Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
E-MU Black Walnut Headphones
$79
$100

E-MU Black Walnut Headphones

bookmark_border
$79
$100
Ready to Ship
Members who purchase earn
79
Drop Rewards
Frequently bought together:
add
BLON BL-03 IEM
add
Alpha & Delta MK 2 USB-C and Lightning Adapters

Customer Reviews

4.1
(30 reviews)
5star
(14)
4star
(10)
3star
(3)
2star
(1)
1star
(2)
80% would recommend to a friend
By Feature
Build Quality
2.3(3)
Sound
3.3(3)
Comfort
3.0(3)
Music GenresPopular among reviewers
ActivitiesPopular among reviewers
search
close
Yunjoo
17
Jun 29, 2021
checkVerified Buyer
Sounds like firm wood
Feels like in a house made of firm wood. Great bass resolution. Very comfortable fit. Wish it had detachable cable though:)
Recommends this product? Yes
Audiopro
164
Jun 1, 2021
checkVerified Buyer
E-MU Does it again.
For the price, comfort and sound quality you can't hardly beat these phones. I use them, around my studio, for general listening and quick reference. I'm a big fan of "biocellulose" diaphragms and they don't disappoint in this, reasonably priced, headphone. Everyone, I know, who's tried them, is pretty surprised at the sound quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
jbcalbears5150
31
Apr 19, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
I own another, more expensive pair if E-MUs and I have become quite fond of rocking out with them on my ears. When I saw this more modestly priced offering from E-MU I immediately thought they were gorgeous and inexpensive enough that I could use these to take the things I love about E-MU with me when I am out and about. So I ordered them without hesitation to give them a shot hoping my good luck with the company would continue and the Walnut headphones could fill the niche I purchased them for. These headphones are not some elite, technically superior headphones, but at this price you would be a fool to expect that. However, they are a dark sounding, but musically pleasing set of cans that make a perfect set for rocking out to some distorted guitars, pounding drums, powerful basslines, and screaming vocals. As a fan of punk, hardcore, metal, and heavy rock styles if all kinds these E-MU Walnuts fit right in as a stylish, well made, and affordable pair if headphones that are tuned towards the dark end of the spectrum as if they were made to compliment some of my all time favorite tracks. I took one star off because that dark tuning makes them less than versatile (ie not a good pick for some more delicate and/or bright genres). Keeping the conservative pricetag in mind, the E-MU Walnuts are a great choice if you happen to enjoy the kinds of music that really bring out the strengths mentioned above and because I do, this is one purchase I will never regret. Update: I was unpacking some boxes from moving and found a pair of perforated Brainwavs pads that I originally bought to try on my Sony MDR-7506. They looked like they would fit on the Emu Walnut so I decided to experiment. Do yourself a favor and grab a pair of these pads! The bass tightens up a bit, the treble gets a little more air/extension and the soundstage gets bigger. When you add in that these pads are also very comfortable, you've got a winning combo. I'll include a link below, but if you can also just search for "brainwavs perforated sony mdr 7506" and they'll come up. Enjoy! https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07FSPF3YV/?coliid=IRLWONM1PQVLX&colid=3MXC5M4SB0BAQ&psc=1&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it
(Edited)
Recommends this product? Yes
Mutatopotato
11
May 21, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
Swap pads --> be amazed!
Before we begin: I swapped pads almost immediately and I definitely recommend you do the same. Personally, I ended up using a pair of Brainwavz oval perforated pads - and while perforated sounds counter-intuitive, I'll explain what they do further on. These pretty little headphones are one of my favourites in my entire collection. While the strap and headband look totally uncomfortable and super thin, they're so light you can't even feel them after 15 minutes. Clamping is just enough to not fall off my head when I move around, so activities like running or working out are perfectly doable (after the pad swap, of course). Sound-wise, they're darkish/warm, mids and highs are there, but obviously turned back, if you're not shy of EQing, then even that can be remedied. Their closed back nature doesn't allow for a wide soundstage, but the perforated pads are a game changer. I find them to be surprisingly clear and wide sounding with the new pads, imaging is great for the price. Bleeding isn't as bad as I expected it to be, but should you need completely quiet headphones, maybe don't use perforated pads - if not, I can only recommend them. Also, the cups are not completely soundproof, so you will hear your surroundings when your volume is low. If there's one gripe I have, then it's the non-detachable cable, but that's nit picking. For 80 bucks (+ pads), this is a steal, highly recommended.
(Edited)
Recommends this product? Yes
carlda
9
Jun 5, 2023
Activities:Casual Listening
Music Genres:Pop, R&B
checkVerified Buyer
Poor Quality Customer Service
First I didn't expect these to blow my mind or set any records. I purchased these to travel with. I received the headphones on time but noticed the inner Ear PAD were deteriorating. See pics below. I contacted Customer Service.
search
After multiple emails and attempts, I was given a UPS shipment label. Unfortunately were I am located, no UPS available. I was told I will need to pay for shipping myself to in order to return. I went on Amazon and purchased a new set of Ear Pads. Was cheaper than dealing with customer service with shipping and receiving and not having a headset for a period of time. I recommended if you purchase these, just spend the $10 for new earpads. I doubt Ill purchase from Drop in the future.
Recommends this product? No
Grattle
32
Aug 2, 2023
carldaSame issue. DO NOT BUY THESE unless you don't mind replacing the shitty pads.
search

(Edited)
Juka
191
Mar 28, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
Edit: no warranty after 30 days
Edit: There doesn't appear to be any warranty after 30 days. There normally is a standard 1-year warranty for electronics but this headphone doesn't provide that. My left side driver has developed to be quieter than my right side less than a year into ownership. Drop only offers 30 days and after emailing E-MU directly, they only tell you to go to drop for issues. I had the Teak for a while and decided to give these a try. It is alright for the price. It isn't anything special in terms of sound. The headphone has a very warm sound with a mid-bass hump. It might suit bassheads. The build quality is nice though. Beware though, the ear cups wont always be the same due to variations in wood. One of my cups are quite yellow while the other is normal like in the pics.
(Edited)
Recommends this product? No
Tdeleeuw
1
Mar 20, 2021
checkVerified Buyer
Mine arrived, not with what I consider "dark chrome" accidents, but with shiny chrome accents, giving the headphones a cheesier look. Black metal would have looked better. Most uncomfortable cans I have ever worn. After one hour, my smaller "girl ears" were hurting. Needs bigger, more comfortable pads which I don't think have to be that fancy or expensive, just soft. Same with headband. A little more padding would have been nice. For the price, the sound was actually very impressive, worked well with my portable amplifier and my phone. Unfortunately, I bought these as a backup for podcasting and probably won't use much due to lack of comfort.
Recommends this product? No
sveerhoff
31
Nov 12, 2021
Tdeleeuwnot sure if you are speaking of the same headphone? I have a set of the Purple Heart, and my son has the Walnut. There is no chrome or metal on either of them.
Hyde
1122
May 3, 2022
sveerhoffSorry are you able to compare the sound difference between Walnut and Purpleheart by any chance? Thanks!
Jp111
11
Feb 14, 2021
checkVerified Buyer
Good sound. Better with pad change good cans for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Jamiet77
1
Feb 27, 2023
checkVerified Buyer
Impressive set of cans!
I got these for travel. Was enjoying the signature of my HE-R9's for the extra bass and decided to try out biocellulose drivers for the same reason. Upon first listen, right out of the box with no burn in, they sound exciting, smooth and bassy. Just what I was looking for. The treble is not fatiguing and the bass is tight and fully represented. For the price they are very impressive. I certainly don't expect a reference class can for a hundred bucks, but I also did not expect them to be this good either! If you want high class bass on a budget these are definitely worth a look. They are a bit delicate feeling, but the lightness really adds to the over-all comfort, which is top knotch. They fit the bill for me. Im very happy.
Recommends this product? Yes
denlim777
0
Aug 28, 2021
checkVerified Buyer
very good!!
well worth the price!!! luv em!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Showing 13 of 62
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order