Drop + HIFIMAN HE4XX Planar Magnetic Headphones
Drop + HIFIMAN HE4XX Planar Magnetic Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
447 Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Many headphone companies have tried their hand at planar magnetic drivers, but none have done it quite like HIFIMAN. The result of founder Dr. Fang’s PhD research at Columbia University, its driver technology has landed the company in TIME, Forbes, and CNET’s “The Audiophiliac,” and won it the CES Editors’ Choice Award Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
1,057
check
83%
would recommend to a friend
search
Hifibk
0
Apr 6, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Exciting sound Signature.
My first planar! The sound didn't dissapoint , overall pretty neutral sounding with good sub bass extension (more sub bass than the 58x and less bass). They can produce very fast paced accurate sound reproduction. Slightly wider than the 58x. I prefer the sound of these to the 58x , they are more exciting. The 58x is very smooth which can make it a bit dull at times. Also I much prefer a wider sound stage. Comfort is pretty good. Not great, the weight of the headphone eventually produces a pressure point. This can be fixed with padding from Amazon. The pads are great my ears don't touch the driver. Build quality: an issue with my right driver after a week , it started to buzz. Had to contact massdrop for a replacement. I would recommend these , they deliver an exciting sound signature at a reasonable price.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Apr 6, 2020
sebizbir
0
Apr 2, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Headphones are great
Pros - sound! Cons - poor cable - cracked near minijack.
Apr 2, 2020
Lgardner17
0
Apr 2, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Decent but poor build quality
The headphones are quite nice while they last, they are held onto the head-strap by two small screws on each side. The right side of my headphones came completely apart when the head of one of those screws sheered off during normal use. If you do buy these, be very gentle with them as they are not held together with any quality parts. Unable to repair them without drilling a new hole and replacing the screws with a larger size because they are screwed into a plastic part.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Apr 2, 2020
Kulpa
9
Apr 2, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Better save the Money for other Phone
Hello,Unfortunately the Hifiman He4 xx disappointed me.The processing was mostly good for my listener.The shortcoming is the poor cable and the headphone pads.The cushions are pressed in pretty quickly, which I don't like for the price either.The second is that you like to itch sometimes, otherwise I can not confirm what was found about it on the net.The soundAnyone who has ever heard of a Fostex Tr x00 or the Denon Ah D7200 is not an extension in their collection.Because the headphones don't come anywhere near them.The bass is soft but lacks power and pressure.The mids were not necessarily bad, certain instruments can be heard really well as they fade away, which you don't notice with Fostex or Denon, which I liked very much.However, there is also a little more pressure and love missing.The heights are well balanced, not too sharp and sharp. And not too little either.Overall, it sounds somehow muffled.With Fostex everything is so wonderfully open Free as if I were in the middle of it.In comparison, not everything at Hifiman seems so depressed and subdued and not integrated at all.I think it could be due to pads because they are made of fabric and not leather or synthetic leather.I also don't see the need to spend money on new pads from a different material now, in order to get a better sound signature for me.I would have hoped a little more from Drop that you would tune it better or not add a set of other pads.I could do a little bit better with the equalizer now, but that doesn't make sense if there are better headphones, especially as they are better tuned out of the box.I also paid attention to the 150h record time, even then it didn't get any better.When is the headphones aimed at?Now even experienced listeners who dare to invest in a planar handset will be disappointed, although there are better ones on the market than they are, I cannot say.I would not necessarily recommend it for beginners.It would still be suitable for on the go if you have enough power in your pocket.And it doesn't really stand out either.I would have preferred you to use this handset rather than the Fostex, and the additional cost of the Fostex Tr x00 Mahogany would definitely have been worth it.
Apr 2, 2020
thefastestdead
0
Apr 1, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great for the money.
The Goods: Nice, Comfortable and Airy. Butter Highs and smooth mids really shine. The Bads: Iffy Construction, Need an amp, Cable length is less than ideal especially if you are tall.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apr 1, 2020
Skweeka
2
Mar 28, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I'm quite new to "audiophile grade headphones" but here's my take.
If you're coming from any old gaming headset you will find these to be a very major step up, I've had plenty of those gaming headsets from all different price ranges and these open-back planars chucks everyone of them out the window. If you want at-home headphones, these are a great option. Very nice sound and it feels like the music is being played in a room not a closet. It has survived multiple falls so the build quality seems pretty good. Unpopular opinion, I don't like detachable cables, but many do. I find any light tug to have these cables flinging around, yet, like I said, most people do like the easy unplugging, replugging, and customizability of having detachable cables. These are now my daily drivers.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Mar 28, 2020
chewFactor
0
Mar 25, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Trashy construction but good sound
Usually, I let audio quality carry the weight of my reviews but the construction is so poor I had to make an exception here. The headphones arrived and one of the earcups were a little loose. No big deal and it was easy enough to tighten. Had I known what this was foreshadowing, I would have tried to exchange for a better pair immediately. Much like other reviewers, I've had one of the headphones fall off during use. This can be avoided by tightening the screws on the loose earcup a couple times a week but this kind of maintenance should not be an issue on headphones in this tier. I would avoid purchasing this until Drop can address their confusion with quality control. Once they have that mystery solved, these could be a solid pair of headphones. Also, you will need an amp to power these.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Mar 25, 2020
ZuberA
0
Mar 25, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My experience 1 month in.
Bit of background on my headphone experience for context - I came from a pair of Sony Ch700n, not Hifi by any means but a great set of headphones with awesome sound and great battery. Prior to that I was using AT MX30's which I gave to my girlfriend. I tried the MX's one day just to remember what they sounded like and that's when I realized how much I missed a good pair of headphones, even though my Sony's are great the MX's just sounded so awesome, so I decided to get myself the HE4XX. All in all, I bought them at $110 USD w/ $20 off and in CAD with shipping, fee's and conversion it came up to around $170 CAD. So let me actually get into what I think about the HE4XX- plain and simple, they're awesome. Firstly, they're my first pair of open back and I love it. I use them in my home office and I like having the spacial awareness of my surroundings that an open back provide. Secondly they are very comfortable (I wear glasses and have no problem), I've read people saying they're heavy but personally I don't notice it. The adjustment sliders are pretty crap IMO, I liked the snap adjustments on my Sonys and the HE's felt really tight and difficult to adjust. In terms of sound I absolutely love them, I listen to a variety of different genres and they all sounded great (some more then others), personally I felt like anything from Adele and Arctic Monkey's AM album really stood out to me. Rap and hip-hop were also great! I'm not going to tell you how each wave length or decibel of sound actually sounded because I'd be talking out of my ass, but everything sounded great. Also to anyone wondering about open back, yes you can definitely hear the difference. The planar magnetic? Um, not so much, I don't think I'd be able to tell the difference. I've driven these of my phone (Samsung S10) and use a Fiio EK10 with my desktop and can tell only slight differences, I don't think the EK10 or a Amp/DAC is essential with these however the high/low gain plus bass boost of the EK10's are nice feature. My review is a bit bias because every headset I've used has been an incremental step up from my previous set, so these are the best (and most expensive) headphones I've used. That being said they're awesome. I don't see myself upgrading anytime soon (unless I get a big influx of money) however I do wish I had something that sounded this great for my commute (possibly a good pair of IEM's?). TL;RD They sound great and very comfortable even with glasses. An Amp/DAC isn't required but its nice to have.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Mar 25, 2020
Brickcity77
0
Apr 7, 2020
bookmark_border
When were these $110? I am thinking about getting some but with the exchange in the toilet right now. Not the best deal..
Apr 7, 2020
Darvantus
1
Mar 25, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
They sound amazing, but really do need an amp if you want them to shine. They leak sound (everyone in the room can hear what you are listening to) terribly, so i will just have to buy a closed back pair of.... still deciding. Build quality has improved along with the price (sometimes) Recommend new cables, as 6ft isn't enough for plugging in needed amp.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Mar 25, 2020
MrCovidTears
0
Mar 25, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
GREAT price, Great headphones.
Product is amazing! Best budget set of headphones I've purchased in a LONG time. Best bang for your buck. Highly recommend. Only discrepancy is that it came with kind of a short jack cable, but other than that. No problems. Very impressed. Great podcasting headphones.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Mar 25, 2020
Showing 11 of 1580
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
1,579 OF 1,580 POSTS
Apr 9, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order