Massdrop x Oblotzky SA Oblivion Custom Keycap Set
Massdrop x Oblotzky SA Oblivion Custom Keycap Set
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
4.6k Sold
Product Description
Based on the color scheme of the same name used by many programmers, the SA Oblivion custom keycap set will hold a soft spot in the hearts of coders and those who appreciate a unique colorway. Styled in light gray with slightly beige legends, the alphas are understated and sleek Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
13
search
seabrookmx
3
Feb 14, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
TL;DR - These caps are gorgeous but the quality could be better. They fit very loose on the stems of multiple boards I have (especially the stabilizers). I've had to cram plastic wrap in the holes to act as a shim, and given the price of these caps I'm not really impressed with that. The caps are also quite thin. I understand they're ABS so they won't have the same feel as something like PBT but they feel cheap to me even for ABS caps. The finish on them feels less premium than the stock ABS caps you'd find on a budget board like a QFR. Lastly (and this is no fault of the caps, but is my fault for not trying some SA caps before ordering) I find the caps quite tall and I need a really thick wrist wrest to type comfortably. Compound the tall caps with the bad stem fitment and the keys feel extremely wobbly. I've decided to put these on my least-favourite board and toss them on my bookshelf as more of a showpiece because they look so good.. but I'm not typing this review on them for a reason. Not my cup of tea.
Feb 14, 2019
internetparty
122
Feb 27, 2019
bookmark_border
Do you want to get rid of them? I'm looking for alphas and assembly and I'll pay a premium: /u/porkchopsandwiches
Feb 27, 2019
duncanyoyo1
19
Oct 20, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I am very happy with these keys and I am glad I was able to get in on the drop. They look awesome and are awesome to type on as well.
All the caps I received were in great shape. All the legends are very nicely centered and the keys are all the same shape. The edges of most of the keys were very clean and only required a light touch-up.
I grabbed the Oblivion Alphas and the Monochrome Modifieres to kit out a TKL/75% board.
Everything included worked out great. I have a set of artisans on the arrow keys and I use the up and down keys as Page Up and Page Down as they are the right profile for where they are on the board. Everything else used the proper caps.
Oct 20, 2018
VinS
139
Jul 22, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
search

Design: 4.5 I like the idea of Oblotzky, especially about making keycaps from some coders' theme, except assembly kit and some other kits don't have traditional legends but only "add sub mul div..." Final design is not perfect to my taste but I respect his idea.
Offered kits: 5 I got some plan to make some vintage-looking keyboard, and there are not many keycap sets which offer minila kits, extension kits are also good, so I decided to buy them to use for my display collection and other plans.
Color: 4 A bit lighter gray modifiers and legends, and a bit darker red keys than I expected, but overall they are pretty close to rendered images. SP did a good job.
(The picture above looks a little yellowish because of late afternoon sunlight, I didn't adjust any color balance or brightness, just reduced and cut its size.)
Quality: 3 I think they are usual SP grade. I got some foggy coating marks on some modifiers, most alphas are very good except my "U" key has a weird orange plastic or paint dust. Not perfect, overall very good, but in consideration of the price, I can give only 3 out of 5.
Conclusion: 4 Before I make the right keyboard for these keycaps, I can't find out how these beautiful things will shine with it. I want to see next versions of these keycaps no matter how long it takes. I am happy to see some great ideas become real.
Thanks to SP did a good job although they need improving their tools and QC, Massdrop also did a good job, I appreciate they made this drop happen, and I want to thank James C. who helped me change my shipping address right before the shipping started.
(If anyone work in Massdrop read this, please send my regard to James C., but he might not remember who I am.)
And thank you very much, Oblotzky. Please continue making awesome keycaps!
search
Jul 22, 2018
H0r1z0n
2
Jul 14, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Looks stunning and feels great, my Leopold FC750R never looked so beautiful. Well worth the wait!
Jul 14, 2018
SpecTP
120
Jul 13, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I had no QC issues. The key caps look great.
search
Keycaps on Novatouch keyboard
Jul 13, 2018
control
558
Jul 1, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I ordered the monochrome kits and the greys and the SpaceCadet and Honeywell accent keys are just delicious! I'm so glad I went all in and even got the rarer monochrome kits.
The reason I'm deducting a star is because of a missing key and quality control issues.
Upon inspection I noticed a key from the GD & WFK spacekeys kit missing and a double of one of the other keys. Two other keys from other kits had scratches/molding errors and would've been better suited for grab bags. Support has been contacted and I hope to receive replacement keys.
EDIT: Massdrop support was *very* quick in handling the matter! Two weeks later and I've already gotten the tracking number for the package with my replacement keys. Adding a star for a full 5/5.
Jul 1, 2018
yroeht
4
Jul 1, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great keyset! The contrast of the red text on dark background of some of the keys in Assembly and Git sets is a bit underwhelming, but not a major issue. I also did something a bit wrong and ordered the Git Extension but not the Git Modifiers... oh well, time for some trading I guess..
There is a problem with the Z of my Hagoromo Alphas , see picture. This is not a hair, it is part of the keycap.
search
Edit: a replacement Z keycap has been delivered. Great support, I am changing my review from 4/5 to 5/5.
Jul 1, 2018
control
558
Jul 13, 2018
bookmark_border
Contact Massdrop support regarding the Z key! They helped me out with replacements and were very quick about it.
Jul 13, 2018
yroeht
4
Aug 4, 2018
bookmark_border
Thank you for the suggestion. I had little hope,but they replaced it quickly with no questions asked.
Aug 4, 2018
ipetrovski
7
Jun 28, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
worth the wait!
search
Jun 28, 2018
DataWarrior
95
Admin User
Jun 29, 2018
bookmark_border
I would say. Where did you buy the case?
Jun 29, 2018
ipetrovski
7
Jul 2, 2018
bookmark_border
Made it myself.
Jul 2, 2018
Cyphre
2580
Jun 26, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
search
Another gorgeous set. Since I had SA Oblivion handy, I installed it on the TKC1800 I just built.
Jun 26, 2018
monkeyface920
12
Jun 23, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This drop was exellent. Came on time, high quality cap and a classy design that look as expected. Makes my MF-108 even heavier and with a deeper sound.
search

search
Jun 23, 2018
MeMeBigBoy
105
Jun 25, 2018
bookmark_border
So mad at myself for not seeing this drop in time when it came on, these keycaps look amazing!
Jun 25, 2018
control
558
Jul 13, 2018
bookmark_border
I didn't opt in for those community keycaps, but I have to admit that they look damn gorgeous on your build!
Jul 13, 2018
Showing 17 of 22
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
22 OF 22 POSTS
Dec 9, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest