AntLion ModMic 4

AntLion ModMic 4

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
23.8K requests
·
6.2k Sold
Product Description
Using the same uni-directional microphone found in the ModMic5, the ModMic 4 is designed to isolate sound and minimize distortion from the surrounding environment. To help create a consistent, clean sound, the mic only lets in sound from one direction to radically reduce noises emitted from external sources Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.1
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
73
check
83%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
smileybarry
140
Jun 7, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great mic. Got it nearly 2 years ago and it's been working great on my K7XX ever since. I bought spare magnets & glue just in case, but the magnet's glue still holds up despite the meshy texture of those headphones, which are left on the desk 24/7. (so not even dust peeled it away)
My only issue is the mute switch, which appears to work partially. What I mean is that I'll flick the switch, and it would "mute" me, but games would still somehow detect my talking and activate. Some fragment of voice is still audible at very low volumes, too. I recommend just setting up a keybind for muting the microphone globally if you need to do so out-of-game (like me).
But if you frequently detach the mic I recommend looking at the 5.0 instead. The detachable cable really helps, and you no longer need to manage two separate cables or permanently fuse the mic with your headset (if you use the cable binders).
LQDForce
538
Jun 5, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
excellent product. i'd get the muteless version though, if at all possible. got mine from Massdrop in 2014 and it's still going strong! Note: most integrated sound cards have low output power. if it's too low at ~85% input volume (windows), you should definitely get a USB sound card for your computer. For a laptop I'd get one regardless of volume, as the integrated devices often cause lots of interference on mic and headphones as well. One of those cheap $5 USB sticks on ebay will do the job just fine. Haven't tried the Antlion USB adapter, but I guess it should be powerful enough?
techwiz
234
Nov 3, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It's a mic and it does mic things, quite well I might add. Unfortunately the device has quite a bit of impedance which translates to the mic being very quiet or not very sensitive. You better make sure your PC's audio device has a really sensitive input or has a higher voltage output, otherwise this mic will be very quiet. This is well documented by other ModMic users as well as the ModMic documentation, so no surprises there. The cable is stupid long, which I guess is great if your mic input is really far from your face, but it comes with a velcro strap so this is also not really much of a problem. So why 4 stars instead of 5? Antlion sells this as a PC mic but it has specs like a phantom powered XLR mic which means most average PCs are simply not going to be equipped to deal with this. PCs and motherboards with high end onboard audio chipset like the Realtek ALC1150 won't have much trouble with this mic, but you will still want to boost the input. I'm tempted to hook this up to a mixer and boost the gain to see if the sound from this mic pops, but I don't have one available to try it. Most people will probably need an external capture device, like a USB audio adapter that can push 2.5v to the mic to get a respectable sound out of it. The upside is that it doesn't really pick up a lot of background noise.
KennethAndrews
90
May 30, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I'm admittedly not a power user but I love this mic. I've had it for quite some time now and everyone who has heard me on it has said it sounded great. I love that I can use it with my good headphones. Also surprisingly my headphones are openback (AKG K7XX, amped) and I've never heard any complaints about feedback either now that I think about it.
ZenSen
49
Aug 31, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Was great right up until the cord separated at the back of the mic. Quality control issue it looks like.
search
I love massdrop, and they generally have good brand products, but this one just seems to have slipped through the cracks.
ZenSen
49
Nov 19, 2018
Massdrop told me to deal with mod-mic, mod-mic wanted 30 bucks for processing and shipping to send it back to them. I just threw it in the trash and chalked it up as a lesson learned about mod-mic's customer service.
Vikrant
8
Nov 19, 2018
Ugh guess were screwed
Ascendens
2
Jun 12, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Microphone quality is worse than my previous $50 headset
nitrobamtastic
2
Jun 12, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
For some reason one side of the mic no longer picks up sound and the other side is super quiet, even with the db boost turned all the way up.
SoHy
0
May 30, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Snuffboy
0
May 26, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
a great mic
Good sound (well good enough for voIP), and solidly built product all around
check
Would recommend to a friend.
beanscene
2
Feb 17, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Disappointing microphone, but great idea
Never had a good experience with this microphone. Too sensitive to background noise, but not sensitive enough somehow. Always told to get a new mic by friends over Discord lmao. Great physical design, would love to try again if newer revisions are better quality..
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Showing 13 of 81