Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
ZadiusTech gave you $10 to spend on your first purchase on Drop! Sign Up to learn more.
Massdrop x Fostex TR-X00 Mahogany Headphones

Massdrop x Fostex TR-X00 Mahogany Headphones

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
7.6K requests
·
7k Sold
·
Free Returns in USA
Product Description
When the Massdrop community asked for a closed-back headphone that redefined price-to-performance expectations, the TH-X00 was our answer. Made in collaboration with Fostex, a brand that’s produced innovative audio gear since 1949, these headphones feature mahogany ear cups, a magnesium alloy frame, Fostex’s signature biodynamic drivers, and a highly reviewed sound signature Read More

Customer Reviews

4.5
(121 reviews)
5star
(80)
4star
(25)
3star
(12)
2star
(2)
1star
(2)
88% would recommend to a friend
By Feature
Build Quality
3.0(1)
Sound
3.0(1)
Comfort
3.0(1)
Music GenresPopular among reviewers
ActivitiesPopular among reviewers
search
close
AAmaker69
30
May 2, 2023
Activities:Casual Listening
Music Genres:Electronic, Hip-hop, Pop, R&B, World
checkVerified Buyer
I think there are better options for the price
Great esthetics, solid warm sound. Nothing very special what is standing out for me. Was my first better headphone
Recommends this product? No
jaycarter
32
Dec 6, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
First drop in massdrop
Excellent sound, fair price
Recommends this product? Yes
TylerTHere
15
Dec 2, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
Best headphones I’ve owned
Nothing has come close to the pure musicality of these headphones for me. I’ve tried over a dozen headphones and these had pretty much everything. They had the best bass in a headphone I’ve ever experienced, I’ve owned headphones that had more quantity but they never gave the impact that the mahogany gave. It isn’t perfectly controlled and has a small amount of bleed, but I feel that makes them sound more organic. I never noticed any amount of distortion and I turned these up till they rattled on my head. I can’t say much about the mids, other then they didn’t disappoint. I just didn’t feel they were missing anything there. I usually prefer a slight recess, to avoid shrill affects when turning the sound up, and these didn’t sound lacking or peaky in vocals and other sounds. The highs are perfect for me, I’m very high tolerant and these didn’t sound dull. So they could be too bright to some, but to my ears it was just enough. The stage too me was fairly small, and possibly more oval in shape? Which made imaging a bit weird. When listening to music they sounded intimate but large. When gaming, I found them to be pretty inaccurate. I only played two games with them, Fortnite and sea of thieves. One of those is not known for the best directional audio but they sounded beautiful none the less. If you haven’t tried a pair of bio-dyna headphones, I urge you to give them a shot That is……… if drop will ever sell them again 😩
(Edited)
Recommends this product? Yes
rottentreats
80
Jul 13, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
Big fan of X00s
I have every flavor of these and love them all
Recommends this product? Yes
Brooklyn2LA
12
Jul 2, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
Love the wood- Big Bass!!
These are beautiful and the sound is ridiculous. These could be used without an amp and a phone can power these puppies. Did I say these have bass!! Definitely comfortable on my bald head but I reserve these for home since they are rather large. A great buy but in my opinion I wish it came with a custom case.
(Edited)
Recommends this product? Yes
Tocotronic
38
May 31, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
Great looks, great sound!
These cans are, to my understanding, the Drop version of a much more expensive version of the same headphones from Fostex. They look absolutely great, the polished wood cups give them a very distinguished appearance. The comfort is also pretty good, surprisingly for a headphone of this size and weight. Regarding the sound, they are one of my three favorite headphones! Their strength is definitely the bass. But apart from the low-frequency region, the rest of the spectrum is also very well served. A slight v-shaped signature, with brilliant, but never screaming or tingling highs, and vocals that sound very natural and clear. There is no sign of veiled or muffled sound, the whole spectrum sounds pretty much as it should. And then, this bass... Deep. contured and sufficiently precise. And above all, very pleasant. The spatial resolution is also pretty good, especially for a closed headphone, but there are better cans on the market in this discipline. Overall, a very good and pleasant headphone, for a still accessible price tag.
Recommends this product? Yes
Awk34
80
Apr 28, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
Uncomfortable & Annoying
These are not very comfortable to wear. The headband is very well padded, and the adjustment mechanism for the headband doesn't hold very well to my preferred headband size doesn't keep its position. I also get a "pinging" sound from the headphones whenever there's a loud sound followed by quiet. It's quite annoying to listen to.
Recommends this product? No
derek.morash
23
Mar 18, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
Incredibly fun to listen to
The best bass I've heard, tons of impact and speed and not muddy. Gets a little uncomfortable to wear after a few hours but not too bad.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ojntoast
5
Mar 18, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
Best closed back for bass lovers
By far one of the best closed back headphones you can get but has a special attention to detail when it comes to the low end
Recommends this product? Yes
Kclaus
0
Jan 28, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
Very worthwhile, but annoying that it doesn't have a case at this price.
Well made, sound great. I replaced the pads with stock replacements from Fostex Amazon, because it's actually a different/better version that doesn't change the sound stage, but I wouldn't consider that necessary to enjoy the headphones. My only frustration with any headphone above and at this price is that they don't come with a hard case. A hardcase shipped with profit build in (got a slappa case) was roughly $35? It's kinda insulting to continuously not get the most basic stuff with headphones under the guise that "oh well headphone people have tons of headphones and probably already have a case, we can cut this corner and pretend it's to save them money!".
Recommends this product? Yes
Showing 10 of 182
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
182 OF 182 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Related Products