Everglide Dark Jade Black Mechanical Keyboard Switch

Everglide Dark Jade Black Mechanical Keyboard Switch

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.6k Sold
Product Description
Aside from the discovery of the Holy Pandas back in 2018, it’s been a while since a mechanical switch has taken the mech keys community by storm. Everglide has something to say about that Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
135
check
96%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
newtonapple
141
Sep 5, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
OK, I've been typing on these for more than a week now, so I think it's time for me to do a proper review on these. I'm a fan of tactile switches. I mean very tactile ones. I also care a lot about the acoustics of the switches. I prefer my switches loud. Holy Pandas have long been my personally favorite because they strike a good balance between sound and tactility. However, I still perfer the feel of a more tactile switch like the Zealios.  These Dark Jades feel like Zealios and Holy Pandas had a baby. In fact, they feel slightly more tactile compared to Zealios while retaining most of the Holy Panda's sound signature. The tactility feels sharp and direct. You will definitely feel every keystroke distinctly as you type. They sound a bit deeper compared to Holy Pandas.  But, Holy Pandas still have that unique thock that I can't find in any other switch. If I have to describe the sound, I'd say the Dark Jades sound more like a "dut" and Holy Pandas sound more like a "tock".  The stems of the Dark Jades are very similar to the Halo stems. That is, they retain the slightly longer stem poles of the Halo stems. I feel like this is the key contributor to the sound signature of the Holy Pandas (because the long stems bottom out hitting the bottom housing & creating that unique loud thock). The bumps on the Dark Jade's stem are also slightly more pronounced, hence they feel more tactile. The Dark Jades also have less spring chatters and stem wobbles compared to the Holy Pandas. They're pretty smooth stock, but after lubing the difference is minimal. Overall, the Dark Jades are quickly becoming my personal favorite tactiles. If you're looking for a switch with Zealio's tactility and Holy Panda's sound (... and you can swallow the price), I'd highly recommend these.
search

(Edited)
Hahnzo
17
Jan 6, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Unique and fun
KNOW THIS FIRST, THESE SWITCHES DO NOT CARE ABOUT YOUR SHINY RGB LIGHTS THEY WILL BLOCK THEM. I hate caps, but that needs to be said for RGB fans. Anyways, These switches are different. This feels drastically different to a holy panda... And that is a wonderful thing. I've seen this marketed as a panda clone and also saw people who said this was super tactile... So I just decided to try them, and I'm glad I did. When i first opened the box I lubed, filmed, and socketed one in a hot swap board instantly....and pressed it roughly 100 times. They are good.... After lubing and filming. They are not very good without it. Pre lubed, they are loud, rough feeling, and nothing special. Once lubed, they came to life. They were noticeably quieter and they lost the roughness while maintaining a strong bump. Part of this, I believe comes from the shortened bottom and longer stem of the switch, causing extra friction and tactility with the bottom housing. I'm no engineer and no expert, but that's what it feels like... But it feels good. Due to this combination the travel distance is also shorter. If you want some in your face tactility with a short travel distance, do yourself a favor and pick them up.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Svenge
61
Aug 21, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
UPDATE: Too tactile.
FINAL UPDATE (I swear... these switches...) On my last update I had been running SA profile caps on these switches. I decided to give these one more shot with GMK caps and that significantly improved both the sound and top-out feeling of these switches. It's good enough now now that I can tolerate them on one of my boards permanently. They ended up being pretty good for gaming because the huge tactile bump makes it pretty difficult to accidentally press a key (which I am prone to doing under stressful gaming situations). One other thing I've noticed is that these switches (stock) have the least amount of switch wobble of any switches I've ever tested. If I could add half a star back, I might. More like 1/3 star. Update Nov 2020. Finally had the chance to lube these and use them for a few full days of work/gaming. My final thoughts for this pricepoint... Too tactile. Too loud. Short travel is too noticeable. Still too rattly on the top out. Just shows you how you really gotta try the switch for a while to decide if you really like it or not. ...They are just too damn tactile. And I even bag-lubed the stems with teflon to try to reduce the tactility a bit. Didn't do anything. This switch is a beast. It doesn't care about your sensitive little fingers. When typing fast or mashing home-row you get that "crunchy" feeling similar to box royals or box jades. Maybe you could apply some heavier grease based lube to cut it down further, or spring swap to a heavier spring. But I have to dock off a star and also say... These are just not worth the full asking price which is wayyy too close to premium HP territory for what you're getting. Also the top-out is still nowhere near as refined as the HP. It is about 50% better than a regular JWK T1 (or other clone) but still kinda rattly feeling especially at speed. I like where they were going with this switch, but it doesn't quite cut it for the price. Maybe a second attempt next time with a slightly less aggressive leaf and maybe a nylon or PC housing. The PBT looks nice but it is just too loud and too hard a material for a switch housing. Also ... Make the travel a bit longer next time?? Why is it so shortened??? Just cut down the length of the center post on the stem by like... .1mm and you're good. Update 8/28/2020. Tested these stock in my hot swap plastic case iGK61 with epbt cherry profile caps. Performs about like I expected- nice and snappy, crisp sound, not rattly like a T1, not quite as clean as lubed HP, but much more tactile and very smooth- like zealio and HP combined. Doesn't feel like it needs lube for smoothness, maybe just to soften the top out slightly and reduce the spring noise. The top and bottom out noise is definitely louder than HP - maybe louder than zealios as well. But it sounds pretty awesome in my gk61. Original review---- Feels VERY similar to the classic Holy Panda switch. Slightly smoother, notably snappier, and slightly shorter travel which appears to be due to a difference in the bottom housing center post. Also feels slightly heavier. Feels almost like combining the tactility of a zealio v2 with the refined bottom and top out sensation of the holy panda switch. The sound coming from the loose switch is very satisfying, similar to the HP as well. I think the stem has almost exactly the same bump profile, but wider legs and a thinner center post. The leaf in the housing looks to be the main source of extra snappiness- it's got bigger contact tabs against the stem and a larger bend radius at the top of the leaf. One thing that's hard to check without mounting these in a keyboard is how rattly they will feel while typing under speed. The individual switch feels very nice but can it dethrone the holy panda as the best tactile switch? Is it too tactile? Is the shorter travel a problem? Will it sound good after lubing? To be continued...
search
search
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Andy_Who
109
Jan 12, 2021
Nice review! Love the photos highlighting the height difference in the stems. Pretty useful! I'd not I don't think i'd compare their heaviness to box royals (purple i assume?) personally - box jades probably fair in weight. No where near box navy switch heaviness - they much more lighter than that. Still i'm a huge fan of the HP and these. If price would just come down a bit i'd by another 100 lol. I'm looking forward to lubing and filming and seeing how they feel then! lol Reading your lubing process which is awesome you included it and updated - I don't know much about teflon lubing but typically for springs i bag lube with Ktrytox 105 oil. Maybe you should try Krytox 205g0 and hit the stems to reduce the tactilness? Also for rattle sound could try some films? novelkeys has them in stock at the moment i'm writing this. I'm looking forward to lubing and filming these switches to figure out if i do like them better than the HP. nice review!
nodurian
8
Aug 30, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Definitely the most tactile switch I've tried yet (Previous tactile switches I've used: Zealios V2, Drop Holy Panda, Topre). If you like tactiles and have the chance to purchase these, definitely give them a shot. I'll mainly be comparing these to Holy Pandas as the stem design is very similar, with the most notable difference being the longer stem on the Dark Jade Blacks (Moyus) resulting in a shorter travel distance. DISCLAIMER: I lubed these switches with Tribosys 3203, filmed with Kebo films, and spring swapped with SPRiT 63g Slow springs (Originative Exclusive), so my review is based on the switches with these mods. Feel: - Very smooth even stock. Smoother than HPs in both stock and lubed form. - Tactile bump starts and ends with the whole keystroke (similar to HPs, and unlike Zealios which have a bit of post-travel after the bump) - Much sharper and crisper tactile bump compared to HPs. To me, the HP tactile bump feels "rounder." Sound: - LOUD. - Sound preference is very subjective but I do want to mention that these have more of a "pop" sound to me than HPs. - See links below for a sound comparison and 60 second typing test: https://soundcloud.com/user-70424151/everglide-moyu-black-vs-drop-holy-panda https://soundcloud.com/user-70424151/brutal60-moyu-black-kebo-films-tribosys-3203

Notes: - I put a Halo True stem in the Moyu housing and the resulting switch felt almost identical to a regular Moyu, with the only noticeable difference being the slightly longer travel distance. - Even with the lighter spring swap, I could see these being tiring after very long periods of use compared to other tactile switches. I'm hesitant to use them as a daily driver for this reason, but they've become possibly my favorite switch so far and I've replaced the HPs on my Brutal60 with these. Will try to update this review once I've used them for a while.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
gtjwolf
99
Jan 3, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice on their own, better for parts
I would give the unit as a whole 4 stars, due to the leaf or included springs having a noticeable amount of ping. However the stems and top housing more than make up for this.
search
Combining the top housing and stems with Zealios bottom housings creates a sharp tactile event similar to stock Zealios but retains the satisfying bottom out thock that is similar to a holy panda. Cleaned and relubed the stems with a thin layer of 205g0 including the legs and retains a very sharp but smooth actuation. The top and bottom housings fit together perfectly with no need for films either.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
QuinnB27
7
Jan 27, 2021
Just got my Dark Jades and kept this comment in mind. Can confirm that swapping the bottoms with Zeal switches gives them a very nice sound. I'm about to break down all my Zilents for these. The craziest part is, I think the Dark Jade bottoms on the Zilents sound better than regular Zilents. A perfect win-win situation.
MattyRice
13
Feb 12, 2021
Do these tops hold down the zealios leaf well? I heard building regular zykos (HP top and stem + zeal bottom) with holy panda tops, the leaf doesnt hold down well and is very finnicky and isnt recommended for hotswap/millmaxed boards.
Catsby
6
Sep 10, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice Tactile
Just echoing what other reviews have mentioned + Nice snappy sound. Louder than Holy Pandas + Pretty smooth out of the bag + Noticeably more tactile than other popular tactile -Ships in a stuffed plastic bag. You will have to bend some pins straight -Expensive compared to other Everglides -You will probably need to find a spring you like for these People sleep on everglides but they consistently impress me. Drop just needs to package these like their other over hyped switches.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
BobaFettLives
38
Sep 13, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Tactility Unmatched
Everglide has been increasingly putting out more switch varieties to the market lately and that is nothing but great for the hobbyists. I am a big fan of tactiles and after reading that these were extremely tactile, I had to pick some up. After closer inspection, the bump is super strong up top and then smoothly trails off after. Comparing them to Zealios V2, they are much more pronounced of a bump but not quite as smooth. Compared to my YOK Red Pandas they were similar feeling but a sharper sound. My build started with a new KK75 that I received using these dark jades that were lubed with Krytox 205g0 and switched filmed. I would definitely recommend lubing these as they take away the sharpness of the sound along with rounding out the bump as to not be so jarring.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
hdsharpe1
102
Jan 2, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Yes...
These are simply my favorite high dollars switches. However, they are more similar to a more muted Durock Koala than a Holy Panda (I haven't bought into Drop Invyr Panda V2, yet). They have a better sound when lubed right. I would say they sound similar to a tactile Alpaca. The sound is more at home on copper, thicker FR4 or titanium plates. Aluminum plates do emphasize the little bit spring ping that accompanies them until lubed correctly. The trans black with white stem sounds better on alu. They are practically the same switch with the exception the housing on the orea constructed of a cheaper material. If you're on a budget and still want thock (need the right keycaps as well), just get Koalas.
ezzatliao
3
Jan 9, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
loving the tactile bump here more than the Holy Panda , it is more prominent bump and sharper one and after the bump the stem feels like pull straight to bottom . But yeah you have to try yourself rather than reading comments haha
(Edited)
schtebie
18
Mar 8, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice snappy tactility
The Dark Jade Black switches offer a sharp, snappy tactility - a bit different vs the Drop Holy Pandas which have more of a rounded bump. It also has a slightly higher pitched sound. Highly recommend!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 15 of 171
Recent Activity