Drop CTRL Mechanical Keyboard
Drop CTRL Mechanical Keyboard
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
433 Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
To put it simply, the CTRL mechanical keyboard has it all. Constructed with a solid aluminum frame with a built-in switch plate, it’s stable and fortified Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.2
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
456
check
77%
would recommend to a friend
search
WrinkledTron
0
Dec 5, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
High quality keyboard
There’s not much to complain about with this keyboard. I went with the Halo Clear switches and they work well for my typing style. I will mostly use the keyboard when programming and writing texts, so I prefer a tactile switch. The things I’m a little annoyed about are all concerning the firmware (more customizations and that the keyboard should remember the last settings when I unplug it). So I guess I’ll be writing my own version of the firmware eventually. But all in all, it’s a high quality keyboard and it has all the major feature you’d want.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Dec 5, 2019
BloodBadr
0
Dec 5, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not satisfied
My first Mechanical Keyboard. I had to replace the silverspeed Switches for Red Switches. (+ $50,-) The Red Switches are good but not silent as I expected, I had to buy the Silent red ones. I also ordered Rubber Orings and new Keycaps because the keycaps don't feel good and there is a metalic sound comming from the keyboard because of the new switches. The keyboard has a really good design. I have not used the second USB-C port because I don't have a dockingstation for it yet. Are there anny other ways to make use of the Second port? I bought the Keyboard for 240Eur Unfortunately I can not see the 240Euros worth in the Keyboard. I will make my own keyboard in the future. This Mechanical Keyboard gets a 7/10
Dec 5, 2019
Muzyk
0
Dec 4, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice!
Overall, great and solid keyboard. A little bit expensive, but if You consider that it has hot-swappable switches, aluminium case, QMK, RGB's - it's price is reasonable for all the features it has. I took Halo Trues switches, which i like and would recommend. As for cons - I'm a little annoyed about that the double typing bug which happens rarely, but still.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dec 4, 2019
EagleEyez
17
Dec 1, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Loving it so far
I’ve been using a Corsair kB with Cherry Mx Silent Reds for a while now but wanted to try a TKL board to free up space on my desk. Bought the CTRL with Kaihua Speed Silvers and have been loving it so far! Looking forward to trying some new keycaps and maybe experimenting with switches in the future. The only con for me is that configuring the LED colors beyond the defaults is a little more complicated than I’d like, but it’s a small complaint.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dec 1, 2019
Brash
8
Nov 24, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Stellar build quality
Pros: Outstanding build quality! The machined metal chassis provides some heft, so it never slides around. RGB is gorgeous and the subtle texture on the keys was an expected bonus. Cons: It forgets your pattern selection everytime it’s unplugged. I use it in my office where I’m popping my laptop off to run to meetings numerous times a day... so I have to cycle back to the preferred pattern multiple times a day.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 24, 2019
Twese
2
Dec 3, 2019
bookmark_border
Would this still be a problem if you used a docking station or powered USB hub?
Dec 3, 2019
Brash
8
Dec 3, 2019
bookmark_border
probably? not sure. I run it off my monitors USB hub currently... along with my DAC. When I pull the laptop off... the monitors keep power to the DAC, but not the keyboard.
Dec 3, 2019
Ihavi
4
Nov 24, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very good
I switched to this keyboard from Razer BlackWidow v1. I ordered my CTRL with Cherry MX Blues this was pretty nice experience especially, for gaming, but I must warn you its really loud :D Difference compared to my old keyboard is night and day, quality and typing experience is just so much better. But I think most of the users already know that. I decided to switch to Zilents V2 62G, I spent like 4 hours clipping and lubing every single switch with Tribosys 3203. But oh boy well worth it... I very much recommend this setup. This now feels like butter, its just amazing to type on. Also very good for gaming, tactile bump is noticeable after lubing(yes I also lubed the "tactile" part of the switch, because I felt it was just little bit too tactile). Now I feel like its perfect. I also love the rough keycaps. It's for sure the best keyboard I have ever used or tried, however it could be improved. Stabs could be much better I noticed sound of them especially after switching to Zilents V2, with Cherry MX blues it was not that noticeable. I am definitely going to upgrade the stabs. Also cable should be at least textile and bit longer at this price point. I did not experienced any problems with magnetic feet, they just stay on. Overall I love it, I love that I can switch my switches at any time and customize it to my liking.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Nov 24, 2019
Danu.exe
2
Nov 23, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Exactly as I expected.
Given that it is at such a high price point, I wasn't entirely sure if it would be worth it, but after all research I did prior to buying, as well as my experience after buying, I can garrenty that it is packed full of cool stuff to make it worth that price. I do have a few complaints however, the cable is short, and not braided (something I would really expect at this price.) Customer support wasn't terribly helpful iin resolving a problem I thought was fairly simple, being that wanted to buy the board with keycaps and not switches, and finally there is still no way to customize the board in software rather than firmware, and the the firmware customizer is fairly limited so if you want to make a any terribly advanced effects you have to download a preset someone else has coded themselves.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 23, 2019
d0nk
0
Nov 22, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Solid keyboard, very customizable
I bought this with Halo trues and swapped in zealio 67g switches. I love the keyboard overall so far. The lighting is quite nice and the keycaps it comes with feel good
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 22, 2019
nicseth
6
Nov 22, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I love it!
There’s a lot I love about the CTRL keyboard. Here are a few to summarize: Pros: • Came well packaged with air packets • Build quality and sturdiness of keyboard case • Keycap stability — is not rattly, precise and sharp control. • Stock RGB firmware is easy to customize without installing the driver. • RGB lighting is pristine and satisfying Cons:
  • The USB C cable looks cheap

search
search


check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Nov 22, 2019
Bugfragged
2
Nov 18, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good enough
I have yet to experience any of the horror stories in some of the other reviews, but I've only had the keyboard for less than a week so far. I was also fast enough to get the bare-bones version before Drop took away that option. The good:
  • You can control the direction of the scrolling pattern, and I especially like the ripple in/out direction.
  • There are two USB-C ports and the one you don't use for the cable can be used for low-powered USB devices.
  • The RGB strips surrounding the side of the keyboard will make your desk look better IMO.
  • Unlike a lot of keyboards I've used before, this one by default has one Windows key, one FN key, and one Option key, making it so that it matches most keycap sets.
  • The sockets are hotswap, which means you can use switches that aren't commonly offered by most pre-builts. You also don't need to solder.
The neutral:
  • The stabilizers are smoother and less rattly than the ones on certain gaming keyboards (low bar, I know). It's still not as buttery smooth as the ones on a Varmilo keeb and could probably use more lube. Considering the price of the barebone keyboard, I think Drop should try to match the higher end brands in stabilizer quality.
The bad:
  • Other than the scrolling pattern, the majority of the default RGB patterns are static. You'll probably need to git gud at QMK to get additional animated patterns.
  • Apparently, settings are lost if the CTRL is unplugged or if the computer goes to sleep. You'll keep whatever you programmed into the firmware, but you'll need to use the FN keys to get to your exact RGB settings again.
  • The card describing the FN functions don't state how many brightness levels there are. Mine goes from 0-17. Is this the same for everyone else?
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 18, 2019
Showing 12 of 765
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
765 OF 765 POSTS
Dec 6, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest