Drop + HIFIMAN HE-R7DX Closed-Back Headphones
$99
$149

Drop + HIFIMAN HE-R7DX Closed-Back Headphones

bookmark_border
$99
$149
Complete Setup:
add
ADV. Headphone Hanger
add
Drop + HIFIMAN HE4XX Planar Magnetic Headphones
Ready to Ship
·
Free Returns in USA
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.1
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
59
check
78%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
At2015071
0
May 26, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This is stupid
These cost $99. $99 Even without discount, they are $149, and that is stupid. So stupid it's absurd. The Drop Hifiman HE-R7DX sounds $300 or more. The quality of sound is just too good for $149, let alone $99. I just don't understand how Drop could sell these this cheap. Do these headphones made in Chinese labour camps or some shit? How on Earth could they do that??? AND IT'S NOT BUILT TERRIBLY!!! Those hinges are metal and the pads and straps are made out of quality materials. Sure the clamp force is too loose but still holy heck these headphones are too good for $99 (and you can add clamp by twisting the headphone like Z Reviews). It's a fucking steal, especially for US consumers because of free shipping (I don't live in the US so I have to eat up some shipping cost and wait for ages to get delivered). 4/5 needs more clamp.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Djtriggerfinger
1
May 20, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very wide sound stage
Truly fantastic set of headphones. Not gonna lie bought them based on Zeos review of them. They really are worth the price. Can’t go wrong with them.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Olepubzrescue
0
May 18, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
R7DX first thoughts
Clamp was a little light but easy to fix. Good detail and a steal for the price.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Suganami
46
May 18, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I swear, Hifiman just can't seem to lose. I started with the 4xx, then the 5xx, then the Sundaras, then went on to get a set of Anandas with nothing but praise every time. I was a little skeptical on these cans being dynamic drivers and knowing that Hifiman is very much known for their planar magnetic drivers. I was very pleasantly surprised. First, the comfort is phenomenal for my slightly larger than average head. Clamp force is right on point, and I have no issues with hours of consecutive use. Second, the sound is excellent. Very even and balanced in every way. The lower frequencies have good extension without any bloat or emphasis, while mids are decently presented with very tame high frequencies without diminishing detail. Simply put, I would take these over my DT770s any day. I will, however, offer a caveat and say that if you are a fan of the V-shaped sound of Beyerdynamics, then these may not be for you. If you prefer a closed back that is more adherent to the Harman target curve, then the AKG K361/K371 may be the cans for you. If, however, you are in the market for a relatively flat sounding closed back without sounding boring, these are an absolute steal for the $99 that I got them.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Suganami
46
May 22, 2022
If your friend wants to stay in a similar price bracket, he may want to consider the HE-400se. It's a fairly new headphone by Hifiman that I believe is currently on sale for $109. I've heard it described as a baby Sundara, and after directly comparing the two personally, it's not a far off comparison.
Hyde
1004
May 22, 2022
Lol ok cool I'll let him know, either Sundara or 400SE, thanks for the advice!
Kaydermo
19
May 17, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Low clamp force. Fits people with big head. Amazing sound.
The pads are so big that it needs a lot more clamping pressure to make the cups snug. But I do like these headphones. The headphone doesn't sound like a close-back, it sounds like an open-back. The sound is quite bright. The bass is light, even when pressing the cups into my ears. The imaging is AMAZING. The soundstage is wide. But they also don't have good sound isolation. Bought it for $100. I'd recommend these at this price.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
sliky539
0
May 16, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great sound - Needs some finish/work done to it.
When I'm able to get a proper seal, the sound is clean and pleasant. This headphone suffers from some poor choices... the adjustment slides are way to loose and every time I put them on or take them off the cups slide out of place. The clamping pressure is WAY to weak, even after bending/twisting the headband it won't clamp very much and can't produce a seal with the earpads.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
awromig
1
May 16, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A Closed-Back For Open-Back Fans
The best way for me to describe this headphone is as a closed-back with an open-back-like sound. Why? The midrange is topnotch, something unfortunately rare with closed-backs. Closed-back headphones tend to be very wonky in their mids. Bass is not excessive, yet is a very good quality. Too often closed-backs have excessive, yet low quality, bass. Treble is somewhat airy, but is not piercing for the most part (see below for more on that). A lack of airiness is common amongst closed-backs, as are artificially accentuated highs. Lastly, the sound is much more open than most closed-backs, not at all claustrophobic. There are couple negatives, which thankfully aren't big enough to ruin the experience. Clamping force is low for my taste. I have yet to find a solution to this, as the band design (which otherwise I like much more than I expected) does not allow for adding cup pressure without also adding band pressure on the head. The other issue I have is that, at higher volumes, there is sometimes a bit more low treble than I prefer. I may try experimenting with some attention foam to offset this. I wouldn't be surprised though if most people didn't mind, or even notice it. Overall these are excellent headphones, especially considering their pricing. I am *very* glad I took a chance on them.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
CB-4
10
May 15, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I'm Hooked
These headphones are my gateway into actively pursuing hifi audio as a hobby. After a few weeks, they have left me only wanting more. My only comparison was with my WH-1000XM3 ANC headphones and I was blown away by how different these headphone sound. My head is on the smaller side so I tightened the headband (per Zeos recommendation) for more clamping force right away. This made a significant difference and brought the low end to satisfactory levels as compared with my M3s. My overall impressions as a noob were that the HE-R7DX sound light and airy. Danny Carey's cymbals and hats seemed to travel just over top of my head from one ear to the other, toms spanned across my forehead and snare and kick drums sat maybe just behind my earlobes... needless to say, a very spacial experience. I was really impressed with the amount of detail that I had never experienced before: things like breath sounds in vocals, drumsticks rubbing on the snare, like things you might hear at a live concert that you didn't notice from the while listening at home. They seem to be mid focused like from mid-range vocals and up. The highs come through with some bite (this was smoothed out quite a bit when listening through only headphone amp, iFi Signature Zen Can, that I purchased with the headphones. Regardless, I haven't found the highs to be be annoying or fatiguing after a good album or two at pretty high volume. The bass is there, it's clear and present but there is no rumble or boom. There is maybe a bit of slap if you're listening to the right music but I would say these are not for bass heads. All in all, I'd say the biggest impact these headphones have had on me is how much I have been missing in my listening experience without a good set of headphones. I'm hooked and I can't wait to compare my next set of cans with these. -CB
search




check
Would recommend to a friend.
MastiffMike
75
May 15, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Could've been decent but poor design choices
I bought these for $99, so expectations were fairly low but yet I am still disappointed. Sound is just meh due to a complete lack of clamp and fit. Twisting the whole headband into a tight circle (i.e. 360 degrees past where it's suppose to be) and leaving it like that for 2 days has resulted in a slightly better clamp force, though still much less than I'd like and not enough to fully make a decent seal. Also poorly designed is the headband size, and even though my head isn't small, this thing is sized for a giant. At it's smallest setting, I still had to add some nugget pads between the top of my head and the underside of the leather(ish) band. The ear pads are decent, but not really swap friendly as they use a plastic attachment ring and AFAIK it's not sold anywhere, so to swap pads requires destroying the stock one to try to reuse the rings. As for the yokes and the general design of the ear cup attachments, it's poor. Hifiman obviously realize this (now, after how many years of people complaining about the design?) and thus why these are on clearance and their current products have a different design to them. There's very little articulation or adjustability with the earcups and they're very plasticy and cheap looking/feeling (even my $129 ATH-M40x feels higher quality and those are way better built and more adjustable, though they did require a pad swap and a headband cushion). The supplied cable is decent (there's better but there's also worse - though I do tend to prefer headphones that wire just one earcup, that's a very minor thing). As for sound, the R7DX are OK, but only AFTER doing a lot of work to try to overcome some of the poor design choices. There's still not enough clamp (and personally, I want a decent amount of clamp when I'm using closed backs!). The bass is pretty lacking but is somewhat better if you push the earcups firmly against your head (which isn't an acceptable solution). Overall these are my first (and probably last) HiFiMan cans. There's just nothing here that instills any confidence that it's worth trying any of their other products. Obviously they make a lot of much more expensive headphones, but so does pretty much every other company and I'd much rather take a chance on a high-end Sennheiser or Audio-Technica (or Focal, or Beyerdynamic, or Fostex, or... well you get the idea) I wouldn't recommend these as the Audio-Technica ATH-M40x are in the same price range ($129) and are designed better, built better, and overall sound better (the soundstage of the R7DX is slightly better, but that's the only plus and that's not enough to make up for lack of low end, treble inconsistency, crap fit/finish, etc.) I ordered a set of Focal Elegia and along with my M40x, Sennheiser HD461 and PCX550ii, I think I'm set with closed backs unless I decide to get something in the >$1000 range.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Surprisingly good!
I don't own any hi-end headphones. And I don't have any hi-end audio equipment either. All my home audio equipment are low-mid range stuff like Polk, Denon, Marantz, etc. I have couple of headphones that I mainly use for work (listening music while working) and entertainment purpose that I can compare R7DX to: HD-6XX HE-400i And Bose wireless stuff mainly for workout, etc. This $99 HE-R7DX, is surprisingly making great sound for the price. It's super comfortable, and I agree with many others that clamping force is weak, but I prefer to have comfortable headphone over one that's too tight (I can't wear HD-6XX for long time - clamping force leads headache on my end - I also wear glasses which causes even more trouble...) I use Roon + Fiio Amp most of the time. It has great sound stage, good mid-range and treble. Bass is punchy and not overwhelming. I don't think you can find better headphone than this at $99 price range!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 14 of 131
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
131 OF 131 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order