Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
Drop CSTM80 Aluminum Decorative Case
$59

Drop CSTM80 Aluminum Decorative Case

bookmark_border
$59
Case Color:
Ready to Ship
·
Free Returns in USA
Members who purchase earn
177
Drop Rewards
Frequently bought together:
add
Drop CSTM80 Switch Plate
add
Drop CSTM80 Base Weight
add
Drop CSTM80 Barebones Mechanical Keyboard

Customer Reviews

5.0
(8 reviews)
5star
(8)
4star
(0)
3star
(0)
2star
(0)
1star
(0)
100% would recommend to a friend
search
close
jxliu
1268
Engineer
Dec 23, 2023
checkVerified Buyer
Super smooth
Noticeably smoother feeling than other aluminum keyboard cases. As the other reviewer said, not quite Apple smooth but pretty close. Took some macro shots of both the silver and black and the top of my M1 MacBook Pro for comparison:
search

search

search

Recommends this product? Yes
MxMoon
10
Dec 5, 2023
checkVerified Buyer
The finish leaves much to be desired.
01/15/24 Edit: I am updating this review from 2 stars to 5 stars. Drop reached out to me and asked if I wanted a replacement. I was also told they're investigating the issue I experienced. The replacement I received is much much better. No notable pits. The finish is more consistent. If this is what they're sending out normally and not what I received at first, then I can definitely recommend this as an upgrade to the CSTM80. I'm excited to see what colors they offer the aluminum tops in the future. -------------------------------Original Review-------------------------------------------------------- The Bad: Random divots on the surface, both external and internal. The finish itself seems layered and uneven (I couldn't capture this with a camera). Unless quality improves, I do not really recommend this product. Some might say, "It's only $59!" ~ but keep in mind that a complete CSTM80 with this top would be closer to $~200. I have a few full Aluminum keyboards <$200 with notably better finishes (the Tokyo60 is a good example that I own a few of, made/sold by Drop). The Decent: The feel is pretty nice. The edges you interact with when installed are not sharp / uncomfortable to touch (some of the cheaper alumimum shells have sharp edges and can be quite uncomfortable). Ignoring the appearance of the finish, it has a consistent soft/velvety feel (as soft and velvety aluminum can get anyways).
search

(Edited)
Recommends this product? Yes
MxMoon
10
Dec 5, 2023
External Pits (x2) - Rear:
search
search



MxMoon
10
Dec 5, 2023
This is the hardest to capture - the uneven finish. If look from a distance (not zoomed in), it is a bit more obvious, but you should be able to notice some faint streaks that span the entire plane of the rear. I tried to take it at different angles to demonstrate that it isn't a trick of the shadows. This unevenness is throughout the entire external surface, but most notable along the walls (rear, front, sides).
search
search
search

checkVerified Buyer
Sleek and smooth
Not quite as soft as a MacBooks finish, but it gets pretty close! Adds some much needed heft as well since the board is all plastic.
Recommends this product? Yes
checkVerified Buyer
Works Great!
I got this case to finish up the keyboard, and it has been great. A bit pricey, but still awesome. It isn't sharp and doesn't collect much dirt, grime, fingerprints, or scratches and adds a good amount of weight to the keyboard.
Recommends this product? Yes
LokiDoragon
37
Dec 10, 2023
checkVerified Buyer
Exactly as expected
The Aluminum top has a nice refined finish and adds some weight to the plastic board. It feels a bit of thin but does not sound thin. Overall it does exactly what it is suppose to do, happy with the purchase especially at the dicounted bundled price when purchased with the barebone board.
Recommends this product? Yes
Pharaohpj
1
May 12, 2024
checkVerified Buyer
Adds a nice amount of weight
Made my overall build come together nicely with some added weight
Recommends this product? Yes
checkVerified Buyer
Nice upgrade from the plastic one
Upgraded to from the stock plastic one that shipped with my CSTM80. Gives the keyboard that little extra weight which is nice.
Recommends this product? Yes
Paylord
0
Jan 16, 2024
checkVerified Buyer
This is the case that should come standard with the CSTM80
If I were buying a new CSTM80, I would absolutely choose an aluminum decorative case for it. It feels very rigid, which is an improvement over the somewhat creaky plastic cases currently on offer. If it were up to me, the CSTM80 would come with one of these by default since vastly it improves the typing experience. As for looks, it's brushed aluminum with a silvery matte finish. If you've seen a MacBook then you know what to expect, and it adds a nice touch to a very customizeable TKL keyboard.
Recommends this product? Yes
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order