Seeed L3D Cube (8x8x8 Full Color Kit)
Seeed L3D Cube (8x8x8 Full Color Kit)
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
316 Sold
Product Description
A full-color volumetric display that shows brilliant images and animations in 3D, the Seeed L3D Cube takes just 30 minutes to assemble (no soldering required) and lets you do as much or as little programming as you’d like. Just put it together and plug it in, and you’re ready to explore the preloaded set of popular visualizations, download new applications wirelessly with the click of a button, write your own programs in Arduino or Processing, and share your creations with friends on CubeTube Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.3
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
9
search
Mojojones
0
Dec 1, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Quality kit, and easy to put together but the photon online connection is sketchy and requires multiple CLI activation commands to work. Wifi connection is fine, it's connecting to the CubeTube service that's the problem. (Yes, I've updated the firmware.)
Dec 1, 2018
Digisho
9
Jul 18, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Super easy to assemble. I looked at other kits and while they were less expensive they weren't as easy to assemble or setup out of the box.
The best lighting effects to be honest seemed to be the ones that come on this by default. There are some downloadable ones but I wasn't as impressed by them. I don't think I've even set mine up yet to be programmed. That said I enjoy having this thing in my office and the aesthetic it provides.
No doubt about it, its a luxury item and a completely unnecessary purchase, its just a bunch of blinky lights. Could stand to be cheaper, but like I said the cheaper kits take a lot longer to assemble and ain't nobody got time for that.
Jul 18, 2018
Oldoiler
135
Jul 5, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This thing is just OK. It's not worth the $300.00. In my opinion, it's worth about $100 only and this is due to the fact that it only comes with a few programs in it and there basically are not many others out there, unless you are interested in learning to code it yourself, which I am not.
In addition, it's only viewable from about 200 degrees due to the LED's only being forward facing on the little sticks that they are manufactured on. If you're really interested in something like this, I recommend the $80 - $100 4x4 or 5x5 one on Amazon that has about 30 minutes worth of built in programs that it cycles through. That one is actually cooler and far less expensive. Cheers!
Jul 5, 2018
Testshoot
35
Jun 17, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Worst support ever. DO NOT BUY unless you want to write code for everything. The makers at Looking Glass Studio do NOT support it in any way anymore. The specified site Cubetube.org does not work at all to login to change visualizations. It is really a rip off. There are cheaper, and better alternatives for under $200.
Jun 17, 2018
JustinLynn
0
May 26, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very enjoyable and hackable kit -- put it together in less than 20 minutes; demo programs are a joy. Didn't care much for the default firmware requiring an app download, but, eh, it's understandable.
May 26, 2018
logic
72
May 13, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This was fun to assemble, and required no specific knowledge; if you can follow IKEA directions, you can put this together.
Programming it has been less entertaining. https://www.cubetube.org/ was struggling to work when I first received the unit (perhaps the result of a bunch of Massdrop customers playing with their new toys), and a mishap of resetting the built-in Spark controller back to factory settings from the Android app left me without the multi-pattern code running on it that it shipped with (which doesn't appear to actually exist online anywhere, except as individual patterns on cubetube).
Working with it directly on https://console.particle.io/ was considerably more useful; it's basically a web-based Arduino environment, albeit with a lot of quirks. If you've programmed an Arduino before, this will look and feel pretty familiar. It's...well, it's clunky. I'm a software engineer by trade, and I found the IDE navigation to be pretty non-intuitive (and occasionally broken).
I find reflashing via wi-fi to be a bit of a crapshoot. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't and you just have to try again until it does. If for whatever reason the Spark gets into a situation where it can't talk to the wi-fi network, you're pretty screwed.
The 3-axis accelerometer is not terribly useful (to me); it's a pretty acrylic case, you're probably not going to be constantly grabbing it with your disgusting fingers just to tip it over. ;) I really dig the audio input; I've probably had more fun with audio visualizations on this thing than anything else. The microphone seems to work surprisingly well, but having a 3.5mm jack for higher-fidelity input was a thoughtful addition (and one that I'm using).
So: as a desk toy that you fire up from time to time? It's great: easy to assemble, power up, and immediately get cool stuff appearing. As a device that you actually reprogram to visualize interesting things? As much as it hurts to say after dropping $300 on it, I'm not convinced this is something I'm going to pull off the shelf to mess with regularly.
May 13, 2018
Tachfire
15
May 8, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I have owned mine for a few years already. I like the brightness and patterns. I agree with the other review that it is somewhat of a 180 degree FOV as the leds are one sided. The kit comes with a spare light stick which was awesome as I had one led on a stick that would act like a stuck pixel and remain green. Swapped in the spare and it was all good.
May 8, 2018
xclratn
0
May 2, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Seeed L3D Cube (8x8x8 Full Color Kit) is a nice unit. The LEDs are very bright. The one downside is the LEDs face on direction thus not viewable 360 degrees. Also, programming is very limited. Would be nice if it came with longer running random program. I have it at work so unable to update it as our wireless is authentication ased....no way to get cube on WiFi.
May 2, 2018
Codepope
1
May 2, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
May 2, 2018