amirm
280
Dec 22, 2018
bookmark_border
"Amir is an ex software engineer, 'retired' Microsoft money; ..." Software engineer? My background is on every post in ASR Forum in my signature: https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/index.php?threads/a-bit-about-your-host.1906/ As I explain there, I grew up with hardware design and went on to get my electrical engineering degree. But along the way also fell in love with software and so have dual expertise. I worked for nearly 35 years in the industry working for many software and hardware companies including names you may know (Sony). At Microsoft I was a Vice President in charge of nearly 1000 people developing software, working with countless chip companies on embedded development, marketing, business development, etc. In other words, I feel comfortable with all facets of technology. Post Microsoft I co-created a start-up that was acquired by fortune-50 companies. I worked hard to get to a point where I can donate my time and money to the community through testing and writing. You make it sound like Microsoft handed me play money. I have been using Audio Analyzers since I worked at Sony (bought the first Audio Precision there back in 1990 or so). I have a strong background in signal processing, psychocacoustics, all aspects of audio processing (compression, etc.), am a trained listener, know about manufacturing, etc. Also during college, I repaired thousands of pieces of electronics and put myself through school that way. So let's have you tell us what the credentials of the other people are that you are putting forward. Do you know what they even do in their day job? You really rather be in the dark and not have the benefit of measurements I perform? You rather not know anything about a new DAC, headphone amp, etc.? Or are you happy with faulty subjective reviews that are dime a dozen?
(Edited)
Dec 22, 2018
GiantHeadphoneSquid
501
Dec 22, 2018
bookmark_border
I appreciate you taking some of your time to reply, and for keeping things somewhat civil (probably more so than the tone of my post deserved). I don't imagine coming across a post like this is pleasant for you. I apologize for the total brain fart and lack of due diligence on your credentials, I would be happy to either edit out the error from my original post, add a note, or leave my stupidity unblemished for all to see. . . I'll put a note alongside it for now, but let me know if you'd prefer to keep/strike the original record. I stand by the rest of the post. It's easy for me to ignore your content itself by not going to your forums (live and let live!), but the spillover behavior is getting notable enough that my OP felt therapeutic to share. I certainly don't want to censor you, but if you can salvage any useful feedback from this, please keep it in mind in the commentary that accompanies your measurements. Frankly, I expect you also deal with a degree of similar absolutism on your own community - there is a link in this ol' gossipy thread to a review of one of your community members quite nice looking Aussie DAC/amp(?) that had people demanding SINAD/$ metrics to go full commodity on this thing . . .
Dec 22, 2018
dcha12
286
Dec 23, 2018
bookmark_border
For the record, as you previously took time to reply to one of my posts, I never had a problem with your credentials; in fact, I acknowledged that you are extremely well-qualified. This, however, does not mean that some of the other people who we put forth have none. Please do not insult our intelligence. As a response to your last few questions, that is being unfair, accusatory, and like I said before, insulting our intelligence. You and I both know that's not what anyone wants. I believe people in this hobby would be smarter than that (although a few might not be). Also, for the record, I never said the data you presented is invalid. In fact, for those in-the-know, it's very useful. All I accused you for in the past is being misleading. This has been well-documented by people like Jude at Head-fi, and Marv and AtomicBob at SBAF (and for the record, I'm not a Jude fan either). That being said, I have found some of your later reviews quite useful. But if I may be frank, your continuing need to defend youself is both getting old and making you seem like you want to be the last word in audio because "you're so qualified that you're the only word that can be trusted and not to listen to anyone else." Just put out good, solid data and let your f***ing credentials and quality of work speak for themselves.
Dec 23, 2018
computerex
27
Jan 11, 2019
bookmark_border
Please ignore ignorant attention seekers like the OP and keep up the great work you do at ASR forums. Don't let it dissuade you in the slightest. The naysayers just don't get the importance of objective scientific measurements. They don't understand that what they *think* they are hearing is subject to dozens of biases and variables that they aren't even aware of and make absolutely zero effort to account for those factors. OP's post is a classical example of Dunning-Kruger effect. They get pissed after looking at your measurements and conclusions after having spent their savings on audio-gd/shit products. Then they reverse rationalize and get angry at *you*. There are so many people that appreciate the work you have done and thoroughly enjoy being a part of the community at ASR. Your reviews are like a glass of cold water in a hell of audiophile reviews. > SBAF utterly eviscerate this clown: https://www.superbestaudiofriends.org/index.php?threads/modi-2u-and-d30-dac-deconstructing-amirs-hack-job-part-ii.6449/  purr1n the guy who makes the counter claims in this linked thread didn't even bother posting his methodology or the hardware/software used to make the measurements. I doubt he is using Audio Precision.
Jan 11, 2019
kaliwraith
1
Apr 18, 2019
bookmark_border
"there is a link in this ol' gossipy thread to a review of one of your community members quite nice looking Aussie DAC/amp(?) that had people demanding SINAD/$ metrics to go full commodity on this thing . . " Couldn't they just send Amir their product to get some measurements? or they can spend some $$ and send it to Tom Christiansen for a more private review experience, and even get some advice (for some more $$) on improving the design if they're trying to make it into a commercial venture.
(Edited)
Apr 18, 2019
Evshrug
1413
Jul 10, 2019
bookmark_border
I realize I’m doing it too by saying this, but does anyone else feel SBAF spends as much time reviewing influential members of the personal audio community just as often as gear?
Jul 10, 2019
GeneBelcher
3
Jul 15, 2019
bookmark_border
You know that Audio Precision isn’t the only measurement suite, right? You also know that even when AP helped Jude at HF devise a linearity measurement of the Yggdrasil, Amir dismissed it and said he knew how to use the AP better than AP’s own engineers?
Jul 15, 2019
Motorrad
2422
Jul 27, 2019
bookmark_border
I love the measurements and perspective, but find the acceptance, by what has become your cult (congratulations), that the measurements are the be-all-end-all completely depressing...the death of objectivity. I find that 'cult' is an apt description because people are being told what they hear instead of hearing it themselves. The disciples instead of providing their own impression attach a link to ASR like it's a mic-drop.
Jul 27, 2019
lupi900
3
Oct 31, 2019
bookmark_border
Yup that what current audio objectivism has decayed to. That anything by schitt and high THD headphones and more must be bad regardless of how they sound. The ER4XR/PT can avg at 0.95% yet when i had them i never once noticed it being a issue even with EQ applied to the ER4PT. It's a joke where you can't express any opinion without some clown who never heard anything they bash or misread THD charts to say this audible when it isn't. Oddly they demand proof with mp3 but never when they bring up the THD levels of a DAC or headphone...
Oct 31, 2019
Motorrad
2422
Nov 4, 2019
bookmark_border
The recent ASR "review" of the Airist R2R DAC is a case in point. By Amir's test standards, the Airist comes out particularly poorly, even moreso than one might expect from an R2R. There's not even an acknowledgement that the concept of subjectivity exists... Amir won't even listen to the thing because it tests so poorly. He can't send it back fast enough. Then there's the comments... a series of gutless, sanctimonious acolytes, who have never heard the DAC and can't even form their own opinions anyway. Trolling the purchasers to dare to defend their embarrassing purchase that they and 1000 other 'sheep' made. It's truly one one of the most disingenuous displays of lack of intellectual curiosity as you're going to see. The gloating and contortions these people go through to justify their lack of intellectual curiosity is amazing. ...but how does it SOUND?

Nov 4, 2019
lupi900
3
Nov 5, 2019
bookmark_border
Yup it's why the site is junk science they won't test why poor measuring stuff can sound good or better. I made a Etymotic ER4 themed thread i came back with few basing their opinions by its THD and how they never tried as if there can't grasp at how dumb they sound. Read this thread on when there challenged and that they just spew stuff they don't understand.
(Edited)
Nov 5, 2019
Motorrad
2422
Nov 5, 2019
bookmark_border
oh yeah I got a kick out of that a few days ago. as much as anything it's just another example of how Divided We Are... the original poster in that thread poses a pretty moderate question that wasn't exactly critical of objectivism, but was questioning the blind -if you will- acceptance of it. the die-hard objectivists start off pretty gentle but then show their need to pigeonhole the original poster as a die-hard butt-hurt subjectivist...then it all goes downhill with Amir coming in to defend himself as if he was being attacked and didn't actually read the original posters Post in the first place. it's all quite silly. I do love the numbers, but the intellectual dishonesty of the whole thing is stunning.
Nov 5, 2019
lupi900
3
Nov 5, 2019
bookmark_border
That thread is gold, What i find telling is that they ignore that everything about audio subjective because of how our senses and brain work. They have to make up how 1000+ people who enjoy the R2R, Tube amps and Grado must be dumb to avoid admitting there just dishonest assholes who have no idea what they're talking about. Not surprised at Amir reaction when he still sore from using a broken amp to bash schitt. I find it very cute when die hard objectives get defensive about Flac being better than lossy with no irony or self awareness.
(Edited)
Nov 5, 2019
View Full Discussion
Related Posts
bookmark_border
joeftan
DIY hybrid ear tips
I’ve never really liked foam tips, because I find it a pain to roll, insert, then have to hold the IEMs in place, until the foam expands. I like using silicone tips, but do miss the isolation of the foam tips. I’ve been looking for hybrid foam/silicone tips for a while, and haven’t found any readily available. I do like the isolation provided by multi-flange tips, and find the Shure triple-flange tips the most comfortable (not too sticky) for repeated use. I do cut off the smallest flange because it’s more comfortable, and doesn’t roll off the highs much. Well, I was experimenting with tips for my Etymotics, and found that the stalk of the triple flange Shure tips, perfectly fits snugly into the center of the Mercury (4.9mm) Dekoni Bulletz foam tips, thus making them hybrid tips. You do need the large size foam tips to fill out the Shure tips. Using the hybrid tips is the same as just using the Shure tips, but the isolation is quite a bit better. No modding necessary for...
Dec 8, 2019
General
bookmark_border
Drop+Audiophile
How are these different from DT1770's?
Nov 6, 2019
Product Question
bookmark_border
ecitron2010
Looking for OPPO PMs -- Do you want to sell your pair?
Hi There, I lost my Steel Blue OPPO PM-3s in a tragic event a few months ago. (Car got stolen, got car back, headphones were gone, only thing I really wanted back). I'm interested in finding a new pair, and I'd really love the red ones or the blue ones. You can't buy them new any more, but if anyone has a used pair they'd be willing to unload, here's a buyer for you...
Nov 15, 2019
General
bookmark_border
rastus
Gaming Headphones
Someone is making a "better mousetrap for sound" I got a set of their protoype MEMS IEM's to try out... you will be able to hear a mouse coming... one clawed paw softly scratching after the other... mouse claw detail... https://www.usound.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/TaygeteBrochure_Web.pdf [image] Wot he said,, well this is partway there... https://drop.com/talk/2405/digital-sonic-fluidity
Dec 6, 2019
General
bookmark_border
Masaraksh
Did anyone try driving HD6XX with vintage integrated receiver/ amp? e.g. Technics or Denon made in 80s/90s?
Dec 4, 2019
Product Question
bookmark_border
THX Ltd.
Massdrop x THX AAA™ 789 Headphone Amplifier Reviews
Hey Massdrop'ers, the reviews for the new Massdrop x THX AAA ™ 789 Headphone Amplifier are starting to trickle in as folks from the first drop begin to receive their units. Check out what some of the audiophile community has to say below... Massdrop Drop Discussion https://www.massdrop.com/buy/massdrop-x-thx-aaa-789-linear-amplifier/talk?sort=newest Audio Science Review https://audiosciencereview.com/forum/index.php?threads/review-and-measurements-of-massdrop-thx-aaa-789-amp.5001/ Head Fi https://www.head-fi.org/threads/massdrop-x-thx-aaa%E2%84%A2-789-linear-amplifier-impressions-thread.873576/page-14 Super Best Audio Friends https://www.superbestaudiofriends.org/index.php?threads/massdrop-x-thx-aaa-789.5852/page-6 Reddit  https://www.reddit.com/r/headphones/comments/9s0qkb/review_and_measurements_of_massdrop_thx_aaa_789/ Happy listening! [image] [image]
Oct 29, 2018
Product News
Trending Posts in Audiophile
bookmark_border
Noa_Valentine11
Question: Why can't I ship the Sennheiser 6XX to Australia?
When I go to Checkout with these Headphones, or any others, Australia doesn't appear as a country available.
Dec 7, 2019
Questions
bookmark_border
Rajahindustani
Wireless Gaming Headset
I am always looking for a good wireless gaming headset. Why don't drop bring some decent wireless earphones ,headphones and especially wireless Gaming Headset.
Dec 7, 2019
Questions
bookmark_border
underpickled
USB DAC with stereo TRS outputs + Headphone jack
I've got an MBox Pro driving my KRK Rokit 8 monitors via TRS cable, and it's great, but there haven't been new drivers in ages and it has to be restarted frequently at best (because the sound will cut out or just not come through) and the drivers cause BSODs occasionally at worst. Since I don't really use it for recording anymore, I'm hoping to find something much simpler that uses USB instead of firewire and would hopefully be more stable. Everything offered on Drop so far seems to be RCA and I'd much prefer to have a balanced connection. Any suggestions for what I'm looking for? Thanks in advance!
Dec 6, 2019
Questions
bookmark_border
rastus
Gaming Headphones
Someone is making a "better mousetrap for sound" I got a set of their protoype MEMS IEM's to try out... you will be able to hear a mouse coming... one clawed paw softly scratching after the other... mouse claw detail... https://www.usound.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/TaygeteBrochure_Web.pdf [image] Wot he said,, well this is partway there... https://drop.com/talk/2405/digital-sonic-fluidity
Dec 6, 2019
General
bookmark_border
GamerGoneCoder
Anyone RME ADI-2 DAC and HD800 or Focal Clear?
I'm just wondering if anyone is interested. 🤔
Dec 5, 2019
General
bookmark_border
DevilsTell
Best Audiophile Headphone for Gaming?
Hi, I'm by no means an audiophile but would like to treat my self to a premium pair of headphones. I will be using them predominantly for gaming and casually listening to music (top 40/hip hop). I'd like the headphones to be able to locate footsteps whilst having a decent bass. I've heard great things about the DT1990 Pro and HD660s which fit my budget of around $600.
Dec 5, 2019
Questions
bookmark_border
lawbaca
Topping DX3 Pro
Opened the package and found the AC adapter has EU plug not for US market. Unable to test the device before finding an AC adapter. Have never seen a careless manufacturer like this before. Wonder what inside looks like.
Dec 4, 2019
General