Massdrop x Sennheiser HD 6XX Headphones
$218
$240

Massdrop x Sennheiser HD 6XX Headphones

bookmark_border
$218
$240
Complete Setup:
add
Drop TRRS 2.5mm Headphone Cable for Sennheiser
add
Drop Earpads for HD 6XX & 58X
check_box_outline_blank
Add Drop 3-year Warranty with Accidental Coverage (US Only) +$30.00
155.7k Sold
·
Ready to Ship
·
Free Returns in USA
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
6,204
check
97%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
pivery
40
Jul 9, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A Top-Notch Experience From Beginning To End!
From the painless ordering process to making sure that the product arrived on time professionally packaged, along with an invoice to the actual product itself - the HD 6XX - Wow! I have been listening to music for over 40 years and have never heard my music like this before. Little nuances that were never heard before come out here. Not like hearing it for the first time, but like hearing a different mix of the same song. Very impressive Drop, please give yourselves a big hand for making these beautiful headphones even more available for all to enjoy!
(Edited)
Kendawg2000
10
Jul 23, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Really great headphones!
Had these headphones for a few weeks now and must say, I absolutely love them. Compared to my ath-50xs, these are much better all around and personally, I have come to actually like the open back headphone idea. As many others say, they do not excel necessarily in any specific area but rather are good all around. I am able to max out the volume now with no limitation from my amp. If you have the money to dish out on a nice pair of headphones, I would strongly recommend giving these ones a chance!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
DLNSounds
30
Aug 3, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing for the price.
I run a mix and master business. And these are a dream for the price. I use these as my final pass on all mix and masters. I pair it with Sonarworks Reference 4 to get them flat. These are perfect and amazing price.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
WilliamxAdams
20
Aug 8, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Get every dollars worth
These are exactly as described. High end is incredible and when plugged into an amp the bass is also pretty fun! Lots of great times I’ve had wearing these for hours. It thrives in live music and jazz but hip hop also is very fun to listen to on these cranked up. Hearing sounds like they’re in my room as well, scared the heck out of me the other day hearing a door knock I thought someone was in my house! Great qualty. Exactly as advertised.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
raansire7
1410
Oct 17, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
search
search
Coming from bright headphones for so many years, I honestly and without hyperbole say that, to my ears and brain, NOTHING is lacking on the HD 6XX's sound, and NOTHING needs to be fixed or improved. They don't leave me wanting to reach for my brighter headphones, and they even reveal a lot of nuances that my pricier headphones obscure due to their high frequency sizzle. The better the DAC and amp, the better they sound. It's not a fairy tale. They do have a somewhat compressed dynamic range, so they don't hit very hard or heavy. I agree with others that they sound relaxed. They also also seem to be missing something up top in the high mids, making them sound somewhat congested, but my ears quickly get used to it. I'm a bit if a puritan, so I enjoy them as is but know that a smidge of EQ is enough to "fix" them. I've tried foibar2000's stock EQ and Equalizer APO. 2 or 3 dB of adjustment up top is enough to make them sound more correct. In the lows, the sub bass is not very apparent, but they do have bass. Some tracks slam while others pound, but this area also benefits from a sprinkle of EQ. Again, I enjoy them as is and only add EQ if that day my brain is acting weird and I need more excitement. They do not sound open, but the sound stage works with the tonality, and they have accurate imaging even if it's not ultra defined. If you like open-sounding headphones, know these sound very, VERY close to the eyes and ears. While my Denon DA-300USB doesn't have much power or current, surprisingly, it drives them enjoyably at -25 dB, and makes the aural image sound deeper and more separated. It shouldn't work based on numbers alone, but it does and it's the most enjoyable pairing to my ears. The H2 Designs MIYO makes them sound more holographic and outside the head, but still, intimate. They also sound great with the CEntrance DACport HD on high gain. Here they sound more forward and bassy with less image separation depth-wise, which is weird to me, because the DACport HD has a beastly amp and DAC section, and makes my other headphones (DT 880 600 ohm included) sing. With the Schiit Asgard 1 and 2 amps and Modius DAC, they open up more and sound wider. In my experience the HD 6XX are as scalable as people say. It's such a drastic difference. They turn into a better, more refined version of themselves. For $199, in my entire lifetime, this has to be the highest value to price ratio I've ever experienced on audio equipment. Remember the HD 650 used to be $500, and the highest end at one point. These are literally the HD 650 with a different color. The box even says HD 650. What headphones would I buy next regardless of price? I have no clue. I mean...why keep going? If I wouldn't have bought the HD 6XX last, I think I still would've reached the conclusion that regardless of price, they're on a category of their own. My ears and brain just classify them as superior headphones in terms of musical enjoyment. Do I own better headphones than the HD 6XX? Yes. Do they better the HD 6XX? No. So what is better then and why does it matter? Thanks for reading and I wish you peace! The future edits compliment the main review, but are not necessary, so you can stop reading here unless you want to keep going into deep rambles. EDIT: [November 18, 2019] A year later, I still agree with every word in this review...AND I haven't purchased any more headphones! EDIT: [January 9, 2020] I got curious about the beyerdynamic Amiron Home and decided to order them. I received them yesterday. They sound amazing, technically better than the HD 6XX, but guess what I'm wearing RIGHT NOW? I know...it's crazy! EDIT: [October 19, 2020] I received a new pair of Focal Elegia headphones a week ago. After carefully listening to the Elegia almost every day for a couple hours, I've concluded that while sounding to me literally twice as clear and revealing as the HD 6XX...it is that big of a difference, they are just too shouty and disturbing for my liking. While the HD 6XX have this pleasant, textured sound quality that has a bit of "stuffiness" and "smeariness" while still remaining revealing (in my opinion as much as needed to not really need any more), the Elegia are just too clear and loud to the point of being annoying in their delivery. I can't enjoy them as much as I've tried. They have good sub-bass but not enough slam and mid-bass, so I have to raise the volume more, and the mids and highs end up being louder than mentally comfortable for me...even if my ears are not bothered. The Elegia remind me of the shoutyness of my Sennheiser HD 630VB, which while sounding very clear, I ended up gifting away to my mailman basically brand new. Simply, the Elegia inject all of the sound into the ears without any finesse, like a really blinding light is too excessive for comfortable reading...like a sloppy tongue kiss is just too slobbery to feel right. I will keep them, but man...good sound quality doesn't matter when the sound presentation is bad. The Elegia are the clearest, airiest, most revealing headphones I've owned so far, but also of the least enjoyable...right there with the Sennheiser HD 630VB and Denon AH-D340. It has been my pleasure to own the Sennheiser HD 6XX and I wholeheartedly recommend them, as much as before. The HD 6XX/650 are in a category of their own!

EDIT: [November 9, 2020] After receiving my HIFIMAN HE 5XX last week, I noticed for the first time how dynamically-compressed, tonally-congested and flat depth-wise the HD 6XX sound in comparison. It's not a ding against the HD 6XX. By themselves, I still stand by everything I've written about them, but they do sound like two levels below the HE 5XX (whatever that means), which sound to me so effortlessly dynamic and open. For me, they have dethroned the HD 6XX in musical enjoyment factor. However, I can wear them back to back and still have a great time! My ears and brain adjust quickly! EDIT: [July 11, 2021] Last week I finally received my Schiit Magnius that I ordered back in February, and after not liking the SE output, I decided to solder a Neutrik NC4MXX-B male XLR connector to the stock HD 6XX cable with Cardas Audio Quad Eutectic Solder and try the balanced output. BINGO! The boring sound was gone. Keep in mind balanced and SE outputs should not be compared between different amps. It's apples to oranges, and a good SE amp will sound better than a bad balanced amp. I left both RCA and XLR cables connected from the Modius to the Magnius, so all I had to do was press a button to switch from SE to balanced output without disconnecting the headphones from the XLR output connector. Because the Magnius' balanced output has over 3X the power of the SE output at 300 ohm on high gain, I had to level-match by ear. Interestingly, when setting higher the SE output's volume to try to give it an advantage (louder=better psychology), the balanced output always sounded better and more pleasing to me from song to song. I couldn't avoid noticing how the highs were less dull, and imaging sounded less flat than on the SE output. It was a true audiophilic difference. This was anti-expectation bias, because I wasn't expecting any differences other than power, ha-ha. What surprised me is how the Magnius' balanced output has enough power on low gain to not need to go past 12 on the volume. It's too much on high gain for the high impedance but signal-sensitive HD 6XX. By the way, I still don't love the Magnius presentation even if the sound quality is great. The stereo image is just not wide, deep and separated like on the Schiit Asgard 1 and 2. It's accurate, but very close to the head, so now they sound very, very intimate, more than what I'm used to. It's not holographic like with my other amps, but with the extra power and imaging improvement from the Magnius' balanced output, the HD 6XX just tighten up and sound even more clear and defined, reminding me a bit of my Audeze LCD-X in terms of realness and texture. Even the bass got a weighty similarity to the planar lows, and they never sounded weighty or big to me before. I'd have to get another balanced amp to see if it's the extra power of the balanced output or the Magnius topology itself that improved the HD 6XX so much to me. It's a different kind of amp for Schiit, an uncharted territory, so possibly it pairs great with these headphones. I think so, and why should it not when the evidence is all over my ears? I also converted my HIFIMAN HE-5XX's cable to balanced, since the two Neutrik XLR connectors were lower in price by piece than buying only one, and they didn't scale up as high as the HD 6XX. They pretty much sound the same SE or balanced on the Magnius. It's a good sound, but not significant difference at all, so that was disappointing to me. OTOH, the HD 6XX really improved on what matters to me, which is definition, clarity, resolution and smoothness. I'm not an audio snob at all, but like you and many others in this hobby...or way of life, I can truly enjoy the benefits package that audio snobbery provides. It might not be necessary for overall music listening, but to me the additional refinement makes the listening experience more enjoyable when in analytical mode. It's easier to tell apart microphones, compressors, reverbs, rooms, distance, etc. in a recording. It's just more aural info I receive, the level of musical enjoyment that I like to be in, he-he. Remember I said up there in the November 9, 2020 edit of this review that the HE-5XX dethroned the HD 6XX in musical enjoyment factor for me? Well, the HD 6XX got their throne back. Everything good about them improved. Everything less good about them like the not-so-tight bass, muddiness in the lower mids, and slight darkness up top also improved. They now sound more correct to me compared to my less quirkier headphones. Even the reverb and delay tails that used to sound darker on the HD 6XX are way more apparent even when listening at lower volumes. With the Magnius' extra balanced output power and improvement in sound presentation, they now sound more pleasing than the HE-5XX. Even better, the Magnius is a super-quiet amp and has very little distortion, so I can listen to music much louder than what I'm used to. The Modius/Magnius combo is very freeing to my ears. I don't get that cerebral warning of discomfort I'm used to with my other amps regardless of volume level. So, if you seem to dislike the HD 6XX with what you currently have, maybe try getting a clean and powerful balanced DAC/amp combo. I always say it here to people, that adequate power and loud listening levels is not enough to yield the best sound quality out of the HD 6XX. Enough power is not good enough for them. In my experience, an Asgard 2 on high gain is the minimum I'd suggest to get them to sound better than impressive, even if low gain has enough power to get them deafeningly loud. EDIT: [October 5, 2021] I finally received the Sennheiser HD 8XX in late September after long months of wait and have been enjoying them a lot. To my personal likes, Drop really kicked it out of the park with the "last minute" tuning changes.
search
There they are in the background. I was a bit worried that they'd ruin the HD 6XX for me, but thank God they didn't. Although they do sound like Sennheisers to me, they don't have the textured HD 650/6XX mids and their intimate, close-mic sound that presents music with that unique fullness and completion. Whatever the HD 8XX do better than the HD 6XX, which I admit is quite noticeable and significant, is not necessary in my opinion to reach that impressive, happy place of utter enjoyment. I can take them off, put on the HD 6XX and once my brain and ears adjust in 30 to 60 seconds, still experience that same musical bliss they provided when I first heard them after unboxing them the day I received them. I know I write WAY TOO MUCH. I apologize for that! My review turned into a journey, since I've kept the HD 6XX while I've gifted away "better" headphones I've bought after them.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
raansire7
1410
Mar 10, 2021
Yeah, the HE-5XX are more lively, dynamic and playful, even if the HD 6XX sound more refined. By the way, you should treat both the HE-5XX and HD 6XX equally as DAC and amp-needy regardless of their differing impedances, because they have different driver technologies. Let me correct you: the HE-5XX can be driven by a handheld music device, but that doesn't mean they'll sound good. They'll make sound, but it's not ideal. It would be a waste of headphone in my opinion. Planars need clean power and more importantly, strong current, to sound their best. They're headphones that need the high-gain on the amp enabled (not all of them, obviously), because current, not voltage, is what makes them dance. In my experience, they need as good of a DAC and amp as the HD 6XX. Planars basically need the electricity to move their diaphragms good, like a watermill needs the constant push of a heavy, flowing body of water. A little stream is not enough regardless of its speed, because what is needed is volume. Yes, you read correctly: the 300 ohm and the 18 ohm HE-5XX both need high gain. It's why specs can't be compared universally between headphones. There are too many variables. My Audeze LCD-X, on the other hand, have an impedance of 22 ohms, more than the HE-5XX, but they are very sensitive, so much that a gnat could make them go loud. Yet, they sound completely flat and dead unless driven by a clean DAC and amp. I only need to use low-gain on the CEntrance DACport HD and a bit of volume for them to come alive and sound amazing. Big-freaking headphones with giant planar drivers yet they're very sensitive. Now CHECK THIS OUT: my Aeon Open X have an impedance of only 13 ohms, yet they max out the volume on the DACport HD without even getting uncomfortably loud. They sound muffled, dull and lifeless, too. 13 OHMS!!! Once I enable the high-gain with just a bit of volume knob, they come to life as if cotton was removed from my inner ears, sounding 3D and with lots of clarity. You are correct in assuming that the higher the impedance of headphones, the lower the noise floor is moved compared to the signal, but it's on similar dynamic drivers. Planars behave differently and low impedance doesn't mean high sensitivity. It's why IEMs need low gain and clean power, because their low impedance combined with their high sensitivity allows them to show the most minimal noise in the signal chain. EDIT: Regarding why the HD 6XX were designed to have such high impedance, it's for better driver control and less distortion compared to those same drivers had low impedance. They were intended to be driven by high-quality, powerful equipment, and not by portable devices with noisy DACs and weak amplifiers like most consumer products have. If you check the DT series beyerdynamic headphones, the company designated the 32 ohm models for portable devices, the 250 ohm for pro-audio applications and the 600 ohm for audiophile equipment.
(Edited)
ARaudio
34
Mar 10, 2021
Thank you very much for your explanation.
TheFieryHaze
73
Apr 6, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
[I'll keep this part short because the rest of the review's pretty long. If you're thinking of getting or holding back on buying the 6XX, I'd recommend getting them. They're pretty amazing. 👍]
I'll start this review by saying that I'm not at all an expert at audio with dozens of headphones and dacs and amps lying around to test with. I'm just a dude with two headphones, a Magni 3 amp, and a Topping D30 dac. Actually, I've been running the 6XX off just the headphone jack for about 5 months now. But I can tell when something sounds good and these, of course, sound good. However, I can't say that you'll agree with me or any other review out there, so take everything you hear with a grain of salt and keep in mind what you want in a pair of headphones.
Now I'll be honest, I expected a spectacular, night-to-day difference between these $200 headphones and my other broken $20 bluetooth headphones. When I first listened through these, I wasn't as impressed as I had hoped. But that doesn't mean they're bad at all, I was just still adapted to my older, closed-back cans. What I do remember was thinking how much clearer everything sounded. Everything just sounded clearer and better, with all the little details standing out.
As I listened through these more and more, I started to get a feel for the nicer sound and clarity of the 6XX. All the frequencies sounded nice when listening, but I particularly liked how these had a more controlled bass than my old headphones. I almost always listen to electronic music, but I've found that I prefer cleaner bass over really powerful bass (I'm not all into kicks that make your head feel like exploding all the time, but I still enjoy a hard kick when appropriate). I think that these can deliver bass with just the right amount of power while remaining clear and sharp. And when listening to or making music, being able to hear the sub bass and other minor details in songs is a blessing.
As I write this, I realize that the review is probably getting long and boring. So I'll just list out some other things I've noticed: -Comfortable. They're light with soft pads. Your ears won't burn up while listening for long times due to the open grills and big pads that your ears go inside instead of being on the pads. -Open-back. You may like this or not, but I like the music being wide and spacious. I also like being able to hear outside noises while listening to music. -Packaging. Comes in a really high quality box with soft foam. I use the box to store my headphones a lot. -Shipping. These came almost two months before the expected delivery and they came safely. Nice. -Everything else. Cable length is great for me. Included adapter is also very nice. I also like how the cables are detachable and the headphones can be taken apart easily.
If you actually read through the whole review, that's pretty cool (you deserve something but I don't have anything to give so sorry lol). I'll just end it here by recommending the 6XX for how great they are. For the price, I do feel like I'm getting very high quality sound and premium build quality. Thanks Massdrop and Sennheiser for this product!
harry501
9
Apr 19, 2019
Hi, I personally think burn in is a myth, but i don't disrespect anyone who feels it helps. My problem though is if it IS real... are the manufacturers selling the sound out of the box or the sound that may change over time? Your review sites which some retailers rely on to sell their products are giving feedback on the out of box experience remember, not the experience after 100 hours. So should we ignore the big tech sites giving their reviews on new gear? If burn in is real, it won't be selective... it would be across the board. Also, I've many pairs out the box that are far too bright with terrible sibilance. Over time i think to myself it's either gone or become a lot less fatiguing... but if i leave them for a while and go back to them it's the same terrible sibilance. i truly believe it's brain burn in and getting used to them. I have over 120 IEMs/HPs... I've never yet been convinced on burn in. Three times I've been able to blind test and got no proof (while others swore the sound changed). In each case i gave the older set 50-100 hrs before blind testing with a new set. I heard not even a slight change.
bristone
1
May 13, 2020
i've not really experienced proof of 'burn in' either, but to each his own. Curious @harry501 of all the headphones you own, which are you favorite(s)? I own these Senn. HD6XX, Beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO, and some old Grado SR60's, as well as some other smaller/cheaper Senn's and Koss varieties. Of the two nicer sets - the HD6XX and DT990's - i find the high end/treble to be a bit too bright & fatiguing on both. But i find the DT990s to be more comfortable & enjoyable in general, perhaps due to my large head ;) Not sure if it's just my ears' sensitivity to the trebles, but could you recommend other headphones in this price range that may not be so fatiguing?
shenan24
223
Apr 5, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Probably the best headphones you can buy at $200
if you are looking for an enjoyable headphone. One that is pleasant and pleasing to listen to after a long day at work, just get a pair of these. I have had mine since the end of 2016. I was able to jump into the original drop of the HD6xx. I have bought several other headphones throughout this time and I always ended up with these. the 6xx lacks quantity in bass, but it does not lack quality. it has enough for genres like Jazz, not enough for other genres though. I am currently powering my 6xx through the Massdrop Liquid Carbon and it just such a beautiful pairing. There is zero fatigue. the liquid carbon adds a bit of umph on the bass too. these are great headphones for vocals. Male & female After almost 3 years of buying and selling headphones, these are still sitting on my desk, because I have not found a better value than these anywhere
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Metroid
130
Apr 6, 2019
Since I'm not a verified owner here because I don't live in the USA, so I had to use a freight forwarder to buy for me, having said that, my first impression coming from the Denon AH-D2000 and AH-D5000 is, the hd6xx is very loud if an amplifier is used, as the Denons are 25ohm, I myself got used to an amazing clear and yet not loud sound on the Denons I mentioned. Regarding impedance, note that the hd6xx is 300ohm, so, on my tests, at 0ohm to 64ohm the hd6xx lacks detail and everything else that the Denons have to spare as the hd6xx was not meant to be driven around this level, at 64 ohm to 300ohm is what the hd6xx really starts being detailed but as far as I can tell, it is unbearable to listen to on volume 100, you will get deaf if you do, to able to listen to this without getting deaf I had to reduce 30db on foobar 2000, at 300ohm to 600ohm is a just a tad higher but the loudness is not as unbearable as from 64ohm to 300ohm, I would recommend to listen to the hd6xx at 300ohm to 600ohm because that is where is very detailed with a rich sound all around and do not forget to reduce the volume, at 0ohm to 64ohm it does not need to reduce the volume, from 64ohm to 300ohm the volume needs at least 30db to be reduced, from 300ohm to 600ohm 35db. The first 30 minutes listening to it gave me a terrible headache, they are too loud on volume at 100, and even if you listen to it for few seconds, it makes your ears to bleed. I used it always on equalizer off, hi-fi mode, so nothing to contradict my ears. For now lets say that the Denon AH-D5000 is better than the Sennheiser HD6xx by how much will depend on how it will sound on my ears, lets see if the burn-in time makes any difference, it did on my Denons. This review will be updated as it goes.
(Edited)
MeowMeow40hours
0
Apr 12, 2019
watbot a Violist?
alitomr
49
Apr 6, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
One word for these headphones: WONDERFUL.
I owned a pair of HD650 back in 2008, in a period where I tried a lot of audiophile grade headphones. The HD650 were by far, my favorite.
In my search for audio nirvana (not really, I was just trying a lot of stuff), even loving my HD650 so much as I did (to the point that I was anxious to get home, to relax and listen to music through them), I sold them in order to keep buying and trying more stuff. I missed them since day one. I should not have sold them.
At that moment the budget did not allow for a solid headphone amp to pair with the HD650, but I had a portable headphone amp that I think is not manufactured anymore, the Headphonia Lyrix DAC-AMP. It was great. I always wanted to try these incredible headphones with something up to the task of properly driving them, making them shine, because most experienced users told me that I was missing out. A couple years ago I decided to buy the HD600 and I paired it with th Schiit Stack. It was terrific, truly great, andthen I upgraded to the Valhalla 2 and it was even better. Even like that, I felt by memory that I enjoyed the HD650 more, and was determined to get one. I had a very clear idea of what I would consider better sound in the HD600: the voices sometimes were overwhelming and the soundstage was very tight. ThenFound out about massdrop HD6XX and decided it was THE time to get it.
WOW. I have a gaming setup with lots of cables and in the center there is the HD600 with the modmic 4.0. Even as great as it is, to listen to music and relax I always grab the HD6XX. It is the HD600 with all the detail and even more, but voices are more laid back, and the sound stage is amazing. Amazing doesnt mean artificially big. You close your eyes and usually can feel you are in the middle of a great bad playing live in your living room.
200 for these HD6XX, 389 for the Valhalla and 150 for the modi 2 uber and you in for a treat and one that would require a lot more money to improve just a bit. An answer for a question that keeps being asked: The extra money for the Valhalla 2, is worth it? It is three times the magni 3 and it is not three times the sound, but it is worth it IMHO.
One important thing about another question that keeps being asked: any of the HD600s sound very nice out of a headphone jack. Sometimes I sit down and plug the hd600 directly to the mixamp pro (which has the output of many portable devices), and the sound is very good. To get greatness from the headphone you need an amp, and believe me, it has almost nothing to do with sound levels. An amp provides a lot more than that.
Grab one and be delighted.
Anthonyedc
3
Jan 7, 2019
I use a McIntosh amp , 2 elac f6 towers a emotiva dac/amp and also my turntables forget the name . But I still love the ermissiveness my cans give.
LuckyLuke575
554
Mar 9, 2019
Great story and review. After listening to my HD6XXs for the first time, I just thought that if I was to only own one pair of headphones in my whole life, these are the pair. Definitely agree on the point about the amp, these headphones really improve a lot with a decent amp/dac.
tengu212
24
Dec 22, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
For accuracy and convenience, 6XX are the best value in headphones
So for my first audiophile-grade headphones I bought the HE4XX, which was really impressive. There was a manufacturing defect, however, and I had to return them. Instead of getting another pair, the recent 6XX sale caught my attention and indecision got the best of me. Out of the box, the 6XX sounds much more accurate than the HE4XX without an amp or EQ. Contrary to what just about everyone will tell you, a high-power amp makes absolutely no difference in sound quality for these headphones (yes, even tubes), and will yield only marginal differences that can be reproduced with different pads, EQ, etc. The optional Drop 6XX pads (I chose perforated leather) are more convenient than the stock velour if you have cats or don't like picking off lint. It'll change the sound pretty dramatically, however. The change in mids is negligible, so if you crave a sub bass/mid bass boost, you can use the pads and boost the treble with EQ so it doesn't sound so dark (you cannot EQ bass too much or it will cause distortion). You will lose a very small amount of detail by doing this, and the legendary HD 650 timbre these headphones are known for. That said, you can get pretty close. Leather pads won't collect sweat like velour, but be warned that the foam on the headband always will. Also, you should know that the cable included is durable, but if you don't use it at a desk, it could be a little unwieldy and annoying due to its length. The 58X, based off the HD 580 and also offered here on Drop, are slightly more dynamic and have more sub bass than the 6XX, except they lose a small amount of treble detail and soundstage in exchange. The less small soundstage on 6XX means instrument separation is better, however imaging overall is going to be slightly less accurate (for most this shouldn't matter). Although they sound arguably too similar to justify spending more on the 6XX, I'm really glad I settled on them over 58X since the claim that 58X are the better choice when you don't have an amp is really nonsense nowadays considering the amps available in post-2016 phones and computers. Near max volume, anyone who wants to damage their hearing should be able to do it freely and without issue. To me, 6XX sounds more natural than the 58X, looks better, and are more comfortable with less clamp out of the box. The consensus should be that instead of buying a 58X when you don't have an amp, buy the 6XX for just a little more. If you do have an amp, and don't mind using EQ, then HE4XX are simply the best value in headphones today. While they can be too bright at times, this is easily remedied with foam inserts or EQ. At its full potential, HE4XX have better soundstage, better comfort, and being a planar magnetic that responds well to equalizing, are more versatile than the 6XX. Like oluv says, something like the Earstudio ES100 is enough to power them, which thankfully has an equalizer built in. I highly recommend his settings for a flat response that rivals the 6XX and much more expensive headphones (search oluv's gadgets and HE4XX for EQ settings in the video description of his youtube review). After my experience with them, I'll probably buy another HE4XX down the road. But if you live in 2020 and just want the most accurate, no-fuss headphones you can plug directly into your devices, this is going to be your bag. At the time of writing this, you'd have to spend $600 to 700+ on the Focal Elex if you're looking to surpass it in that regard (HD 600 aside). Everyone who uses headphones should own one if only to experience how your favorite music and digital content were meant to be heard, and at the best value around.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Machinshin
25
Dec 25, 2019
I cant really agree with you that they dont benefit from a good dac/amp. I used to only use my galaxy s8+ or my yamaha reciever to drive mine. When I finally ordered my nx4, even without the bass boost, the sound got much "fuller" maybe abit smoother aswell. And I can really punish the headphones with super high volume and bass boost without any kind of distortion at all. Cant say I got nearly the same result soundwise from the 2 other dac/amps Ive used, be them of inferior quality.
Brutus64
40
Dec 25, 2019
Oh, they do benefit. I have the JDS LABS Atom and El Dac combo. My buying days are over. The combo powers the 6xx, 4xx, and dt 770s. My needs have been met. Although, I've been wanting a DarkVoice in for ever. It'll have to be a slamming deal before I pull the trigger on that. Happy listening.
Miguel777
22
Sep 10, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
If you planning to use freight forwarding, don't order yet.
Check first if your local Sennheiser store is accepting warranty because you'll be on your own:
search


For those from Philippines, Sennheiser is not accepting the warranty based from my queries.
search
search
I believe the warranty is part of the product itself and I can't use it (scammy). My unit came with a dead left driver and that's ~300usd down the drain for me. Obviously, I wouldn't recommend it and if I have to base this review on the sound itself then it sound horrible because only one side is working.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
younawolf
13
Sep 28, 2021
ITS A CABLE ISSUE
solid-snake
9
Jan 5, 2022
Is it could be. Or the driver is just bad.
Showing 115 of 7295
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order