Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
shopping_cart
Drop + Fizan Compact Trekking Poles

Drop + Fizan Compact Trekking Poles

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
549 requests
·
7.3k Sold
·
Free Returns in USA
Product Description
Made in collaboration with Fizan, an Italian pole maker that’s been in business since 1947, these are among the lightest collapsible, fully adjustable trekking poles on the market. They feature the 7001 aluminum construction and super-strong locking system of Fizan’s original Compact poles, plus a few improvements to help you out on the trail Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
189
check
96%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
M-T-K
4
Jan 4, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent Trekking Poles!
I used these trekking poles (compact 3) on my thru-hike of the Appalachian Trail in 2017 and they were amazing. Very light weight, incredibly sturdy, and they saved my butt during many near-miss falls and stumbles. I've bought two pairs of these poles and would easily buy more if they came back to Massdrop!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
olneylee
22
Apr 10, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very light, ergonomic design. My wife uses them a lot along with some heavier aluminum poles. These have a better feel and expand more easily and intuitively. Great for even smaller suitcases. Great price.
twartzack
15
Feb 21, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I'm happy with my purchase of these trekking poles. For the price I paid, it was really a no-brainer. The poles are light and come with 3 sets of baskets of different sizes. I'm 6 foot, 195 pounds and trust the telescopic locks to support me on uneven terrain. I use these poles on the longest setting and have no issues with them during the 100-ish miles I have put on them on the AT in Pennsylvania. The grips could be better if they were cork, but I have had no issues with the foam so far and realize the foam helps keep the cost down. The rubber tips are super tight, which is good for making sure they stay in place, but make it pretty hard to add and remove from the pole. I am bringing these to climb Kilimanjaro in a few weeks, so I will update this review based on how well they perform there. Update: These poles stood up to a week on Kilimanjaro. Brutal uphills and even more brutal downhills. Love these things.
(Edited)
notrix
49
Nov 7, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
So far I used these poles twice, both times for light hikes with 35lb weight on my back. Poles performed great. I got poles that fold smaller. I found the best way to tighten them is to set them to the right length without tightning, then put one hand on the handle and the other on the tip (readjust hands if needed), and tighten slowly by twisting until it just starts to feel tight across all segments. Last thing these poles need is to be overtightened as they seem to snap under load if overtightened - as other reviewers mentioned. Ultimate test will have to be going downhill with a full pack. Really hoping they'll make it. EDIT: poles made it and have been by primary poles since then. Love them.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Todd149084
21
Jun 3, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I really wanted to love these poles, but in the end I can’t trust them. I bought them for hikes in the Italian alps due to the fact that they pack smaller than my trusty REI poles. I recently tested them on the rogue river trail in southern Oregon, with muddy conditions. locking the poles via twisting is difficult and when my full weight was on them (I’m 6’1”, 210lbs) the bottom section frequently slipped and partially collapsed, which caused dangerous situations in clambering over trees and coming down muddy slopes. in one example that sealed their fate with me, I was coming down a very muddy hill and had to brace myself, putting my full weight plus 45lb pack onto it, the left bottom section bent and the right collapsed, sending me sliding down, covering me in mud and pulling my shoulder almost out of its socket. also, the straps come loose constantly and the handles are not comfortable, quickly getting slippery with sweat I’ll never use this brand again.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
A community member
Jun 26, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Lightweight but lots of shake, rattle and roll
I received these recently - they arrived very quickly to Australia from MD. I currently use a non-adjustable black diamond carbon pole but I bought the fizans for their adjustability to use with a tarp. I had an older (heavier) pair of fizan poles for around a decade that were bombproof, until my GSP puppy ate the handles, so I totally respect the brand and their poles. These poles are very, very light for aluminium; have fantastic adjustability and packability; were a great price and I have no reason to doubt the quality of the locking mechanism that I have used before. I do like the straps but the grips are fairly basic - some more texturing and length would be nice but the poles are great for the budget price and they even come with baskets for snow. That said, you do sacrifice sturdiness with these poles - they clatter and shake when you use them and they feel very flimsy although no doubt they are stronger than they feel (or sound). I tried manipulating the section lengths for optimal stiffness but they still flex and clatter. I wonder why, for very lightweight poles, they don't make the sections in a slightly wider tubeset -that is how aluminium bikes are made strong and light. In summary: light and cheap but lots of shake, rattle and roll.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Crazy light and comfortable, but not without problems.
The Good: My pair weighed in at 11.72 oz with straps, no baskets or tips. Crazy light. Awesome! Comfortable handles. Lots of accessories. Made in Italy. Great price. The Bad: 1) They buzz at the connections. Very distracting and a total deal breaker for me. Where the larger tubes overlap the smaller tubes, there's a tiny gap between the tubes. When planting the poles at an angle, the tubes vibrate together and BUZZ. I applied a layer of tape on the smaller tubes to try to eliminate the gap, but it did not help. I was forced to tape over the connections and it did solve the BUZZ problem, but now the poles are not really adjustable as they were designed. If they had a ferrule or end cap on the ends, the buzzing may have been eliminated. Would be worth the +/- 3 gram weight penalty. 2) The straps - very thin and light and very comfortable. They adjust very easily which at first I thought was brilliant. Very easy to make micro adjustments, which is so much easier than other poles that use a similar arrangement. The problem is that every time you take them off or let them hang from your wrist, they can loosen up. I have not noticed them loosening while in use, but every time I take them off, I have to be careful to hold the strap taught. A work around would be to zip tie the hanging end of the strap to the pole under the handle to stop it from moving. Another issue with the straps is that since they are so thin, they soak with sweat and stick to your wrists and make it hard to remove them without losing your adjustment. Obviously, only a warm weather issue. Conclusion: If you are willing to put up with the shortcomings in favor of the ultralight weight, I say go for it. But I'm leaning towards calling these poles "Stupid Light." Does not seem worth the hassle to save an ounce or two per pole. YMMV. Hike your own hike!
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
mattpark673
6
Dec 13, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazingly light weight. I took these poles on my thru-hike of the Appalachian Trail. I did have a couple of grievances:
  • After a few months of use, the poles were a bit difficult to collapse. The pieces rusted a bit and made untightening it a nightmare.
  • The straps eventually smelled worse than death.. but I think thats a problem with most poles after a while imo.
  • Both eventually snapped on me - just under 2,000 miles.
That being said it was probably from extreme overuse - Overall, I'd buy these again.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Hiker204
5
Sep 24, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Bought the compact 4 and was super excited wheb I got them* they were super light and compact* purchased them right before I hiked the 400km East Coast trail in Newfoundland Canada* first day I broke one* it snapped while I was defending a steep cliff. The second one broke on the 4th day due to corossion from the salty air. Had to replace them with black diamond carbon distance Z. I would only recommend these for walking on very groomed non technical trails*
ShilohTD
33
Aug 24, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Just when I think Massdrop is going to shit
I really don't like the direction this site is going. That being said these are great.
Showing 10 of 189
Related Products