Drop + Matt3o /dev/tty MT3 Custom Keycap Set
Drop + Matt3o /dev/tty MT3 Custom Keycap Set
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
4.2k Sold
Product Description
Based on the profile from the iconic IBM beamspring terminals of the 1970s, this custom set is fully sculpted from dye-sublimated PBT in Hi-Profile. What's Hi-Profile, you ask? Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.9
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
17
search
mtcicero
32
Dec 5, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love these caps, really unique shape and very comfortable to type on
Dec 5, 2018
heart1e55m00mba
44
Oct 12, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These are my favorite keycaps to use on my TADA68. They feel great. The first set I got had some slight alignment issues, but I reached out to Massdrop's customer support and they hooked me up with a new set free of charge.
Oct 12, 2018
heart1e55m00mba
44
Jan 28, 2020
bookmark_border
I ordered the base kit + triumph mods + triumph extra mods + CMY kit. The fit is perfect and I'm still rocking this set 1.5 years later on my work keyboard.
search

Jan 28, 2020
Wi11iam
1
May 30, 2020
bookmark_border
Hi, your picture looks awesome. Just curious does the base kit work straight for your TADA68?
May 30, 2020
JJIN
12
Oct 8, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
love the key-caps, personally it feels better than real force high pro keycaps but the sad thing is that i receive two J keycaps that are not-scooped did not receive scooped J keycap i have send a e-mail to support. hope they could sent me scooped J keycap . overall I love the keycaps
search

search

search

search

(Edited)
Oct 8, 2018
VaclavKucera
54
Oct 3, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This is easily the nicest set I own right now. Being made out of very thick PBT, these caps look, feel and sound extremely solid.
search

The legends are nice and crisp, though upon closer inspection you can still notice they're not perfectly aligned. I'd expect MD to get this fixed after the R1 fiasco, but I'm personally not that bothered, you can't really see it from typing distance and it's something that I learned to accept with dye-sub legends.
Regarding the profile, MT3 is not very easy to use from the get-go, the keycaps are very cuppy and punish inaccurate typing with their "sharp" edges. Conversely, they also reward accurate typing, so once you get used to them (about 2 days for me) they become extremely comfortable. The sculpt is perfect, not too aggressive and the flat bottom row makes it easy to use with your thumbs.
The texture of the keycaps is very pleasant as well, it is somewhat coarse and grippy (but not to the point of being obnoxious), which works well with the deep top.
The only issue I have is that my order has been shipped late despite multiple drop delays with poor communication on MD's side.
Oct 3, 2018
alysdexia
36
Oct 13, 2018
bookmark_border
I'm not. The comment relates to what you said.
Oct 13, 2018
DesignWonk
100
Sep 30, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Easier to type on than an SA profile in my opinion. Unexpectedly the bottom row options actually create a tactile indicator for the arrow keys that would otherwise be difficult on a 96 key board. I have quibbles but they're stylistic. It's also currently the best looking set I own.
search
Sep 30, 2018
diersa
56
Oct 1, 2018
bookmark_border
That is NYM96 right? Great looking keyboard..
Oct 1, 2018
DesignWonk
100
Oct 1, 2018
bookmark_border
It is. Bezel's a little thick for my tastes, but it's a weighty hunk of aluminum and assembled it was totally plug and play.
Oct 1, 2018
Leski
38
Sep 29, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love how the keycaps feel and sound: thick PBT with firm deep thuds I am not a fan of sebum getting accumulated and making the ABS slippery and shiny so this is really a lifesaver Of coz the look is a gorgeous sight for sore eyes Minimal misalignment is present but hardly noticeable, let alone ruin the overall picture /dev/tty is not a very flashy kind of keyset but it definitely won't get boring. Easily the endgame set. The triumph mod set adds a bit of spice to it Anyways pictures speak a thousand words and here you go:
search

search

search

search

search

search

search

search
Sep 29, 2018
Leski
38
May 13, 2020
bookmark_border
Another thing is that it's always good to learn post-processing along with shooting/ lighting techniques.
May 13, 2020
Jameeler
2
May 13, 2020
bookmark_border
Thanks for the replies!
May 13, 2020
tommytripp
47
Sep 23, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
After a long wait, I finally received my keycaps today. Overall, I'm very pleased with these caps; I purchased the Base, Extra Mods, and Winkeyless sets. Because I'm placing these on a Tokyo60, I actually have a bunch of extra caps, if anyone is interested in buying some off of me.
search

Let's start with the not-so-great: (1) I wish the beige 'Esc' and 'Return' caps came with the base set; (2) I use WinCompose on a regular basis, and I have it assigned to RALT, so it would've been nice to have an 'Alt Gr' keycap available; (3) the wait time for this was crazy and FedEx SmartPost zig-zagged all over the place before I got my order; (4) I'd love to see support for a center-mounted, stepped Control cap in CapsLock position. It might also have been cool for these caps to be glossy, like the old IBM sets, but I think I'm in the minority on this preference. That's everything I can think of off the top of my head. It's a pretty short list, and mostly inconsequential.
However, the general lack of communication with buyers throughout this process is why I've dinged a star off this review. Before the estimated shipping date, I appreciated the notification that these caps were going to be delayed, but as we all know, there were further delays. I received my caps only this afternoon. Most of us were told to expect our sets the first week of September, and we didn't get an update until Friday of that week. Then, we were told to expect shipment by 9/14, and when that date came and went, there was radio silence until the following Monday. Once I finally got notification of shipment, on 9/18, FedEx took my caps in a spiral shape, overshooting me first eastward and then southward. I contacted Massdrop Support, but they were no help, and I didn't get a real response from them until I had already received a tracking number. Don't even get me started on requesting or looking for official updates in the Discussion section of this drop!
I had seen that some other buyers received upside-down or misaligned legends on their caps. I've noticed minor misalignments on a couple of my caps—namely, my 'CONTROL' cap is ever-so-slightly slanted clockwise—but otherwise, everything is high quality and exactly what I ordered. I'm just glad nothing is bad enough to contact Support, because from the looks of the Discussion threads, people with issues aren't finding much assistance.
Let's finish up with the positive: this profile is exactly what I was looking for; Matt3o should be very proud! I'm using the scooped 'F' and 'J' caps, and although I expected to like the flat R5 caps more than the angled ones, it turns out that I very much prefer the angled R5 row. I don't really have a list for all the good points in /dev/tty's favor, it's just a general feeling of satisfaction and enjoyment. This set sounds great with BOX switches in my Tokyo60 'board, and I couldn't be happier with the perfect profile on the perfect keyboard layout.
Sep 23, 2018
jellykeycaps
4
Sep 21, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
By far the best keycaps I've ever used. As another reviewer stated, I am in love. I thought there was no way that they could live up to the hype, but they are amazing. The weight, the profile, the textures, the alternate caps (like F and J with bump, or F and J with dimple, or F and J ordinary), and the text, I've looked very closely, and everything seems perfect. The best keycaps I've ever owned. I will be buying another set on the next buy. Edit - Four Months Later: I work in software and do a lot of typing by way of programming, writing documentation , and emails. I've been using these keys for a solid four months now. I want to give an update and contrast these with the SA Retro set that I purchased and had been using up until these arrived. The SA Retro set was ABS plastic, and I estimate that within three months (maybe less), any matte texture had eroded on the keys. This left the top of the keys with a glossy look even after cleaning. I was OK with that, as I don't mind a completely glossy look to my keys. However, I think I'm in love with the surface texture/matte finish of the /dev/tty keycap set. Furthermore, even after four months of use, I do not think that the texture has changed at all. I'm typing on them now and I can see a slight bit of shine(perhaps from oil on the skin) building up on the T key, but that is all and I haven't tried to clean it. The build quality certainly is the best I have ever owned.
(Edited)
Sep 21, 2018
vido.ardes
98
Sep 18, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I am in love.
I am using this set on MX Clears, and it feels like the perfect combination of profile and weight to me. Coming from a DSA set, this is a huge step up in terms of accuracy and typing speed after only 24 hours, I am finding I am hitting the center of the keys without trying because the scoop guides you to the right place. I am also loving the scooped F and J over the 'nipple' version, very easy to locate.
From an appearance point of view, these are a very attractive but understated set; the legends are clear and crisp, and there are zero alignment issues, so it would appear all the issues from R1 are fixed. The font is nice and bold, easy to read, and makes it stand out from the Gorton Modified I have gotten used to on other sets. I love the muted colorway, but wish I had purchased some of the brighter keys; I really wish the RGB or CMKY modifiers had an ISO enter.
The caps are very thick, with zero burrs or defects, and although they are snug on the stems I had no issues. I had to remove a few keys because I forgot to use my ISO kit, and had no problems getting them off with a bit of a wiggle, and that was on clear switches that had never been used. There is a very slight texture to them which is pleasant to the touch.
Overall these are an incredible set, and I can't wait to see it in other colorways!
search
Sep 18, 2018
astrob0y
0
Sep 27, 2018
bookmark_border
Would love this set for a Vortex Race 3
Sep 27, 2018
enriquem50
7
Oct 30, 2019
bookmark_border
I got a Poker II and I'm wondering the same thing
Oct 30, 2019
Buems
14
Sep 14, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I like this set. It took me a few hours to get used to the profile, but it's really enjoyable to type on.
None of my keys had any problems, I did notice that this set was very tight to put on the switches, so I was extra careful when pushing down not to break anything.
No complaints here.
search
Sep 14, 2018
diggergig
389
Sep 15, 2018
bookmark_border
Very tight, and I've broken 2 switches taking some off.
Sep 15, 2018
Buems
14
Sep 15, 2018
bookmark_border
Aw that sucks to hear. I'm happy I lubed my stabilizers before putting these caps on, otherwise I might have had the same problem.
Sep 15, 2018
Showing 37 of 47
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
47 OF 47 POSTS
Aug 12, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest