Massdrop x Beyerdynamic DT 177X GO Headphones
Massdrop x Beyerdynamic DT 177X GO Headphones
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
5
Production
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
This product is in the works!
We’re working hard to make something you’ll love. Learn more about how our products come to life in Drop Studio.
539 Sold
Product Description
A collaboration with world-renowned headphone manufacturer Beyerdynamic, the DT 177X GO has the kind of German-made quality you can see, hear, and feel. Based on the DT 1770 PRO, it uses the latest generation of 45-millimeter Tesla drivers for a wide frequency range and a weighty, controlled bass ... Read More
4.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
5 Reviews
Here's what our community has to say
search
Michael24bit
18
Apr 22, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
See my full review on Headfonics.com here: https://headfonics.com/2019/04/massdrop-x-beyerdynamic-dt-177x-go-review/?fbclid=IwAR0isbsmc5a_fWvdoU9xQdZyPLzydQ51-fzzka_rjfVtzJzEsjAPJjeFKsc Massdrop bats a home run again. This one will sell out fast. At a lower price than the already nice current price of the DT1770, the Massdrop variant retains exceptional value and price to performance of the original. Generalist The headphone is a fantastic generalist, without sounding overly warm or icy. It falls right in the middle as what I’d consider a neutral beast. But, oddly and thankfully, only in tonality. Physical dynamic impact levels are less than moderately setup, which means the headphone is a pleasure to listen to without harsh wince factor and slam. Beyond that, the headphone is only 32ohm and powered easily by a portable music player. This headphone now becomes one of the best overall $500 and under headphones on the market and perhaps one of the best generalists as well. It doesn’t lack anywhere. If you want more bass, it can support a bit more via EQ and not lose control or sound muddy even at +5dB. If you want to record in a studio, this is a brilliant option. Gaming If you game a lot, you’ll also love it. This headphone turned out to be shockingly useful, able to be toted from a walk outside with a lot of EQ in my music playlist, to listening to a podcast on YouTube, to then being used to mess with some guitar recording I tried out. Considering also it is one of the most comfortable headphones out there. My only real gripe is the included stock cable, which is just a bit too long and bulky. I’d really have loved a shorter cable with an extension included, instead of what I was given. Beyond that, this is a fantastic headphone that I regard highly as easily one of the best, if not the best of the larger closed backs out there sub $500. -Michael (Headfonics)
Apr 22, 2019
moedawg140
13
Apr 19, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Massdrop X Beyerdynamic DT 177X GO Review I would like to thank Thomas, Christian, and the Massdrop team for the MASSDROP X BEYERDYNAMIC DT 177X GO for my honest opinion. One of my current favorite pairings is the Questyle Audio QP2R with the MASSDROP X BEYERDYNAMIC DT 177X GO (I'll call it the DT 177X GO from now on). You are able to listen to the headphone Balanced, but I didn't try it out yet - hopefully I can borrow a mini 4-pin XLR Balanced cable to try it out with the QP2R in the near future. My thoughts are about SE, not Balanced (to think the sound may be more amazing Balanced!) The sound of the DT 177X GO is what I would like to call musically neutral. The entire spectrum is very clear and holographic. Not a lower midrange and bass/subbass such as the TH-X00 series, but a champion when it comes to immense clarity and neutrality. The comfort of the headphone is very comfortable as well - the velour pads are soft to the touch and feel like an ear massage acoustically and physically. This is a headphone that can easily be used for mastering, or listened to while relaxing with your favorite beverage of choice. My sister's husband Christian (XAVR), who is a singer, and uses mastering headphones offers these thoughts: "Sounds very good. Has a flat sound, and gets really loud. I really like the shell - it seems like it makes the audio sound better. I like the velour pads more because they attribute to a warmer sound." This Massdrop x Beyerdynamic collaboration headphone marks a point where a neutral-based headphone can sound amazing to the ears and feel great as well. For those that have tried it to really enjoy the DT 177X GO is awesome, in my opinion. Here's my thoughts about the DT 177X GO: The bass is not overbearing in the least, and is nice and controlled. No huge spikes or dips in the subbass and midbass areas to my ears, but just enough for you to be adequately satisfied. The midrange is clean, almost sterile, yet musical in its own right. The treble is methodic, and not sibilant. The upper midrange into the treble may be the star(s) of the show, where you may not be searching for a thumping subwoofer feeling, but yearning for a sweet, clinical mid to upper register. The DT 177X GO delivers this and a whole lot more, in my opinion. The soundstage and detail are very good, especially emitting through a closed back headphone.   Is the DT 177X GO worth it? I would say yes! If you haven't owned a Beyerdynamic headphone before, this may be your chance to check it out on your own! Even if you currently own a Beyerdynamic, this may be a great time to own quite frankly one of my favorite Beyerdynamic headphones! I feel the DT 177X GO is definitely worth the price - kind of like the opposite of the love that I have for the TH-X00 series (loved the overall sound and bass of those headphones). I adore the attention to detail with regards to the musically neutral sound and also the immense comfort of the headphone itself. I would think the DT 177X GO is the higher fidelity upgrade of the musically flat but nice sounding K7XX. The DT 177X GO is in my opinion the quintessential choice for those yearning for a massage to the ears; a technical and a thoroughly relaxing experience. Enjoy acoustic luxury! Specs: Massdrop x Beyerdynamic Closed-back principle Circumaural fit Driver: 45mm Tesla neodymium technology Frequency response: 5 Hz–40 kHz Impedance: 32 ohms Painted aluminum ear cups Spring steel headband Metal yokes Dark blue stitching Cable: Straight, detachable Connector: ⅛ in (3.5 mm) Made in Germany Included: Pair of sheepskin ear pads Pair of velour ear pads ⅛–¼ in (3.5–6.35 mm) adapter Shipping: All orders will be shipped by Massdrop. Estimated ship date is Sep 30, 2019 PT. After this product run ends, payment will be collected and orders will be submitted to the vendor up front, making all orders final. Check the discussion for updates on your order. 5/5 stars
Apr 19, 2019
JoeBi
70
May 1, 2019
bookmark_border
I'm not sure you "get it, daily." Strange bio, is that an attempt to run malware or just pawn off paranoia?
(Edited)
May 1, 2019
Droidbott
2
May 1, 2019
bookmark_border
It's a shitty attempt to run code through XSS, but Drop ain't dumb and actually sanitized all inputs. He's trying his hardest.
May 1, 2019
BadSeedTech
44
Apr 16, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The DT 177X GO is everything I love about the Beyerdynamic sound in a flexible package that makes it my new go-to closed back set for mobile, gaming, and studio use. Check out my review below: https://youtu.be/PzWyjN0pDR8 Disclaimer: Massdrop provided the 177X GO as an advanced sample for the purposes of this review. They did not influence the review in any way and they have not seen the final video prior to it going live. Rating 5/5
(Edited)
Apr 16, 2019
BadSeedTech
44
May 6, 2019
bookmark_border
Thought I posted this a while ago but just want to say your reviews are extremely impressive, man. Had me going back through and listening to some of my phones differently. I'm still developing my ear and they've been very helpful.
May 6, 2019
Neji
126
May 12, 2019
bookmark_border
What a great review! I have one disagreement. A Massdrop X DT1990? Nah, Massdrop x Beyerdynamic making a DT 188X 600 ohm model is what I want/need. Now we are talking a studio monitor/mixing headphone of the gods!
May 12, 2019
ZeosPantera
975
Apr 16, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Well done Massdrop, Making things I normally dislike into something I really love. Review Below https://youtu.be/U1WshoNeVl8

Disclaimer: These Beyer-dynamic 177X GO were an advanced set, sent to me as a sample for this review.
(Edited)
Apr 16, 2019
ZeosPantera
975
Apr 22, 2019
bookmark_border
Atom is almost a perfect amp. Will run these fine. They are relatively low Ω.
Apr 22, 2019
dreadknot
0
Apr 22, 2019
bookmark_border
Apr 22, 2019
jaydunndiddit
2098
Apr 16, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Disclaimer: The Beyerdynamic 177X GO were sent to me as a sample for the purpose of this review. Hat tip to Massdrop for the opportunity to check these out.

The Good - Gentle, U-shaped headphones. Smooth, detailed, and well balanced overall. Solid, punchy bass. Laid back midrange. Highs are clean and detailed. Great comfort (with sheepskin pads) and build quality. Sound is very clean without weird peaks/dips or unwanted resonance. Very easy to drive even from a portable device. Scales slightly with nicer gear. Sheepskin pads are very plush and cushioning. Low distortion. Prefered at lower listening volumes. Good isolation. The Meh - Only one cable. No storage box or travel case. Sheepskin pads don't fit in driver housing ring. Average soundstage. Can sound a bit congested and flat on busy, dense tracks. Midrange is sometimes bit too laid-back and could use a boost in the lower and upper mids. Could use more sub bass impact/rumble. More transportable than portable. The Ugly - Velour pads are quite stiff. Dome of driver rubs ears with velour pads. No mic cable. Cups prone to scratches and fingerprints. Not easy to source a balanced 4-pin mini XLR (TA4F) cable. No travel case. Sibilance on 'S' and 'T' sounds for some tracks. Cymbals can sometimes be "sizzly" and too forward in the mix. Upper midrange lacking  a bit in presence. Wide peaks in upper highs can sometimes add too much sharpness and edge to vocals and certain instruments. Unforgiving of poorly recorded/mastered tracks. Build, Fit, & Finish Nice color and finish. Looks appealing with how the silver lettering pops off the brushed cups. They feel premium and have a nice weight to them. They're also quite sturdy and don't feel like a toy in your hands. Sliders click into place with good resistance. Cups pivot but have slight rotation at the hinge. The headband is rather flexible overall and contours nicely over your head. The few pieces of plastic present look to be of high quality as well, but is kept to a minimum. Headband has plenty of cushioning on the bottom from end-to-end. Hand-stitched on the top with ‘Beyerdynamic’ stamped in the leather. While the headphones are hefty, the weight is well distributed across your head. The clamp is average, maybe a bit more. They are rather snug fitting but never feel like your head is under a vice. Both pads are flat. The sheepskin pads are thick, plush, and soft. They are very comfortable and my preferred choice. My ears never felt suffocated or hot with them as they have tons of room. The velour pads are thinner and rolled, have a firmer foam, don’t isolate as well, and bring the drivers closer to your ears. For me and the velour pads, my ears rub on the dome that is at the center of the driver. This just distracted and annoyed me any time I tried to use them. The cups have a notched “fitting ring” for getting the pads on. The velour pads can fit in this ring but not the sheepskin. The material is thicker and longer so unless you can wedge the material in there, they will stretch and fit over the cups themselves. They are secure but it doesn’t look as clean. Sheepskin pads also work very well for those that wear glasses as they’re very supple and have some give due to the memory foam. The cable is nice and just thick enough. The mini xlr plugs into the headphone cup with a hefty click when it locks. Cable is a good length and comes with a 6.35mm TRS adapter. Did not detect any microphonics or cable noise. Cable is pliable enough and doesn’t really kink or get coiled up. Portability & Isolation These are rather large headphones. But, they are rather snug fitting so they don’t feel loose on your head when moving about. They pretty much stay firmly in place. This also helps with their isolation as with the sheepskin pads, they don’t let much sound in or out. This was nice as I got to enjoy a lower listening volume where I thought everything sounded more balanced overall. The velour pads do feel nice. However, they don’t isolate as well as the other pads and also let more sound in. It’s enough difference to be noticeable but even with the velour pads, I would say their isolation is still above average. Easy to drive from a mobile device due to the 32-ohm drivers. I can get them rather loud with some headroom left, even on my cellphone. Cable could be a foot shorter for mobile use but is a good length for home setups. Equipment Used At work, an iFi xDSD was used via USB into my laptop running Spotify. At home, a THX AAA 789 paired to an SMSL SU-8 (balanced interconnects) connected to my phone or laptop via USB running Spotify and ripped FLAC files. Listening Preferences My taste is pretty eclectic and all over the place, but this is a rough idea of what I listened to  with the 177X: https://open.spotify.com/user/jaydunndiddit/playlist/6dhI64BEeqQIdFlcodklma? . Sound
Lows - Bass extends well. A nice boost over neutral to give the lows some good punch. Bass is tight, fast, and overall very clean. These are not bassy headphones. Some may find them lacking in impact and slam. More mid bass punchiness over sub-bass rumble. Lows don’t really bleed into the mids. No cup resonance or ringing. Kick drums and guitars have good body. Mids - Mids are good. Even and flat throughout for the most part so everything sounds clear and well balanced. For some tracks, upper midrange can lack a little presence. Highs -  Treble sounds clear and balanced overall. Tuned north of neutral, but not overbearingly so. There is a slight sharpness to certain sounds, and vocals can sometimes sound a little edgy. Some sibilance is present on ‘S’ and ‘T’ sounds as well as cymbals, but I really only experienced this at slightly higher listening volumes. At lower volumes, highs have enough presence to be present without being overpowering. Soundstage & Imaging The soundstage size feels average. I don’t sense a lot of depth or height. The presentation is very intimate. Instruments and voices are clear and do have some relative sense of space. Tends to sound very inside your head. Imaging and placement of instruments is good within this smallish space. Some vocals and instruments can become lost on busier, dense tracks. Quick Comparisons All observations were done single ended with the THX 789/SU-8 on a gain of 1 having the volume controlled by the DAC. I used the same playlist for each session. I volume matched to the best of my ability and tried to keep pad type and material as consistent as possible. Fostex TR-X00 Ebony (TH900 sheepskin pads) - Slightly V-shaped. Bigger bass. More impact and energy due to boost in sub bass. Lows sound more textured. Soundstage is about the same, on the small side, boxy, and intimate. The TR-X00 image just as well as the 177X. The mids and upper mids are more recessed and lack presence. Treble can get hot and tends to get sibilant more often than the 177X do. Treble has a lot of energy but maybe a bit too much. The 177X sounds smooth and more balanced by comparison. Focal Elegia (Dekoni sheepskin pads) - Neutral/bright headphones. Sounds much more effortless. A more dynamic, technical listen. Upper mids more forward and present. Soundstage sounds a bit larger, like it wants to spill outside of your head. Stage is much more 3-Dimensional as I have a greater sense of depth and height. The sense of the room/venue and its acoustics comes off well. Bass is tighter, but lacks in quantity. Drums have more snap and guitars have more bite. Horns and other brass instruments sound more textured. More neutral overall in the lows and mids. 177X is a bit warmer and laid-back by comparison, lacking in some technicalities and presence. AudioQuest NightOwl (stock protein leather) - L-Shaped. Soundstage size is about the same size but is better defined and more 3-Dimensional. A better sense of height and bit of depth. Warmer and smoother overall. A more laid-back, chill listen. Not necessarily dark, but they do lack energy and presence. Lows lack impact although they are even and well extended. What bass is present, is very tight and doesn’t encroach on the mids. Highs are soft, and lack energy and edge by comparison. An easier listen but it doesn’t feel as technical or revealing. Vocals do sound full and smooth. The 177X is much more bright and lively by comparison. Technically, superior unless you prefer a smoother, more romantic listen. Campfire Cascade (stock sheepskin) - Kind of W-shaped. The bass cannon in the group. Extends well and has a healthy bass boost in the sub and mid region. Well textured, full, and tight. Some may find it too thick but gives notes and instruments a nice weight that makes the 177X seem thin by comparison. Tonally, they are very similar. The treble here, is present but tamed. No rough edges. Notes feel as if they have more air and space. Mids are a bit more forward overall, so they don’t get lost in busier tracks and helps to cut through all the bass. Smoother and more exciting overall. Otherwise, a colored, engaging, and fun listen. Will never be mistaken for being neutral. Soundstage is bigger and has a better representation of height and depth. I think they image better as the Cascade’s can keep up on busier tracks and exhibit a higher level of dynamics in general. The Cascade satisfies my inner basshead while still having some technicalities that round them out nicely. Highs cut through and have a good bit of air for such a bassy headphone. My welcomed, guilty pleasure. My ranking by preference Elegia > Cascade > 177X > TRX00 > Nightowl Value and Conclusion Overall, I really enjoy the 177X. They’re very comfortable and I can easily wear them an entire work day without complaint. They isolate well in a work environment, and don’t leak very much at all. At lower listening volumes, I really enjoy them. They’re somewhat laid back and balanced with a boost in the bass and treble. The midrange can lack presence on some tracks, but I only tend to notice if I’m listening critically as something just sounds “missing.” It doesn’t sound awful, just not as full and energetic as I prefer without being too forward. Vocals sound good if they’re not overly sharp and “hissy.” They otherwise have a nice body and are very smooth. For the cost, I think they compete well at this range. I think a travel case or a mic’d cable would have been nice as portable seems to be in mind for these, but those are minor nuisances. The 177X is a sturdy, well built headphone that sounds and feels premium. While it may be a bit overly enthusiastic and sharp sometimes, or become edgy at higher volumes, they offer an enjoyable and pretty well balanced listen and are quite comfortable for long listening sessions. I thought they performed well with rock, jazz, electronic, and acoustic music. Rating: 4/5 Edit: URL to playlist is working now.
(Edited)
Apr 16, 2019
denlim777
10
May 9, 2019
bookmark_border
Great review!!! very detailed. im looking for a really bassy headphone for EDM , Hiphop , Rap & R&B. Can these headphones handle the bass? are they suitable for the genres i just mentioned. thank u kindly!
May 9, 2019
Borno79
1
May 21, 2019
bookmark_border
Dude! That playlist is sick!!
May 21, 2019