Cult of Audio 'Science' Review - Amir's Faithful
more_vert
I've noticed a rather lot of blind enthusiasm on these forums where people just drop a single link to an ASR 'review' without commentary as though Amir offers any authority on the subject. Amir is an ex software engineer, 'retired' Microsoft money (EDIT, Amir has corrected me, he is not a software engineer, this is my bad, his background is linked in his sig on ASF); he larps as though he understands hardware but a quick trip off the DAC reservation shows his ignorance very quickly. For instance, here he is needing to be told by one of his forum members that he can simply add a balanced cord to his HD650 to test balanced lol: https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/index.php?threads/so-what-is-a-common-balanced-headphone-for-testing.4949/ Dude seriously thought he needed an entirely new pair of headphones! LMAO. More fundamentally, he makes all sorts of commentary on spectrum shape at sub -110 dB levels, but offers no precision gauge in the form of repeated measurements. Seriously, look how skeevy Amir gets when the community tries to get him to measure a second Jotunheim (not unreasonable given how 'exceptional' his results were here compared to such a commonly measured unit). https://www.superbestaudiofriends.org/index.php?threads/schiit-jotunheim-has-no-grounding-hum-issues.6664/ As usual, the good folks at SBAF utterly eviscerate this clown: https://www.superbestaudiofriends.org/index.php?threads/modi-2u-and-d30-dac-deconstructing-amirs-hack-job-part-ii.6449/ Amir's measurements are one of many, and they often differ without explanation or (most damning!) investigation. His measurements are sub Jude-tier, get yourself a second (and third) opinion ;)
(Edited)
thumb_uppurr1n, Alex N, and 34 others
36
156
remove_red_eye
20.1K

search
close
lok777
38
Sep 16, 2020
I just find Amir to be a whiny asshole as a person.
purr1n
87
Sep 1, 2020
Belated expose on Audio Science Review. Calling out the BS: https://www.superbestaudiofriends.org/index.php?threads/audio-science-review-review.9827/
KESM
176
Aug 17, 2020
I get that ASR uses measurements to recommend or not recommend the tested product based on the analysis findings. I don’t get how measurements are the sole determinant for consumers? Certainly measurements are important but I don’t agree that measurements are the single most important factor in purchasing equipment. ASR infers a direct correlation between measurements and (sound) performance...if all measured distortion isn’t audible to the human ear then why use measurements as the chief operating factor to make a purchasing decision? You may possibly miss out on the opportunity to own a piece of gear that ‘you’ truly enjoy (in a non-scientific kind of way) even if it doesn’t measure as well as another comparably equipped piece of gear. Now...with that position made...I see nothing dismissive if measurements guide a purchasing decision. I think there’s room for both types of music lovers...those who prefer gear that measures well and those who consider measurements but also consider other factors when making a purchase (or possibly not at all). Why do we label someone an Audiofool? There’s enough name calling and arguing going around in this world without the production need for more. I thought this hobby was about championing fun in the name of recreational music listening from a variety of devices regardless of how they measure? Maybe I’m an audio romantic? Gosh...I wish we could abandon labeling everything...it distorts the wonderful activity of simply listening to music.
KESM
176
Aug 25, 2020
Yes...they are a hostile bunch. I didn’t realize it was cult science over there. I was blindsided by the group-think mindset...& cornered on my counter beliefs with ASR like venom.🤣 I get it...measurements may inform the consumer of whether something is broken or not. It may also save you from paying an exorbitant amount of money on equipment that’s inferior to less costly devices. It may also offer manufacturers an opportunity to make ‘better’ gear...who knows? I personally don’t subscribe to measurements solely as a way of purchase. There’s so many other things to consider.🤔 If you sincerely want to save money then I sincerely say get out of this hobby & don’t ever look back...lest you’ll be drawn back into audio gear purgatory.🥺 I knew I had made the wrong turn with my flowery & esoteric brand of messaging around the romantic ideals of tube and solid state gear possibly co-existing harmoniously...one day... sharing space on an audio rack...side by side.🤣 They chastened my superfluous & liberal ideals (around sound quality) beyond the ASR drawbridge of THD measurements. I was labeled a ‘distortion lover’. I quickly exited...& vowed never to inject opinion into their audio science utopia.🤣
(Edited)
lupi900
21
Aug 25, 2020
Yep, I got this when i explained why Lossy codecs in VBR mode can do either 320kbps or up to 1.3mbit+ frames if needed. Same with some dude who touted he can tell lossy video & was sore that lossless video codecs are not a thing. As if too stupid to get BD = 32 ~ 120mbit, DVD = 10mbit, TV = 10mbit+ with much stronger encoders. And a 2 hour lossless film would need 800mbit for 1080p so yeah could be done if sold on a 3.5TB Hard drive?. Yep the site full of hard objectivists that think realist subjectivism(think audio version of a centrist) is trolling. Even seen hard subjectivist forums even point out ASR's/Reddit logic issues. https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/index.php?threads/spotify-premium-worth-it-for-the-audio-quality.14126/page-4#post-477902
(Edited)
Antiono
4
Aug 2, 2020
He just measures the hardware for distortions and audio quality. So you can pick the best measuring product for your budget. Your opinion on how it actually sounds is not needed there. Thats what people fail to realize when they come there. Everyones ear is different and everyone has preferences so when it comes to critical hw measurements, its a pointless effort. He bashed some terribly measuring devices and people got salty because it also points out just how deaf people are. Or they like distortion. Whichever. I know this is a 2018 comment and its 2020 now. Schitt actually released an amp that is very different from their usual flavor and its super clean and analytical. Heresy i think its called. Clever naming given the history. Some people like hw distorting their music. Distortion is not musical imo.
1TotallyMuffin1
4
Jun 6, 2020
The guys at Audio Science Review majors in passive aggressiveness i have honestly attempt to have several conversations with these people but it always ends up with them making assumptions about your person they are like a bunch of three year olds its just pathetic how incapable these grown adults are when it comes to having a productive conversation it always resort to them subscribing to logical fallacies ad hominem attacks and straw man argument all transpiring in a sandbox and there is so much hypocrisy going on at this forum its honestly insane why do they even continue measuring dacs if we reached a point were they are suppose to be audibly transparent just look up the dac at the top of their sinad chart and go to the review read the comments bunch of members of audio science review who wants to buy simply because it measures better even though it is audibly transparent according to themselves audibly transparent to a dac costing 15 times less
lupi900
21
Jun 11, 2020
They've gushed over $350 DAC's being slightly better sinad than the $95 DAC's. While basing there opinions on headphones/speakers that rate 0.65 ~ 12.5%. These are the same morons that said they could tell a 0.7% ER4XR/SR but made a thread crying they couldn't tell a cheap speaker having 5% bass. Seems common trend of few audio groups that have high delusions about being experts of the subject.
autoteleology
443
Aug 6, 2020
Your complete lack of any punctuation whatsoever in two paragraphs worth of text really shows off your independent, free thinking mindset. How can somebody not have deep respect for a person who won't let themselves be pushed around by Big Period? Keep on rocking in the free world, buddy.
Paperdragons
47
May 19, 2020
If you're going to accuse ASR of being a cult you better not be linking SBAF as an example of reason. One of these places is much closer to a cult than the other.
needhelp
322
Apr 29, 2020
people here are the reason why there are difference between audiophile vs audiofool. SBAF is the last place i would check because of their ignorants and circlejerking attitude. Given that people here hate the cheap recommendation offered by Amir, i suppose people here represents those manufacturers that is making snake oil. like that brand named their brand as faeces, they have many many blind supporters.
1TotallyMuffin1
4
Jun 6, 2020
Cheap recommendations? Maybe if you live in the USA considering how Amirs recommendations usually ends up being praising either Topping or SMSL if you want to import those into Europe well tough luck cause its not going to be cheap anymore Topping is massively overrepresented at Audio Science Reviews i wonder why...
Birdperson365
34
Jun 13, 2020
Because it measures well.
lupi900
21
Apr 4, 2020
For a site that claims to be scientific i really love the total lack of it or the blind faith posters. Ignoring DAC testing, The community is just as cringy with headphones/speakers as they were with DAC's. They had a flame war on the headphone EQ thread how Etymotic's data and research are invaild because somehow Neutrality dosen't exist???. While using the very coloured Harman target(+8db Bass that bleeds into the mids & +7db 7Khz) as a weak example, Because of "Subjectivity". While bashing other headphones in other threads like Grado labs house sound as Subjective BS, Despite just arguing very badly why netural can't exist because everyone hears different & its a headphone. So yeah they have no issue disregarding scientific research & data they disagree with, While having zero clue what there talking about at the same time?. I can see why the site was a massive hit on Reddit headphones since that subbreddit is just as dense if not more so, Since they 180 there "facts" every month & more hostile when they are challenged on there opinions/views.
(Edited)
needhelp
322
Apr 29, 2020
i supposed you DO know why Harman target has +8db right? I mean, what is Harman if compared to a fellow audiophile like you, right? let me guess, you are the main maker for speakers for all the events and concert? I mean, Harman seems like a joke to you. so do Amir. Care to share what do you do for a living?
lupi900
21
May 15, 2020
Are you having a laugh?, The Etymotic ER4SR sounds better than that target but just cry audiophile because i disagree with a site/tuning target?. Your just doing the whole ASR/Reddit thing make a off topic rant instead of facing any slight or use hyperbolic arguments. Why would i care about a 0.008% DAC when the headphones/speakers are <0.4 ~ 10%?. That forum had a meltdown over speakers having higher THD than headphones like one being >5% under 100Hz & >1% at 1Khz+, Because it challenged the >1% THD is audbile claim that parroted there when i brought up the ER4XR/ER4SR on ASR/Reddit. Which would've gotten them laughed out of any veteran speaker group that delt with any THD chart.
tivo
1
Feb 19, 2020
Amir's testing methods are questionable...why filter out the 1khz test signal source in fft results? Makes no sense to me, as standard audio (amplifier) tests typically use an extremely low-distortion 1khz oscillator in distortion measurements. Besides, adding a filter alters the test enviroment from 'normal' operating conditions. link >> https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/index.php?threads/review-and-measurements-of-massdrop-x-grace-design-sdac.2495/
Kris2014
62
Feb 28, 2020
You should also check his Benchmark DAC1 measurement. He got significantly worse THD+N numbers, and everyone on his side went silent after manufacturer stepped in and pointed out the problem. Total failure. https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/index.php?threads/review-and-measurements-of-benchmark-dac1-usb-dac.3708/
lupi900
21
Apr 4, 2020
ASR, Is walking joke for THD+N focused topics. The userbase there will go quiet if you question there claim 1% distortion on ER4XR is audbile, When speakers can mesure higher than that & still sound fantastic.
kpowers
4
Feb 19, 2020
I've always enjoyed ASR, but I never base my decisions on one guys opinion, that's for sure :) Always a good idea to do your own research, even if they are an internet celebrity...
Showing 25 of 156
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
156 OF 156 POSTS
Sep 23, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest