Drop + Dan Clark Audio Aeon Open X Headphones
Drop + Dan Clark Audio Aeon Open X Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
242 Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
We’ve partnered with Dan Clark Audio (formerly MrSpeakers) to improve a remarkable and well-regarded pair of planar open-back headphones. Introducing the Aeon Open X: our take on the Aeon Flow Open.
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
29
check
92%
would recommend to a friend
search
Fried_Bologna
2
Aug 9, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great fit, comfortable for long listening sessions
Owned for a couple of months. Using the filters that were installed. Very good details and easy to drive.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Aug 9, 2020
Ayub
18
Aug 1, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Comfort and sound is great
Love how comfortable these are. I wear them all day long now i work from home! Sound great through my THX789 amp being fed by my R2R DAC. Love how detailed and open and airy they sound when listening to my FLAC files or to Amazon HD. The customization to sound you can make with the filters helped me tune the sound to my liking!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 1, 2020
Icantaim
55
Jul 18, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good overall
One of the most comfortable headphones in stock form. Had a LCD 2C but I can't wear it for more than an hour due to the weight. The hd6xx is very light, but the stock clamping force is too high for me. This one is light weight and has just the right clamp. Somehow this headphone feels a lot more closed then other open backs, it actually block quite a lot of outside noise, which is good and bad. Good because I never have to hear my computer fan noise, bad because it's doesn't sound as open and wide as most open backs. Sound wise it's nothing crazy imo. Neutral frequency response, good detail, average soundstage. I mostly like it because of the great comfort, which to me is just as important as sound.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Jul 18, 2020
ElysianCloud
3
Jun 16, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Heavenly
The most comfortable headphones I have ever used by far, you can forget they're there. Audio is hard to describe so i'd suggest you try them for yourselves
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jun 16, 2020
Mentalmonster1
22
Jun 13, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Do it
Just a great experience. The sound is getting to that point where its just hard to put into words. Very enjoyable imo.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jun 13, 2020
dtrinh
0
Jun 4, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Comfort, build quality, fit n finished, sound, everything excellent. So impress, bought Aeon 2 Closed back at dan clark web.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Jun 4, 2020
SquashFan
5
Jun 1, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good sounding headphone, but not for me
The reviews have been enthusiastic about these headphones, and I agree that they are very good. Considered on their own they would even be extremely good, and most people would be very happy with them. My comaprison is with my Sennheiser HD800S headphones and my recently acquired Quad ERA-1s. When placed against those two, and with my listening preferences the Aeons fall short, and I am returning them. On the physical side, the Aeons are beautifully made, but for me the shaped earpads are too snug a fit around the ears for me to be comfortable with them for any length of time. As far as sound goes, I like having a wider sound stage. Clearly very few headphones can match the HD800Ss in that regard and I wasn't expecting that from the Aeons. The reviews suggested that there was some width to them, but I personally found them too narrow for my taste. I had no complaints about the overall sound signature, but neither did I find anything special in it either. This lack of wow factor was driven home by the comparison with the Quads which are outstanding. Super fast with transients, powerful warm driving but not boomy bass and a satisfactorily wide sound stage. In comparison the Aeon's bass is thin. Someone else can comment on the Quad's accuracy but for me they are just wonderful to listen to and create a new level of enjoyment in listening to tunes that are my favorites and ones that with other headphones I would have skipped over. I know there is a substantial difference in price and if your sound preferences are different to mine, you may well be delighted with the Aeons, but for me they just don't bring anything special to the listening experience.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Jun 1, 2020
SquashFan
5
Jun 1, 2020
bookmark_border
Happy to respond. I like ZeosPantera and was impressed by his enthusiastic review of the Aeons. I didn’t have the Quads at that time, so was comparing to the HD800S, Sivga P-II, AKG 361 and AKG K7XX. The HD800S are truly wonderful and for many tunes are a total blast. But because the soundstage is so wide, the intimacy of other tracks is lost, they are so open backed that any local noise gets through and to my old ears the accuracy means that they lack some warmth. I run the HD800S from a tube amp which does add back a little warmth. The Aeon reviews suggested that they had a moderate soundstage, more warmth and better sound isolation. I tried them as a potential adjunct to the HD800S not as a replacement. Shortly after I ordered the Aeons, APOS (a great company to deal with by the way) emailed me about the Quads. I’m a British ex pat who has been a fan of Quad since I was in my teens and who still has his Quad 303/33 amp/preamp/tuner rig, so I was keen to try them. As the saying goes “this changed everything”. Reviews of the Quads include ones that say “these are the best headphones I have ever heard” a sentiment that in a very limited way I would agree with. I would rephrase it to be “the best sounding to my ears and preferences for the widest range of the music that I like to listen to”. There are NO best headphones, they all play different tracks differently. The Quads have super bass and sub base which makes low strings, cello and bass have their rightful place in the orchestra, but for tracks that have heavy bass emphasis they are awful. Their transient response is terrific, and the sharp edge of a hard struck piano note and the snapping of fingers have definition that I don’t hear on my other headphones. On some tracks this makes it too edgy and uncomfortable. However, overall they do meet, for me at least, the definition of “best for the widest variety of tracks”. So many tracks have that wow factor when listening on the Quads. To be clear, my tastes are classical, vocals, jazz and some blues and 60s/70s pop. Not heavy metal or most avant-garde music. If I hadn’t had the Quads to compare, I would probably still have returned the Aeons as they were a little uncomfortable and just didn’t provide that something extra that would justify adding them to my collection. I am trying to get to the point where I spend more time listening to the music and less listening to the headphones, and I believe that the Quads will allow me to do that. Hope that goes some way towards answering your question. Best wishes and stay safe.
Jun 1, 2020
Mentalmonster1
22
Jun 1, 2020
bookmark_border
O ok understood. I also watch zeos and he did seem to like these. As far as your description. I will agree with you on 800s I heard for a few hours and was very impressed. I also listen to rhythm jazz, alternative, lots of orchestras mostly from movie soundtracks. I guess I asked the question because of the change in price point. But now I see you have cans at all price points and are just collector as I am lol. You have me intrigued with the quads though. Will have to do some research. Maybe they will be next in line.
Jun 1, 2020
jimmymizell
18
May 30, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Where have these been all my life
I absolutely love my new Drop + Dan Clark Audio Aeon Open X headphones. The build quality is great. They are comfortable to wear for long periods of time and they sound amazing. They don't seem to be too picky about what powers them. I've run them on my Schiit Vali 2, iFI Zen DAC, and my THX 789. They even pair well with my FiiO Q5s for portable use. Yea I know you look a little strange wearing these things portable but dammit they sound good.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
May 30, 2020
DrewJMeyers
5
May 30, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice Solid set of headphones for the money
Generally speaking these headphones are very sensitive, I plugged them into my Peachtree Nova 150 which is a intergrted speaker amp with a seperate headphone amp board and was still picking up noise with the amp distorted, its a good thing i ordered the thx 789 with it cus holy moly that amp really brings things to life.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
May 30, 2020
Dktsr
8
May 24, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent
Beautiful sounding, warm, deep bass, rich mids, and surprisingly precise and detailed highs. Not very wide soundstage, but very good imaging. Very comfortable but if you have a large head like me, you might want to stretch them over a box for a night or two to reduce the clamp just slightly as the pads feel slightly stiffer than the original Aeon pads.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
May 24, 2020
Showing 13 of 109
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
109 OF 109 POSTS
Aug 12, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Happy to respond. I like ZeosPantera and was impressed by his enthusiastic review of the Aeons. I didn’t have the Quads at that time, so was comparing to the HD800S, Sivga P-II, AKG 361 and AKG K7XX. The HD800S are truly wonderful and for many tunes are a total blast. But because the soundstage is so wide, the intimacy of other tracks is lost, they are so open backed that any local noise gets through and to my old ears the accuracy means that they lack some warmth. I run the HD800S from a tube amp which does add back a little warmth. The Aeon reviews suggested that they had a moderate soundstage, more warmth and better sound isolation. I tried them as a potential adjunct to the HD800S not as a replacement. Shortly after I ordered the Aeons, APOS (a great company to deal with by the way) emailed me about the Quads. I’m a British ex pat who has been a fan of Quad since I was in my teens and who still has his Quad 303/33 amp/preamp/tuner rig, so I was keen to try them. As the saying goes “this changed everything”. Reviews of the Quads include ones that say “these are the best headphones I have ever heard” a sentiment that in a very limited way I would agree with. I would rephrase it to be “the best sounding to my ears and preferences for the widest range of the music that I like to listen to”. There are NO best headphones, they all play different tracks differently. The Quads have super bass and sub base which makes low strings, cello and bass have their rightful place in the orchestra, but for tracks that have heavy bass emphasis they are awful. Their transient response is terrific, and the sharp edge of a hard struck piano note and the snapping of fingers have definition that I don’t hear on my other headphones. On some tracks this makes it too edgy and uncomfortable. However, overall they do meet, for me at least, the definition of “best for the widest variety of tracks”. So many tracks have that wow factor when listening on the Quads. To be clear, my tastes are classical, vocals, jazz and some blues and 60s/70s pop. Not heavy metal or most avant-garde music. If I hadn’t had the Quads to compare, I would probably still have returned the Aeons as they were a little uncomfortable and just didn’t provide that something extra that would justify adding them to my collection. I am trying to get to the point where I spend more time listening to the music and less listening to the headphones, and I believe that the Quads will allow me to do that. Hope that goes some way towards answering your question. Best wishes and stay safe.