Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
Drop SENSE75 Mechanical Keyboard
$199
$249

Drop SENSE75 Mechanical Keyboard

bookmark_border
$199
$249
Type:
Ready to Ship
·
Free Returns in USA
Members who purchase earn
597
Drop Rewards
Product Highlights:
Frequently bought together:
add
Drop SENSE75 Keyboard Plates & Foam
add
Drop SENSE75 Brass Keyboard Weight
add
Drop SENSE75 Mechanical Keyboard Knob

Customer Reviews

3.8
(104 reviews)
5star
(30)
4star
(42)
3star
(18)
2star
(7)
1star
(6)
74% would recommend to a friend
By Feature
Sound
SilentLoud
Feel
StiffFlexible
Build Quality
4.3(60)
ActivitiesPopular among reviewers
Paired SwitchPopular among reviewers
search
close
NBMTX
11
Jul 10, 2023
Activities:Work & Gaming
Paired Switch:Tactile
Keyboards Owned:2
checkVerified Buyer
Solid keyboard. (Plus...) You were/are going to mod it anyway.
Just got my Sense75 and it's still bone stock (while I wait for the other stuff to arrive or ship). Seems like a few things in particular have impacted the reception of this keyboard
  • Initial pricing (I get that)
  • Prototypes being the brunt of reviews
  • Trends regarding taste/prefs
The keyboard is solid. It's hefty, has a fairly substantial spring weight in the switches with a "bump" at the top (which isn't really a "bump", IMO). Yes it has an aluminum plate, and that means some metallic clatter ("ping?"), but I think the more general annoyance would be that the ping is more pronounced in the center of the board. On that subject, the stock forcebreak dampening seems to play into that and seemingly works, but was absent from (some of?) the prototype reviews. I'm going to throw in the brass weight and plate, and probably swap the foams during those processes (the ship dates are like months apart); and I have some PBT caps arriving very soon. But I'm happy enough with the stock profile and look, too. I'm honestly just changing it for personalization purposes and out of boredom. This keyboard gets you quality components (okay, apart from some of the foam, maybe), at a decent price, and gives you an excuse to change a few things to your liking. The knob looks good and feels good, too (I ordered a brass one of those, too). Every time I need to change the volume, I can feel my thumb ready to hit the FN key. It's amusing in an awkward muscle memory way. Oh, and the LED stuff... it's there? I only use the underglow. The frontside could be diffused better, but I use a palm rest anyway. The rest of this is just critiquing some of the critics (and/or community) I saw cover this board: Right now the trend is basically making keyboards sound like Topres, which isn't "bad", but I don't entirely get that being pushed as a universal standard for good. This keyboard is far from a Topre clad board. Why buy metal cases and plates if you don't like the sound? Why buy tactile switches if you just want to effectively lube out the tactility anyway? Why buy a custom board with modular components and then complain that you have to make use of it's modularity? I can see why some of these "issues" would maybe be a bigger deal at the initial pricing, but it seems like a lot of them lose a lot of validity at the lower pricing. I don't think the community's overemphasis on "thock" is going to last forever, but even if that's what you want, the means do so are readily available anyway.
search
Generally speaking. At the end of the day, a lot of the community straight up does not want a keyboard to be "perfect" out of the box, because it won't have that "one of a kind" appeal, and even if it is good, they're still going to mod it anyway. It's a hobby and folks want to tinker. I somewhat understand the perspective of: just because I'm going to change it, doesn't mean I should have-to, but I'd argue that you don't "have to" anyway, and even if you want to, the included components might just be handy to have on-hand for when trends change again, which seems pretty likely. (Stock)
Recommends this product? Yes
bdmike0031
17
Nov 19, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
Great keyboard
This keyboard feels incredibly premium. The attention to detail and craftsmanship is above and beyond other similar boards. The gasket flex is pretty interesting and enjoyable. The keycaps are beautiful and crisp (really, these are nice keycaps). The knob action is super satisfying. I don’t care about sound so not going to comment on that other than I don’t find the sound of this board bothersome at all. Overall I’m loving this board. Awesome purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
Linkbane
28
May 28, 2023
checkVerified Buyer
MAKE SURE TO FLASH THE KEYBOARD ASAP
I purchased the keyboard for the discounted price of $179 (more for the white version), and have been using it in place of my Realforce R2 LE variable. It feels very solid, the typing experience is comfortable, and the keycaps use quality doubleshots. I specifically chose it for being about 60% size but with F keys, and the layout is great for me; the same as the FC660 series but with an extra row above. That being said, I noticed immediately that there was something wrong with key registration. I'm a very experienced typist, usually around 170-180 wpm, and every couple of words there were switched letters, and keys wouldn't register when pressing them normally (both in 6KRO and NKRO mode). I wasn't sure if it was new switches or whatever, but after flashing the keyboard with QMK, it began functioning properly. So make sure to flash it as soon as you can. In terms of build quality for price, I'm very satisfied. However, the instructions state that "The keyboard should work out of the box", without any mentioning of flashing, only their download website to change keymaps/hotkeys. It should either be made clear that it *must* be flashed for it to work properly or have it done in production. EDIT: I have used this keyboard sparingly since purchase, and have found that flashing with VIA results in fewer/no swapped inputs compared to QMK, so it would be my recommendation instead.
(Edited)
Recommends this product? Yes
checkVerified Buyer
Incredible feel out of the box
10/10 product, great feel to the board and extremely high quality of construction, looking forward to many good years with this board
search

Recommends this product? Yes
drshade
17
Dec 3, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
Defective encoder out of the box
Encoder knob is faulty out of the box - any slight touch activates it, and the behaviour is set to "mute/unmute" - so while typing on the keyboard my audio is constantly being muted and unmuted, and of course on OSX this is even worse in that it overlays this in the centre of the screen. The fact that I've spent $350 (plus $85 on import fees) on this highly anticipated keyboard (and really my first high-end keyboard) and Drop didn't even bother to QA the encoder is a disgrace. I made a video to demonstrate the issue -> https://youtu.be/mEUPDxtgt30 After contacting Drop Support - my only solution is to return the keyboard for a replacement at my own expense, and keeping in mind I live in Europe this is not cheap, and likely means I will end up paying the import fees twice. So either I have the choice of living with an effectively broken keyboard, figuring out how to repair it, or forking out another $150-$200 to have it replaced. To say I am slightly upset is an understatement.
Recommends this product? No
drshade
17
Feb 19, 2023
drshadeAs a final note - I have had the defective keyboard replaced (after a bit of back 'n forth with support and haggling over whether I'd have to pay for shipping and customs again) - however in the end it was resolved in my favour and I now having a working keyboard. I'm not sure whether I should update my review to reflect a clean review of it (I would say 4 stars) - or whether to keep it at a 1 to reflect the quality issue I experienced.
efarkouh
26
Feb 22, 2023
drshadeI'd say give it the four and write your initial experience at the bottom and mention that you initially gave it a one. Seems like a decent experience overall given that you had a unit replaced "in your favour". I think most people really care about the product moreso than the overall experience.
checkVerified Buyer
Underwhelming
The build quality feels fine. However, the keyboard suffers from major design flaws. Couldn't fix the pinging and acoustics even with mods. Maybe a non-metal plate will help when they are released. In addition the RGB at the bottom front looks spotty like dashes instead of being a solid line across the board. I have serious concerns about the longevity of the PCB and the USB connector on your cable since the board flexes a lot. I can see my USB connector move and bend whenever I press a key in the top left corner. It could have really used a daughterboard. Maybe if they release a V2 in the future that fixes these flaws the board will be worth it but currently there are better options at this price point.
Recommends this product? No
amycs
97
Admin User
Dec 13, 2022
animaruWe appreciate you taking some time to leave a review. Thank you for your feedback/improvement suggestions.
ItsGareBear
14
Mar 24, 2023
checkVerified Buyer
Build quality is solid, a little to solid
The back plate feels heavy and nice but the sounds that you get off the keyboard are very high-pitched and not nice to my ears. The Drop DCX key caps feel pretty nice to type on but the stabilizers are very wobbly and it doesn't look like any lube was applied to the switches or stabilizers. The holy panda x switches are something I'm new to and I can't say I'm a fan. It feels somehow artificial when you press down and I feel I need to use more force than I should to get an input when typing and playing games. I have no doubt that if you really know keyboards you can make the sense 75 work, however seeing that it's a 350 - 400 dollars keyboard I feel like it should be a better all-around product than what it is.
(Edited)
Recommends this product? No
checkVerified Buyer
You have to mod it to make it decent
It was quite an adventure for me about this board. I received a first unit which was defective (an issue with the circuit around the USB port, after a first use for around 1h, the board stop responding on OSes to input while the LED was still working). I received a new unit from the support 3 weeks later (edit: and big props to them, thanks a lot), and now that i have a bit more time with the board, i'm sad to tell it is not up to the standard, especially considering the price (and i had $90 of import fee). Having several 75% keyboards (GMMK Pro w/ FlexKit, Keychron Q1, Drop CTRL), it is one the worst board (only better than the CTRL) even after modding. In stock form, the case is way too pingy, sounds a lot hollow and is a bit light. So i did a full mod treatment: Force Break, Tape Mod and Polyfill. The board is still a bit pingy when i type (but a lot less when i hit the case) and still sound a bit hollow. The flex is also very minimal. At the moment my GMMK Pro w/ FlexKit (and also full modded and with a FR4 plate) has a way better sound and has more flex. Yet i still ordered the FR4 plate and the CF plate for the Sense75 to see if it'll improve the sound. So i dont think it'll be my daily driver, especially since yesterday i ordered the Mode Sonnet that i hope will be. I hope that Drop will go back to the drawing board with a less pingy case and less hollow sound (even stock the GMMK Pro is way less pingy and hollow than the Sense75). At the moment the Sense75 is $100 too expensive (barebone or not), especially considering the competition today on this market (75%, exploded or not).
(Edited)
Recommends this product? No
AnthodevWould you rec it with it on sale for only 100?
asdasd32423Hello, at $99 it's ok, especially with the availability of the others parts like plate and weight.
Activities:Work & Gaming
Paired Switch:Tactile
Keyboards Owned:10
checkVerified Buyer
It was Great... for a few days.
Loved the board for the first few days once I finished a few mods. After about 72 hours the LEDs for the RGB underglow stopped working completely. I'd give this 4.5 stars if my PCB didn't crap out. I bought this board for the underglow aesthetics and now that doesn't even work. Hopefully Drop will make this right and I can change my review.
search

Recommends this product? No
g_stuna
7
Aug 24, 2023
ChrisCungeHey did it come with that color weight plate in the back? What type of switches can it take ? Gateron? I'm getting the board because of the undergrowth too but if it's weak by giving out so soon ... I'll into other boards
xualai
0
Sep 23, 2023
ChrisCungeI had the same issue, flashing the keyboard firmware again solved the problem.
dEta
23
Nov 15, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
the pinging ...
Going to start off with the positives. Overall the board feels fine. The stock experience (switches, stabs, caps) feel generally alright and I am currently in no rush to switch anything over from my previous board. The build quality is really solid and looks great. The knob is actually really smooth and solid. In general the board has a lot going for it, however to really bring out the quality requires some mods and know-how which in my opinion is an issue for a complete build at this price point. So far I have done:
  • force break
  • tape mod (with the now included tape piece + extra tape I added)
  • poly fill
Other things that will be needed for best experience:
  • stabs are ok but will need lube
  • going to mess with ways to smooth out the underglow (the front does not diffuse enough and is patchy)
  • Switches will need proper lube + film (although I will probably just switch in my lubed+filmed ink blacks)
So even after mods there are some issues. For me the knob button press is pretty hard, small nitpick but just something that surprised me. The underglow is really disappointing, it looks great on the sides but the led row in the front is too spaced out and does not diffuse well enough so it ends up looking really patchy (this is something I plan on messing around with to try and fix). And the worst of all is the PINGING. The metal plate used in this board is incredibly loud and so far the mods are doing nothing to remedy that. If you are on the fence to get this I would wait and watch until something is done to stop the pinging. Weather that be a mod the community finds or something drop itself releases (non-metal plate please). This board has a lot of promise and overall I'm a fan, however until the ping issue is able to be resolved there's no way I can currently recommend it. tl:dr - Solid look and ok starting feel. Very promising with mods. Pinging from metal plate is terrible and current mods have not fixed it yet. Recommend waiting until a solution is found before buying.
Recommends this product? No
I honestly don't think you can fix it. It needs a different plate. Metal ain't working with this case. I know they said fr4 first, but I'd rather pom or PC and I'd like a fricken timeline. 400 USD for this? Insane.
dEta
23
Nov 17, 2022
VashtiianWasTakenYeah after taking out the plate+pcb and trying different external ways to dampen the plates noise it definitely seems like theres no simple solution outside of a different plate. I have some ideas to test when I get the chance but as of now it seems unwinnable.
Showing 32 of 146
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order