Massdrop x Beyerdynamic DT 177X GO Headphones
Massdrop x Beyerdynamic DT 177X GO Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
2.4k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
A collaboration with world-renowned headphone manufacturer Beyerdynamic, the DT 177X GO has the kind of German-made quality you can see, hear, and feel. Based on the DT 1770 PRO, it uses the latest generation of 45-millimeter Tesla drivers for a wide frequency range and a weighty, controlled bass Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
217
check
93%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
element0032
0
Jan 26, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good Headphones, Slightly Disappointed
Got these cause I didn't have a good pair of closed-back headphones. Audio quality is good, but feels stuffy at times. Probably because I've been used to open-back headphones for a while now. The sheepskin pads are much more comfortable than the velour pads. I didn't use the velour pads long enough to be able to compare the sound. The cable is my biggest complaint. It is pretty stiff and I find it getting in the way regularly. My current daily driver are Hifiman Sundaras so I'll compare to those: The DT177X has more emphasis on the lows with diminished highs while feeling a little stuffy. The Sundaras are much more neutral with repressed bass while sounding much more open.
Hewnrai_74
35
Jan 23, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Built well, decent performance
search
When I first unboxed them, I noticed the Center of the left ear up has scuff marks. Seems to me that they were not packaged tightly in the box and was just shifting and rubbing against the inside of the box during shipping, there’s some paint transfer on the inside of the box too. The DT 177x a decent pair of closed back headphones, but honestly, I felt a little disappointed with these. Coming from the HE-4xx, I wanted a closed back since I realised that Nowadays I’m using my headphones more in the afternoon where environmental noises are louder, wanted something that could isolate well from the surroundings. The DT- 177X is pretty good at isolating. The DT-177x were pretty comfortable for me too, at least with the leather pads it comes with. Didn’t really use the velours since they were not wide enough and my ears tend to touch on the inside. Sound wise, there sounded warmer than I was expected and wasn’t as detailed, as I had expected. Coming from the HE-4xx I was more used to brighter sounding headphones with a tad bit more treble emphasis and shimmer, upper midrange felt a bit lacking and for violins, trumpets, trombones, felt more veiled and blunt sounding. I also find that piano doesn’t have the sweetness that it does on the HE-4xx. Detail wise, I also find the HE-4xx to do better in details as well, textures in the bass, midrange and treble felt more precise on the HE-4xx. On some anime OSTs, vocals, especially female vocals seem to lose a bit of their shine, details on the upper ranges of female vocals felt smoothed over, one example for this that would good for showcasing Upper Midrange and Treble would be, Secret Base (Kimi ga Kureta Mono). Lower and Mid Treble also doesn't seem to have the shine and brilliance. Hits on clash Symbols, High hats seem blunt and slightly imprecise, The bass on the DT-177x definitely has more quantity and more punch compared but because there is a slight mid-bass hump, can sound a bit muddy at times. Sound stage is surprisingly good on the DT-177x, it did not feel like wearing a closed back headphone at all. With that said though, the DT-177x was very easy to listen to, could listen to it for a very long time and in fact, I actually use it more than my He-4xx nowadays even though I prefer the Sound of my HE-4xx, simply because of the isolation, ease of listening. Comfort feels on par with my HE-4xx, nothing much to say. I still use my HE-4xx very much so especially during night time when it’s more quiet. Overall, somewhat satisfied with the DT-177x
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
R1RxToku
0
Jan 25, 2021
Nice review but why you gotta bring up Anohana's signature jam don't you know what that does to my heart!?😭
Hewnrai_74
35
Jan 25, 2021
Its such a good song to test lower-mid treble and upper midrange man
Allenbr
2
Jan 23, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very good build, better for those who prefer slightly more bass and lower mids and treble
search
search
search
search
I find that the sound signature is not as balanced as I prefer. The upper mid and lower-highs are bit more suppressed than I like. I realize Drop wanted Beyerdynamic to provide more bass and less highs then the normal 1770's, but it appears that this adjustment has affected the mids and lower treble. The 1770's had too much high treble, therefore they fixed that issue. This may not be for me but, sound is all about preference and the type of music you listen to. Beyerdynamic makes great headphones. Finally, my copy had an issue where the cloth filter covering the driver was not fully inserted under the metal lip. That was probably a minor mistake, but I am not sure if it can be readily fixed by the user.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Battss
0
Jan 20, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These are a great pair of headphone! The sound, the detail, the build great!!!!!
The build and the sound are great, very comfortable headphone.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
jazzfannj
11
Jan 16, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great closed back headphones.
Reading through the reviews I must say that I'm quite puzzled by some of the negative reviews. I find these headphones to be on par with some other much more expensive closed back headphones. Their sound is rich and very well balanced, just as one should expect from a set of studio headphones. The DT 177Xs will not make a bad recording sound good but will make a good recording sing. What more should a headphone do?
check
Would recommend to a friend.
SpiderJerusalem
4
Jan 15, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not bad, not good
These headphones are well built and comfortable. Changing the earpads is frustrating and took some time. I wouldn't want to switch between them regularly. The sound: I bought these for the portability, so used them with the chord mojo and also tried straight from my phone. The sound was similair between them but obviously the mojo just refined it a little, they played loud enough from my phone. I would describe it as a consumer type sound in terms of quality, dont expect it to be audiophile quality. The tuning is decent, its got bass impact, slightly recessed mids and a little treble sparkle. The bass is fun enough but isn't well defined. The mids and treble don't do anything offensive but my complaint is that everything sounds congested(not small soundstage, which is ok, just lacking definition and separation) coupled with the slightly loose bass it comes across muddled sounding. To me, its sounds like a decently tuned consumer headphone that would compete in audio quality with headphones like the momentum 3 or sony xm3 or 4. (I think i would take the momentum 3 despite being wireless, from memory i think they sound better than the beyers). They certainly dont compete with audiophile type headphones such as the focal elegia(which can be found for about the same price as the beyers). The elegia are cleaner sounding, separate better, soundstage better but they do have a mid forward tuning which some may not love but in terms of technicalities, they outperform the beyers easily. If you love the build or beyers brand than you may prefer these over the other mentioned consumer headphones but even then beyers have many other models, some cheaper then these that might sound as good depending on your tastes.
SohnJ
0
Jan 14, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great headphones
I just wish I got another wire that was slightly shorter, but these headphones are amazing.
Hobthebob
0
Jan 10, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent Quality
Headphones arrived a few days ago. I purchased these for my wife to replace some old SONY cans she had for about ten years that finally fell apart. So far they sound about as crisp and clean as anything I or my wife have ever heard. We are hearing details we never knew existed before. The construction is also quite nice. Very solidly built feels like it’ll last. The cord is also nice as well, neither I nor my wife have any complaints about it, no odd sounds or squeaks, no grinding when putting it in. I did order a new cord from hart cables prior to purchase just in case though. IMO, unless you are a cable enthusiast, the stock one will fit the bill very nicely.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dama
1
Jan 9, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It’s a Beyer aright
Has around the same harshness and brightness as the DT1990 but in an easier to drive closed back package. It sounds more shallow and less detailed than the DT1990, but perhaps that’s an unfair comparison given the price and features. If I had to give it an arbitrary number, I’d say it retains 85% of the audio quality of the DT1990. Good for music production on the go but not so much for enjoyment, like the DT1990.
Masaraksh
23
Jan 6, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great sound, heavy and less than perfect fit
This is my go to pair of closed cans. Sound is detailed and pleasant to my ears, tight bass like I like it. Nice leather earpads included. It is a bit heavy for longer use and not very comfortable if you like listening to music in bed.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 12 of 469
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
469 OF 469 POSTS
Jan 27, 2021
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order