Massdrop x Meze 99 Noir Closed-Back Headphones
Massdrop x Meze 99 Noir Closed-Back Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
4k Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
A regular fixture on InnerFidelity’s Wall of Fame, PC Magazine’s Editors’ Choice section, and award lists around the world, the 99 Classics get a dark new look in the 99 Noir. Made in collaboration with Meze Audio, these headphones update the original medium-brown finish with a deep matte espresso and swap the gold hardware for more understated black Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
337
check
90%
would recommend to a friend
search
Mothra
0
Aug 11, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A host of issues with the connection ports. Audio dropping out.
I've had a lot of issues with the cable, and the connection point where the cable connects to the headphones. About 3 months after getting these headphones, one side just dropped out entirely. I was able to diagnose that as a problem with the cable itself (by switching sides, etc), and was able to have Meze replace the cable. They were prompt and got the new cable shipped quickly. Then, about a month ago (8 months in), both sides dropped out (one, then the other a few days later). I was able to diagnose that this wasn't the cable, but the headphones themselves - if you put a little piece of paper under the connector point, it pushes the cable against the headphones slightly, and this restores the sound. So it's the port that has the problem. I now have to see if they'll replace the headphones, which is frustrating. I like the look and color of these, and the sound is decent, but I would not go with a Meze product in the future. Certainly not at this price range.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Aug 11, 2020
MightyBoot
1
Aug 7, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Got these as a replacement for my 99 Classics. So i basically knew they were going to sound great. the biggest thing is that these look better than the classics in my opinion.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 7, 2020
SYSTEM-GLITCH
125
Aug 3, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I am in love with these headphones
I bought these a couple years ago now. These are the best headphones I have ever used for extended periods of time. Sound quality is great. The comfort is great. They are lightweight and beautiful to behold. I would recommend these to anyone who asks about them. Best $200 I ever spent.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 3, 2020
mspk
33
Jul 30, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice cans.
Solid build quality. Fun pair of cans with good audio performance.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 30, 2020
Jojobeardface
2
Jul 28, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Really great audiophile cans
These are honestly fantastic. Full disclosure not an expert, but these have a great neutral sound that I enjoy. The build quality is top notch, no rattle or squeaks. The only reason I took one star (should be half a star honestly) off is the headband. The leather is nice and soft, but with glasses and a bald head it can get uncomfortable in longer sessions. Would like some more padding on the band or maybe a passthrough for glasses arms.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Jul 28, 2020
Jojobeardface
2
Aug 2, 2020
bookmark_border
I appreciate the info about the pads, but I think you misunderstood my point (maybe because I got autocorrected bald to half). My main (again small) issue is with the headband. As a guy with no hair, the pressure and lack of padding in the headband can get to be a bit much. The ear pads are a minor thing that I just always ask of every headphone maker (gaming headphones have figured this out). Again, I would recommend these every day and twice on Sundays. Great cans.
Aug 2, 2020
AudioJet
288
Aug 2, 2020
bookmark_border
That makes more sense. Thanks
Aug 2, 2020
lnconel
28
Jul 28, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very impressed
Love these headphones. Clear highs, decent thumpy clean bass. Slightly v shaped. Nice fit and finish. Pads a bit small for my ears creating a hotspot. I still highly recommend especially if on sale.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 28, 2020
fxxr
2
Jul 26, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great, if they fit
Soooo, I'm really torn about these. They sound fantastic. Exactly what I wanted. Especially with the small pads. But everything is just too small. The pads are too small (both pairs). You can try to fix that with 3rd party pads, like the Shure ones. But then, the headband is just not big enough. It puts too much pressure on my head. I didn't want to experiment and break anything, so I just returned them. Thanks Drop for making this so easy. Saddest return ever. If they fit, I think you'll enjoy them, which is why I'm gonna still give them 4 stars. But they were just not for me.
Jul 26, 2020
claphands
1
Jul 22, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great sound, but one ear has died
Loved the sound (fun sound), the design (good look), and the relative isolation of the closed style, but about a year and a half in now: the driver in one ear is dying and getting close to dead. I liked them enough to buy one for a friend less than a month ago: if I realized there were such quality issues I probably wouldn't have bought a second pair.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Jul 22, 2020
SpacedCadet
4
Jul 21, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Pretty Swell
Came with a small dent on the cup but Drop compensated me for it. Pretty good sounds. Especially in the bass. Great extension and forceful impact. Soundstage is meh but you dont buy these for detail or width.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 21, 2020
SpacedCadet
4
Jul 30, 2020
bookmark_border
For the BASS bro!
Jul 30, 2020
Gonza
29
Jul 30, 2020
bookmark_border
🤣🤣🤣🤣🥂🧨
Jul 30, 2020
jer164
0
Jul 14, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fantastic "Fun" Headphones
I bought these to put in rotation with my Grado Sr80es, and they offer a really nice contrast in soundstage and utility. These are great for music with a deep lower-end, and don't bleed into the midrange or overcompensate on the treble. You may want to EQ them at first because the treble can be crisp, but I've noticed with some burn-in it improved (which means either I adjusted or the headphones did). Overall, well worth the money, especially since it comes with a really sturdy carrying case and are pretty much plug-and-play.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 14, 2020
Showing 16 of 621
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
621 OF 621 POSTS
Aug 12, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest