Drop ENTR Mechanical Keyboard

Drop ENTR Mechanical Keyboard

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
6.5k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Ready to ship
Product Description
The perfect entry-level mechanical keyboard is here. Crafted in the popular tenkeyless layout, the ENTR is backed by enthusiast-grade components with beginner-friendly functionality.
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
288
check
94%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
HanlonShaves
27
Oct 15, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Coming from "gamer" keyboards like the Corsair K95, the build quality of the ENTR has been astounding. Between the hefty aluminum body, the USB-C cable, and the experience of both typing and gaming on the Halo True switches, I could not be more pleased with this purchase.
search
I do find myself missing the numpad, but getting a high profile keyboard was worth going with the tenkeyless format for me. (That said, I would immediately get a SHIFT high profile in green if one were made available.)
search
I would absolutely recommend this keyboard to anyone looking to make the switch to an entry-level enthusiast grade board.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
MattBorchert
59
Nov 20, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Watch the video review here for a more detailed (and visual!) assessment: https://youtu.be/gETUt9JjJj8  Notice: Drop supplied the ENTR to me for the purpose of doing this review. Drop markets the ENTR as being an entry point into the world of mechanical keyboards. Hearing that description paired with a $90 price tag lowered my overall expectations of what I was expecting to receive. I expected to get a keyboard that would be fairly well constructed and totally functional, but nothing jaw dropping in comparison to Drop’s higher end keyboard offerings like the CTRL. When I opened the box, however, I realized that my expectations were wrong and that this was something far beyond "entry level." What’s Inside the Box Inside the box you’ll find the Drop ENTR keyboard, a USB C cable (since I purchased the white keyboard this cable was white for me), a keycap puller, and a card going over some of the keyboard shortcuts. Build Quality Where the ENTR really shines is its overall build quality. The solid aluminum case gives this keyboard some serious heft, and I actually think that it may be heavier than my low profile SHIFT. That was one of the biggest things that I noticed when initially pulling the keyboard out of the packaging, and it certainly contributed to my surprise that this keyboard was not what I thought it as going to be. The keycaps all appeared to be straight and I noticed no manufacturing defects on the board that was sent to me. Comparing this to offerings from larger companies like the Corsair K63, this thing is in a different league. It feels way more solid, and while this is a subjective thought, the design quality and consideration here is just on another level. This keyboard will look as at home in a professional work environment paired up to a Macbook Pro as it will at home being used on a gaming rig. Switches The board I was sent came with the Halo True switches. I can see why Drop offered these as one of the two switch offerings with this board as I think that the vast majority of people who get them should be happy with them. They have a fairly firm key press, more firm (to me anyways) than the Halo Clears that I currently use with my SHIFT. They also have a strong spring back up which makes them fairly enjoyable switches for gaming as well, since the keys quickly push up with your fingers allowing for quick resets when moving around. While these keys are not perfect for my needs, I do think they’re fairly close, and they were close enough to perfect that I considered buying a set for my SHIFT. I would say if the force required for a press was 10% less, these would be ideal for me, but as they are I’m quite happy with them. Keycaps The keycaps that come on this board look and feel great. The LED shine through legends didn’t have any areas that were blocked by the stems on the switches, and the texture of the keycaps were also even more enjoyable to me than what you get on Drop’s higher end boards. Those keycaps tend to have a bit more of a very light sandpaper texture, where these are a bit more standard, and I think more people will likely be happy with them. That being said, I also enjoy the keycaps that do come on Drop’s higher end boards, so just a slight matter of preference. Comparing these Keycaps to what you get on something like a Corsair K63, well, there is no comparison. The keycaps on my K63 feel cheap and quickly get a shiny appearance. That isn’t something that you’ll have to worry about with the ENTR due to the higher quality of materials being used. LED Lighting The LED lighting on the ENTR is basic but functions well. The LEDs are white, which I prefer to the typical reds and blues you get on gaming keyboards, and they come in 4 different lighting levels. These levels range from fairly dim to quite bright. You can also fully disable the LEDs should you wish to do so. Comparison to the ALT, CTRL, and SHIFT I’ve owned an ALT and currently own and use a SHIFT, so I think it’s important to compare the ENTR against these higher priced boards. The CTRL is the most appropriate comparison, as it also has a tenkeyless (TKL) layout. Drop’s flagship models all cost at least double that of the ENTR, with the cheapest model being an ALT at $180, and the more comparable CTRL coming in at $200. If you want a high profile CTRL to more closely match the ENTR, you’re looking at spending $250, which is almost 3x the price. So is the big price increase justified? Well, it depends what you’re looking for. The biggest differences are the full RGB LED lighting you get on the more expensive boards, the QMK firmware which allows you to fully reprogram the layout and also create macros, and the hot swappable switches. If you’re a person who likes to experiment with different switches, the hot swappable ones on the higher priced models is a fairly big deal. The RGB LED lights are also beautiful on the higher priced models, but it comes down to how much you are willing to pay for that feature. The QMK firmware is a big deal to those who want to reprogram their keys, and the lack of that firmware on the ENTR will be a deal breaker to some, but it wasn’t a big deal to me personally. I will say that the lack of more refined software on Drop’s flagship models for macros or reprogramming keys is a disappointment. The web based service for setting up the firmware is clear and easy to use, but the steps to actually load that firmware onto the board were confusing enough that I didn’t even bother to play around with it. That’s an area where large manufacturers like Corsair and Logitech still have a huge edge since you can essentially do that on the fly with them. Value Overall I think the price point of $90 is exceptional for this keyboard and I’m really happy that Drop is able to be so competitive against the larger manufacturers out there. If this board was sold at $110 or $120 and I paid that price, I think that I would be happy with the quality of the board I received. The only serious area for improvement I see is for Drop to offer a larger selection of switches, as the Gateron Yellows and Halo Trues will likely not be able to satisfy the needs of everyone looking to pick up a new board. Final Rating I’m super impressed with this keyboard, and if you pick one up, I bet you will be too. While this is marketed as an ENTRy point into the world of mechanicals, I think people looking for a great value pick up will be more than happy when they open this up. 5 / 5 stars!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
fwfaasd
8
Nov 2, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Decent but no custom Firmware
I was very excited to get this keyboard and was hoping that it might be a cheaper alternative to the KBFANS keyboards. I was very disapointed to find out that there is no support for flashing your own software on to it -like the CTRL board offers. That being the case, it is really annoying to use with mac, since the ctrl, alt and cmd buttons are in the wrong place. They can be switched in the MacOS software, but other keys are not adjustable. While this may not be a dealbreaker for you, it is for me, since I have quite a few custom commands on my keyboards and I am so used to them now that I don't want to switch back to a keyboard that does not support it anymore. I hope that in the future, Drop will enable the flashing of this keyboard, but as it stands I can not recommend it for people that want a custom keyboard. However, as far a price goes, this is still a great value and someone who is just buying his/her first keyboard will most likely really love it. For people that have built a keyboard before: Great value for an office keyboard, but not the same as a truly custom board. In all fairness it did not say anywhere that it was flashable, I just thought that it would be since all the other Drop boards are compatible with QMK. One more point: Customer Service was super helpful and very generous with the return!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
You can swap the modifier placement in your settings. https://support.apple.com/en-ie/guide/mac-help/mchlp1011/mac

search

fwfaasd
8
Dec 21, 2020
You are correct, thank you for the feedback. I have adjusted the review accordingly.
mooseburn25
24
Oct 22, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Loved the keyboard initially, but after less than 2 weeks I already had a switch fail on me.(Gateron Yellows) The customer service got back to me in less than 24hours and I've already sent it back to get it replaced. Ill update this review after I get my replacement and see if it makes it past the 2 week mark. Update: Got my replacement after about a week and a half. As soon as it came in I started to swap out the key caps with the Drop Horizon set I originally ordered with it. As soon as I pulled the backspace key cap off, the left stabilizer bar broke of with it and was lodged into the key cap. I'm guessing that I could get this one replaced to but since Fedex lost my package durring its shippment I am tired and done messing with this keyboard. I was really looking forward to getting a drop Ctrl but after my experiences with the Entr I think I'll just have to look at other brands. I am extremely dissapointed with the quilty control on this product. I understand that a switch failure is out of their control but the stabilizer breaking off into the keycap is just unacceptable. Update 2: So now the E key does not register correctly either. I dont know if it is a Gateron Issue of just pore soldering on the board. I wrote another email to customer support and it missed a 'e' press 7 times in one email. I am done with this keyboard and would not advise getting the Gateron Yellow version to anyone what so ever. Ive never had so many issue with a keyboard before.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Angry-Hoolio
8
Apr 21, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Wonderfully heavy and well built.
This board feels ridiculously well built when you consider the low asking price. The White lighting gives a lovely clean effect with the stock caps, but I personally opted to replace them with some solid caps I had in stock. The stock caps. However, are of a wonderful quality and are now happily living on an RGB board I use for gaming. My unit has the Halo True switches. These differ somewhat from regular tactile switches in that they have a somewhat soft feel. I wasn't sure how I felt about this at first, but I've grown to love them. They don't fatigue the fingers while still having a nice solid bottom out feel. Great for extended use throughout the work day, though they are not my favourite for gaming. Overall, a solid recommendation from me.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
NarcolepsyNick
92
Apr 8, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Okay as first board maybe.
I bought this as an inexpensive entry level mechanical board for a family member. Stock this board, like many other stock boards, sounds and feels pretty bad. Rattily/noisy stabs, scratchy switches, hollow sound, etc. The stock keycaps are alright, good for how much the board costs but I can tell they will smooth out fairly fast. The LEDs on the board come out as a more yellowish color, which I actually like compared to a cooler white color. The plastic top is kind of a weird choice, but it does help add to the thockiness sound of the board once modded up. I added some case foam and plate foam to get rid of the hollow metal sound. Desoldered the switches to lube them with 205g0, springs with 105g0, and filmed. This helps get rid of some of the scratchiness and improve the switch sound. Replaced the stock stabs with Durock plates stabs, except for the space bar stab. It seems like the tolerances for the plate stabs is not consistent. I had to band-aid/sticker mod the sides of the 2u plate holes to prevent the stabs from wobbling around. The spacebar stabilizer holes however were too tight to fight a stock Durock stab. Had to instead use an extra cherry plate stab I had, and even that was a tight fit. All that done, the board sounds and feels good now and is something I'm happy to give as a gift for a first time user. Maybe I just have to high expectations for these entry level boards.
T8or
0
Apr 9, 2021
Thanks for this review. Passing on the drop.
Kryoclasm
3
Jan 22, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Out of the box it would not power on when plugged into the USB port. Turns out the supplied USB C cable was defective. I used my own cable, not a good start. Less than two weeks later, with hardly any usage, the "o" key stops working. Took customer support 4 days to reply to my issue. RMA for replacement. We will see how that works out.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
SoupC
2
Nov 14, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Several defective key switches out of the box, some of which register at less that 40% of the time. Rather disappointing. (halo true switches) Edit: drop made rma and replacement pretty easy. The replacement seems to work fine. Updated to 4 stars for the quick remedy. Still a bit disconcerting about the quality, but it is a nice value option.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
MyuZ
3
Sep 30, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
kind of disappointed but it's still a great product.
The build quality of the case is outstanding, looking and feels better than my GK61. The keycaps feel alright but the print isn't great and is noticeable from the backlight especially in a dimly lit room or when I turned the lights off. The stabilized keys all match the feel of the rest of the keys but that's about it. There's a noticeable amount of wobble in all of the keys especially in the left shift. The best feeling keys were surprisingly the spacebar and right shift but still left some stability to be desired. The switches wobble, not just the stem. The overall stability of the typing experience of the keyboard is comparable to a 50$ cheap board with the exception of the crappy abs keycaps you see on those types of keyboards. This is my first drop product and I've heard glowing reviews of the drop ALT from friends so I thought this would be a good replacement for my custom built GK61. My GK61 has Gateron silent yellows lubed that I love so I got the Gateron Yellows on my ENTR (haven't lubed yet). Out of the box the ENTR didn't feel near as good to type on as my custom GK61 and I don't think Lube will remedy that. The main problem I ran into was switch wobble. My GK61 which is hotswappable but doesn't have any noticeable switch wobble. When I took the key cap off to see what it was and I noticed I could rock the entire switch around. I assume these keys don't have the two extra stabilizer pins that my GK61 and silent yellows have. My brother has a red dragon K55 with some cheap box reds and although the ENTR has a slightly better feel, we're comparing a 55$ keyboard to a 100$ keyboard (GK61 cost 120$). When typing between the K55 and ENTR I don't believe the ENTR was 45$ better. I do believe the ENTR makes up for it with its superb build quality and decent keycaps though. Comparing the cost between my GK61 and the ENTR is different. The ENTR came out at a little over 100$ after tax compared to the 120$ on the GK61. The GK61 is definitely worth the extra 20$ I paid for it. The switches don't have wobble and the stabs - which I left completely untouched - feel much better leading to a much nicer typing experience. My main reason for purchasing the ENTR was because, although I love my GK61, I seriously miss dedicated function keys. I thought that with this I could get a near similar feel out of the ENTR as my GK61 and swap the keycaps. I'm going to bandage, clip and relube the stabs as well as do a cheap WD40 lube on the switches to see if I'm satisfied. Would I recommend this to a friend? No but maybe. I think the Drop ENTR is great quality out of the box keyboard but it just doesn't compare to even a cheap custom built keyboard. I'd try to convince someone to do a custom build for the extra cash since the difference is so noticeable.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Letsrace567
3
Sep 29, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The perfect gateway keyboard!
I have the ENTR in silver and white with Halo Trues, and upon first impression is seems like a beefy Apple keyboard. Imagine if you could take the magic keyboard and stretch it out from the table so it’s taller. The board is very solid, the keys are satisfying to type on, and I find it quite easy to get up to speed on it. It’s also much quieter than my other boards, and the switch travel is much smoother. The spring weight is a little heavy for my liking, but I think I’ll get used to it soon enough. My only concerns are a slightly uneven “W” key with a little backlight bleeding through, and the backlight is a little on the Yellow-ish side, but that’s just personal preference I suppose. I plan on swapping out the keycaps anyways, so the W key isn’t really an issue for me. This is my first TKL board, so at the moment I do miss the numpad, but on a desk with limited space, I think it’s a welcome trade-off. I would absolutely recommend this keyboard to anyone looking to dabble in the mechanical world. It would be a great introduction, as it doesn’t carry the sticker shock of most other mechanical keyboards, and it still offers excellent build quality and feel. I just bought a Surface Go 2 and spent more on its detachable keyboard, so I think this has the value proposition in the bag. Now, time to get to work using this thing!
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 13 of 328
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order