Drop + Dan Clark Audio Aeon Open X Headphones

Drop + Dan Clark Audio Aeon Open X Headphones

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
657 Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Ready to ship
Product Description
We’ve partnered with Dan Clark Audio (formerly MrSpeakers) to improve a remarkable and well-regarded pair of planar open-back headphones. Introducing the Aeon Open X: our take on the Aeon Flow Open.
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.7
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
90
check
95%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
BeerandMonsters
1
Jul 24, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I wanted to wait until the honeymoon period was over before writing a review. That being said, let me get this out of the way: I love these headphones. The design, the build, and the materials far outshine all the other sets I own. What does that mean? From whence do I speak? My first set of big boy headphones were AKG Q701s. From there I purchased a set of HiFi Man HE-4XX and a Fostex T50RP with Shure 1540 pads. So all my comparisons are being made against those. When I received Aeon Open Xs, my setup was as follows: a Topping D10 hooked up to my PC via USB feeding a JDS Labs Atom. I tell you this so you have the full picture of my experience with these headphones. Your mileage may vary. Whenever I receive a new piece of audio equipment, there are three songs I listen to. I pick these songs because I love them, not because I feel they have any sort of audiophile cred. The first track I pumped through my system was Fear Inoculem by Tool. The opening electronics didn't reveal anything new to me, although they did sound great. However, at about a minute in when the percussion starts there was some noticeable punch behind it. None of my previous sets did this. As the song wound on little nuances I had never noticed before appeared. One song into my test drive and already I was smiling. Next up was The Mother Road by Chelsea Wolfe. Right away the Aeon's demonstrated their imaging chops with the strumming of Wolfe's acoustic guitar behind my right ear. Then her vocals started coming through. Wow. Intimate, I guess you would call it. One of the things I've always liked about Wolfe's voice is the huskiness of it. The Aeon's really made that texture apparent. So, two for two. The last test drive was with Heilung's Alfadhirhaiti. For me, this track really showcases the Aeon's abilities. Like on Fear Inoculem, the drums punched with an energy I didn't realize I had been missing. Bass sounded fantastic. I'm not the type of guy who needs his bass to rattle his ears with wub-wub. But I do like it to have some pop. And pop it definitely does. If you're familiar with this song then you know how crazy the imaging and details can get. The Aeons delivered on all of it. Since receiving them these headphones In June they have become my daily drivers. They make me want to keep listening to music. I also use them for gaming. In shooters, such as Destiny 2, the imaging is pretty spot on. But there is a difference in sound stage. All three of my other headphones have pretty wide sound stages. The sound stage of the Aeon Open X is not quite so wide. But to my ears it sounds a bit taller. That's not something that is great when listening to music, but it is apparent when gaming. After such gushing praise, why am I only awarding 4 stars? I have some concerns about the Drop name, if I am honest. While the materials and comfort of the set is top notch, the left pad has developed a weird lump on the outside of it. Nothing that impacts their performance or comfort, but it looks odd. Also, I'm not sure about the cord. It is stiff and the texture on the outside snags on things. One final thought. Spending $500 on a set of headphones makes me nervous. I'm glad I own them, but if they break I will weep massive tears.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
onionart
15
Jul 19, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I love how they sound. I prefer it over my DT 1990 pro and this became my goto headphone. I am pairing it with Bifrost 2 DAC + Jotunheim 2 Amp. I removing one star because the headband wont stop sliding. Left side clip is not gripping the band. I had to tape it as a workaround since returning these from Israel is a pain in ass process.
(Edited)
kfuz
1
Jul 7, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A good upgrade from the 6xx
Soundstage is a little wider than the 6xx but not as airy as the HE4xx, definitely on the bright end but I went with the 1 notch white + black foam which made it very tolerable at worst and enjoyable at best. Extremely comfortable (on par or better than the 6xx) and good for small heads! Bass is nice and punchy, but lacks a little bit of clarity at the very low end. Vocals sound incredibly crisp. Overall these are very 'fun' sounding and brought a lot of life back to the tracks I listen to. After listening to these I understand why people say the 6xx and co. are very clinical sounding. I'll most likely be using these as my daily drivers going forward. Multimedia and gaming both sound great to me. Comes with a really good quality hard case FYI: Shipping to Canada incurred about a $90 COD cost
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
KaygeVS
10
Jun 29, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Man these are amazing
I'll keep this short. I've had several pairs of headphones before this. (5xx, 58x, shp9500), and this is by far the best one. I have ZERO complaints. Highs? Never sharp. Bass? Just that right amount of oomph. Mids? Exactly where they should be. I think I'm satisfied for life
check
Would recommend to a friend.
MDooper
5
Jun 28, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I bought these after I wanted to try to upgrade from the HD 58x. If you're in the same boat and want to hear a SIGNIFICANT upgrade don't expect these to be the one (you most likely have to spend much more than this price range). Aside from that, the mids on these are incredible and much better than the 58x imo. I did a side by side comparisons with the 58x and certain songs are much better with the Aeons. It definitely adds more "character" to songs. The only complaint was when I first listened to it the highs were difficult to listen to. It came to the point where I had to lower the volume a ton for it to be more bearable. After its burn in period, the highs were much better sounding and weren't as difficult to listen to. TLDR; Looking for a BIG upgrade from the 58x? Take a pass. Looking for something different and more fun? The Aeons are it.
(Edited)
theaveragejat
1
Jun 21, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing quality
Love the design, comfort and sound
check
Would recommend to a friend.
FartyParty
2
Jun 14, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great sound overall, very clear
I had never paid $500 for headphones so I had no expectation with these. I am coming from a pair of Bose quiet comfort self amplified headphones as daily drivers. My first impression was very flat, however I called the company and they said I need to 'break them in". I did that and I don't feel it changed, however I have since gotten a professional EQ to boost the lows almost all the way, to get the sound where I feel it should be. I believe these are the most clear and certainly the most comfortable headphones I've ever owned, so I dont regret the purchase. I feel they lose a star because of all the software a d tweaking required to squeeze any bass out of them.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
rmek
2
Jun 18, 2021
Thanks! You're using VoiceMeeter right?
FartyParty
2
Jun 18, 2021
Indubitably! Voicemeter Banana to be exact.
MichelangeIo
2
Jun 11, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
fantastic!
I mean I got the closed onces even though I orderede the open ones so i don't really know. Shipping and stuff was a hassel so i kept the closed ones and they are great! 10/10 would want the wrong pair again!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
similingsun
0
Jun 9, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good headphones
headphone with good sound quality but you need a good amp to get the best out of them. An ifi zen dac /can combo could do the job. You need to also to burn in the headphones with the recommended hours.... very immersive sound....
check
Would recommend to a friend.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Impressed.
The sense of presence this headphone commands is truly impressive. It's rich and detailed with great separation but presenting in a neutral/slight V shaped sound. At times I'll forget these are on my head since they weigh so little and the pads are so plush; luxury feel. The only drawbacks are the soundstage could be a little more detailed/wider and sudden sounds seem muted or muffed. These may improve with time as these cans have a 50 hour (minimum) burn-in time. Those drawbacks aside, these headphone deliver. Highly Recommend.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 14 of 215
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
215 OF 215 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order