shopping_cart
xDuoo TA-30 Tube DAC/Amp
$599
$710

xDuoo TA-30 Tube DAC/Amp

bookmark_border
$599
$710
78 Sold
Ready to ship
Product Description
Audiophiles in search of an all-in-one DAC/amp that doesn’t skimp on specs will find a strong candidate in the xDuoo TA-30 Tube DAC/Amp. The TA-30 is equipped with an ESS ES9038Q2M DAC and a headphone amplifier that can output an impressive 3000 milliwatts at 32 ohms—enough to drive the most demanding headphones Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
15
check
92%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Tville
0
Sep 18, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
All media in one DAC & tube amp.
Very impressive and noticeable improvement in sound for different inputs.(optical, Bluetooth, RCA). Adds warmth to digital media.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Rebelscum13
1
May 28, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This thing is a beast
Absolutely insane amount of power. Sounds wonderful.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Robwi
12
Apr 6, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It sounded great after tube replacement
It really sounded fantastic after I replaced the stock 12AU7 tubes with Mullards. But there was a lot of confusion over whether this was a headphone / pre-amp device. Information was wrong, vague or misleading. Finally it was determined that the volume control was designed only to control the the headphone jack on the front. If you wanted to use this as a preamp, volume could only be controlled by your computer. Not acceptable to me, so I returned it. So, if you want to use this as a headphone amp only - Highly recommended.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
search
search
search
search
For amps, I’ve been using the THX 789 solid state and I’ve tried the Jotunheim 2. And way long ago I used the Darkvoice tube amp (and quickly returned it). After using the 789 most of the time now, and trying a newly bought TA-30, I find myself preferring to use the TA-30 - particularly when switching out the tubes with:
  • Mullard 12AU7 tubes
  • Jan CHS 5931 rectifier
Not only do I still retain much of the resolution I would have sought out in the 789, I have gained a greater sense of impact, reverb, decay, and a generally bigger sense of natural presence to my music with the TA-30. At first, I preferred the TA-30 only with my HD800 S, rather than playing the 800 S off of my THX 789, but now I also find myself preferring the Hifiman HE6SE V2 off of the TA-30 (and the HE6SE is notoriously difficult to power)! The TA-30 sometimes needs to be turned to the max for the HE6SE to be loud enough (particularly for classical music), but this tube amp does indeed get loud enough to be very enjoyable. I wouldn’t really want to go any louder actually. And for the rest of the headphones you could possibly plug into the TA-30, all being easier to power than the HE6SE, there is always plenty of headroom left over. Just about the only things I have that I prefer to go back to the THX 789 for may be my Clairvoyance IEM’s, and I could still really enjoy them off the tube amp! I would just recommend socket savers from tube monger if you do this, since they have silicone inside to absorb micro phonics - maybe a must for sensitive earphones/headphones. I got the TA-30 when it was priced at $525 (currently it is $599 at time of writing), and I would totally recommend the product at either price or actually full price. The only other thing I would mention is that I’m running the TA-30 from my Schiit Bifrost DAC. It’s not a world of difference from the already very capable built in DAC inside the TA-30, but I do prefer the sound of the TA-30 when using the Bifrost 2 as my DAC. Oh, and the form factor is actually surprisingly smaller than I imagined. It has a thin profile on the desk and fits nicely next to anything else you may have going on.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
MLaff
24
Sep 23, 2021
I'm trying to purchase the large rectifier tube however I'm a tad lost. IS there anyway you can put the link up for this item that you referenced in your review? I'd be eternally grateful. Mike
This is the exact one I ordered. https://etsy.me/3AJHylC You may need to look around for another rectifier with similar identifiers or model numbering.
Purpleknight
15
Mar 2, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I'm very happy with the product! (edit: I'm somewhat happy with the product)
I'm newer to the audiophile community, and in fact, this is my first dac/and or amp I've ever purchased. The product works very easily without hassle, and this is especially helpful considering my skill level. The built in Bluetooth is great too, you can pipe a smart TV or your laptop straight to the dac without having to connect cords (which you can also do if you'd like). Overall, as a newbie looking for an all in one that covers all my bases, I'm very happy. If your new like me, I would highly recommend this product. Edit Now that I've had the devices for over half a year I can say that I enjoy just another everything about the device, other than the fact that my ta-30 has had repeated issues. I had an issue with the rectifier socket, where something in the circuit had to be repaired. Cost me $150. Both the ornamental LEDs that sit in the sockets of the small tube have gone out, or are slowly beginning to to flicker off. These issues do not make me happy, and what's worse, both drop and xduoo won't provide any assistance. It could be the high temperature the machine runs at causing issues with the pcb boards, but it's still frustrating, because I haven't even had the device for a year and I'm dealing with these issues, and there appears to be no help for a customer who buys it.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Ash256
15
Oct 10, 2021
I do consistently. Its excellent
Ash256
15
Oct 10, 2021
There is no doubt its the temperature the TA-30 runs probably twice as hot as my Darkvoice. I'm sure with me ventilation it would last longer in the design. If you run this amp I'd recommend running a fan in the room it dramatically drops the temperature of the amp. I think with SO much in the package there's no way unless with more ventilation that it won't cook itself to death.
Jkay064
14
Feb 26, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Unfortunately Drop’s warehouse sent me a 220 volt unit for use in the USA so they agreed to take it back but were unable to ship a replacement 120 volt unit. I am looking forward to the next drop so I can have a proper unit type. I could see that although the box had “220v” printed on it at the factory, a Drop employee had stuck a “Drop 120v” inventory sticker onto it. Too bad.
(Edited)
Phobang
35
Feb 12, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
10 times better than my old Little Dot MKII
Luscious tubey sound and generates a ton of power. I'm using 58x's and I can't move the volume knob past 7 o' clock or it's too loud. This amp is meant for hard to drive cans and I'm hesitant to plug IEMs in them. The stock tubes are made in China and they sound fine, but I went and bought a pair of reissue Mullard 12AU7 tubes for better sound stage. Like most audiophile products, I can't tell the difference in sound quality between the DAC filters. It does generate a lot of heat, but it's just a notch more than my Little Dot MKII and not as much as you may think judging from the Z Review. The fit and finish are beautiful and clean and it came very well packaged. I'm not a sound professional, but compared to my Little Dot MKII treble sounds way better. On the Little Dot MKII treble is present but the tube sound rounds it out too much. On this amp the treble has better definition (I can hear the drummer strike the cymbals). I can also hear other details I didn't hear before on my Little Dot. The bass is thumpy without being muddy. I tried this amp with my HE4xx and they don't sound as good. All my music sounds shallow and distant. Maybe it's because those are planars. Would definitely recommend. Update: I ordered a pair of Sennheiser 660s and these are now my go to pair of cans for this tube amp. I no longer use the Jubilee 58x not because they are bad -- they are quite good -- but because the 660s are fantastic on this amp. I also swapped the driver tube for a Russian one, but I can't tell too much difference.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Yossi19
12
Jan 22, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very powerful but warm sound
search
I pairing with my quad era 1 planar headphones and ultrasone signature pro. I use with fiio m11 pro as a source. I can't over 9 o'clock point with both headphones. No doubt the most powerful headphones amp that i heard. Excellent dac built in. The bass very fast and dynamic mid sound great especially with the quad the high sound like a calss a amp note as tube amp. Overall i am very satisfied from this amp dac
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Doccorless
1
Aug 15, 2021
Thanks man. That's a great help
Yossi19
12
Aug 19, 2021
You very Welcome
Ash256
15
Jan 11, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Its so warm and tuby its everything you could want from a hybrid tube setup. It sounds INCREDIBLE with 6XX's, Grados, ZMF's [this is a must buy] and KPH30i's it just a smooth machine its just oooozes liquid gold from that headphone port. and its got a DAC passthrough and bluetooth its just so much for the money I can't not recommend it and at 3watts at 32ohms it just slays those low impedance hard to drive planars. I'm thinking of GL2000 [Double sided version] and this end game. Edit: Long term review time I think so... : I swapped all the tubes... Then went back to the original rectifier cause that original rectifier really gives that smooth sound I love from this amp. The speed I got from my reflector rectifier tube was nutty so this amp is extremely capable and I can see why the designers chose this pairing. The driver tubes I changed to a pair of E80CC Tungsram's and WOW the soundstage and treble just incredible wow its not a must.... But if you've enjoyed the amp definitely a must have combo. It runs hot VERY HOT if you don't run a fan in your room the unit will bake itself to death I'm talking over 100 degrees. its packing so much in the package I understand why it's getting so hot. With fan on barely at 40 degrees celcius I don't mind enthusiast compromise on products certainly I'm no stranger to products that need a bit more care. What do you get out of it?? Its so smooth... its tone for me is so inviting I work an incredibly high pressure job and for me I love it. It feels like tube for solid state I'm so happy they matched the solid state components to the tubes cause this is as close to a tube to run solid state. That's my favourite part about the amp I don't have to worry about what headphone will match with my OTL tube amps cause its solid state delivery hook up low or high impedance doesn't matter works everytime its exactly what I wanted. Want to use that focal elex with a tuby sound but worried about bloated bass on the tube amp no worries works great with the TA-30 Especially for my Fostex X00 which doesn't play nice with OTL's god send amp for that headphone. In fact let's run through the Gauntlett: T50rp Argon mod (Protein leather and lambskin pads): More than enough power to drive the famously hard to drive Argons and not only that drives them extremely well. Adds to the width the bass is TIGHT and the mids still have that magic that made me fall in love with them. As Argon enjoyers know the treble can be a... Little on the weird on the proteins the smoothless on the amp really takes care of some of that and makes it more on the relaxed but more even neutral side which is great since I love the soundstage of the Protein leather. Lambskins pads experience ....just perfect..... I'd say the more audiophile sound for sure. [Im dying to try them with some cowhides I hear they're the most relaxed pad choice I'll report back later on that] This my go to come home and chill setup with the Argon's + TA-30 I honestly use this with bluetooth to my phone and just chill on lounge with a huge cable and it's bliss and so much FUN it's a blast. I think this is one of the more important headphones to go over the DCA Ether CX: As Ether CX enjoyers/users will know this headphone is 95% work 5% fun this amp now makes this headphone 25%....which is HUGE for this headphone this is the only amp I now use my Ether CX with for pleasure. This is a feat even my ghetto Darkvoice to THX 789 couldnt make it this fun. Very impressive definitely more detail on the THX but my Ether CX is always trying to murder me with detil so great change of pace. Focal Elex: Now THIS is one my favourite combos it's just too easy tight bass, excellent mid range and the best of all. The treble off the wrong amp with this headphone is UNFORGIVING with the TA-30 just perfection for detail, energy and liveliness. It's smooth and still exciting. Busy passages are handled perfectly with this combo ZMF Aeolus w/perf Suede pads with Bopp filter removed: Excellent and I have a really hard choice between OTL tubes or the TA-30 which is a huge compliment. If you plan on running a ZMF off of this amp you still get 80% of the dynamic range increase like you would from normal tubes which is awesome bass is punchier of course off of this amp than tubes which I believe would really be the main draw for running this top end still beautiful mid range magic preserved so a great pairing I'd choose this over any other solid state. Fostex X00 Mahogany w/Dekoni Sheepskins: Excellent solution for a tube sound for the X00 as you want more mid range and preserved Bass and calms the treble heat of this headphone for sure a lot of fun the sensitivity of this headphone is the concern you barely turn the volume pot and you're already as loud as you want a pre-amp to control the volume is highly recommended. Koss KPH30i w/ Yaxi Pads / KSC75's w/Yaxi pads Oh yeah that mid range magic is so sweet soundstage is perfect same with the KSC75's I feel you could blow apart the KSC75's with the potential of this amp my favourite gaming combo as well incredible soundstage layering and texture wow what a combo. Sendy Aiva: It drives them so perfect I dont really have words it suits the character of the headphone so much its remarkable. In summary you have to keep a tab on how hot its getting in all the fun. It's the only draw back amongst all the fun you have to sober up from time to time to double check how the amp is going but if you're willing you're in for a treat with this amp. I don't really think there is too much like it out there that's the best part really it's extremely unique and drives some odd or hard to drive headphones really well I never had an issue but it is strongly advised to pair with a pre-amp for volume purposes as it is such a high gain design.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
vinz82
1
Oct 3, 2021
Hi Ash, I know it sounds silly but I'd like to drive my modified koss hps (Porta Pro, KSC75) with this beast. I saw you recommended it with the koss kph30i. Do you think it would be a good match as well in my use case? Thanks in advance for any help you could provide. V
Ash256
15
Oct 10, 2021
search
Definitely off my KSC75's they sound incredible. The soundstage is so sweet and porta pro's are awesome on this as well I really recommend switching the front tubes with E80CC's from Tungsram's they're relatively cheap on ebay going for a bout 20usd so 40 usd all up. The JJ tubes that come with them stock are already great though. I'm trying this as I'm using them now with my ZMF Aeolus. I personally love the sound of tubes and seeing as I unfortunately can't run everything on them this is excellent for driving every other headphone I have. Koss, Focal, ZMF, DCA Ether CX. It's so easy and everything is driven to full potential on this beast.
(Edited)
piekielko
62
Jan 5, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fantastic sound!!!
The music with Hifiman headphones is incredibly detailed - crystal and power
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
dioporks
32
Sep 10, 2021
Which hifiman headphones?
Showing 25 of 33
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
33 OF 33 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest