Drop CTRL Mechanical Keyboard
Drop CTRL Mechanical Keyboard
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
13.8k Sold
Product Description
To put it simply, the CTRL mechanical keyboard has it all. Constructed with a solid aluminum frame with a built-in switch plate, it’s stable and fortified Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.2
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
769
check
85%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Jt4ng
0
Sep 21, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great board, lots of expandability
Great board for anyone wanting to get into mech keyboards but don’t want to spend too much on custom boards. Lots of functionality wit QMK and swappable switches
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 21, 2020
baaittyy
0
Sep 19, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great board but..
I’m fairly new to the world of Mechs but once I got this I was instantly in love. My only complaint maybe that the floaty key design might be too low for me. I’ll most likely get the high profile one next!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 19, 2020
EvanCX
0
Sep 18, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
nice keyboard
I really like it.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 18, 2020
bigeasy00023
6
Sep 18, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
surprisingly good
I watched many videos and read many reviews before deciding to purchase the Drop CTRL. To be honest, I was very worried that many of the YouTuber reviews were propping up Drop because of their relationship with the company. But I have to say that I have been pleasantly surprised. Because I was worried about issues with ghosting and double-typing, I chose to go with the Kailh Speed Silvers. All typing errors have been human error. Pros:
  1. everybody knows you want this board because of the vibrant RGB. It looks sick against the stock PBT keycaps (which, by the way, do not feel as rough as many reviews make it seem).
  2. Hotswap
  3. very usable programming software
  4. negative typing angle - my wrists feel great. And I save room on my desk because I no longer need to use my wrist rest
  5. as many reviews have noted, the magnets are super strong now
  6. hefty, thicc boi
Cons
  1. plate mount instead of PCB mount PCB. I will not be using my "nice" switches on this keyboard because I do not want to chop off the extra support legs. However, there was very little rattle when I shook the board. The switches feel pretty stable
  2. More cost effective to go with the stock keyswitches and stock keycaps, but the keyswitch selection isn't great. Also, who wants to pay a $25 premium for Cherry switches????
  3. as people have noted, the LEDs are not totally diffused. Maybe you like the look of the discrete LEDs, but you might expect more for a $200 board
  4. The stabs are not as rattly as I thought they would be, but they definitely rattle. This is an easy fix if you have a spare set of plate mount (no screw in - unless they changed it... I didn't open the board) stabs lying around
  5. the cable is a piece of hot garbage... I would have expected a braided cable for such a high price point. Maybe Drop wants people to buy custom cables from them. I use my own braided cable, but if you don't have one
Conclusion: As much as I thought I wasn't going to, I really enjoy this keyboard. I think the hardest part for somebody will be the price point. This board sits in the middle ground: I do not think the board is a great entry level because it is a bit expensive without some of the features you might expect (e.g. braided cable, PCB mount hot swap, etc.), but it may serve as the transition point for somebody to jump from pre-built to customs. If you want a hefty TKL board with a light show and don't want to spend too much time in the custom scene (yet), this might be a nice thing to buy to TREAT YO SELF
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 18, 2020
And1
6
Sep 15, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Bought bare bones
My first mech keyboard. I've fitted halo clears and pudding pbt blacks and whites. Love it, unfortunately, everyone else in the office does too, I've had so much tech stolen from my desk I have to lock my keyboard up.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 15, 2020
Mrar
0
Sep 13, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Absolutely LOVE this keeb
I grabbed the CTRL and it’s been a dream to use. The aluminum casing has a bit of weight which I really enjoy. The spacing and height of the keys is optimal to my hands. I find myself feeling crushed by other keyboards. I opted for kaihl box whites which are clicky. The sound is sharp and a bit loud so I used some o rings to deepen the tone. This helped since now it’s just harmless white noise neither my partner nor I notice. The firmware bit was the most challenging for me bc I am using a Mac but I was able to get it sorted. The ability to use layers of macros, create light patterns and so on is invaluable to me as someone who enjoys tinkering. Having hot swappable switches is a must for me now! I got tie CTRL what must be 2018? I’m not sure but I’ve had it for a long while and it’s no worse for wear. I’ve changed our switches and keycaps and it’s all been so easy, so enjoyable! I highly recommend this series of keyboards to anyone who is tired of looking for the right one. This one ticks all the boxes for me and I absolutely love it!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 13, 2020
BoshB
0
Sep 10, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great for beginner enthusiasts!
Feels and sounds great!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 10, 2020
bgalima
0
Sep 2, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great entry level keyboard.
Good if you are beginning to jump into mech keyboards. Hot swap sockets help out a lot so you can decide on what switches to use. RGB configuration is great to, you can pretty much set to what you want.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 2, 2020
Vredesbyrd_Noir
2
Aug 29, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Solid board, but some annoyances...
A few things worth mentioning I haven't seen in any other reviews. In some order of significance: Pros:
  • Solidly built base with almost zero flex and a nice finish.
  • Having USB Type-C ports on each side with pass-through is an awesome thing.
  • Keycaps are decent with good translucency on the lettering (but I've only ever had ABS to compare them to.)
Cons:
  • I'm having a debounce issue with some keys which results in multiple actuations for a single press. Not sure if it's the board or the switches but this is really annoying while coding in an IDE or trying to rapidly fire off commands in a terminal.
  • Compared to other boards I have the LED colours seem off. White looks slightly pink at full brightness while red/green/blue are all super neon which just looks tacky next to my fiancée's GMMK TKL and even my old KBParadise V60 (which was nearly half the cost).
  • The keycaps are very hard to read without the LEDs. Combined with the above point, it's not great for keeping a low profile in the office.
  • The Halo Clears were the closest switch to what I wanted but they still don't have the typing experience of the MX Clears I've used for about 3 years now. I've ordered some Hako Clear switches to see if they solve the debounce problem anyway.
  • To be blunt, the cable sucks. It's a cheap, rubberised plastic-coated thing that's just way too short for anyone with a multi-monitor setup or a large tower PC on a desk. I'm amazed I haven't seen anyone else complain about this!
The stabiliser rattle many others have pointed out is there, but not as big of a deal to me as the other things I've mentioned. Also easier to fix by the sounds of it. If none of that stuff really bothers you and you manage to select the right switches, I'm sure you'll love it. But for me, I really was hoping for something special for the $341.47 Australian I paid to get one on my desk!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 29, 2020
Vredesbyrd_Noir
2
Sep 13, 2020
bookmark_border
Haven't received them yet, but I'll post something when I've installed and had a couple of days with them.
Sep 13, 2020
Mrar
0
Sep 13, 2020
bookmark_border
You’re right about the cable. I forgot about it because I replaced it right away. I recommend the same!
Sep 13, 2020
NotSanil
1
Aug 28, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great customizable keyboard
Very solid build with the aluminum, and the Box White switches sound and feel great! Not a huge fan of the stock keycaps so I replaced with a set from aliexpress.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 28, 2020
Showing 13 of 1142
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
1,141 OF 1,142 POSTS
Sep 22, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest