Drop + MrSpeakers Ether CX Closed Headphones
Drop + MrSpeakers Ether CX Closed Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
999 Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
A collaboration with MrSpeakers, a boutique shop in San Diego, California, the Ether CX closed-back headphones have a lot going for them. For one thing, they sound more like a pair of open-back headphones—clean, open, realistic, relaxed—while retaining the low sound leakage and high isolation you’d expect from closed cans Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
92
check
84%
would recommend to a friend
search
Fried_Bologna
2
Aug 9, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love these, one of my favorites
Own the HD6XX and Aeon Open X. I received them quite a few months ago and they are burned in. I am impressed with the build quality. For a closed headphone, I enjoy the sound stage and level of details. Just the right amount of bass for me.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 9, 2020
v28tec
10
Aug 7, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Headphones look amazing not heard them so far
This is a warning about how the ether cx is packaged when i received them i have had to bend the yoke to let the ear cup rotate because of bad packing to protect the headphones its all well and good putting air pockets on the sides of the box but when it gets dropped on the top or bottom it is likely to bend the yokes and make it so the headphone couldn't be warn properly
search
search

Aug 7, 2020
Apnean
7
Jul 18, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Like them!
Very clinical. Extraordinarily comfortable.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 18, 2020
floortank
10
Jun 16, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A crisp and (un)pleasant sound
I put the "(un)" in parenthesis for a very specific reason. These headphones are very neutral and very clinical feeling right from the start. There is some burn in required to really hear a lot of the nuance, but once that's achieved.. it's bad, but for all of the good reasons. Allow me to explain. These headphones, as many reviewers have noted (from my time doing research before pulling the trigger), highlight not only the type of music or sound or what have you through them, but also the method the recording was done. A good recording of something, and these cans shine above quite a few others, the closed back design in tandem with the pads providing an isolating experience, but the sound signature is a very wide, very open back sensation. The drawback to something that could sound so perfect on paper? One will hear all of the imperfections as clear as can be with nothing coloring or covering them, leading to a mildly jarring experience. As many have noted, the bass is very flat on these. When comparing to something in the Sennheiser range, or something else with planar magnetic drivers such as some Hifiman offerings, bass response is crisp and has the speed and the range that one would expect a planar magnetic to have, but what it can compare to in response with the Hifiman, it lacks in punch. Not necessarily a negative point, but it should be noted. Comfort wise, these headphones are wonderful to wear. They are a bit on the heavier side of things, so if you're used to light and airy open backs, it may take some time to adjust. The other point here is the pad material. While the pads and closed back design offer the wonderful isolation, extended periods of wear have the potential to be uncomfortable for some. Build quality? What can I say here? These headphones are well built and don't feel too fragile. On the set I received, both of the carbon fiber backs were the same level of polish with no blemish. The cable provided is.. good enough, though I'm not a snob for cables. In conclusion, if you're looking for something neutral, clinical, nearly "endgame" level monitor, this is it. If you're wanting the wide soundstage of open back headphones, but are in a place where excessive sound leaking could draw the ire of others, this is it.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Jun 16, 2020
powerlines
6
Jun 13, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Absolutely love them
They start out relatively boring and flat, but after a ton of burn in they open up and become much more lively. Extremely comfortable. I put dekoni th900 pads on them and they fit wonderfully. Master class studio monitors.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jun 13, 2020
Grennpeace
0
Aug 5, 2020
bookmark_border
I was looking for replacement pads thanks for the info!
Aug 5, 2020
TigerChan
5
Jun 9, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
not my cup of tea
sound good, but I don't like the sound signature, no bass
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Jun 9, 2020
westrom
82
Engineer
May 20, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent
Sound amazing and are quite comfortable and don’t overheat. Perfect for office setting.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
May 20, 2020
AudiofiloCH
9
May 20, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent
Beautifully detailed and very deep sound, very wide soundstage to be a closed headphone
check
Would recommend to a friend.
May 20, 2020
Griffen
2
May 20, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Got lost in the mail
But they were very good about replacing it so 4 stars for service
May 20, 2020
Bkey
78
May 31, 2020
bookmark_border
If they got lost in the mail I doubt it was there fault. I don't see a point in bumping them down a star.
May 31, 2020
verifonix
888
Aug 1, 2020
bookmark_border
4 stars is still fair
Aug 1, 2020
Instrugramm
22
May 13, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fantastic Endgame Closed-backs
I'll probably extend this review but just wanted to let people know a few things. These sound terrible out of the box, they need a lot of burn-in! Once burned in, they have great bass response, stellar imaging and impressive detail retrieval, they need however to be driven via XLR (amp output), otherwise the bass response seems sloppy and they sound a bit veiled. Give them time, leave them standard (only black foam inserted) and you'll be amazed by their competence! Ps. The more layers of foam you add, the less fine details you'll hear, that's why I d' leave them be, they're wonderfully neutral and excel at that!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
May 13, 2020
Showing 13 of 266
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
266 OF 266 POSTS
Aug 14, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest