Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
E-MU Black Walnut Headphones
$79
$100

E-MU Black Walnut Headphones

bookmark_border
$79
$100
Ready to Ship
Members who purchase earn
79
Drop Rewards
Frequently bought together:
add
BLON BL-03 IEM
add
Alpha & Delta MK 2 USB-C and Lightning Adapters

Customer Reviews

4.1
(30 reviews)
5star
(14)
4star
(10)
3star
(3)
2star
(1)
1star
(2)
80% would recommend to a friend
By Feature
Build Quality
2.3(3)
Sound
3.3(3)
Comfort
3.0(3)
Music GenresPopular among reviewers
ActivitiesPopular among reviewers
search
close
BlvPika
38
Mar 14, 2024
Activities:Casual Listening
Music Genres:Electronic, Pop, Rock
checkVerified Buyer
Best for relaxed listening, not for critical listening
These headphones are a generally fine pair of headphones for eighty dollars, so if you're looking for such a thing this is a good fit. Though I'd argue that IEMs providing more value at this price point. I really want to emphasize that these headphones should be used for a relaxed listening experience, not a critical listening experience. The sound signature of these headphones I would categorize as warm and dark. Quite dark if I am to be more specific. It is to the point where particularly shrill vocals and sibilant sounds lose enough volume to prevent "spiciness" in the sound. I do think that if you are someone who doesn't like the higher frequencies and the shrill/spicy sounds you will quite enjoy this pair of headphones. Genre wise I do not recommend these headphones with classical music as classical music requires a more balanced signature. Any higher leaning instruments (violins, flutes, high pitched percussion, etc.) lose sense of character, detail, and emphasis. I found that most pop music, rock music, and a lot of electronic music was enjoyable with this pair of headphones. There is a good amount of warmness and bass presentation with these headphones, adding nice boom and impact for those who like bass. Build quality is what you get for $80/100 pair of headphones. I did find that the clamp force on my head was just perfect and even when moving my head around there were no rickety noises from the headphones themselves. The lightness of these headphones are a plus to comfort, they sit light on head so they're quite comfortable to me even with a lackluster headband. The cups are where I can see issues forming. The cups themselves are cheap feeling (thankfully I'm not getting the same level of pad deterioration that other people are having), very shallow, and small in size. It just so happens that my ears fit quite nicely in these cups, but your mileage may vary. I don't outright hate these headphones, yet I don't outright love them either. A hard to hate, hard to love pair of headphones with limitations for what you are getting at $80 dollars.
Recommends this product? Yes
carlda
9
Jun 5, 2023
Activities:Casual Listening
Music Genres:Pop, R&B
checkVerified Buyer
Poor Quality Customer Service
First I didn't expect these to blow my mind or set any records. I purchased these to travel with. I received the headphones on time but noticed the inner Ear PAD were deteriorating. See pics below. I contacted Customer Service.
search
After multiple emails and attempts, I was given a UPS shipment label. Unfortunately were I am located, no UPS available. I was told I will need to pay for shipping myself to in order to return. I went on Amazon and purchased a new set of Ear Pads. Was cheaper than dealing with customer service with shipping and receiving and not having a headset for a period of time. I recommended if you purchase these, just spend the $10 for new earpads. I doubt Ill purchase from Drop in the future.
Recommends this product? No
Grattle
32
Aug 2, 2023
carldaSame issue. DO NOT BUY THESE unless you don't mind replacing the shitty pads.
search

(Edited)
MSB3000
9
Apr 30, 2023
Activities:Casual Listening, Critical Listening
Music Genres:Classical, Electronic, Hip-hop, Jazz, Metal, Pop, R&B, Rock, World
checkVerified Buyer
Mixed bag...
Pros:
  • Biodynamic drivers = incredible detail and bass for the price.
  • Take EQ extremely well.
  • Just look at them, they're gorgeous.
Cons:
  • Very strange stock sound signature, seems to be "M" shaped, similar to DT 990. Not unlistenable.
  • Comfort is terrible, they do not swivel easily.
  • Pads spin very freely.
  • Between stiff adjustment and pad free spin, sound is affected - if the cups are not seated just perfectly, it comes across as an audio imbalance.
  • Build quality is cheap.
These appear to be clones of the Creative Aurvana Live, which is much cheaper, haven't tested that out though. But if the wood cups entice you, totally worth it for the extra $$$.
Recommends this product? Yes
Jamiet77
1
Feb 27, 2023
checkVerified Buyer
Impressive set of cans!
I got these for travel. Was enjoying the signature of my HE-R9's for the extra bass and decided to try out biocellulose drivers for the same reason. Upon first listen, right out of the box with no burn in, they sound exciting, smooth and bassy. Just what I was looking for. The treble is not fatiguing and the bass is tight and fully represented. For the price they are very impressive. I certainly don't expect a reference class can for a hundred bucks, but I also did not expect them to be this good either! If you want high class bass on a budget these are definitely worth a look. They are a bit delicate feeling, but the lightness really adds to the over-all comfort, which is top knotch. They fit the bill for me. Im very happy.
Recommends this product? Yes
jmgloria07
10
Jan 17, 2023
checkVerified Buyer
Comfort and value
If I have to nitpick - the cables are shorter than I wanted. But I can manage.
search

Recommends this product? Yes
ben_valencia
0
Dec 29, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
High Value!
I gave it as a Xmad gift for my son. He loved it! Sound and build quality was impressive considering the affordable price!
Recommends this product? Yes
morfld
6
Dec 10, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
Light weight and comfortable
After letting them break for 15 hours I gave them a listen. I really like the lightweight. The pads completely covered my ears very comfortably. I feed music thru a tube headphone amp. The sound was very articulate. The look of the wood cups gives the phones upscale aesthetic.
Recommends this product? Yes
LoneWolfPsycho
0
Dec 7, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
Feels flimsy and is easily broken.
This headphone is made flimsy. The headband and pieces that attach to the earcups are very thin. My son used it for a couple of weeks before it got broke. He left it on the kitchen table and my younger daughter knocked it on the floor once. She did not throw it, it just fell from the table one time. The ear piece broke off from the headband. The ear piece is held onto the headband by a small cheap piece of metal that allows it to pivot. It is so thin and so brittle that it might as well be plastic. Once broken there was no way I could glue to back. Very cheap. It does not matter how it sounds if it breaks this easily. Don't waste your money.
LoneWolfPsychoThanks for leaving a review. We're sorry to hear the headphones had an accidental fall. Due to the headphone's weight, we can see how it is a little bit more fragile than other headphones.
trancertong
26
Oct 9, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
Decent headphones that look nice
I'm not much of an audiophile but these sound decent to me, not as good as some others I have but they sound good enough and the isolation is pretty good. I really like the way they look, and they're pretty compact for putting in my laptop bag on the go. Definitely worth the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
nwcooper1
2
Jul 28, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
Decent headphones for the price but I was hoping for more.
Biggest complaint with these headphones is the cable. The bass is a bit bloated and they fit rather small for my head. Overall sound is great for the on sale price and definitely worth the risk on my first pair of wood headphones. Having plenty of fun listening to my favorite tracks.
Recommends this product? No
Showing 12 of 62
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
62 OF 62 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order