifically for music and is not intended as some sort of Home Theater device or hooking up your TV - AT ALL. But they kept saying AVR ( ignorant pretentiousness). Second, this thing has been tested and reviewed to pretty high acclaim. But then one guy tests it and everyone gets in line like Lemmings and figures that whatever this guy concluded is last word? Lol So some guy with testing equipment stated on a forum that he found measurements, and then everyone in the comments takes it as gospel? If it wasn't for companies like Yamaha, you guys wouldn't even be discussing audio in forums. As for the dunning-kruger effect that @computerrex stated - it's actually the opposite. It's not that the people that have researched or invested in particular component are mad because a reviewer; it's the fact that tons of people on a forum will take what One Reviewer stated as gospel. It's just like the state of media today. I call it the "Fox News effect." There could be a hundred and eleven media outlets to tell you that something happened but then Fox News tells you that it happened different and then people believe Fox News! lmao - that's ridiculous. The conclusion that I've come to is that many people on that Forum has spent maybe too much money on a particular type of audio gear, then something comes along that is just as good, or even better from a mainstream manufacturer, and then people get bitter and say "meh...it's okay". The judging, arrogance and self-righteousness in forums like this make you want to stay away from forums in general when it comes to the audio enthusiast hobby.. it reminds me of back in the day when I was really into cars and a particular set of people would just be so opposed to a certain brand. It's the silliest thing in the world. How about respect every brand for what they are? Everyone brings something to the table. These companies spend tons of money in research and development - and then you criticize it because it wasn't made from a company of eight employees in their garage that charges $15,000 for something you can buy for 20 times less - and is actually more reliable and/or has more features. It's pretty hypocritical to tell someone that something is just average because they haven't heard the super high-end IF you spend decades never listening to what the more known brands put out. Btw - Go out and buy a Yamaha R-N803 - it's awesome - and tests VERY WELL. :-)
(Edited)
Jun 13, 2020
lupi900
24
Jun 13, 2020
bookmark_border
Same shit but different coat, audio enthusiast sites seem to live and die from people who have no idea what their talking about or think they know more than the brands themselves. I used to be active on /r/Headphones it crazy how you'll get people parroting "HD800S, KSE1200, etc" is endgame worthy but with no background on what good & what a reviewer said is right. Since they'll bash others when DT1990 pro or the ER4XR sounds just as good and fantastic with EQ/DSP. Because fuck being realistic and saving cash for other stuff. lol > Numbers on the form kept referring to it as an AVR. It's not an AVR.. it's a dedicated to channel integrated amp with network capabilities. I had a guy on that site said my 512GB micro SD was fake because it wasn't made by sandisk/samsung. Despite the company being 100% legit, That like saying topping DAC's are trash because their not a JDS labs or Sony?. So much stupidity all around...
Jun 13, 2020
Motorrad
2754
Jun 13, 2020
bookmark_border
Yup! Also, I'm in the market for an AVR; I'll check out the R-N803. Thanks for the tip.
Jun 13, 2020
CeeStyleDj
5
Jun 15, 2020
bookmark_border
Agreed. I say at least respect everyone's effort into the arena (Brands wise). Sorry for all of my typos. I was using speech-to-text. But...I think you filled in the gaps and replaced the words for yourself lol. I was heated at the moment haha.
Jun 15, 2020
CeeStyleDj
5
Jun 15, 2020
bookmark_border
Ahh! But it's not an AVR - that's one of the main points I was making haha. It's a 2-Channel HiFi Network Integrated amp. But yes, check out Yamaha for AVRs as well because they have quite a few units! :-) Cheers.
(Edited)
Jun 15, 2020
Motorrad
2754
Jun 15, 2020
bookmark_border
Yes. I know. Just messing with you.
Jun 15, 2020
CeeStyleDj
5
Jun 16, 2020
bookmark_border
Geez.. Lol
Jun 16, 2020
ciber
119
Sep 26, 2020
bookmark_border
Amir, why Microsoft not acquire a high-end audiophile company, such as Sennheiser, Hifiman, etc.
Sep 26, 2020
Motorrad
2754
Oct 22, 2020
bookmark_border
why ask dumb question?
Oct 22, 2020
View Full Discussion
Related Posts
hypnoticdcime
Waiting For This
I have been hearing from the world, the web and elsewhere? that people own headphones and set ups that reveal everything. Stuff they have never heard in recordings they have been listening to for years. I had been searching for this for what seems like many years. I have about 20 pair mid to high end headphones, about 15 pair IEM and High Res DACs and AMPs in all their glory. I love how easy it is to listen to all that gear without a huge price tag. I consider each device to have its own sound signature. Some provide more depth and detail, some provide a very flat, unfiltered sound. All the while this is attainable yet can be configured differently depending on the tastes of the listener. Now, with that out of the way... I love my headphones, DACs and AMPs. I love high res music in many genres except hardcore Rap and Country. Occasionally listen to Classical. That leaves me with all the rest. Mainly Rock including Classic, Pop, EDM and some Hip Hop too. Those are my main genres...
Oct 22, 2020
General
Rlbol
Advice on a different dac or a dac/amp connection?
I am pretty new to headphones and recently have kind of jumped in a little more then i had planned. My question is, what is the best way to Hock up a computer to run hi res audio files from my computer to a Dac or Dac combo that will also have an output to my Kef eggs as well as a connection to kef LSX in the future. the speakers have an toslink connection, usb connection as well as Bluetooth but no analog inputs. which ever Dac I also need a connection to an amp. Currently my headphones consist of Sunchaser hd6xx, fostex t60rp and I would like to add some Focal clear in the future. With those in mind and a budget of roughly 2k what would be the preferred equipment and the ideal connections? thanks in advance!
Oct 19, 2020
General
paaxywaxy
There should be a massdrop edition of headphones.
I think that the concept of human headphones was a great idea but theyre performance was worse than a normal pair of headphones. So there should be a massdrop edition that fixes the issues that the original had and make it a little cheaper. The idea would get traction because I mean true wireless bluetooth headphones. And the price of the human headphones was a little pricy for some so it would be a great concept to start making.
Oct 19, 2020
General
teacat237
Would you also like a Drop for Avantone Pro Planar?
Would you also like a Drop for Avantone Pro Planar? How do we make that happen?
Oct 18, 2020
Interest Checks
hypnoticdcime
Another Drop That Is Amazing and Unique
It had to happen. I auditioned the Romanian built Meze 99 Neo and definitely fell I love. They are extremely comfortable although I actually really do enjoy the suspension headband. I feel like the headphones just "float" on my head so I forget I have them on. This offering from Drop is actually great deal too. The Meze 99 Classics are $309, while the Neo are $199. Same price as the Drop Noir. The sound is satisfyingly true to the design. These are beautifully crafted, Walnut closed back headphones. I love the black all metal hardware much more than the gold on the Classics. The chrome on the Neo is ok, but this understated black with dark walnut is impeccable. I should note they were just purchased and available, so they will arrive in 2 business days for a transport fee $5. The Neo went back to the store and $200 was credited. I cannot emphasize enough. You get what you pay for. The only exception in life where I have seen otherwise is with...headphones. There ar some strikingly...
Oct 16, 2020
General
Trending Posts in Audiophile
Hawkeye1958
What are the differences between the HiFiMan HE-400i and the HE4xx?
What are the differences between the HiFiMan HE-400i and the HE4xx?
Oct 28, 2020
Questions
Sestoman
Celebrating our 2 year anniversary together. I think she’s a keeper
Oct 28, 2020
TheOneRawr
Just got my first real pair of headphones (I don’t think my gaming set of HyperX count) and have totally fallen in love. I’ve seen some guys repaint theirs so I gave it a shot. This is my first...
Oct 27, 2020
alonw
Naim @ Linn setup.
Oct 26, 2020
rhombl4
Headphones organising
Oct 25, 2020
RubenPLB
Headphone + AMP/DAC - Can someone give me a recommendation?
Hi everyone, this is my first post here. I would like some help on finding a pair of headphones and AMP/DAC. I would like open-back headphones (i already own a pair of ATH M50x working just phine but like 8-10 years old and i dont have any DAC or AMP) and i have 500 € budget approximately. I looked many reviews and at the moments my preferences are Hifiman Sundara, Sigva Phoenix, Sennheiser HD6xx or HD660s (wich are at the moment at 330 € on amazon) and maybe AKG k712 pro. I also have in my mind the Topping DX3 Pro and Xduoo XD-5 Plus. Those are very differente, xduoo is portable, and i dont really care about if its portable or not. What would you recommend to me? Are this good options? Thank your very much for the help.
Oct 23, 2020
Questions