shopping_cart
Drop X-Mid 2P Tent Designed by Dan Durston

Drop X-Mid 2P Tent Designed by Dan Durston

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
6.9K requests
·
1k Sold
·
Free Returns in USA
Product Description
Ultralight and easy to set up, the X-Mid 2P is our second collaboration with thru-hiker Dan Durston. With plenty of room for two, enjoying the great outdoors with a partner has never been easier.
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.9
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
179
check
99%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
ekdouglas
1
Nov 10, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Best tent for the money. Cant wait to order another for a friend once they are in stock again.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Cardamomtea
588
Nov 14, 2021
Oh that's good to know Dan! I hadn't logged on Drop in awhile, but was at an event where two of us (out of maybe ten people) had the 2P (and of course we both love ours). Another guy wasn't satisfied with his current tent, so I directed him to Drop. Looks like I'll need to redirect him to your site.
Thanks for spreading the word! It helps a lot. Yes my site is the place for the X-Mid now, since Drop has closed their outdoor community. We'll have more of the X-Mid's including a 2nd generation version of the 1P in a couple months, and we'll have a DCF "Pro" version of the 2P in 2022 that is a singlewall and a lot lighter for the gram weenies out there.
901out
1
Sep 19, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing tent, especially for the price!
Everything was thought of with the X-mid 2p. The setup is simple and quick, the interior is roomy, everything is high quality about this thing. And the fact that the fabric rejects moisture is outstanding, I don't know why more companies aren't doing this. Totally recommend this for a UL setup.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Awesome
seapet
1
Sep 15, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing, light, huge interior
This is just the best design I've experienced. It is amazing how small and light it is when packed, given that it is silpoly. It is also fast and easy to set up. Truly a genius design for a product.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Glad you're liking it!
Tall_John
27
Sep 11, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Two year review
I wanted to wait before I reviewed the tent. I have had a few minor issues with it, but overall I'm very happy with the purchase. The tent seems very durable despite its light construction. I have loaned the tent out to some GDT hikers and it still looks brand new with out any wear when they had completed their two sections. The first trip I took it on was in a remote alipne bowl (in an attempt of a first ascent of a couple peaks). Winds were forecasted 40-60 kph gusts, but as most know, in the alpine this can be a different story. Soon after setting up and bedding down for my big day the next morning, the winds picked up. The tent shook so violently that I could not sleep. The tent strings would slip in their clasps every few gusts. I would get out of the tent to tighten all the points. This happened about 10 times over 4 hours. Finally at midnight the cords gave way. A corner cord and the upwind guy cord literally snapped in half. The entire tent blew down with me inside. Hurriedly I found my way out and packed up my tent, made my way under a near full moon to treeeline and found a sheltered location to sleep the rest of the night. I packed up, exhausted after the previous night, and abandoned my summit attempts the next morning. I estimate the gust were 80-100 kph when the blowdown occurred. Since then Dan has updated the cord to a thicker type than the original 1.5mm. I went a step further and swapped it all for Lawson ironwire. Dan even personally offered to send my some which was a very kind gesture (I purchased it myself). I also upgraded the four corner Shepard hooks with ti V stakes, also included in the more recent production runs. The tent itself has kept me bone dry, even if I touch the inner to the fly. I'm 6'3 and in my old MEC Tarn 3 my foot box would be soaked if I contacted the inner to the outer. The 2p is a great tent for us tall folk. My main gripe: If I am base camping I need to either pack up the tent, bring a second set of poles, or Jimmy rig it flat with the risk of pooling water on it should a suprise storm hit. I did this on my last hike, a suprise storm did hit. Much to suprise my sleeping bag was still dry despite the pooled water on the tent. Still not something I want to get into the habit of. I may need to invest in some custom fiber poles. Not so much a fault of this tent, but pole tents in general. While I would not recommend the tent for a gusty alpine bivy, it's great for nearly all other purposes. It has a large footprint, but that footprint is room in the tent for your boots and bag. I LOVE the room it provides under the fly. Thanks Dan for the awesome tent.
search

search
search
search
search
The alpine bowl where the blowdown occurred
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
If you pitch it with the corner cords as short as possible then the edges of the tent will sit almost right on the ground. So you can get it that low, but you can't get it even lower than ground level or the tent wouldn't be tight. The next batch of the 2p will have additional side panel guyouts that help in high winds
NilsL
1
Nov 22, 2021
Sounds reasonable. 😊 Thanks for your quick reply!
(Edited)
DeltaBreeze
1
Sep 3, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Alright!
Wonderful tent. Lots of space for two people. Love that I can pitch just the outer, or just the inner with the stargazing kit. Great for avoiding mosquitoes while still enjoying a view. Has stood up nicely in mild moderate winds
check
Would recommend to a friend.
JoeTavares
2
Jul 7, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awesome UL Tent
Just completed 10 days backpacking with this tent in NM, USA. We had solid rain for over 4 days and the tent performed flawlessly. The camper (me) unfortunately did not and I tripped over the tent door and slightly tore the noseeum. My fault. What impresses me the most is I can lay out the rain fly with the rest of the tent and ground cloth under it. Then I can assemble the tent completely without exposing the tent to rain. When it's not raining, the tent dries quickly. No leaks, no drama, and it's cool to assemble.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
trivmyster
2
Jun 3, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fantastic tent
Lightweight, awesome design. Incredibly spacious. We squeezed 2 adults and a 70 lb doggo with surprising comfort. Favorite backpacking tent so far.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
mozenrath
26
May 13, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awesome
Literally the best. Highly recommend. Lightweight and easy to set up.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dthstalker
1
Apr 19, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I'm comparing this to the Tarptent Scarp 2 and stratospire 2. I've found the xmid 2p to be less voluminous, lighter weight and easier to setup. I've switched to the xmid for 3 season use since I have the extra set of poles you can use for the scarp 2 and the solid inner. I love how much little space it takes packed.
Thanks for the review! Nice to hear you are liking the X-Mid.
Calyd0n
14
Apr 3, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A true palace for 2 people
I already owned the 1P version so it was logical to buy the 2P version, same high quality manufacturing, large vestibules, very convenient. Congrats Dan for designing a tent that is pretty close to perfection.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 20 of 353
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
353 OF 353 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest