Drop + Koss GMR-54X-ISO Gaming Headset
Drop + Koss GMR-54X-ISO Gaming Headset
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
506 Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
You don’t have to pay like the pros to play like the pros. Our latest collaboration with Koss is an audiophile-approved gaming headset with Drop-exclusive upgrades you won’t find anywhere else.
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.1
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
21
check
83%
would recommend to a friend
search
joshmakesnoise
0
Aug 18, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Stay away!
An extremely cheap feeling headset with the sound quality to match. It feels like it should cost $10 or less, and when I tested it for the first time, there was relentless popping in the earphones. I tested it on multiple devices and the problem persisted. Returned, but still awaiting my refund from Drop.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Aug 18, 2019
tchalla2
16
Aug 17, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice Gaming Headphones
No complaints from me (or my fireteams). Clear, wide soundstage, nice resolution, GREAT PRICE.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 17, 2019
JJLKalkaska
2
Aug 17, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Cheap!
I normally love Koss for their excellent quality, low cost headphones. But these are just cheap. They are made of incredibly cheap plastic, that feels like it will break at any second. They also sound muddy and muffled. The mic is next to worthless. I really can't believe that Koss put these out. They a huge step down in quality compared to any other Koss product I have owned.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Aug 17, 2019
deathlybeat
4
Aug 9, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Lightweight gaming headphones that you can take to the office!
Audio setup:
  • Mayflower Electronics Arc (Gaming)
  • MacBook Pro (Office)

Music used for this review:
  • Spaces by Yosi Horikawa
  • Tron: Legacy by Daft Punk
  • La Festin - Camille by Michael Giacchino
  • Christmas (Deluxe Special Edition) by Michael Buble <- because why not?

Games used for this review: 
  • Apex Legends
  • Rocket League

Comfort: The 54x is a very lightweight pair of headphones. I honestly forgot that I was wearing them after gaming for a couple hours. During that period, my ears didn’t sweat or get super warm. The pads do a great job of providing comfort even with glasses on and they don’t need a break in period. Headband does an excellent job balancing the weight across the top of your head. Overall, they are super comfortable for casual listening or long gaming sessions.  Design: I love the design of these headphones. When you typically see the word “gaming” on any piece of technology it screams look at me!!! These however do the complete opposite. I wore the 54x at my job and nobody could tell their “gaming” headphones.  Sound: The sound is very pleasing for extended listening and gaming sessions. The sound stage is not super narrow or wide but a nice in-between. Imaging is very good horizontally but is just okay vertically. This will cause some positioning issues in something like Apex when you are below a cliff and a team is above you. Clarity is a high point for me. I was easily able to hear the different sounds in Spaces without feeling congested which is usually a problem with closed back headphones. Bass can get punchy during some songs but it doesn’t get overwhelming. Vocals are great for this price range for males and females. Females vocalists don’t have the same “range” as male vocalists in some tracks though. This is probably due to the focus on bass. Treble is almost to the point of being sharp but its barely under that threshold. The mic quality is very clear for this price range. Your voice will have some body to it but a windscreen would definitely help with hisses.  Summary: For a $50 pair of gaming headphones that you can take to the office or game in all day, what more can you ask for? I think the 54x blow a lot of “gaming” headphones out of the water and now dominate this price range. The next step up from these would have to be the Cooler Master MH751 and they are $60 on Amazon but lack the bass that these give you. I would highly recommend these to someone on a budget that is looking for great comfort, sound quality, and can be used for an office or gaming setting. 
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 9, 2019
WooThePoo
0
Aug 13, 2019
bookmark_border
How do you compare Cooler Master MH751 to Koss GMR-54X-ISO when it comes to imaging and positional accuracy? Which headset would you prefer or recommend me to have?
Aug 13, 2019
e1543
0
Aug 16, 2019
bookmark_border
Have you ever tried the hyperx cloud stingers? If so, how do they compare?
Aug 16, 2019
SGabrielH
3
Aug 9, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very comfortable. Closed backs aren't my thing.
The Koss KPH30i has been my headphones of choice for the last six months with the KSC75s on backup and I am happy to say that Koss continues to impress me with their price to performance. On donning my new headset I was shocked by how comfortable they are! I'm so used to clampy headphones and these just gently caress your head. Seriously, top marks for comfort. They sound good, though I wish we had the option of an open back version. Closed back cans always make me hot. The boom mic sounds nice as well. It works fine for games and calls but I would never record anything meaningful with it. I think that's my main takeaway from these. I have headphones that sound better and better microphones, but this is a much more convenient package that I think will have a lasting place on my desk.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 9, 2019
twozeroseven
4
Aug 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great value, but
Context. I'm neither a gamer in the sense that most people use the word (I bought my first console a few years ago at around 40), nor am I an audiophile compared to the audiophiles on the internet (my desktop rig is a Topping D10 -> JDS Atom). Sound is solid. For me, nice things like wine and headphones are always a value proposition. My palate can distinguish between $20 / 50 / 100 bottles with relative ease, but not in a way that leads me to believe the 100 is worth the marginal cost. Likewise headphones -- I just don't see a whole lot of return once you get in the Senn 650 range of cost/performance. Yeah, I can hear the difference, but. In any event, I'm impressed with the Koss GMR. Decent imaging and clarity, not bass heavy given the closed back. Although I haven't done extensive listening yet, and haven't done A/B with my other cans, I would offer that these are likely sufficient to give someone their first taste of real headphone sound (ie., ruin their ability to listen to music on entry level gear). Tends to sound a bit warm. And while I recognize that they are not directly comparable for a number of reasons, I would pull these out over my Audio Technica ATH700 (which I use for gaming currently) almost every time. Design is, well I'm confused. I didn't look closely at the the wire setup of these before I bought in, and since I'm not a gamer maybe some people can set me straight. But I find the wired and mic setups to be not intuitive. There are two main cables included, one long one with integrated boom mic that terminated in separate mic/audio mini plugs. (There is also an adapter that the separate plugs in a TRRS single mini.) The other cable is short and has an inline mic. This design seems to be both too modular and not modular enough. Example: conceivably, the short cord is best for plugging into, say, my Xbone controller. The other cord is far too long and unwieldy for such use given you need the adapter and who wants that much cord piled in their lap anyway, etc. But when used in this way, I don't get the boom mic and I have to deal with the inline? The quality is okay, I guess, but I kinda thought the mic was a big part of a gamer's headset, and I didn't know that only people playing on PC want a boom instead of an inline. In any event, there is something I'm just straight missing. The Drop copy suggests "you can plug the boom mic into a PS4, Xbox, Nintendo Switch, or other console without hassle." What does that even mean? Literally. I mean, I can technically plug the boom mic (along with the rest of the 8' cord) into any mini jack, but that's not exactly a selling point because why would I? Bottom line. Outstanding value but design/implementation of some features is confusing.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 8, 2019
SGabrielH
3
Aug 9, 2019
bookmark_border
Glad to see someone else who appreciates a nice value and isn't just shouting about $300 headphones from the mountaintop. About the cables, I would say the cable with an inline mic is for on the go use and the boom mic cable is for PC and console gaming. Thats what the adapter is for, to connect the headset to a PS4 or Xbox controller.
Aug 9, 2019
twozeroseven
4
Aug 9, 2019
bookmark_border
Thanks. I agree with your assessment of the cable design, I just don't think it makes sense. 8' of cord, plus the adapter, seems like a bit much given the controller is never more than arm's length away while console gaming.
Aug 9, 2019
maybe
11
Aug 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Solid.
Very comfortable, which is really what I care about the most. The sound quality is acceptable, if a hair tinny. These are on the cheap side so I'm not going to hold it against them that they don't stack up to the 7-year-old $80 Bose headphones they're replacing. I would've preferred more instructions/documentation in general, but it is easy enough to intuit what metal bits go in which holes. Overall a good experience.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 8, 2019
ImacDeath
2
Aug 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awesome sound! I didn't realize, however, that the mic wasn't connected physically to the headset... I suppose it does make the headset more versatile (it can be used without the headset), but it also creates another point of failure. That said, still a great product! 4 Stars!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 8, 2019
epony
52
Aug 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Oodles of value for the money!
These really punch above the pre-sale price! I've been in the market for a new gaming headset when these had come along and I'm very happy I chose to wait for them! Lightweight, solidly built (except for the mic which feels a little flimsy), comfortable, isolate decently and the flexibility of 2 corded mics (4' inline, 8' boom) - this headset is simply above and beyond what anyone could or even should expect for less than $100, let alone sub-$50.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 8, 2019
RJSmithy
2
Aug 7, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great headphone, very light
I wanted a uniform black high-end headphone without all the flashy lights you normally see. This delivered perfectly.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 7, 2019
Showing 14 of 33
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
33 OF 33 POSTS
Aug 18, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order