Stephen gave you $10 to spend on your first purchase on Drop! Sign Up to learn more.
Massdrop x Sennheiser HD 6XX Headphones
Massdrop x Sennheiser HD 6XX Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
113k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
If you know audio gear, you know the Sennheiser HD 650. The company’s flagship from 2003 to 2009, this open-back headphone has shown serious staying power Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
4,046
check
97%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
John-hall78
1
Oct 22, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fantastic for the price!
After upgrading from my last pair of Audio Technica's I can never go back!
DamonXWind
0
Oct 22, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sound Stage
The detail available in these dwarfs my previous headphones, this is my first foray into the audiophile scene and I'm glad I made the plunge with these
check
Would recommend to a friend.
mrkarush
0
Oct 21, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I love this headphones. I am using them with my LG V40 and it drives them well. If you don't have a phone like that I would suggest buying an amp with this headphones.
hharrys
0
Oct 21, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It is worth saying "standard"
This review is based on my opinion. I have Sennheiser's HD800s and RME ADI-2 DAC, and purchased this headphones as sub at 6months ago. It has some advantages over hd800s: affordable price and natural and warm sound tone. And this is light and comfortable like 800s. Although It has NOT broad sound spaces and clear treble and good sound separation comparing with 800s, 6xx has more "natural" sound: that means more similar with real instrument sound in concert hall.
(Edited)
RacsoNavi21
0
Oct 21, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
So I've owned a few sennheiser headphones over the years: 598, 58X, 600 and 660S. This headphone is basically an HD650 at a lower price which is crazy considering that the 650 was at some point sennheiser top of the line headphone. So how does it sound? Warm and pleasing, it is definitely the warmest of all sennheiser cans I've heard while still being super resolving (resolution is in between 600 and 660S). It doesnt have a super strong bass but it is punchy and thick, also you can hear basslines clearly. Mids are great with a sense of authority and clarity. Treble is a bit recessed in quantity but still extends nicely and sounds very detailed. Soundstage is decent, not very wide but enough to give you an accurate representation of the recording and imaging is good but could be a bit better since there are some dead spots (not advised for gaming). So I own the 660S which costs 2 times what the 6XX does and I'm finding myself enjoying the sound signature of the 6XX more, sometimes technicalities isn't all, it comes to a point where this have plenty of detail for me to be satisfied and coming back to them for the warmth and chill sound this produce. Also 58X is not worth it compared to 6XX (it only has better sub-bass but that's it), 660S destroyed 58X in sound quality, while I think that 6XX and 660S are very close in sound quality, you are paying a bit more for way better overall perfomance. THIS IS THE SENNHEISER CAN TO BUY! YOU WON'T BE DISSAPOINTED.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Majestyk
3
Oct 21, 2020
I had two 660S headphones. One Ireland and the other Romania. The Ireland was a little smoother/relaxed sounding but both had more recessed treble than my Ireland 650 and Romania 6XX. If you dig deep on the head-fi forum, you'll see others saying the 660S is the most relaxed sounding of the 6 Series. BUT... There is a reason why some people say it is brighter than the 650'/6XX and others say it is darker. The reason is amp impedance. Higher impedance amps (which I have) are not a good match for the 660S. I just thought I'd throw this out there in case anyone considers the 660S for a higher impedance amp like (for example) the Bottlehead Crack...which is not the amp I own. Nice review, by the way.
RacsoNavi21
0
Oct 21, 2020
Thanks for the info! I didn't know there was a sound variance between the two versions. I have the Ireland 660S which is indeed relaxed but I just feel the 650 has a smoother/warmer sound signature. Didn't know that that about amping either, I'm about to get the ifi micro so I'll test them there. Also the 660S treble is more in quantity but just not as extended, they just drop after 10khz you need to add a few db with EQ at 15khz to make them sound like the 6XX. Thanks a lot for the feedback and the info!
twofactor
1
Oct 19, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sounds great!
Sound great and clear with my 02 + Grace SDAC! Would reccomend
check
Would recommend to a friend.
jun2san
1
Oct 19, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Hands down the best headphones I’ve ever owned
I’ve owned about 5 different Sennheiser headphones and these are so far my favorite.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
DikWitCheezz
13
Oct 19, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Clean broski
had HD 598’s, these were definitely worth the upgrade, the sound stage is super noticeable out of the box. Best thing I ever bought on this site
BASEM88
17
Oct 17, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sound Amazing
Sound Amazing
check
Would recommend to a friend.
DrrMorris
1
Oct 17, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great Sound
As others have stated, you get great sound out of the box. Couple with an amp, and everything is just that much cleaner. If you spend a lot of time listening to music while you work these are a great option. I've used them for eight hours with a couple of short breaks, and they were never uncomfortable. These are definitely a win.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Showing 12 of 4804
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
4,800 OF 4,804 POSTS
Oct 22, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest