Massdrop x Beyerdynamic DT 177X GO Headphones
Massdrop x Beyerdynamic DT 177X GO Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.3k Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
A collaboration with world-renowned headphone manufacturer Beyerdynamic, the DT 177X GO has the kind of German-made quality you can see, hear, and feel. Based on the DT 1770 PRO, it uses the latest generation of 45-millimeter Tesla drivers for a wide frequency range and a weighty, controlled bass Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
74
check
94%
would recommend to a friend
search
Milky78
5
Apr 7, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A decent set of headphones for the money
Ok, so here goes, my first review ever. Hard to put these into perspective, as so many variables and it's all relative to what we have experienced. So my experience is a set of HD600s with Darkvoice (with aftermarket tubes) and I love that setup. I added a THX amp and it didnt pair as nicely. I have a set of Sony WH1000 ANCs and they are fine and when I got them I thought they were amazing, but the HD600s crushed them in almost every category except ANC mobile use. I was asking a bit of the family to listen my heavier music from the HD600s, so had been keeping the music a bit more palatable, rock punk etc which goes well with HD600 and tubes, but I missed my metal, so was keen for some decent closed backs. Searched for a while and these popped up, so thought I'd take a chance. I watched a few reviews and they seemed to fit the bill. I have had them 4 days now and initially I wasnt that impressed. They sounded a bit muddied and obviously closed in compared to the HD600s. I swapped the pads back and forth. Fist time changing the pads is full of swear words but you eventually get the hang of it and now I got it down to probably 30 seconds to do both. I originally took the leather ones straight off again as didnt sound right. The velour ones take a bit to break in as still dont seal right, almost like there isn't quite enough clamping force. The leathers provide a decent seal and add a touch of bass and remove a bit of the thighs compared to the velour pads. I'm running the headphones off a mixture of AQ DF Red, Airist R2R and either Darkvoice or SMSL SP200. Initially unimpressed with performance on tubes, but being low impedance I should have expected so. At present in listening to some metal I haven't listened too in a while and it sounds pretty good, well balanced and separated, but intimate soundstage. The headphones are a little grittier and I guess warmer than expected, I assumed they'd be a bit more analytical, but saying that, that's probably not what I needed/wanted. I s'pose these do suit what I'm listening to and do the job pretty well. I guess when I spend more tha I have before I had high expectations, but law of diminishing g returns are there. I also assume some burn in has/will help, or I'm just getting used to them. The cord is a pain in the ass. Have order2d some Hart cables They dont come with a case, but looking at a Slappa case. Also interested in some Dekoni pads. Wow, had more to say than I though. TLDR, pretty good headphones, the YT reviews are about right. Cord sucks. Do specifically need and AMP/External DAC but doesnt hurt.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apr 7, 2020
Milky78
5
Apr 8, 2020
bookmark_border
Thanks for the feedback, yeah had hoped they would loosen up after some time. I haven't found the highs too bad especially with the leather pads. How do you find the cable, seems a bit long for your phone and too short for desktop headphone amp. It also clips up real bad and has mocrophonic issues.
Apr 8, 2020
bcaulf
106
Apr 8, 2020
bookmark_border
I didn’t mind the cable too much but I ended up gettin a third party one anyway which is nicer and a more appropriate length for me.
Apr 8, 2020
RedbirdGT
0
Mar 29, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Another fine addition to the Beyer lineup
I own the Beyer 1770, 770 (80 Ohm), and now the 177x go. I use closed back headphones frequently in applications where I need to avoid noise leakage and provide good isolation from the surrounding environment. The 177x has excellent isolation and you're not going to bother anybody around you - even if they're driven hard. The overall sound signature is still "Beyer", but a bit more natural sounding. Detail is still very good and they have smoothed out what could at times be a harsh sibilance from the 1770 Pro model. That comes at a small sacrifice of sparkle in the highs, but it is less fatiguing when listening for long sessions. The bass response like the 1770 is notably impacted by the positioning of the headphones. When you have them in the sweet spot, bass is plentiful, but doesn't overpower. If anything, some of sub bass is missing from the 1770. The fact that these can be adequately driven from a cell phone or laptop makes them a potential choice for travel, even if they're far from compact. This flexibility is the main reason I made the purchase. The leather pads should be installed by default - the overall sound signature and bass boost is notably improved over the velour option. That's been consistent for me across the Beyer headphone line.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Mar 29, 2020
Rowart
3
Mar 26, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent ANC esp for Music on iPhone
Comfortable, very good music reproduction (not amazing but better than most other ANC options). Amazing output driven only by iPhone without any amp.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Mar 26, 2020
Rowart
3
Mar 29, 2020
bookmark_border
Yes yes ok. I used “ANC” by habit. They are indeed “PNC” and quite effective. I own a dozen high-end headphones and always looking for a combination of great sound (to my taste, I.e. clarity, accuracy, full range balance), comfort, portability and noise- canceling! Ha! Pretty impossible but these are a great value, exc performance considering, have wired option (hate bluetooth), and provide a satisfying place in the spectrum. My top go-to set, btw, is AKG 812’s — hard to find, pricey, but terrific (and I have high/end HIFIMAN and FOCAL models too).
Mar 29, 2020
iAmRoy
2
Mar 30, 2020
bookmark_border
Cooool! Thanks for the response Rowart. I see what you did there. haha. (Y) Glad you like them. Looking forward to receiving mine. Shipping through these times has been quite... thrilling.
Mar 30, 2020
Electro3000
6
Mar 15, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love these! Excellent closed backs (the best I've had).
I was looking for an upgrade to my Audio Technica's noise canceling BT Headphones for work. I needed closed backs for it to be effective at work. The DT 177X actually do a better job of isolating me from my office work environment while playing music than my ATH-ANC900BT (that might not be the case in a plane - I still love my AT). The DT 177X GO sound amazing driven by the modest Schiit Fulla 2 connected to my iPhone XR used as a transport via the Apple camera adapter, and ever better connected to my Schiit MB Bifrost + Magni Heresy. Detailed and natural, they remind me of my old HD600 with a well defined, detailed, never harsh midrange. But better in all aspects. I've tried a few pads but the stock velour one is the best IMO for sound accuracy and dynamics. The stock leather ones are more comfortable and sounds more pleasant but at the price of texture and accuracy. I also found the leather pads more fatiguing over long listening sessions - I plan to give it a second try in the future. Don't get the XL pads recommended by Zeus, IME they completely degrade the sound, and confort was marginally better than the stock velour pads. I've upgraded the cable using Neutrik connectors and Canare L-2T2S cable. An improvement in overall smoothness and sonic scale (sounds feels more filling, bigger). An excellent closed back in my experience providing good isolation from environment noise. Music is reproduced with a ton of detail and texture in an analog like, natural sounding presentation. Perfect for getting in the zone at work.
Mar 15, 2020
astral_flow
3
Mar 14, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Just one headphones - three different worlds.
First off, I'd like to say that these are the first headphones in my practice that change its sound so dramatically depending on the pads used. And they never sound bad. So I have 3 pads now: the velour stock pads, the sheepskin Dekoni stock pads and the Brainwavz XL pads. And all three sound absolutely different. It feels like you change the headphones, not just pads. At the moment I'm using the Dekoni sheepskin pads. That's because my dac/amp pair is not too bassy so the Dekoni pads deliver just great amount of bass. If your dac/amp is bass-heavy then you'll probably want to stick with some other pads. The Brainwavz pads add sooooo much air to the sound... I can't even describe it. But the bass is not enough for me (because of my dac/amp stack). I tried using the 177x via my Echobox audio player and it delivers enough bass even with the Brainwavz pads. And the velour pads... it's just something in the middle. Again, if I was using my 177x with the Echobox player on day-to-day basis, I'd stick with the velour pads (or maybe Brainwavz). Anyways, all 3 sets are great. Just choose the ones you love more :) Guess this review is not complete yet cause I'm still waiting for the balanced cable to arrive. And the burn-in process is still in progress :) So I think the sound will improve even more with time. At the moment I'm really impressed with the soundstage. The bass, midrange and highs are pretty good regardless of what pads you are using. But you can fine-tune the sound and make it perfect for you by switching the pads :) Update: So I ended up liking theeeese chinese pads best: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32967593057.html I also removed the protective round pieces of foam from inside the cups and now I'm incredible happy :) This feeling when you finally realize how the bass sould 'flow' inside your head... is really unbeatable. I mean really floooow, not just know to your ears. Without the foam these headphones may sound a bit harsh for some folks. I guess the sound now is more like the original 1770s. But for me it's great, fantastic. So much detail, unbelievable soundstage and accurate as f*ck stereo imaging. I can't imagine the headphones that sound better than these, really. The best purchase so far. BTW, my setup includes Teac UD-501 DAC + Liquid Carbon X Amp + balanced Hart cables.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Mar 14, 2020
bcaulf
106
Mar 14, 2020
bookmark_border
Nice review, kinda weird I was thinking about this a few hours ago; if I ever get bored of these (which probably wouldn't happen for a while), what headphone could I get next? Then realized that I might get a different headphone just by changing the pads! I've never removed the velours from mine. They seem to be the most analytical (I can hear a little crap in crap recordings, but they never fatigue), but also the most open and balanced. Which Brainwavz pads are you using, are they the perforated ones that others have been recommending? Also, I just got a custom balanced cable in yesterday. It's nice material and shorter length, which I like. My Fiio amp/DAC is noted to be more powerful in balanced mode, so I can now use these in low gain mode. Everything sounds just ever so slightly smoother, tighter and cleaner. Enjoy the headphones!
Mar 14, 2020
vauxxer
1
Mar 13, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awesome Sound!
At first, I didn't like the sound with the defaults pads, but once I switched them for the leathers ones (they are included) the difference was unbelievable. The sound its super natural and the bass its really awesome, you can literally feel the beats. These are great for Electronic music, Hard rock and Jazz
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Mar 13, 2020
scottw919
0
Mar 11, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Exciting sound!
Loving my new beyers. Comfy, even more so with the aftermarket Brainwavz. A very engaging headphone.
Mar 11, 2020
Supert812
0
Mar 1, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great closed back headphones for the price
Only have had these for a couple days now, but so far first impressions are amazing! Much more comfortable than they look and they have a pretty good soundstage on them. The leather pads can get bass heavy for my liking so I stick with the velour. All in all i would recommend if you're looking for a great headphone that you can wear outdoors
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Mar 1, 2020
turbo_david
2
Feb 29, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great set of cans
I'm by no means and audiophile. Coming from the FOSTEX TR-X00 PURPLEHEART. Love the sound on the 177x. The only grip like others is the cable. I ordered a new one from Hart. In the meantime I made my own < $20. Pinout has been posted here so it was pretty straight forward. Took me about 20 min to do and seems to work fine!!!
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Feb 29, 2020
Hyde
626
Mar 8, 2020
bookmark_border
How do you find them compare to the TR-X00 Purpleheart?
Mar 8, 2020
IGpro
8
Mar 25, 2020
bookmark_border
got the same question :)
Mar 25, 2020
Scamdrop
28
Feb 15, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Cable is an ok cable, there's not too much to nitpick with these headphones besides the cable, the padswap is actually really easy once you learn what to do, takes about 1 minute with the knowledge. Pop the inner ring that's securing the stock pads out with a flathead or something flat and small and slip the new pads on, only thing to make sure of when snapping the rings back into place is that there's a little groove in the outer ring that holds the inner one in place, if you line the inner tiny clip up with the outer, it's a breeze. These sound so good, the highs aren't assaulting and with my a20 amp the bass slams surprisingly hard. There is a noticeable difference with the dekoni and stock pads, the sound signature changes and it's totally subjective. More bass with the leather pads, velour has a slightly softer sound. They remind me a little bit of the 6xx sound signature but in my opinion so far I like how these portray music more, it's a tad more aggressive, the isolation really turns up the bass and I'm a huge fan. The velour pads not sealing issue that others have mentioned happened to me too but I slightly bent the headphones and it went away, also taking off the velour pads and massaging them to break them in will help. Drop did a good job, these are great for the price. Edit: ended up returning these, there was distortion when turning the volume up and boosting the low-end with eq, these headphones sound great but they get overwhelmed by their lower end. Not sure if my model was defective or if I just listen to music too loud.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Feb 15, 2020
Showing 20 of 239
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
239 OF 239 POSTS
Apr 8, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest