Why my opinion on this site has changed
more_vert
I apologize for any jimmies that may be rustled by this post, but I feel like this needs some attention. I used to LOVE Massdrop when I first got into the hobby of mechanical keyboards. I always wanted these fancy GMK and SA keycap sets and Massdrop seemed like the best place to get them, all other group buys are usually ran by a single person, seemed a lot less reliable to me at the time.
My opinion has pretty much pulled a complete 180 at this point. I used to defend MD as much as I possibly could, I figured people were just complaining cause they didn't understand MD isn't the actual manufacturer of these high-end keycap sets or custom keyboards and people didn't want to wait. Now I realize that while there are still (and will always be) people who complain about this, Massdrop needs some SERIOUS customer service improvement.
Here's the reddit post & linked imgur album that caused me to want to write up this post in the first place (this is not me):
http://imgur.com/a/6kAc1
https://www.reddit.com/r/MechanicalKeyboards/comments/6nd96y/i_knew_massdrop_was_bad_i_didnt_expected_it_to_be/
I have only had ONE negative experience with Massdrop so far, and that was with the Yanbo's closet miscounted inventory fiasco. I understand it was an honest mistake, I was grateful to even get a chance at anything during that event. I did get over it. I'm still ordering stuff from here (exclusives only, nothing else is worth it anymore IMO), but whenever I think about it, it's the cookie-cutter customer service response that really upset me back at that time.
What happened to the OP of this reddit post is WAY worse, and I can't even imagine how I would feel reading that bullshit response after that happened to me. I understand the security issue, but they really couldn't contact them beforehand? Or do anything to ensure he could still PAY for the item that he won't have another chance at for WHO KNOWS how long?
To me, this makes it seem like Massdrop truly doesn't care about their customers. Nothing is more disrespectful to me. They get more flak than they deserve for things that actually aren't their fault, but their customer service needs some serious work.
thumb_upMuthamizh Selvan, alan_wu, and 134 others
136
48
remove_red_eye
15.4K
bookmark_border
eizdeb
460

search
Dukemeister
2
Nov 28, 2018
bookmark_border
Ordered an automatic Seiko watch and couldn't get it to run. Took it to a jeweler thinking I was doing something wrong and after they couldn't get it to run, they informed me it was obviously defective. No help from massdrop customer service and, of course, no manufacturer warranty. Hard lesson learned. Could have bought the same watch from another site for a little less with a full manufacturer warranty.
Nov 28, 2018
marblesarefun
11
Aug 17, 2018
bookmark_border
I just dislike how you can spend 100's of bucks on of say headphone models that are only available on Massdrop (Because they were specifically designed for massdrop) and not have anywhere to test to see if you actually like the sound. Typically with most stores, you buy and return if you don't like the sound, here however it's basically 100% risk.
Yeah, I got burned by just assuming that it was a normal company with normal polices (I literally never heard of Massdrop 2 weeks ago, just saw a sale and went for it...oddly enough I checked ebay's return policy on the item I was going to buy thinking they would not have one...but they do, go figure an auction house has a 30 day window on products that are actually testable in stores).
I chose these becasue of the time limit and I attempted to read/watch as many reviews as possible, figured if worse was to worse I would return. RIP me. Also, I'll probably never shop here again so hooray to that. Too big of a risk, even if they are decent deals and unique items.
/rant
Aug 17, 2018
BrainFlush
6845
Aug 2, 2017
bookmark_border
I read a few comments. Checked the link. All I see are the typical pitch fork reactions that Reddit has become. Stuff happens and so far in my time and interaction with MD, I've never had an issue. Doesn't mean others don't.
Just saying Reddit in general is a horrible place to get an opinion on literally any company. People like to hate without information.
Aug 2, 2017
Soko
211
Jul 23, 2017
bookmark_border
Massdrop costs more for canadians. Also they send camera equipment that faces %300 custom fees so never buy camera lenses from this site or youll be sorely dissapointed by the taxes. In fact never shop on mass drop. You can get anything here on amazon or alibaba for less.
Jul 23, 2017
muni_chang
2297
muni
Jul 22, 2017
bookmark_border
Shits happan all the time...
Jul 22, 2017
LightByter
61
Jul 21, 2017
bookmark_border
I haven't had any problems with MD. I've found-out that it's worth a few dollars more to get things next week instead of next year. I'm only buying one-of-a-kind items (SA Carbon) now, and I certainly wouldn't recommend MD with this many complaints on r/mechanicalkeyboards.
Jul 21, 2017
sweatGRENADE
13
Jul 20, 2017
bookmark_border
There are a ton of comments on here that reference things that are out of Massdrop's control.
~ Vendor lead times: not MD ~ Defective product: not entirely MD*** (they're small so chances are Vendor has almost no incentive to do anything about it. Might take months to get them to budge, then months to get a replacement.) ~ Negotiating God-tier prices: 30% MD, 70% not MD (This is why they hide prices for previous drops. Prices change all the time from vendors. They can't guarantee the same price twice. That's just how vendors work.)
~ ***QC: MD can add people for, but will increase lead times (by A LOT for diy kits) and cost a lot in payroll (MD doesn't make as much as some of you seem to think off of these drops. If they made more they'd have more than 51-200 employees [via LinkedIn] I can guarantee you that.) ~ Choice of Vendor: MD (if they drop a vendor, are you going to complain about not offering enough???) ~ Communication: MD (back to payroll)
What it increasingly sounds like is - if MD's customer base is growing: the number of people working for MD has not scaled with the number of people who want to buy on MD. -Or- if use is declining: it is.
This isn't Amazon and they can't replicate that experience by any stretch of the imagination. Nor should they. "The customer is always right" is a luxury of big companies. For small companies, the customer is only as right as the ability to help them (back to margins/payroll) coupled with their understanding of the business (which seems a bit iffy for some by some of these comments)
Jul 20, 2017
MassDebates
127
Jul 20, 2017
bookmark_border
Since starting myself, I've brought over a dozen paying customers to MassDrop, all but one of them have spent far more money than I have. I will halt this activity until I see something positive come from MassDrop. Not sure if I'll continue to buy anymore. I've not seen the best deals as of late, either.
I'm disappointed. To the people claiming mistakes are made and whatnot, it was no mistake that they tried pawning her off after for a shoddy $20 coupon - after they removed her opportunity to join the drop.
In an Amazon setting, that might be a more appropriate response, but I've seen drops that go for over 24w before reappearing again. And yes, I too try to be lenient with how I react to MassDrop, but this is ridiculous. The repeated emails get embarrassing. I started asking myself "This is a company that runs distro group buys for profit?! Fulfillment IS THEIR BUSINESS. They have ONE service."
They should have purchased the damned thing for her regular price and gave it to her for the advertised price they already sealed the deal for. A contract was proposed and accepted.


___________________ UPDATE / EDIT ___________________ I've seen the responses to the thread in reddit. I will resume purchases again.
It's concerning that the reddit thread was necessary for action. How does oversight on one of MassDrops's employees (meaning not a vendors fault) go so unchecked?
Jul 20, 2017
MakoSucks
38
Jul 20, 2017
bookmark_border
So my first order here was the Massdrop x K Bares Miami Dolch DSA Keycap Set. This singlehandedly made me buy my first mechanical keyboard, and instantly made me a fan of Massdrop. Then I had to work 2 days back to back night and morning shift, so I didn't check my e-mail, till the night of the next day when i woke up, and saw an e-mail from massdrop saying there was a problem with my order and i had 24 hours to fix it. it was 48 by the time i read it
Basically my card had a hold on it because i forgot to transfer my pay to my checking, so there was a hold on my card. I sent an e-mail to massdrop and got a basic, standard, automated reply for such an issue, which said, can't do anything. I was heartbroken and posted my sadness on the miami dolche discussion. Then my hero Vigrith somehow relayed some info to Massdrop, and i got a second email that let me update my payment info and i was all set.
Working in a customer service job, I can understand the burocracy behind the process, and having to dissapoint customers even though you don't want to because of a million different variables, that arent allowed to be divulged, sucks, but sometimes its really unavoidable. Plus it helps if you get your payment information right the first time.
The rest of my buys here have been great experiances, so I still love massdrop, even though it burns holes in my wallet, and has somehow made me want to upgrade my pc, buy expensive things to shave my face, learn how to solder to make a led keychain, sharpen knives or build a new pc, or buy a pocket dac just to listen to some crazy ass headphones.
Jul 20, 2017
TTheuns
879
Jul 27, 2017
bookmark_border
The community here is great, the products are good and customer service is above average. I just wish the Support Team would be more communicative with people that reach out or that they reach out to. For instance: I asked for a refund on a product that was delivered in the wrong color (everyone received the wrong color). I included pictures and invoices and got a reply I needed to send pictures and invoices. Then communication went silent for 6 days, and eventually I checked PayPal to see a refund. No communication on that from the Support Team.
Jul 27, 2017
user73
338
Jul 19, 2017
bookmark_border
@eizdeb - your disdain for poor customer service is undoubtedly shared by everyone, but you've misidentified Nikita's experience as such. You're not wrong, you're not stupid, and your perspective and thoughts certainly matter, but there are some dots you don't see, and they need connecting so Massdrop can get slammed where they truly deserve it. I'll take the time to share my insight on this and do my best to explain; I only ask that you and others take the time to read and learn about the dots you can't see, and keep in mind that there's no argument to be had on the following information; it's just the way things are: I'm the IT Director for a large parts distributor here in the US. We primarily sell to retailers and dealers who re-sell our product, but also to manufacturers and OEM's that use our product in their product, and also - though to a much smaller degree - to individual end users. We ship our products to 6 continents, and sometimes - especially in the case of individual buyers - we have no clue who we're doing business with, and fraud is a priority concern. People love to buy our products, but people also love to acquire our products without buying them. To facilitate the actual purchase of our products, we rely on third party transaction and fraud screening services to identify questionable transactions ; these are companies like Signifyd, IDology, and Kount, just to name a few. They typically do this screening automatically - like in less than 1 second, at the time of the transaction - with algorithms that are fed by data from countless sources. I can't tell you what the criteria is because that's the secret sauce for these fraud screening service providers - they're all tight-lipped about their procedures. Anyway, the output can take a number of different forms but a security or fraud "score" or "rating" is most common in identifying suspect transactions. Sometimes these transactions are automatically declined at either the gateway or screener level and the buyer is none the wiser. The transaction simply fails and the buyer thinks, "well, fuck you then. I'll buy from someone else," and they move on. But sometimes those transactions pass through so as to allow humans to review them. After all, no one wants to turn down legitimate buyers. But no matter how advanced the algorithm or how attentive the human reviewing the transactions is, mistakes do get made. False positives are just a cost of doing business under the ecommerce umbrella, but it's a cost that all companies gladly pay; occasionally turning away legitimate buyers and pissing people off is preferable to getting cleaned out by a network of people using stolen payment information. I know exactly how these things work because it's my job to make sure that they work here at my company. Everything I've detailed explains Nikita's unfortunate experience, and with all that said, take a moment to re-evaluate what happened from a fresh perspective: Massdrop does't dislike Nikita. Canceling his order wasn't personal. I'm sure Massdrop would be thrilled to pocket Nikita's money, mail off whatever shit he ordered, and prance on over to the bank to watch their funds grow. And when Nikita messaged support, Kyle handled it like a pro. Yeah, all that "I'd be thrilled to assist you!" text that's auto-populated by their CRM software is super-lame; it gets under my skin when my personally important matters are addressed through robot-like discourse. We can all agree on that annoyance, but that's not bad service. There's Kyle, following the rules, and having to break the bad news to Nikita that Massdrop won't take his money. I'm sure he sat there with his head in his hands, peeking through his fingers, uncomfortable reading Nikita's perfectly logical argument, thinking, "man, I wish we could just take this guy's order instead of pissing him off..." Hell, not only did Massdrop miss out on an order, but they gave up $20 as well - plus Kyle stayed professional (albeit a little too robot-sounding for my tastes) and kept his cool. Yet all of that gets misinterpreted as bad customer service. There's one final thing to understand about situations like this one, and I can best explain it from my own perspective: When I flag or decline a transaction, I want that shit off my desk with finality. I'm the one with the education and experience, I'm the expert, the decision is mine to make, it's final when I make it, and that's that. The last thing I want is for that transaction to make its way back to me in the form of a customer email or phone call, complete with 1) "I demand an explanation for this!" and... 2) "Do you really think I'd call you if I were a scammer? lul" and... 3) "Fuck you! I'm gonna put this whole conversation on Reddit!" and... 4) "They should call you guys PoopFactory instead of FunFactory!" And you know what? - those are all very difficult things to address when someone is pissed off, especially if I'm the one who has pissed them off! XD Because... 1) No. I'm not going to write, speak, or otherwise communicate the details of this post to everyone who comes asking. Become an informed buyer and make an effort to understand a bit more about the process you're participating in. And... 2) Yes, actually, that's what fraudsters do when their transactions get canceled - they dispute them. And with improperly trained staff, or support reps who decide to let it slide just this once, or "C'mon Adam, this guy is obviously legit..." - that's how people get scammed. And... 3) Go ahead. Hopefully someone like me will come along and explain what you're not considering, and everyone will learn something new that day. And... 4) Please... Grow up. Really. Plus, I've heard that one, like, sooo many times before. Again, there's no argument to be had on any of this. It's one of those cases in which opinions don't really matter, because this is just the way things are. Companies have to screen transactions, which means they have to make mistakes, which means they have to miss sales opportunities, which means they have to piss people off. But - should we label all of that Bad Customer Service? Now on that topic, we can have opinions and disagreements, discuss alternatives, and propose solutions. Maybe Massdrop should try a different fraud screening provider. Maybe Massdrop should double or triple screen transactions. Maybe Kyle should have offered Nikita an additional $30 and a back rub. Or - maybe Nikita should stop trying to buy shit online with a prepaid debit card. Maybe Nikita should correct the typo in his billing address so the AVS checks return a good response code. Maybe Nikita should learn to expect geolocation tests to throw red flags because he's ordering from the aircraft carrier he's stationed on. Probably none of that applies in this case, but I have seen all of that. I've only bought a few things on Massdrop and my experiences have all been positive. Maybe Massdrop does, in fact, have the worst customer service in the entire inner solar system. I don't know and I don't really care. But I do care about the importance of calling a spade a spade, making people aware of their mistakes so they can learn from them, and giving credit where it's due. Maybe there are thousands of examples of Massdrop's bad customer service that all of you can share, that all of you are within your right to be pissed about. This is simply not one of them. May I respectfully suggest that you cite a different customer's experience if you really want to drive the argument for poor service? Or - maybe just give Massdrop another chance.
(Edited)
Jul 19, 2017
ZacharyBinz
115
Jul 19, 2017
bookmark_border
search
Jul 19, 2017
PoLoMoTo
199
Jul 22, 2017
bookmark_border
This is honestly incredible. I can't believe that you typed all of that one handed on a phone while on the toilet. Like seriously that would take me days, and I didn't even notice any typos. If I could pay you I would because you clearly deserve it.
But actually though, fantastic post. If there was a post of the month section this would definitely be at the top.
Also though there's no character limit??
Jul 22, 2017
Showing 14 of 48
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
48 OF 48 POSTS
Dec 7, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest