Drop + MrSpeakers Ether CX Closed Headphones

Drop + MrSpeakers Ether CX Closed Headphones

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.2k Sold
Ready to ship
Product Description
A collaboration with MrSpeakers, a boutique shop in San Diego, California, the Ether CX closed-back headphones have a lot going for them. For one thing, they sound more like a pair of open-back headphones—clean, open, realistic, relaxed—while retaining the low sound leakage and high isolation you’d expect from closed cans Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
137
check
87%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Bassie39
0
Jun 18, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fantastic sound and comfort.
Only mild issue is stiffish cable and no case. Amazing sound and great long listening comfort. Unless you have truly exquisite ears and are sitting down with no outside interference, there is no need for a better listening device. Between these and my Focal Elex, they reproduce the music as intended by the masterer.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
xHOLDx
6
Jun 16, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Interestingly Neutral yet Exposing pair of headphone even for its closed back design. Recomended for anyone for is into music mixing.
dwhitter
0
Jun 5, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Completely Neutral Exposing the reality
These pair of headphones are great. Great with female vocalist, opera, classical, electronic and dare I say R&B. Hear me out. Takes a minute to dial in the correct preferences pad wise but they headphone are quick and clear. It does so well with singing voices (especially female) it's absurd. Gives you that foot tap feeling A+. These headphones fall "short" in bass, but I would call it appropriate. Comfortable. Cord is clumsy though and you definitely need a good amp. Love the style.
rglenny
1
May 31, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent - with the right amplification
I have never headphones so sensitive to amplification - and this includes my Sennheiser HD 800s. Using the output of a typical preamp or receiver, they sound dull, rolled off, no bass. But with a good headphone amp, they come alive, smooth but detailed and accurate top end, tight deep bass, great separation and openness for a closed back headphone. Highlight is the fabulous mid range that sounds so lifelike and focused with any vocals. When music gets complex, everything stays together even at significant volume. The best results I got were from my Bryston BHA-1 headphone amp. Sounds surprisingly excellent from my Audioquest Dragonfly Red attached to my iPhone with the USB adapter cable, streaming Master recordings from TIDAL. I should note I taped around the outside of ear pads with clear athletic tape to seal them to the metal ring of the earphone body and this made a big improvement in the bass level. Going to try some different pads next. The only negatives are:
  • require powerful headphone amplification
  • the balanced cable connector and adapter make the cable heavy and awkward. I noticed little difference using the balanced vs. unbalanced connection on my Bryston BHA-1. Will purchase a new cable with just regular headphone jack at some point
  • I find them a bit uncomfortable after about 90 minutes, as they clamp very tightly, and I have a small head, ie. a childs size large hockey helmet fits me perfectly.

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
skidmata
70
Apr 13, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Magical midrange, very deep reach to bass, give it power (headroom)
I put these cans aside after some initial listening because they seemed like they just didn't have any substantial bass. Time elapsed, and I brought them out again. Now my headphone amp has changed (now a Topping A90), and I'm running these with the differential output. Now I have a very different impression, and now they sound subjectively better to me than Dan Clark Aeon2 closed. I think one reason that may explain my changed perceptions is that the new setup probably has more amplifier headroom now.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
DUKELeo
1
Mar 20, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
impressive
great balance and opulent sound it produce
check
Would recommend to a friend.
NeilPeart
74
Mar 17, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Favorite Sealed Headphones So Far
The Ether CX is my favorite sealed headphones (so far). I've spent time with many of the best, including pro audio cans like the Shure SRH1540, Audio-Technica ATH-M50, Sony MDR-V6, AKG K271S, Beyer DT250, Senn HD25, etc. I also own several Fostex woodies, the Denon D7000 and E-MU Teak. I recently picked up the Aeon X and while it approaches the Ether CX it does not best it, IMO. The Ether is just too smooth and articulate, with really rich midrange and fun bass (though the Aeon X may be more accurate). They do require a powerful amplifier, but both my THX 789 and A90 were able to provide effortless results (balanced drive does help). They can sound a bit nasally with certain music so they aren't perfect, but overall they are worth the cash, in my opinion.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
PPLASEL
0
Jun 19, 2021
Denon ATH-M50?
NeilPeart
74
Jun 19, 2021
Apologies - I meant Audio-Technica, not Denon! Thanks for the correction.
Jnubbles
19
Mar 11, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not to my liking.
I've given these headphones a pretty fair shake for nearly 2 years, lots of break in and multiple sources/amplifiers but I can't get a sound out of them that I enjoy. I spent $900 on them so I really wanted them to sound good, but to me the sound is thin and it sounds like I have a high pass at 50hz. I have no idea what they spent the extra $700 on between this headset and the HE4XX, but it isn't spent on the falling apart cable (fun shopping for a replacement.. what's with the stupid connectors) or the sound quality. They have done a really good job at selling a $50 headphone for $900, have to give them credit for that. Luckily they they look really nice hanging on the stand while I listen to other, better sounding (to me), headphones.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Jnubbles
19
Apr 2, 2021
IMO 1 star would be for headphones that don't work. 3 is an average rating for average headphones, and since I am rating it subjectively (based on my sound preferences) it would be unfair to give it one star. Things don't have to be the worst if they aren't the best.
jsmiller58
777
Apr 3, 2021
Personally I like the CX, maybe not my favorite headphones, but they are an enjoyable listening experience. But I can certainly understand you, and others, disliking them or even downright hating them. Sound is an extremely personal preference, a function of music genre, recording quality, music sources, a person’s ear anatomy and hearing health, and what they are used to listening too. For example, I personally feel about the HD650/6XX the way you feel about the CX. Everyone is different!
zeusz369
10
Mar 3, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent
The Ether CX's outclass any of my other Drop headphones (HE4xx, HD 6xx). Balanced cable is perfect length and highly versatile with adapter from XLR balanced to SE (5.5mm and 3.5mm). One of the best headphones in its price class.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
AnotherVoice
111
Mar 2, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
You will be rewarded after some fiddling
Compared to my mid level Sennheiser HD6xx and Beyerdynamic 880Pro you get much more micro details in the mids but it also can sound a bit too etched and hollow sounding. However, once I applied the oratory1999 Harman EQ, the sound smoothed out nicely and made these much more listenable. I've had these for nearly a year listening to them about 8 hours a week so hopefully they burned in enough by now, but honestly, I can't tell or remember. In terms of construction, I could do without the balanced cable since I use the provided adapter for my amp and it's just a bulky weight that makes the cable even more noticeable than it already is. I didn't notice a difference in sound when I did use balanced inputs. Overall, I enjoy them for the micro-details but I was expecting more balance and refinement from such expensive headphones. Edit: Being the lazy type, I didn't bother adding the pads before my comments above, but compelled from the suggestion from MaverickAH, I added the various pads in different combinations and it helps quite a bit with the harshness but also sounds more muffled, which I guess is to be expected. I suppose it's fun if you like fiddling with your gear. I still need the EQ to get rid of the hollow sound. Despite all this fiddling I like them for all the details I get, but it's still not the end game headphones I was hoping for. I still prefer to listen to my speakers if I have a choice. My current preference is EQ with black felt pads.
(Edited)
MaverickAH
650
Mar 2, 2021
What are you using to power them? Have you played around with the tuning pads? I've found that upgrading the included cable provides immediate improvement.
AnotherVoice
111
Mar 2, 2021
I haven't tried the pad, but I just did and they help get rid of some of that harshness. Thanks. I was using the 789 AAA THX but switched to the JDS Labs so I can easily switch between headphone and speakers on my home setup.
Showing 18 of 354
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
354 OF 354 POSTS
Jun 21, 2021
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest