amirm
333
Dec 22, 2018
bookmark_border
"Amir is an ex software engineer, 'retired' Microsoft money; ..." Software engineer? My background is on every post in ASR Forum in my signature: https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/index.php?threads/a-bit-about-your-host.1906/ As I explain there, I grew up with hardware design and went on to get my electrical engineering degree. But along the way also fell in love with software and so have dual expertise. I worked for nearly 35 years in the industry working for many software and hardware companies including names you may know (Sony). At Microsoft I was a Vice President in charge of nearly 1000 people developing software, working with countless chip companies on embedded development, marketing, business development, etc. In other words, I feel comfortable with all facets of technology. Post Microsoft I co-created a start-up that was acquired by fortune-50 companies. I worked hard to get to a point where I can donate my time and money to the community through testing and writing. You make it sound like Microsoft handed me play money. I have been using Audio Analyzers since I worked at Sony (bought the first Audio Precision there back in 1990 or so). I have a strong background in signal processing, psychocacoustics, all aspects of audio processing (compression, etc.), am a trained listener, know about manufacturing, etc. Also during college, I repaired thousands of pieces of electronics and put myself through school that way. So let's have you tell us what the credentials of the other people are that you are putting forward. Do you know what they even do in their day job? You really rather be in the dark and not have the benefit of measurements I perform? You rather not know anything about a new DAC, headphone amp, etc.? Or are you happy with faulty subjective reviews that are dime a dozen?
(Edited)
Dec 22, 2018
GiantHeadphoneSquid
540
Dec 22, 2018
bookmark_border
I appreciate you taking some of your time to reply, and for keeping things somewhat civil (probably more so than the tone of my post deserved). I don't imagine coming across a post like this is pleasant for you. I apologize for the total brain fart and lack of due diligence on your credentials, I would be happy to either edit out the error from my original post, add a note, or leave my stupidity unblemished for all to see. . . I'll put a note alongside it for now, but let me know if you'd prefer to keep/strike the original record. I stand by the rest of the post. It's easy for me to ignore your content itself by not going to your forums (live and let live!), but the spillover behavior is getting notable enough that my OP felt therapeutic to share. I certainly don't want to censor you, but if you can salvage any useful feedback from this, please keep it in mind in the commentary that accompanies your measurements. Frankly, I expect you also deal with a degree of similar absolutism on your own community - there is a link in this ol' gossipy thread to a review of one of your community members quite nice looking Aussie DAC/amp(?) that had people demanding SINAD/$ metrics to go full commodity on this thing . . .
Dec 22, 2018
dcha12
370
Dec 23, 2018
bookmark_border
For the record, as you previously took time to reply to one of my posts, I never had a problem with your credentials; in fact, I acknowledged that you are extremely well-qualified. This, however, does not mean that some of the other people who we put forth have none. Please do not insult our intelligence. As a response to your last few questions, that is being unfair, accusatory, and like I said before, insulting our intelligence. You and I both know that's not what anyone wants. I believe people in this hobby would be smarter than that (although a few might not be). Also, for the record, I never said the data you presented is invalid. In fact, for those in-the-know, it's very useful. All I accused you for in the past is being misleading. This has been well-documented by people like Jude at Head-fi, and Marv and AtomicBob at SBAF (and for the record, I'm not a Jude fan either). That being said, I have found some of your later reviews quite useful. But if I may be frank, your continuing need to defend youself is both getting old and making you seem like you want to be the last word in audio because "you're so qualified that you're the only word that can be trusted and not to listen to anyone else." Just put out good, solid data and let your f***ing credentials and quality of work speak for themselves.
Dec 23, 2018
computerex
38
Jan 11, 2019
bookmark_border
Please ignore ignorant attention seekers like the OP and keep up the great work you do at ASR forums. Don't let it dissuade you in the slightest. The naysayers just don't get the importance of objective scientific measurements. They don't understand that what they *think* they are hearing is subject to dozens of biases and variables that they aren't even aware of and make absolutely zero effort to account for those factors. OP's post is a classical example of Dunning-Kruger effect. They get pissed after looking at your measurements and conclusions after having spent their savings on audio-gd/shit products. Then they reverse rationalize and get angry at *you*. There are so many people that appreciate the work you have done and thoroughly enjoy being a part of the community at ASR. Your reviews are like a glass of cold water in a hell of audiophile reviews. > SBAF utterly eviscerate this clown: https://www.superbestaudiofriends.org/index.php?threads/modi-2u-and-d30-dac-deconstructing-amirs-hack-job-part-ii.6449/  purr1n the guy who makes the counter claims in this linked thread didn't even bother posting his methodology or the hardware/software used to make the measurements. I doubt he is using Audio Precision.
Jan 11, 2019
kaliwraith
1
Apr 18, 2019
bookmark_border
"there is a link in this ol' gossipy thread to a review of one of your community members quite nice looking Aussie DAC/amp(?) that had people demanding SINAD/$ metrics to go full commodity on this thing . . " Couldn't they just send Amir their product to get some measurements? or they can spend some $$ and send it to Tom Christiansen for a more private review experience, and even get some advice (for some more $$) on improving the design if they're trying to make it into a commercial venture.
(Edited)
Apr 18, 2019
Evshrug
1878
Jul 10, 2019
bookmark_border
I realize I’m doing it too by saying this, but does anyone else feel SBAF spends as much time reviewing influential members of the personal audio community just as often as gear?
Jul 10, 2019
GeneBelcher
6
Jul 15, 2019
bookmark_border
You know that Audio Precision isn’t the only measurement suite, right? You also know that even when AP helped Jude at HF devise a linearity measurement of the Yggdrasil, Amir dismissed it and said he knew how to use the AP better than AP’s own engineers?
Jul 15, 2019
Motorrad
2720
Jul 27, 2019
bookmark_border
I love the measurements and perspective, but find the acceptance, by what has become your cult (congratulations), that the measurements are the be-all-end-all completely depressing...the death of objectivity. I find that 'cult' is an apt description because people are being told what they hear instead of hearing it themselves. The disciples instead of providing their own impression attach a link to ASR like it's a mic-drop.
Jul 27, 2019
lupi900
21
Oct 31, 2019
bookmark_border
Yup that what current audio objectivism has decayed to. That anything by schitt and high THD headphones and more must be bad regardless of how they sound. The ER4XR/PT can avg at 0.95% yet when i had them i never once noticed it being a issue even with EQ applied to the ER4PT. It's a joke where you can't express any opinion without some clown who never heard anything they bash or misread THD charts to say this audible when it isn't. Oddly they demand proof with mp3 but never when they bring up the THD levels of a DAC or headphone...
Oct 31, 2019
Motorrad
2720
Nov 4, 2019
bookmark_border
The recent ASR "review" of the Airist R2R DAC is a case in point. By Amir's test standards, the Airist comes out particularly poorly, even moreso than one might expect from an R2R. There's not even an acknowledgement that the concept of subjectivity exists... Amir won't even listen to the thing because it tests so poorly. He can't send it back fast enough. Then there's the comments... a series of gutless, sanctimonious acolytes, who have never heard the DAC and can't even form their own opinions anyway. Trolling the purchasers to dare to defend their embarrassing purchase that they and 1000 other 'sheep' made. It's truly one one of the most disingenuous displays of lack of intellectual curiosity as you're going to see. The gloating and contortions these people go through to justify their lack of intellectual curiosity is amazing. ...but how does it SOUND?

Nov 4, 2019
lupi900
21
Nov 5, 2019
bookmark_border
Yup it's why the site is junk science they won't test why poor measuring stuff can sound good or better. I made a Etymotic ER4 themed thread i came back with few basing their opinions by its THD and how they never tried as if there can't grasp at how dumb they sound. Read this thread on when there challenged and that they just spew stuff they don't understand.
(Edited)
Nov 5, 2019
Motorrad
2720
Nov 5, 2019
bookmark_border
oh yeah I got a kick out of that a few days ago. as much as anything it's just another example of how Divided We Are... the original poster in that thread poses a pretty moderate question that wasn't exactly critical of objectivism, but was questioning the blind -if you will- acceptance of it. the die-hard objectivists start off pretty gentle but then show their need to pigeonhole the original poster as a die-hard butt-hurt subjectivist...then it all goes downhill with Amir coming in to defend himself as if he was being attacked and didn't actually read the original posters Post in the first place. it's all quite silly. I do love the numbers, but the intellectual dishonesty of the whole thing is stunning.
Nov 5, 2019
lupi900
21
Nov 5, 2019
bookmark_border
That thread is gold, What i find telling is that they ignore that everything about audio subjective because of how our senses and brain work. They have to make up how 1000+ people who enjoy the R2R, Tube amps and Grado must be dumb to avoid admitting there just dishonest assholes who have no idea what they're talking about. Not surprised at Amir reaction when he still sore from using a broken amp to bash schitt. I find it very cute when die hard objectives get defensive about Flac being better than lossy with no irony or self awareness. Also the 2nd comment on that thread is them giving me a weak reply on the Grado SR225e one just insults me with no argument and the other just comes of as a bully if just silghtly subjective. They say you can test THD but ignore how a lot couldn't even hear 15% or ignore it could be there rigs giving false charts. lol
(Edited)
Nov 5, 2019
Amnesia1187
526
Dec 12, 2019
bookmark_border
Amir doesn’t post enough data to reproduce his results either so that’s hardly a useful response.
Dec 12, 2019
lupi900
21
Dec 21, 2019
bookmark_border
It's a die hard objectivst circlejerk why use hard data when they can cry "dumb audiophile". Instead of investagting why high THD gear can sound fantastic, because it pretty cringy when suddenly subjectivism is okay when its MP3, headphone/speaker FR's.
Dec 21, 2019
Motorrad
2720
May 29, 2020
bookmark_border
that's possibly the most laughably arrogant and ignorant comments I've read in a long time. I wish you were able to appreciate and laugh with me at your own inadvertent ironies caused by your astonishing lack of self-awareness. there's so much more to it than measurements. it's sad that you refuse to even attempt to conceive of this possibility.
May 29, 2020
CeeStyleDj
5
Jun 13, 2020
bookmark_border
And I thought I got upset at the Steve Hoffman Forums. That's nothing compared to how I feel when browsing Audio Science Review. Case in point: I've done tons of research on the Yamaha R-N803 Network 2-channel Hi-Fi receiver. Members on the form kept referring to it as an AVR. It's not an AVR.. it's a dedicated 2 Channel integrated amp with network capabilities. It is specifically for music and is not intended as some sort of Home Theater device or hooking up your TV - AT ALL. But they kept saying AVR ( ignorant pretentiousness). Second, this thing has been tested and reviewed to pretty high acclaim. But then one guy tests it and everyone gets in line like Lemmings and figures that whatever this guy concluded is last word? Lol So some guy with testing equipment stated on a forum that he found measurements, and then everyone in the comments takes it as gospel? If it wasn't for companies like Yamaha, you guys wouldn't even be discussing audio in forums. As for the dunning-kruger effect that @computerrex stated - it's actually the opposite. It's not that the people that have researched or invested in particular component are mad because a reviewer; it's the fact that tons of people on a forum will take what One Reviewer stated as gospel. It's just like the state of media today. I call it the "Fox News effect." There could be a hundred and eleven media outlets to tell you that something happened but then Fox News tells you that it happened different and then people believe Fox News! lmao - that's ridiculous. The conclusion that I've come to is that many people on that Forum has spent maybe too much money on a particular type of audio gear, then something comes along that is just as good, or even better from a mainstream manufacturer, and then people get bitter and say "meh...it's okay". The judging, arrogance and self-righteousness in forums like this make you want to stay away from forums in general when it comes to the audio enthusiast hobby.. it reminds me of back in the day when I was really into cars and a particular set of people would just be so opposed to a certain brand. It's the silliest thing in the world. How about respect every brand for what they are? Everyone brings something to the table. These companies spend tons of money in research and development - and then you criticize it because it wasn't made from a company of eight employees in their garage that charges $15,000 for something you can buy for 20 times less - and is actually more reliable and/or has more features. It's pretty hypocritical to tell someone that something is just average because they haven't heard the super high-end IF you spend decades never listening to what the more known brands put out. Btw - Go out and buy a Yamaha R-N803 - it's awesome - and tests VERY WELL. :-)
(Edited)
Jun 13, 2020
lupi900
21
Jun 13, 2020
bookmark_border
Same shit but different coat, audio enthusiast sites seem to live and die from people who have no idea what their talking about or think they know more than the brands themselves. I used to be active on /r/Headphones it crazy how you'll get people parroting "HD800S, KSE1200, etc" is endgame worthy but with no background on what good & what a reviewer said is right. Since they'll bash others when DT1990 pro or the ER4XR sounds just as good and fantastic with EQ/DSP. Because fuck being realistic and saving cash for other stuff. lol > Numbers on the form kept referring to it as an AVR. It's not an AVR.. it's a dedicated to channel integrated amp with network capabilities. I had a guy on that site said my 512GB micro SD was fake because it wasn't made by sandisk/samsung. Despite the company being 100% legit, That like saying topping DAC's are trash because their not a JDS labs or Sony?. So much stupidity all around...
Jun 13, 2020
Motorrad
2720
Jun 13, 2020
bookmark_border
Yup! Also, I'm in the market for an AVR; I'll check out the R-N803. Thanks for the tip.
Jun 13, 2020
CeeStyleDj
5
Jun 15, 2020
bookmark_border
Agreed. I say at least respect everyone's effort into the arena (Brands wise). Sorry for all of my typos. I was using speech-to-text. But...I think you filled in the gaps and replaced the words for yourself lol. I was heated at the moment haha.
Jun 15, 2020
CeeStyleDj
5
Jun 15, 2020
bookmark_border
Ahh! But it's not an AVR - that's one of the main points I was making haha. It's a 2-Channel HiFi Network Integrated amp. But yes, check out Yamaha for AVRs as well because they have quite a few units! :-) Cheers.
(Edited)
Jun 15, 2020
Motorrad
2720
Jun 15, 2020
bookmark_border
Yes. I know. Just messing with you.
Jun 15, 2020
CeeStyleDj
5
Jun 16, 2020
bookmark_border
Geez.. Lol
Jun 16, 2020
ciber
111
Sep 26, 2020
bookmark_border
Amir, why Microsoft not acquire a high-end audiophile company, such as Sennheiser, Hifiman, etc.
Sep 26, 2020
View Full Discussion
Related Posts
Jattfire
Beyerdynamic Tygr 300 r with Pc37x or Pc38x mic
Can this be done my Drop? If so, this would be a lit headset to have.
Sep 27, 2020
General
laloperezrios
Bluesound NODE 2i
I was wondering if we could try and get the Bluesound Node 2i in here? :) https://www.bluesound.com/products/node/
Sep 26, 2020
Interest Checks
Zorinamstead
This is something already common in the sets of this excellent group.
At the last minute, the French Football Federation together with the skilled brand in sports apparel Nike, reveal to the public the brand-new France 2020 jersey[buy it here]. Which, due to its textile micro-technology, is compared to the England 2020 shirt. In addition, both are made by the same sports brand. Which, as a result of its textile micro-technology, is contrasted to the England 2020 jersey. On top of that, both are made by the very same sporting activities brand name. That is why their kinship in regards to material advancements makes good sense. Just, this, like all the works of the American brand name Nike, includes a special style and also certain benefits. Quickly, you will see that the garment shares a somewhat simple style, but at the same time classy and comfortable. This is something already common in the sets of this excellent group. But, this is different because it is influenced by the "retro" style. On top of that, it offers some deluxes, most of all...
Sep 26, 2020
General
Swollef
Quick question about 3.5MM
Hello, I bought a balanced dac by mistake and an unbalanced amp, I have no intention of using balanced audio. I am not trying to return the dac but I am concerned with quality, the unbalanced dac has a rca hookup whereas the balanced dac has xlr with only 3.5MM for unbal backup. Should I return the dac and get a unbalanced one to do rca to rca or is 3.5mm to RCA fine for quality (this is a budget setup).
Sep 22, 2020
General
mitch_drop
Headphone DAC-AMP options
I've currently got a PS Audio Sprout Amp and Cetrance DAC/Amp, both used for headphone duties. I'm not sure I'm satisfied with either. The Sprout compared to the Cetrance is flat and boring. The Cetrance has a bit more bottom end that I do notice. I'm leaning towards a new headphone amp/DAC with a similar sound profile. I use either a Drop AKG K7XX, Grado SR60 or an awaiting IEM from drop(moondrop Kxxx)... I'd like to keep it under $250 or so, even better under $200... I really like the form factor of the Schiit brand units (hel or fulla) with the volume knob on top. That form factor really appeals to me. What else is out there, within my budget? The volume knob is not a deal breaker at all. But punchier bass, possibly an EQ, would be nice. Otherwise the Cetrance is preferred, but just an eye sore. If could ditch both the Sprout and Cetrance, I'm open to spending more for a complete DAC/AMP setup like the NAD 3020 or similar. I'm also using some cetrance masterclass 2504 speakers...
Sep 22, 2020
General
KayKhan
Wrong Shipping Address (Not my fault)
Hi, Im a little frustrated, my item is going to the wrong address and it seems like i cannot change it. i had provided the correct shipping address on the account and when i made the purchase. This correct address was confirmed to me in the receipt i had received from drop. I have a downloaded pdf and email to prove this. However i can see on DHL tracking that it has listed an incorrect address, it has reached my country and now a new carrier Yodel will be taking over. I have contacted DHL (bot) and they have told me i need to contact the supplier (DROP) to get the address changed. Ive also tried contacting Yodel (my package goes to Yodel after i pay customs ). Yodel has told me that they cannot change the address it is going to unless a failed attempt has been made at the address or they can put the item into their network and i can re-order from the supplier ( ive no idea how this works) Obviously i want my item and i don't want it going to the incorrect address when this...
Sep 21, 2020
General
Trending Posts in Audiophile
KayKhan
Wrong Shipping Address (Not my fault)
Hi, Im a little frustrated, my item is going to the wrong address and it seems like i cannot change it. i had provided the correct shipping address on the account and when i made the purchase. This correct address was confirmed to me in the receipt i had received from drop. I have a downloaded pdf and email to prove this. However i can see on DHL tracking that it has listed an incorrect address, it has reached my country and now a new carrier Yodel will be taking over. I have contacted DHL (bot) and they have told me i need to contact the supplier (DROP) to get the address changed. Ive also tried contacting Yodel (my package goes to Yodel after i pay customs ). Yodel has told me that they cannot change the address it is going to unless a failed attempt has been made at the address or they can put the item into their network and i can re-order from the supplier ( ive no idea how this works) Obviously i want my item and i don't want it going to the incorrect address when this...
Sep 21, 2020
General
ciber
my new collection
Sep 21, 2020
packk
Something wrong with my setup?
So I just got the HD6xx and the Schiit Heresy and Modi stack. I put in my RCA cables from the Modi to the Heresy and then plugged in the usb from the Modi to my pc. I plugged the headphones in and everything sounds great. However, there is this static and some pops in the left driver of my headphones when I'm using it. I don't want to jump to conclusions and think I have a faulty unit so I'm wondering if something is wrong with how I set everything up. Thank you.
Sep 20, 2020
Questions
Swollef
Drop shipping slow because of covid.
I payed 45 dollars for one day shipping on the 16th and my package is set to be delivered on the 21st, I have read other forum posts recently of people saying they are not receiving items or response from drop. I got a refund for the shipping, and 10 dollar credit (thank you drop) I would just choose the free shipping for now even if you need a package ASAP.
Sep 18, 2020
General
jaxtrauma
Good night little Schiit stack, retiring to the bedside. Thank you, you were a great starter into audiophilia. Your big brothers will take it from here ;-)
Sep 17, 2020
bklynbound01
Meze Audio Cables
can we get a drop on the upgrade cables from MEZE Audio? https://mezeaudio.com/products/99-series-silver-plated-upgrade-cables?variant=31315944603705
Sep 17, 2020
Questions
iimisic021
Blon 03 with upgrade copar cable 2.5 balance are wery pleasent surprise for you ear.
Sep 17, 2020