Maserin Nimrod M390 Tactical Folding Knife
Maserin Nimrod M390 Tactical Folding Knife
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
75 Sold
Product Description
Named for the adroit hunter and king of Shinar, the Maserin Nimrod is an imposing all-around folder. The blade is a 3.5-inch drop-point made from Bohler M390 stainless steel, arguably the best commercial steel on the market Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
17
check
100%
would recommend to a friend
search
MManalang
100
Mar 22, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This a big knife, I wear XL gloves and when holding the knife there is room for at least one more finger, I love it! This is my first M390 steel and I can’t wait to see what it can do. The action is smooth and feels like a $250 knife. It is super light for its size. My only complaint is the jimping on the back lock. The back lock is stiff to disengage which is fine but the jimping really tears at your thumb when you press down. For size comparison here’s the Nimrod with a PM2 and a ZT 0909. Check out 7redi’s review of this knife in youtube.
search
search

(Edited)
Mar 22, 2019
MManalang
100
Jul 9, 2019
bookmark_border
Yup, when it first dropped. I’m looking at it now and you’re right it’s no longer an option. Although I think cheaper now.
Jul 9, 2019
FODRAN
2
Sep 10, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nimrod
Great quality control, looks, and feel in hand this has become my favorite knife to break down large quantities of boxes because it feels great, cuts great, and holds its edge mainly because of the M390 steel. It comes with a glass breaker and a nub if you don't want it on, I put it on because why not have it. I would recommend this knife to anyone, only cons and they aren't that big would be the Heat treat isn't as good as say my doug ritter in M390 but still better then say a WE in the same steel from my experience with knives that I have. The glass breaker being so sharp you might get poked a lot like I do, but my bad for putting it on. Really it's great knife for all tasks a bit on the large size, but no to heavy. Action is smooth and just a great overall knife.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 10, 2019
BrancJ
3
Mar 21, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Pretty happy in general. Brilliant steel, sharpens and cuts like a dream. I got the carbon fiber, and it looks great! As has been mentioned before me, the action is incredibly smooth and even. I ended up taking apart and adding just a dab of white lithium grease to the bearings. It probably didn't need it.... but I did it anyway. My only note on this knife is that the lock release is incredibly difficult at first. Definitely takes some breaking in. Not sure what causes that, and don't let it put you off, but just don't be surprised if it hurts your thumb for a little while before it's broken in (note that I'm closing one-handed, using pressure from my thumb at around the first knuckle). If you close two-handed shouldn't really be an issue.
Mar 21, 2019
MinistrOfJustiz
32
Mar 7, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Just received today, so very much an "initial impressions" preliminary review. This 3.5" blade is a beautiful monster. Great edge out of the box, and the action is smooth as silk. Rolling the blade out slowly with my thumb, there are absolutely no little "hitches" in the glide that I can feel in many blades. Not that those are ever a deal-breaker, as those will break-in over time, but the absence of any rough spots is a testament to the build quality from Maserin. Speaking of, the blade is dead center and the M390 looks and feels great for some test cuts. Aesthetics: I went with the green Micarta and it pairs very well with the wash of the blade. The blade shape and size seemed to lean more toward "work" than "show" to me, and the wash and the Micarta make this knife look anxious to do some work. Looking at it in person, I could also get behind a mirror polish on this giant hunk of steel and the flashier carbon fiber scales. The classic design elements really give it some flexibility. The back-lock and stud-mounted clip give the scales a minimalist and symmetrical look that I'm really digging. Carry: as a lefty, I appreciate being able to spin the clip around so easily with the included wrench. The jimping on the blade is pretty aggressive, and can snag and chew on a jeans pocket without a little care. You'll always know a blade of this size is there, but there is no excessive steel in the frame so it carries light for its size. There is a pleasant, grippy texture from the fibers of the Micarta. Obviously on day one it is too early to tell if they will wick up anything as Micarta-haters complain of, but given the care evident in the rest of the manufacture I don't expect Maserin to have skimped on the resin in either quality or amount. After some hard use, I'm looking forward to the scales having a subtle patina that distinguishes this as distinctly mine.
(Edited)
Mar 7, 2019
Ares13Fox
23
Mar 23, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My knife was defective and Massdrop refused to accept my return. Terrible customer service.
Mar 23, 2019
Applecider
7
May 10, 2019
bookmark_border
Can you define defective?
May 10, 2019
Oddi
3
Mar 23, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very solid big knife. Bargain price for premium steel. Love the tan canvas micarta scales. Jimping on blade and back lock is a little sharp for my taste. I need to use a diamond file on it. Take it camping! Like an Italian made Cold Steel. Easily used with work gloves. Opens smoothly but does not flick open for me.
Mar 23, 2019
Jfox1980
5
Apr 6, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This is a fantastic knife that's worth way more than its price. Centering is nice, super razor sharp out of the box as Boler M390 steel should be. Action on it is so smooth, one of the smoothest of all knives I own. A lock back knife should not drop shut close smooth but this knife does, which is fantastic. No blade play when fully deployed which can be a issue with smooth lock backs. This is a full size knife that weighs like a small EDC, I would definitely recommend buying this knife in the carbon fiber. The handles have been grounded smooth on the edges for a comfortable feel and grip. I have nothing bad to say about this knife, a great buy for any occasion....
Apr 6, 2019
Applecider
7
May 10, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I really like this knife the Maserin Nimrod because it is a solid working piece of steel that I don’t need to baby. I rather expected more of a fashion statement since this was an Italian design, but it works. I got the brown Micarta m390 steel which I’m very happy with although I have not dropped the knife into leaf litter. It has seen daily use blackberry cane whacking for an hour a day in addition to the usual cardboard package etc. I love the tall blade because it’s rugged and can be held in a KME if needed, though the factory edge was sharp. I have diamond stropped it though to maintain the edge, it whittles hair after this until it gets used hard. No issues with the build, clip deploys much better than average mid tier knives. The only complaint I’d have is that I thought it came with a glass breaker, but did not. I’d buy it again if I had need for another knife in this form factor.
May 10, 2019
Applecider
7
Oct 22, 2019
bookmark_border
Glass breaker is optional I fear, not sure how you acquire one.
Oct 22, 2019
Kobalt77
11
Apr 20, 2020
bookmark_border
the glass breaker is in the box, with a key to install it
Apr 20, 2020
Shakermt
13
May 7, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I have been EDCing the knife now for a week and I love it so far. It fits well in my big meat hooks I call hands. It has great gimping on the blade. The action on the knife is butter smooth. The blade is thick enough that it can be a hard use knife with ease. My only issue is the clip is to tough lol.
May 7, 2019
Jeff0500
62
Jun 10, 2020
bookmark_border
I have medium sized hands, and I find that it fits my hands without issue; so, not just for x-large hands
Jun 10, 2020
AndreyFedotov
1
May 19, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
very good knife!
May 19, 2020
Showing 20 of 27