Stack Overflow The Key V2 Macropad
$29

Stack Overflow The Key V2 Macropad

bookmark_border
$29
Complete Setup:
add
Dwarf Factory Gaea's Crown Artisan Keycap
add
ZOMO Silicone Kitty Paw Artisan Keycaps
add
ZMKC Pocket Game Console Artisan Keycap
·
7.2k Sold
·
Free Returns in USA
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.1
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
18
check
81%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
PlusPlus
14
Jul 1, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
it has 3 keys
... and the rest is up to you. great little board either stock or with custom firmware and caps
check
Would recommend to a friend.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Flexible Macropad with the right firmware
This product has a lot of potential, but doesn't seem fully actuallized with it's default configuration. What I recommend is to burn the VIAL firmware that JetSerge put together (https://drop.com/buy/stack-overflow-the-key-v2-macropad/talk/2892369). This will give you easy access to the Tap Dance and Combo features that QMK has, but with the added ability to edit them on the fly. This really makes it a lot of fun! I'd totally recommend anyone giving this a try! (If you want a video guide on how to burn the VIAL firmware, I made a little youtube tutorial: https://youtu.be/XsR6OqdpWRA)
check
Would recommend to a friend.
protocol7
1
Jun 29, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Decent affordable macropad
First things first - it's QMK capable, has adjustable RGB, good quality switches, so on and so forth. So why the 3 star review? Out of the box it has an obnoxious red glow and the instructions provided to modify the settings don't mention how to modify RGB settings. Fortunately the community has a Vial-capable firmware to let you adjust these things with an easy GUI interface. I get it, it's a meme device, but a little more effort considering it got a V2 would be nice.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
MrSmartyMcFarty
1
Jun 25, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Super Helpful!
It's an amazing product and serves its purpose well. I would recommend installing Vial as the firmware so you can easily change macros and keybindings. Overall great product.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
basenjimae
33
Jun 24, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Cute, fun gift
Great as a present, the firmware was a little annoying, but I eventually got the hang of it. A great pickup for 30 bucks
check
Would recommend to a friend.
petrocity
3
Jun 24, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awesome Tool
The look and features are all great and it's a fun little productivity tool and conversation starter. It is much harder to program the lighting than I anticipated but after 30 minutes of digging and working I was able to figure it out. That's the only reason it doesn't get five stars.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
MallardDuck
0
Jun 23, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great CopyPasta Macro Pad
So far I'm digging it - however I haven't explored modifying the firmware on it yet. This is another area that's critical to me. So far the only thing on that front I can say is that it doesn't support Vial/Via out of the box like I had hoped. Probably not a huge deal since I tend to roll my own anyways - which I still plan to do to make single key copy/paste. On the sound side of things out of the box it's not terrible at all. I favor clickys though so I swapped the box blacks for box pinks. I also noticed how perfectly sized the foam included for shipping was to sandwich the board. So I used a razor to cut out foam pads to sit between board on the case (both top and bottom). This resulted in a very nice difference - so much I'd dare say that this small board can thock.
MallardDuck
0
Jun 24, 2022
I mean why not if that's what floats your boat. Silicon mods are great too. lol
st0neh
10
Jun 24, 2022
I figure it should nicely enhance the silliness of this product lol.
BlooKazoo
151
Jun 23, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Look, its a fun cheap pad and it works
Context: I have been using QMK for a few years now. I love this thing, its stupid and useful at the same time. Cute, does what it said it’d do. The keycaps are surprisingly good quality, not too thin and I love having a cap with the stack logo. Feels pretty well made and I don’t feel the back cover is flimsy? I already took mine apart and reassembled and didn’t feel like I was about to break anything. The only problem this has is, as mentioned in reviews below, the firmware wasn’t updated for the LEDs and if you’re new to QMK it makes changing the LEDs quite a bit more difficult. Or even to get all the LEDs working. For a April-Fools-Joke-Made-Real, its a solid product and the launch would have gone better if they updated the firmware.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dussin
0
Jun 22, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Needs Software
Badly needs software to allow you to customise the layout of the keys, the RGB, the polling rate, macros, etc... I shouldn't need to learn how to program keyboards with QMK to be able to do this stuff. I consider myself pretty good with technology and I'm struggling to figure it all out.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
JetSerge
17
Jun 23, 2022
You will need to add a couple of lines in config.h file and rebuild the firmware to have 1000Hz polling rate: #define USB_POLLING_INTERVAL_MS 1 #define QMK_KEYS_PER_SCAN 4 It's also possible to use different de-bounce algorithms for faster response. For example, in rules.mk add: DEBOUNCE_TYPE = sym_defer_pk In config.h add: #define DEBOUNCE  2 Too low value can cause keys chatter. I don't see any reason to do it unless you are playing competitive rhythm games on it.
Dussin
0
Jun 23, 2022
That's exactly why I want to do this actually! Thanks so much for your help, I'll give this all a go
JetSerge
17
Jun 22, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice macropad, can work with VIAL
It should come with VIAL firmware out of the box. I had to spend some time to create one. Feel free to use: hex + sources zip. Supports backlight configuration.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
JetSerge
17
Jun 24, 2022
I'm not sure there is a way to do it in software controls. The device doesn't have a proper LED driver to use per-key RGB matrix and all the LEDs seem to be wired in underglow configuration. Maybe there is some way to create a custom matrix driver to handle the under-key LEDs separately, but I'm not an expert here, sorry. Feel free to experiment with the sources and see what you'll find out.
st0neh
10
Jun 24, 2022
All good, I figured I may as well ask. Thanks.
Showing 25 of 39
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
39 OF 39 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest