Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
Drop + Dan Clark Audio Aeon Closed X Headphones
$499

Drop + Dan Clark Audio Aeon Closed X Headphones

bookmark_border
$499
Complete Setup:
add
DarkVoice 336SE OTL Headphone Amp
add
xDuoo TA-30 Tube DAC/Amp
1.7k Sold
·
Ready to Ship
·
Free Returns in USA
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.7
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
163
check
92%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Whatugotman
21
Oct 2, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very very comfortable both sound and actual comfort
search
NICE comfortable sound and actual comfort! Well done out of box sound- I liked these as soon as I put them on- Dan Clark has a good ear! Some things I think can be improved are bass and sound stage width and out of head re-creation. The cable kinda stinks and the proprietary connectors stinks for people who invested a ton in regular/conventional cables ends. They have a slightly restricted sound stage for a close back -I think they could benefit from some mods I did before on the Kennerton Rognir Planar closed back headphones - mainly utilizing my patent pending fiberglass mesh treatment which disfuses sound waves... when I just try to do a quick comparison my other mods I do for the closed backs such as the GH50Mk2 JM Edition, the Hifiman R9 OCD Stealth JM Edition Mod or even the R7 Mod I do- these will benefit greatly I think once I get my hands inside... and have to tighten the bass up - as is the bass is very light- I think I can improve them with some modding - but out of the box these do sound nice pleasant HOWEVER do consume some power so have ample wattage available to drive these - I am using my Ray Samuels Apache and my Pratues Tube am with Telefunken G73R tubes and well it sounds nice- these are only going to sound up to their potential with beefy amps... more will come as I let them break in a bit and do more testing- JM I just spent a few hours modding these and well I 100% guarantee you will love my tuning over the original- improved tightness in the bass a much more spread out spacial pin point details in the 3d stage and image is much wider and deeper.... what can I say except try it you will hear it for yourself - in stock form recommended- in JM Mod mode- these are a absolute MONSTERS cans - addressing every thing a user could ask for- yes I am going on and on- they are that good!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
dm94aq7
0
Oct 3, 2022
Your right pad in that photo looks like it's already got warping problems, I can't believe that happened to you out of the box. Drop is obviously still shipping the defective pads https://www.head-fi.org/threads/is-the-aeon-padgate-finally-coming-to-an-end.964788/
Chromfell
14
Sep 27, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My new everything headphone.
I am overwhelmed. Maybe it's because these are my first set of expensive planar headphones, but the detail is supreme. The Aeon Closed X are ruthlessly kicking my similarly priced Sennheiser 660S while they're down, and the rest of my headphone shelf is looking pretty nervous right about now. Really though, the versatility is remarkable! I have yet to find something that doesn't sound great on these headphones. Hip-hop, rap, rock, alternative, electronic, pop, orchestral recordings, spoken word content - it's all so clear and natural! The Aeon aren't just lying to you though, these cans will tear any rushed audio production apart. You will immediately notice narrow mixing and pick out stray sounds in the soundstage, varying noise floors within samples and synthetic marks in overly processed vocals. Get ready to groan at any overly compressed sound design that's foolishly prioritizing loudness in the Aeon's world of dynamic clarity. Harsh, but fair. Keeping expectations reasonable, the soundstage appears ever so slightly limited - compared to open-back headphones. There's lots of fun to be had for a closed-back that's this isolated with this much separation. It took some totally raw recordings using stereo microphones for me to notice the actual limits here. As for the bass, it's there. No big booms and no rough rumbling - but that doesn't mean it's totally absent, just presented in a neutral manner. I find that quite fitting though, considering the overall clean sound these headphones seem to be going for. They do come with four different sets of tuning inlays for sound adjustment and a written guide with tips, and you *could* stack some of these filters if you really wanted to get rid of the highs and bring out the lows some more - but honestly, this probably just isn't for bass heads. If you have a real appreciation for rather neutral clarity, but you still want to enjoy your listening sessions instead of ending up bored or annoyed - you will LOVE these headphones. Oh, and comfort? Really good. Fits my head like a glove. Lightweight. I hardly notice them at all. Beautifully shaped pads and solid headband. Visually, the carbon fiber cup cover is a nice touch and who doesn't love those pretty shiny weaves? In short, these are the best closed-back headphones I have come into contact with so far. I had simply hoped to find an eventual successor to my Sennheisers, or my Fostex since those started falling apart - but I think the Aeon Closed X might have just wiped out my entire headphone shelf. Unexpected, but I'm not complaining. A good purchase for 500 bucks. On sale for 429? Quite possibly unmatched. Well done, Dan Clark and the DCA team! (I've also seen good support from them when something does go wrong with a customer's purchase, that inspires lots of confidence! I hope Dan Clark and the team stay committed to this business and keep on improving, feels like a huge gem of an audio brand in the making right now!)
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
ColoradoQuinn
0
Sep 13, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
One of my favorite headphones
I absolutely love this set of headphones. They sound clean, fast, responsive and airy. Make sure you give them some current and they absolutely come alive. I am currently running them of an Xduoo XD-05 plus and they really sound great paired with this reasonably affordable amplifier. Compared to my Sundara's, these are far more comfortable (which says a lot), a little more intimate sounding and they have bass that I prefer. I love both, but if I had to choose I would choose the Aeon's. To my ears, it's going to be darn near impossible to beat them in closed backs. I can't wait to see how they sound when they have Dan Clark's 100 hours of recommended burn-in completed. If they sound even better, they will be ridiculous.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Bambooran
1
Sep 12, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great sound, extremely comfortable
I have had them for some months now. I love the way they sound. I won’t go deeper into the sound, as you can find much better reviews from people who are much more knowledgeable than I am. Comfort is incredible. Big spacious earcups, low weight and soft earpads. Best headphones I have ever tried in the comfort department. Build quality: they are much more robust than their super elastic headband might suggest. The blue paint isn’t too hard to scratch or scuff, although it’s not very noticeable if it happens. The black paint on the half-yokes, on the other hand, is more durable but very noticeable when it peels off. The color is much darker than it looks in the pictures. In most indoor lighting conditions will look almost black. They need a bright source of light to show the rich blue in the pictures. Noise isolation is pretty good for indoor use. Sound bleed has not been an issue for me. Carrying case is solid but a little bit too big to transport the headphones in a regular basis. I would buy them again for sure. (Actually considering to buy a second pair so I don’t have to carry them around).
check
Would recommend to a friend.
dm94aq7
0
Sep 18, 2022
rdswestnet
1
Sep 8, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A great headphone if you're looking for a sophisticated, restrained sound signature.
I listen to jazz, acoustic guitar, and female vocals from the 90s. I've had the headphones since the end of May 2022. I drive them with the iFi HipDac 2. I very much like how the Dan Clarks clarify the music and put everything, especially the vocals, in the correct, separate, spot. For me these headphones strike the perfect balance between definition and warmthishness. What I dislike most the is bass doesn't go very deep and what there is just not tight - at all. A lot of my music has little or no deep bass, so I can live with it. They are not nearly as comfortable as I expected. By comparison my Oppo PM-3 are way are more analytical. My AKG 701s Austrian Quincy Jones seem more accurate. I don't find the sound stage very big but the music is around my head, not crammed into it like the sennheiser HD 600. I like the Drop Dan Clarke quite a bit more than any of those. Certainly the best headphones I've ever owned. Fix the bass it's an embarrassment.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
wing_drop
6
Sep 4, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Lacks booty and ear hole tickling palpability
I was suprised for an expensive audiophile product to be missing bass and dynamics. Now I'm no bass head but I can recognize decent bass when I hear it and this has almost nothing to speak of. It is very clear and clean sounding and has good high end but I supposed the advantages of the planar driver used in thse phones do not overcome it's disadvantages. The Beyerdynamics DT250 I was hoping to upgrade from for better sealing and maybe less cupped sealed headphone coloration was much more enjoyable and balanced and impactful.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Chris-p
1
Sep 3, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice addition / good value
Picked these up to compliment my Hifiman Anandas and they do exactly that. Sound profile is very different -- closed vs open backs -- so I can justify having both. The Dan Clarks sound great, especially for base heavy music. The finish and observable build quality surpasses the more expensive Anandas -- not quite as comfortable to wear for longer periods though. I didn't much care for the cable they came with though, not as bad as the Hifiman cable, but it also is one of those rubbery type that are prone to twisting/tangling. Replaced with an affordable Hart Audio cable and now that issue is solved. Overall, after ~ 40hrs of listening/breaking them in this week, I am happy with the purchase. Definitely end-game for me as far as closed backs go as I think I would have to jump into the 4 digit price point to get any sort of improvement (that I would notice at least).
check
Would recommend to a friend.
TCL2
5
Aug 30, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very comfortable
They sound great and feel good. They don't fold down, really, so they are hard to carry around, but I have plenty of IEMs to carry around in a backpack.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
sirhamed
4
Aug 26, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Don't order if you're not living in US
Well, I was so excited for the headphone when I received it, the packaging, the hard case and cable, build material, the cable, headphone weight everything is great, but they doesn't matter if the headphone is defective, the Right ear sounds like a ripped dynamic driver on the smallest Base sound, terrible sound, even on highs its full of distortion, First they told me to open the headphone there might be a hair on the driver!!! Anyway, I'm living in Toronto and it will cost me a lot to send it back, for something that was defective from day one
search

close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Chromfell
14
Oct 1, 2022
Hey, they made it all the way around the world to me without a scratch! That being said, it really would be great if DROP added more protective material to their shipping boxes - mine was empty except for the Dan Clark Audio box with about 10-15cm (4-6") of empty space left over on the side and top... Can't hurt to protect the fragile $500 planar headphones a little bit now, can it? How much extra could a bunch of packing peanuts or crinkled up paper possibly cost? Planar drivers are susceptible to fall damage, all it takes is a careless tumble inside a delivery truck or at a terminal, and I wouldn't trust any of the major shipping firms to take good care for a simple $15 fee. Needs some DROP protection :-) (look!!! it's marketable!!!)
Xoro
2
Aug 25, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
phenominal tuning
Ive heard alot of things about these headphones, from thin bass and hot highs to lacking dynamics. In my opinion these sound amazing out of the box. These are by far the hardest to drive headphones in my collection which leads me to think that people using these without a powerful amp are experiencing lacking dynamics. I am using the Topping L50 amplifier on high gain (these are the only headphones I use with high gain). I have not tried listening with all of the tuning pads so I wont comment on that. Sounds like listening to an open back headphone in a dead quiet room. 5 stars.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 13 of 245
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
245 OF 245 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest