Drop CTRL Mechanical Keyboard
Drop CTRL Mechanical Keyboard
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
13.8k Sold
Product Description
To put it simply, the CTRL mechanical keyboard has it all. Constructed with a solid aluminum frame with a built-in switch plate, it’s stable and fortified Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.2
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
769
check
85%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
bmason
66
Jun 20, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The last keyboard I'll ever need
My keyboard history:
  • Keyboard #1: Ducky - LEDs died within a year. A piece of junk, but hooked me on mechanical keyboards.
  • Keyboard #2: WASD Code - great keyboard, lasted for a couple of years, but (a) the ABS keys eventually wore through and (b) there are better switches than Cherry MX Browns, so . . .
  • Keyboard #3: CTRL - fantastic keyboard. Outfitted with Hako Royal Clears for most of the keys, except for some keys (like Enter) which got a Kailh Box Navy (for a little click) and some keys (like the shift keys) which got Hako True Violets (my pinkies don't bang the keys as hard as the rest of my fingers).
The CTRL is probably the last keyboard I'll ever need. Don't like the switches? Swap 'em out! Don't like the backlight colors? Reprogram 'em. Don't like they keycaps? Buy new ones. Now all I need is a 21-key numeric keypad to match it. (NUM Mechanical Keyboard, anyone?)
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Jun 20, 2019
infiCathi
10
Jul 30, 2019
bookmark_border
How is your keyboard now, after a few weeks? Worried about the double typing, as well... Got a CTRL with Halo True's, but coming from a Pok3r (cherry blue) and WASD (cherry clears)
Jul 30, 2019
bmason
66
Jul 30, 2019
bookmark_border
The keyboard is still fantastic. I upgrade the firmware once and was flabbergasted at all the new color patters that have been implemented. I don't use any of them because they're way to distracting, but they're fun to watch sometimes. No double typing issues at all (yet -- fingers crossed). I'm really appreciating the low profile -- makes it much easier to blow out all the stuff that collects in the keyboard after a couple weeks. My only gripe (and it's a minor nit) is the shadows on the shine-through keycaps. It's better than the "stenciled" look you get with some shine-through doubleshot PBT keycaps, but it still doesn't look as good as I'd like it to. I suspect that it's just a limitation of trying to design a PBT shine-through keycap. I've ordered a set of the MT3 /dev/tty keycaps (no shine-through) so we'll see how those work out with the underlighting.
Jul 30, 2019
Sonicbaboon
2
Jun 15, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Looks amazing, functions just as well
Great for someone looking to get into the mechanic keyboard community without having to assemble everything, definitely a stepping stone for me until I make my own keyboard
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jun 15, 2019
Tiltmaniac
3
Jun 9, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The new CTRL fixes the minor annoyances of the original release. It has a wonderful feel, and a great look. With the box-whites, it is awesome for productivity. With the configurator, it is just as easily a Mac keyboard as a PC keyboard, with the cmd, alt, and Ctrl keys where you'd expect 'em to be.
Jun 9, 2019
ackzot
42
Jun 2, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I like the design of this keyboard. I've been using it as my daily driver for almost a year. I got the Halo Clears (replaced the springs with a lighter ones- cannibalized from some gateron blues) so it is pretty tactile. I also replaced the stabilizers. However that being said, The first couple of CTRL had various manufacturing issues in terms of fit and finish. Drop (Massdrop) worked with getting me replacements. So kudos to Drop for working with their customers.
Jun 2, 2019
Kaladyn
52
Mar 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Buyer beware. The keyboards looks great. Build quality is excellent. But there are a few major issues.
  1. Ghosting is insane. The double tap rate makes it unusable with the default switches. MassDrop will offer a full refund, but that still means I lose my shipping costs and import duties.
  2. It's programmable, but it's a very involved process and there's no on-board memory. You unplug the cable, you lose your changes (that were hard to make in the first place). I had issues retaining the programming on the keyboard, others haven't. Point is: Other keyboards at this price point make this a lot easier with proper software support.
  3. The magnetic feet will detach immediately is you try to move the keyboard sideways. This is just silly.
For me the keyboard turned out to be a huge disappointment. I had to wait about 2 months for delivery to Europe. For 2 units I had to pay double shipping (although they were in one box). I had to pay some hefty import duties. Now MassDrop won't send me working switches, even though I'm willing to pay the difference. The refund option may be interesting for US buyers (less waiting, shipping, duties), but for an EU buyer it's too small a band-aid for the wound. A lot of love was lost and it's a bit of a tragedy. Buyer beware.
(Edited)
Mar 28, 2019
Kaladyn
52
Apr 28, 2019
bookmark_border
Maybe I did it wrong. I found the process rather complicated and gave up on it after a few tries. I'll cross out the section. The point I was trying to make was that other keyboards at this price point actually come with decent software support. Evidently, I didn't get that across very well.
Apr 28, 2019
Sanlitun
52
May 22, 2019
bookmark_border
I've found that it will save profiles when powered off but it will NOT save brightness settings. Is there a way to set brightness in the configurator?
May 22, 2019
Sandwiches
38
Jan 26, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Build quality is superb, performs like a drurnkk one-night-stand
I've had this keyboarrrrd for a while, and I've had the the prroblem with keys being triggereeed twice, up to 7 times on a single stroke. This problem has been mentioned bby many ppeople herre. I haven't contacted support because I'm an (extremely) busy personn, no time to pay $200 forr a keyboard for it to perfform worsse than a $20 one and spend hourrs with a fulfillment process and exchanginng emails (that would cosst me more than the keyboard in time)). I am a prrogrammer and so this is simply not acceptable. The reason I stopped using it is because it was so bad that sometimes I couldn't even enter my computer password correctly, often taking 30-40 trries. It's been sittting on the shelf taunting me for the last 6 months, and I busted it out to write this review. Don't buy this keyboarrd. Enough people have had this prorbllem. YES: I reseated the switches.
YES: I trried other switches.

This problem occurrred brand new, out of the box. I type at 105WPM with a 0.24% error rate (unless I'm using this keyboard, then it'ss morer like ~10%). I didn't corrrect the typos above to demonstrate how irritating this keyboarrrd is DO NOT BUYY THE HYYPEE

Grrrrade: 0/10
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Jan 26, 2020
tsteinholz
2
Mar 17, 2020
bookmark_border
They have a firmware fix available now. This was driving me up the wall for hella time, but the fix seems to be good so far!! https://drop.com/buy/drop-ctrl-mechanical-keyboard/talk/2489426
Mar 17, 2020
elijahblake
3
Mar 17, 2020
bookmark_border
I’m happy it fixed it for you. But reading that thread you sent me all the way to the end makes it sound like many people are still having the issue. Which switches are you using? I just cant justify dropping $200 or even $50 for a keyboard having chatter.. I have a 60$ kB with cherry reds that has 0 chatter. Does it do everything the drop kB does? Not even close... but it types with no double input 100% of the time.
(Edited)
Mar 17, 2020
aaronanpku
92
Sep 3, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Many steps into the right direction.
This is the first review I've written on MD, because I really feel like contributing to the community after receiving the CTRL board.
search
The bottom line is that I like it, although I don't like the case color surprise. However I think overall CTRL took many steps into the right direction of making the mechanical keyboard experience better and easier to enjoy. CTRL is an ambitious attempt and we should expect it to be perfect but should expect this to unlock more possibility and set good example for keyboard design.
(I won't review the switches and keycaps because I joined for a bare bone version and have Zealios 62g and SA dancer and dasher set on it)
search
1. The case.
Let's talk about the silver elephant in the room.
This is NOT the render color and there is no point debating because anyone who feel this is close to the render is justifying the emperor is wearing new clothes. Although some people don't mind this, there was something went wrong in the production or QC. The texture is sparkly and slightly dark and mostly silver (see comparison with the space grey Macbook and notice the sparkly texture). Since I joined the drop mostly for the matte grey finish, I plan to get the case powder coated to creamy white if it doesn't interfere with the switches install.
Otherwise the case feels well-made, it is solid and surprisingly thin! The magnet feet design is smart but sadly the angle is too low so I will make a 10 degree feet for the board.
search

2. The PCB.
The PCB is the best feature of CTRL for me. If paired with more polished configurator for both key mapping and LED, I really believe this (hot-swappable/easily-programmable/LED-enabled PCB) IS going to be the new standard for future mechanical keyboards. I am used to soldering/desoldering my boards but the ability to swap switches whenever I want is just so liberating. Looking forward to see MD make the configurator better.
search

3. The LED.
I've always wanted to see the custom mechanical keyboards catching up to the LED game with the gaming keyboards. Personally I don't need backlit for individual keys, but I do like under glow. CTRL's sandwiched case coupled with the diverse LED options is definitely a big step into the right direction for mechanical keyboards aesthetics. We will surely see more and more keyboards incorporating this feature in the future.
However, lacking the ability to easily set the default is really really annoying and my least favorite pattern happens to be the flamboyant RGB ripple default... And I have to see that every time I reconnect...
So please enable the default change in the configurator unless most people actually favorite the default.
My favorite is this two tone under-glow (see below) that I nicknamed "Blade Runner". :)
search

4. Verdict.
I gave CTRL a 4/5 where one point deducted because of the case surprise. However, I do believe CTRL did a lot right things that will help setting the good trend of mech keyboard design. Making a high-quality keyboards at a mid-high price range at large scale is most surely hard but I have no doubt that future variant of CTRL will improve the imperfections in this first gen. For that, I am happy, but for now, I am going to be improving my first gen CTRL myself. :)
PS. to the case makers/vendors, it would be lovely if you start to make custom version cases available for CTRL.
Sep 3, 2018
Shard9
41
Jan 27, 2019
bookmark_border
Hi there, which kit of dancer and dasher includes those caps in your function row? Having a hard time finding them and I thought they look really nice :-) Thanks!
Jan 27, 2019
aaronanpku
92
Jan 29, 2019
bookmark_border
They are the so called "Add-on Kit" :)
Jan 29, 2019
Sbaek10
16
Mar 9, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I purchased this with halo clear with key caps few months ago and everything was solid. It was built in a good quality and feels good when typing. However, I really liked to give this keyboard 5 stars but I am having an issue with double tapping problem and it is happening very frequently even as I am typing this. I saw other people have this issues as well. Not sure why it is happening. This keyboard looks good and feels good but if it cannot properly function as it was intended, what good is that?
Mar 9, 2019
ivandatu
13
Mar 22, 2019
bookmark_border
Here's an update. Just 10hrs after i replied in this thread. That one front under glow LED (which is dead center btw) has completely died, which turns out to be a positive thing for me. The lighting looks even again lols.
Mar 22, 2019
Seby
42
Mar 22, 2019
bookmark_border
Nooo that sucks, I emailed massdrop to try to see their stance on the double click issue. They have horrible support ("We do not stand by the quality of our massdrop products") last thing I'm buying from massdrop that's for sure. As much as I love my massdrop ctrl right now, I'm worried for the future of it.
Mar 22, 2019
Dinklesoft
13
Jan 8, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Poor QA and service; there's better out there
My CTRL arrived with one of the stabilizers missing one of its magnetic inserts that slot into the keyboard. This means that one of the stabilizers moves horizontally with even slight movements of the board, moving the entire board. Not the biggest issue, but I did send a support request about getting one of those complete stabilizers. However, a larger concern is that the R key does not have PCB inputs. I discovered this while pulling the stocks switches to insert a set of Holy Pandas, and the attached photo shots an empty key slot, with the E key to the left for comparison with the expected inputs. Since this renders the keyboard unusable, I put in another support request to Drop, however I'm still waiting on a reply to either ticket after 2+ days now. Supremely disappointed with the keyboard and Drop and wouldn't recommend anything.
search
Update 2020-02-11: I attempted to return my CTRL, and the support agent said they would issue a replacement as soon as there was movement seen on my RMA shipping label. Turns out they ran out of boards by the time I had shipped it back as they hadn't bothered to even earmark a board for me. The only options I was given was a refund, or wait till new boards are ever made. Pretty lame, Drop.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Jan 8, 2020
ryedom
14
Jun 17, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
If you manage to get one without issues, it would be a great keyboard to have.
My review was wiped after asking me to set a username. Great, thanks. I'm not retyping all of that, so the basic summary is that I'm already goinng to be buying annoother keeyboard less than a year in because I'm sick oof having everything type twice. I just cannnn't deal with having to go back anndn constantly erase the extra characters. I'd rather have stability over LEDs and macros. There's no reason for me to fighht Drop's support for a replacement whenn it could just happen again. Don't buy this.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Jun 17, 2019
xparru
8
Aug 1, 2019
bookmark_border
Hi, I have tthe same double-triple-stroke issue in my CTRL kkeyboard. Which switches you have? I share your frustration.
Aug 1, 2019
ryedom
14
Aug 27, 2019
bookmark_border
Mine had the Halo Clear switches.
Aug 27, 2019
Showing 43 of 1142