shopping_cart
Drop + HIFIMAN HE4XX Planar Magnetic Headphones
$159
$180

Drop + HIFIMAN HE4XX Planar Magnetic Headphones

bookmark_border
$159
$180
Product Description
Many headphone companies have tried their hand at planar magnetic drivers, but none have done it quite like HIFIMAN. The result of founder Dr. Fang’s PhD research at Columbia University, its driver technology has landed the company in TIME, Forbes, and CNET’s “The Audiophiliac,” and won it the CES Editors’ Choice Award Read More
check_box_outline_blank
Add Drop 3-year Warranty with Accidental Coverage (US Only) +$20
42.8k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Ready to ship
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.3
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
1,898
check
84%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
TiagoMaltez
0
Oct 25, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A great entry point into planars
These were the first planars I bought and they helped me understand a couple of things, about hifiman and planars in general. First, that I'm more into dynamics than planars. Since then, I've tried the Sundara, the Arya, and everything on the Sennheiser line up up to the HE-1, along with some other high end headphones like the Meze Empyrean. I daily drive the 6XX or the DT770 Pro through the Drop THX AAA One, the Liquid Carbon, the O2 or my SSL Audio Interface. These are wide, warm and fairly detailed, though pretty relaxed. They line up closer to Diana Krall or Marvin Gaye than RATM or Iron Maiden. Mine eventually started rattling softly from the right earcup and I never found out what was going on.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
We're okay other than popping in one ear.
They sounded great other than popping in one ear and onw of the screws breaking clean off within the first week of ownership 🙄. I set them aside and forgot to return them for a bit too long. Contacted drop 1 day out of warranty and they told me to pound sand, not so much as an offer for a coupon. Now I've got a $150 paper weight. Fine drivers, terrible build quality, fine company, s*** tier distributor. Screw you Drop.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
webbo
0
Oct 23, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great Sound.
Best headphones I have experienced. Very comfortable. Sound good straight away - no break-in. Wish they had headphones of this quality and price 20 years ago. Had them over a year with heavy use and no problems with workmanship or sound.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sounduvbliss
2
Oct 21, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Comfortable with wide soundtage
It’s soundstage is where it shines the pads are comfortable but can get a little warm
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jfitz0916
1
Oct 17, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Shocking when amplified
I run a small Amazon headphone amp with these and they sound phenomenal. I’ve never had open back headphones before and the detail and quality are like I’ve never heard before. These are my first hifi headphones I’m very happy with them. Without the amp they are definitely less impressive but still better than any other over ear headphones I’ve owned.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
GaNorth
2
Oct 17, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My opinion: Super comfy, no crazy clamping, good padding around my big ears, sound great, solid build. I have read other reviews where people have complained that the mini screws loosen or pop out over time. I have not had this issue.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
NightBladeDK
4
Oct 15, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sorry, I'm too lazy to truly organize my thoughts on these cans into a well written review. Which is also the reason i've owned them for over 4 years but am only now posting a review. Build woes after years of heavy usage: After the first year, the original cable failed at the 3.5mm connector. Also replaced the headband around 2 years after the cap on the right side popped off and fell apart. Got a Hifiman replacement headband its still going strong. I've pad swapped twice, first to everyone's favorite sheepskin hybrids, but now to pure sheepskin as I found the stock and swapped pads felt made my ears too warm. Short sound review/Background on my ears: I'm a huge fan of these specific headphones from Hifiman, DROP NEVER DISCONTINUE THESE(or alteast lmk in advance so I can buy a few more pairs for backup) whilst I am aware its slightly lacking in most aspects as far as the mid-range goes(mainly being laid back compared to the Sennheiser favorites), the bass and it's extension is perfect to my tastes, rather balanced. The treble is detailed, bright and a little sibilant(could just be my pair though). I'm a bit treble sensitive so I had to reduce the peaks, I have that issue with most listening setups, iem, a modest 2.1ch stereo listening setup, also in my car before and after a speaker/amp/summing swap. And have not heard anyone else complain about it being too bright. I listen to alot of Jazz, Jazz influenced hiphop, and what can be considered as modern day soul. I also indulge in what can be considered rock, classical, electronic, house, and drum n bass music. I enjoy listening to any live recorded instrumentation with these cans. After using these phones for reference for years, I understand why my father stands by his Sony mdr 7506s for studio work, the familiarity makes it hard to experiment with other cans when consistency is important. Which is basically the reason I have not "upgraded" to a "better" pair. Though I have heard a lot of good about the Sundaras, I may try them if I can use a headband with swivel for long session comfort reasons. If you have recommendations I'm open to them. For the record, everyone I've forced to listen to their music with these w/o EQ claimed to vastly enjoy them. Notable musical consumption: Snarky Puppy, Hiatus Kaiyote, Lianne La Havas, James Blake, Scott James, Linkin Park, Robert Glasper, Quincy Jones, The Internet, Bring Me The Horizon, Charlotte Dos Santos, Quincy Jones, ATribeCalledQuest, TylerTheCreator, Kali Uchis, SZA and, most importantly, Kendrick Lamar (his discography's production is great) being my favorites to revisit with these cans. I can say that the only thing I don't enjoy on these cans are songs that are overly busy, like dubstep(didn't age well taste wise either), electro heavy drum n bass, and the like. Setups: I use the phones 90% of the time with my Presonus Studio24c as the dac/amp. I have used a Topping fx-6 as a dac paired with the Emotiva BASX A-100(rip, its discontinued) and it truly can shine when given just a bit more power than what 7/8ths of the audio interface can. When I travel I use a Fiio BTR3 (almost max volume) + Viper4Android (ir convolver). EQ: My EQAPO/Peace GUI/general eq settings straight from my config after 3+ years of refinement to my specific pair, for my specific listening enjoyment. Literally iteration 23 after roughly 5k hours of listening. YRMV I also made a impulse response using the same settings for Viper4Android's convolver. (rip having a rooted phone) [Frequencies] Frequency1=50 Frequency2=2200 Frequency3=3250 Frequency4=3500 Frequency5=7000 Frequency6=8600 Frequency7=12000 Frequency8=20000 [Qualities] Quality1=0.01 Quality2=2 Quality3=3.5 Quality4=4 Quality5=3.5 Quality6=4 Quality7=1 Quality8=1 [Gains] Gain1=0 Gain2=0 Gain3=-1 Gain4=-1 Gain5=-3.5 Gain6=-4 Gain7=0 Gain8=0
(Edited)
DeadHill
0
Oct 14, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fast delivery, very good sound
I live in the uk. The delivery took just under 2 weeks. Very good price and the quality of the item is outstanding. Became my favourite headphone straight away! Just bare in mind you most likely will need an amp
check
Would recommend to a friend.
KGZR
51
Oct 8, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
quality sucks
after the year of usage, it becomes trash, noise over the right cap appears consistently, inconsistent sound, overall experience below 2 out of 5
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
CrazyPlayer091
0
Oct 8, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very Nice
Nice, build quality could be better
Showing 10 of 2629
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
2,627 OF 2,629 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order