Cult of Audio 'Science' Review - Amir's Faithful
more_vert
I've noticed a rather lot of blind enthusiasm on these forums where people just drop a single link to an ASR 'review' without commentary as though Amir offers any authority on the subject. Amir is an ex software engineer, 'retired' Microsoft money (EDIT, Amir has corrected me, he is not a software engineer, this is my bad, his background is linked in his sig on ASF); he larps as though he understands hardware but a quick trip off the DAC reservation shows his ignorance very quickly. For instance, here he is needing to be told by one of his forum members that he can simply add a balanced cord to his HD650 to test balanced lol: https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/index.php?threads/so-what-is-a-common-balanced-headphone-for-testing.4949/ Dude seriously thought he needed an entirely new pair of headphones! LMAO. More fundamentally, he makes all sorts of commentary on spectrum shape at sub -110 dB levels, but offers no precision gauge in the form of repeated measurements. Seriously, look how skeevy Amir gets when the community tries to get him to measure a second Jotunheim (not unreasonable given how 'exceptional' his results were here compared to such a commonly measured unit). https://www.superbestaudiofriends.org/index.php?threads/schiit-jotunheim-has-no-grounding-hum-issues.6664/ As usual, the good folks at SBAF utterly eviscerate this clown: https://www.superbestaudiofriends.org/index.php?threads/modi-2u-and-d30-dac-deconstructing-amirs-hack-job-part-ii.6449/ Amir's measurements are one of many, and they often differ without explanation or (most damning!) investigation. His measurements are sub Jude-tier, get yourself a second (and third) opinion ;)
(Edited)
thumb_upKris2014, Lyer24, and 24 others
26
100
remove_red_eye
10.8K
bookmark_border

search
andrewdavis7
67
Jan 2, 2020
bookmark_border
I can appreciate folks choosing to trust their ears over measurements. This is all about sensory enjoyment, right? Where the "subjectivist" argument falls down is where they refuse to do any rigorous blinded listening tests. If you trust your ears completely, why not?
(Edited)
Jan 2, 2020
CuddleMuffin
1
Jan 5, 2020
bookmark_border
" Where the "subjectivist" argument falls down is where they refuse to do any rigorous blinded listening tests. If you trust your ears completely, why not? " You failed to mention the inherent complexity of arranging a blind listening test in your first post and implied that the people who haven't done one simply doesn't trust their ears Where else are the subjectivists suppose to do them? Where i live there are no blind listening tests that i can attend... and i doubt they happen with any real frequency anywhere else it be expensive and logistically difficult No straw man arguments!! just clearing up how complicated a blind listening test actually is to set up and that it also explain why there aint that many of them 🙂 Bit like seeing the forest for the trees wishing for more blind listening tests when the real question should be how do we devise a blind listening test that everyone can do? in their living rooms! I want to reiterate if you search on Google right now Audio Science Reviews how to conduct a blind listening test there is only one thread and it is the one i have already posted Why has the community that treats measurements as their bread and butter who pray at the altar of science... why have they not devised a listening test that aint exclusively made for the already initiated? The bar will go forever higher the critera for what is considerd a blind listening test will soar up into the sky until only a very select few can do them Subjectivists are being teased and prodded along an endless hallway
(Edited)
Jan 5, 2020
Kris2014
48
Feb 10, 2020
bookmark_border
Measurement can tell a story. Thing is, Amir picks what to show. If one care to compare the way SBAF do their measurement, you will see Amir's measurements never look into transients. And he can apply different methods on the same subject. He tested how USB cables affects SQ. In that test he looked at Jitter measurement. But sometimes some devices output higher noise but less jitter than a "quieter" device. How does that translate into sound from DAC's analog output? Despite he tries to demonstrate affects in SQ, he choose not to directly measure sound as if he was to test analog cable.
Feb 10, 2020
FuzzyFluffy
2
Jan 2, 2020
bookmark_border
The forum is a circlejerk orchestrated by an incompetent administrator with a wild imagination... giving the owner money gives you permisson to treat anyone you dont agree with like shit

(Edited)
Jan 2, 2020
PierreLovesHeadphones
10
Dec 13, 2019
bookmark_border
Reading this thread after 1 year. This is kind of sad. I have noted on ASR a second person is doing reviews with another measurement devices and finding more or less the same thing as Amir. Measurements are likely to be correct. They proved that price and quality are not correlated. Most of the DAC measured are excellent to the point that no audible differences exist between them. After that you believe want you want, if having an expensive DAC makes you happy or having a DAC which colored the sound, that's absolutely fine.
Dec 13, 2019
Kris2014
48
Feb 10, 2020
bookmark_border
He is doing measurement the correct way, but he doesn't show you everything. SBAF mocked him and their measurements provide way more information than Amir's. For one thing, Amir never show transient measurements. You can google how SBAF measured magni 3, and compare with how Amir did it. Amir is a great example of half truth, which is a marketing gimmick (Amir's true expertise).
(Edited)
Feb 10, 2020
atmfrank
7
Nov 17, 2019
bookmark_border
Sadly, this entire debate is nothing but a waste of time on so many levels. Remaining open-minded and looking for information is not possible any longer. A reflection of today's society mirrored in the audiophile community, your're either pro-Amir or against-Amir, each camp doing it's best to intellectually out-duel each other. Bravo! What have we learned? Curious-minded, as I try to remain, I was interested in the broadening my information sources for possible future purchase decisions. What I find is a painfully conflicted community that tells me "the (review) game is rigged". I even regret having lurked here, common sense nowhere to be found.
(Edited)
Nov 17, 2019
lupi900
5
Oct 29, 2019
bookmark_border
Or just ignore him, because when i posted there. Apparently pointing out how THD mean nothing about how a headphone sounds, is apparently trolling by the userbase.
Oct 29, 2019
porntipsguzzardo
72
Sep 23, 2019
bookmark_border
ASR is fantastic. Anybody who says otherwise is selling some BS. You want some subjective BS with your audio? Go for it. Waste your money. Want some facts? Go to ASR.
Sep 23, 2019
Kris2014
48
Feb 10, 2020
bookmark_border
Sadly he can only give you half facts, since he picks what to show.
Feb 10, 2020
kcintr
7
Aug 25, 2019
bookmark_border
Amir and his moderator (Thomas) laughing at their naive. gullible, easy to fool, sheepish followers and backers. Even making comparisons of Amir to Bernie Madoff. Thomas: “Umm, what do you call a bunch of less wealthy guys paying for a fairly well off guys retirement fantasy… Amir’s/ASR ‘sugar daddies’ ASR ‘facilitators’ I don’t know , did Bernie Madoff have a name for his investors?” (this post was ‘liked’ by Amir) Amir: “No and hence his downfall. That, and his lack of sense of humor which I have in abundance!!!” (this post ‘liked’ by Thomas savage) Thomas: “Yes Bernie should of behaved more like a charismatic but somewhat clownish ‘cult’ leader but I’d argue he was laughing just as loudly as you.” Thomas: “Soldiers of Amirs fortune.” This is one of the problems of having a moderator who likes to drink, sometimes the truth accidentally slips out. And in true cult fashion, this damning admission will likely not sway the followers one bit.
search

search

search

Aug 25, 2019
badboygolf16v
44
Sep 29, 2019
bookmark_border
Are you for real? Have you ever heard of humour? Clearly you cannot identify it. Maybe stop taking your opinions (baseless at that) on audio so seriously. Maybe one day you'll grow out of your puerile fanboy approach to life and develop some wit, maturity and critical reasoning skills.
Sep 29, 2019
kcintr
7
Jul 17, 2019
bookmark_border
Amir lacks honesty and integrity. One example, when he falls behind in a debate, he has no problem in resorting to dishonest debate tactics. When called on it, he cries personal attack and calls for the moderator. Ironically, he says nothing of the constant personal attacks on manufacturer reps on his site. Another of his many character flaws is that he’s got a fragile ego. He almost never concedes a point, nor admits to being wrong, no matter how wrong he is. He’ll just resort to more blatant dishonesty in order to give himself and his followers the impression of “winning” an argument. Of course his followers never call him on it. No doubt they recognize it, they just look the other way, intent on maintaining their standing within the group. The cultish behaviour has become more apparent in the past few weeks with these recent developments with his moderator (Thomas). The moderator seemed to be a man of integrity and his moderating style mostly fair and unbiased. He would even join in criticizing Amir on occasion. He was tolerant of opposing views, allowed constructive criticism and didn’t mind tough questions being asked. Of course, this is not good for Amir. Amir needs loyal, unquestioning followers. This type of moderating style will expose his many character flaws. Amir was not happy with the moderating and he and Thomas had a disagreement. Amir wants more censoring and swift banning. In response, Thomas left the position for a time, wanting to maintain his integrity. Unfortunately, Thomas recently decided to sell out and become Amir’s moderator puppet. He must’ve been lured with promises of large payouts once the sponsorships and advertiser dollars begin to roll in. The site is now quick to censor and ban at the slightest hint of any perceived deviant thought or question, as it is with any cult. One last point worth noting. The members there often talk about people fooling themselves. Ironic that they fool themselves into thinking that Amir does what he does just out of the goodness of his heart. Don’t be fooled, faithful Amir followers, it’s all about the money. He’s interested in building a site to make money. Always follow the money, it’s what motivates action. All review sites start off giving the impression of good intentions, but they all end up serving themselves in the end. He’s already proposed the idea of Amazon product links, manufacturer sponsorship, advertiser endorsement, etc. It’s only a matter of time. And when you current regulars complain that he’s sold out, or changed direction, he’ll just label you a troll and have you censored and banned. Then, a new group of loyal followers will replace you. It happens the same way, every time. For those interested in an objective perspective, there are plenty of others out there who have the character and integrity to go along with the data.
Jul 17, 2019
andrewdavis7
67
May 25, 2019
bookmark_border
Amir's faithful? Faith is belief that doesn't need proof or evidence. ASR's mission is the opposite.
May 25, 2019
DJAT
235
Mar 1, 2019
bookmark_border
Amir won an Emmy for his work in TV and audio... back in 2006/7 at the least. Most of us were still learning about headphone models and headphones companies back then. Did any of you win an Emmy? I don't think so. Did even... Jude? Or Tyll? Hmm... I don't think so. I think the guy is still humble enough.
search

(Edited)
Mar 1, 2019
rubley00
12
Oct 24, 2019
bookmark_border
That's not appeal to authority. He's referencing Amir's experience, not referring to the endorsement of a third party.
Oct 24, 2019
PLSIKNOWNOTHING
30
Jan 4, 2020
bookmark_border
In regards to the Emmy, according to Amir, it came from managing a large team... consisting of almost 1000 people, a subset of which had to do with "signal processing team which produced audio and video compression technologies." IMO, it's reaching a little bit to call yourself an expert in a field because you managed experts in that field... in that same position, he was also managing "testers, marketing and business development people." Does that mean we should take his advice on business and marketing as well? He won an Emmy for it afterall... =P Don't get me wrong, he's probably a smart guy, but he can definitely act a bit 'full of it' on his forum. He calls people 'subjectivists' as a derogatory term, which is really weird. His reviews are inherently subjective, whether or not they are based on measurements. If he really wanted to be purely objective, he would simply post his measurements and completely forego making any recommendations. And to be honest... even if he was THE GUY who wrote the lines of code for how Windows processes and outputs audio, I still wouldn't necessarily consider him an expert on analog circuit design. Take Rupert Neve, for example... he's revered for his analog circuit audio designs and takes a very dry analytical and scientific approach as well. But Rupert Neve is actually humble enough to admit he is not an expert on 'digital signal processing'. I used to be more on Amir's side... but just seeing how condescending he and his community are to people is toxic, terrible, and ridiculous. It has definitely left a bad taste in my mouth...
Jan 4, 2020
Showing 21 of 100
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
100 OF 100 POSTS
Feb 19, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest